Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CARPATHIAN CULTURE AND WILDLIFE

    This was my first group holiday with Exodus and I was travelling on my own, so hoping for a nice group of fellow travellers, plenty to do, good food and accommodation and well planned and executed travel arrangements.  This trip pretty much met all these expectations and exceeded some.  The actual walking part of the holiday was tough at times but manageable and certainly enjoyable (rain didn't help - but I can't blame Exodus for that).  Accommodation was simple but comfortable and everything worked.  Food was good.  The company (fellow travellers) were great and we really got on well.  The guide was great and overall it was a very good holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the bears in the sanctuary was incredible, the stories of their rescue and how they are now thriving was very moving.  However seeing wild bears was also amazing.In addition the beautiful Carpathian landscape especially when high up in the sheep pastures and pine forests was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cosmin Dan was excellent, very knowledgeable, very patient and looked after us very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need much extra spending money on this trip, the bear hide and the visit to Bran and Brasov allow some opportunity and you can spend money at the guesthouse on excellent local beers and wines, but generally everything is provided.  Good waterproofs (essential for the week we were there) and perhaps boot cleaning kit is a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really liked this trip, and Romania.  I would certainly consider returning, even repeating the same holiday again some time.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    Superb hotel, brilliant location, smashing leader and great walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gelati, limoncello and old car.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If she plays her cards right, she can have me!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes. This holiday is everything it says on the tin.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sun screen.More sun screen,and more ... !
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    The trip was really fun and exciting.  Definitely for those who are pretty fit and willing to take part in some energetic activities but don't be put off as there is often the option to do the activities at your own pace.  Also, there was hardly a moment to ourselves as we were together as a group from breakfast through to evening meals and after dinner drinks!  Very highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canyoning was the most inspirational and exciting part of the trip.  Although exhausting it was a very bonding experience with all of the members of the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The highlight of the trip was the group leader (Maho) who was an amazing character, full of energy and sense of humour. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I have never done an activity holiday like this before and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  As long as you follow the instructions of the guide all of the activities are safe.  Take walking boots, cycling shorts, cycling gloves and plently of sun-screen and you'll have a great time.  Oh yes, and just to warn you don't expect to get too much rest as it's a full on week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Croatia is a beautiful unspoilt country.  Thoroughly enjoyed the road cycling, was a bit more nervous on the off road sections as I hadn't ridden on gravel before.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved all the different bits.  The island of Hvar was very pretty as was Miljet.  Loved the 2 longer days on the bike which are the first 2 days.  Great to see Dubrovnik after all the restoration too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very calm, capable and great company.  Kept the group together despite differing ability levels. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try some off roading before you go so you are confident on different surfaces.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to see a difficulty comparison between trips of supposedly the same level of difficulty.  The Amalfi and Dalmatian Coast trips are both moderate but Amalfi was much harder than Croatia.   
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    A superbly balanced trip with a fantastic guide. Wonderful people and far exceeded expectations. I had images of Petra being overwhelmed with people but it was surprisingly quiet (sadly due to the drop in tourism) I'd go back in a heartbeat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Even with a crowd of gabbling Italian teenagers the moment when you exit the Siq and come face to face with the Treasury at Petra really is quite something. That said it was surpassed on the second day when Khalid took us on a long walk over the top, away from everybody, before suddenly finding yourself looking down a rocky abyss into the Treasury.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Possibly the best tour leader I've had, Khalid was faultless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I've travelled a lot and love the Middle East but had put Jordan down the list as I thought it would be something of a tourist trap. In part the Syrian situation has led to a decrease in tourism which is sad for the local economy. The benefit is that the sites are a lot more free of bus parties than normal. Highly recommended from me! Jerash and Petra are stunning. Wadi Rum is big enough to hide the legions of tourists and make you feel like you have the desert to yourself. The Dead Sea is an experience not to be missed if not the most delightful place. Always plenty to do and to see, wonderful people, great food and runs like clockwork.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can I just add that it is always mentioned to me that not editing reviews is something that puts Exodus above it's rivals.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    Brilliant time, first activity holiday, well organised, beautiful location, lovely base town and great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jumping from the high cliff during the canyoning - so much fun am looking at other canyoning activities already.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolute legend, extremely capable but also a great guy who took the time to really make us feel welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be realistic about your capabilities, read the tour notes properly and get a waterproof bag!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING THE GREAT WALL

    A great trip with a great bunch of people and a truly awesome guide. This was certainly an interesting and fun filled holiday. A great mix of walking, culture, good food and great company. Our guide Kevin was superb and made the holiday really special by taking such great care of us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking the un-renovated parts of the wall pretty much alone. We had the Wall to ourselves on several of our hiking days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kevin was fantastic. He took great care of us and was extremely flexible, changing the schedule to suit our needs. His foremost objective was to ensure that we all had the best possible holiday and he succeeded here without a doubt. He was also great company and has an outstanding sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate the challenge, we walked up thousands and thousands of steps, harder work than your ususal hike. Come prepared for very hot weather if you're booking this for the summer months. The heat was even more challenging than the steps on some days. A sun hat is a must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you can use chopsticks before you arrive, otherwise you'd better have enough granola bars with you, to last the entire trip :o)...and practice squatting before you go too!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous
    Trip:

    LA RUTA MAYA

    Exodus trips always have an interesting itinerary and good local guides:  this was only exceptional because the guide was brilliant.  The third factor is always unknown -  one's fellow travellers - on this occasion the most fun group I have travelled with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to decide - from the first evening in Antigua seeing the spectacle of a shrine being carried through the streets to the sounds of fire crackers exploding, to to laid back Belize (and who would have missed the Sundowner Cruise?)... it was all fascinating.The Mayan sites, history and culture were wonderfully explained by local guides.   The different religious practices (including Maximon) came as a complete surprise.  The variety of locations - from the very Latin Guatemala and Mexico, to hippy Belize - all inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent:  not only very open in explaining Central American culture but also a great companion, entering into the fun of the trip with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This was a wonderful trip in a huge and varied country.  It was a great mix of amazing archeological sites, great scenery and fascinating people and places.  Although we had a few hassles with our flights, it did not detract from a fabulous trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me personally it was seeing Machu Picchu - a lifetime ambition.  We took the train rather than trekking to get there and I do not feel I missed out in any way.  As it was not high season we were able to go back to the site on the second day - choosing to go early at sunrise, which was really worth the effort.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marcial Bedregal was an excellent leader.  He was born in Peru and has been leading tours for decades and so knows it very well.  He knew how to pace the trip to suit us best and all the best places to stop for food, toilet stops and photos.  He adapted parts of the itinerary slightly to give us the best possible experience.  He was very knowledgable about the history but gave us information in manageable chunks.  He was laid back and friendly with us all equally and very helpful to any group members having problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went on the group flights with United Airlines with changes in Houston on the way out and Newark on the way back.  We were unlucky with delays due to electrical problems.  On the way out the flight from London was delayed and so we missed our connection and had to spend 24hrs in Houston.  United Airlines put us up in the holiday Inn at their expense and gave us meal vouchers.  We phoned Exodus about missing the connection and they arranged that when we reached Lima the next night we were met by the tour operator and driven four hours through the night down the coast to meet the rest of the group, so that we only missed one day of the trip.  On the way home at Newark the flight to London was cancelled due to an electrical fault and we had approx 9 hours in Newark airport until the next flight.  Again we got meal vouchers.  It sounds bad, but I think we were unlucky to be delayed and the service on the actual flights was very good.  As it was the official group flight that was delayed on the way out, I arrived home to discover a very prompt letter from Exodus apologising for my delayed journey and with financial compensation.  I was very happy with Exodus' response and their actions to catch us up with the group.  If we had not been on the official group flights and had been delayed we might have had to arrange our own transport at Lima to drive down the coast.  So don't let my experience put you off the group flights!Apart from the flights saga, it all went quite smoothly. Two people were quite badly affected by the altitude at various times but were dealt with promptly by our guide and completed most of the trip with a few modifications.  Most of us had only mild symptoms and just had to walk more slowly than usual - and not talk so much when walking! As regards money, I would suggest planning to use nuevo sol everywhere rather than dollars.  I only used dollars twice - once to pay the local tour operator for some extra tours and once in a market when I ran out of sol.  Most places seemed to prefer sol to dollars.  I brought some from home and also changed a lot at Lima airport.  For the first two to three days no-one seems to have any change but from Cusco onwards this is not usually a problem.  From Cusco onwards it is easier to access ATMs or money changers.Some of us felt that we could have done with fewer hot weather clothes and more warm ones - it gets very cold at altitude especially in the early or late parts of the day.  Layers are the way to go - the temperature changes a lot in one day as you go up and down in altitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot more to Peru than I ever knew before.  I enjoyed all the Inca history and sites - there are many others besides Machu Picchu.  The Santa Catalina convent in Arequipa was beautiful.  Also we were able to go and see the "ice mummies" in the museum and I had never heard of them before I went there.   I also really enjoyed Chinchero market as we saw the locals in their national dress doing their shopping as well as seeing the weaving etc for visitors.  The scenery in the Andes was wonderful and much more interesting than I had expected.  Although there are people who want to sell you things there is no hassle from them - it is all a lot more relaxed than in, say, Egypt or India.  The food is plentiful and varied though you do have to be very careful to avoid the local water and any food affected by it.  We had a lot of early starts but that was good because we saw places at the best times of day and were not travelling the the dark.  Bring things to do on the bus - although I hardly read any of my books in the end as I was too busy admiring the secenery or chatting to members of the group.  It was all great and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    EGYPTIAN DISCOVERER

    My father advised me to book a trip that I'd never forget.  I never would have imagined the impact this trip would have on me until I was standing in the midst the Gods and Pharaohs of ancient Egypt.  Each activity and each day was truly breath-taking in its own right.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire experience was absolutely first-rate and I'd have to say, for me, that the optional trips to Abu Simbel and to Dandara and Abydos were the real highlights for me.  I was in awe of the scope of the temples at Abu Simbel and astounded that these were not constructed, per se, but actually cut from solid rock.  Although not massive in scope, these temples are astoundingly beautiful and are well worth the trip from Aswan.  In stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of Abu Simbel, we visited the nearly-deserted sites of Dandara and Abydos on my birthday.  I was so taken by the quality of the paint at Dandara, which has recently been cleaned in several areas to reveal its original splendor.  Both temples are spectacular and having them to ourselves was a real treat as a photographer and someone interested in the mythology of ancient Egypt.  It was a real treat to explore without being hassled by the locals and without other tour groups getting into my photos.  Not to mention being allowed into the catacombs; a real treat!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Fouad, had encyclopaedic knowledge of all things Egyptian and went out of his way to make our holiday the absolute best that it could have been.  He was intuitive and flexible and never once said no to any request.  He ensured that if we needed anything, we had it.  He translated for us when necessary and, when they became too aggressive, he kept the locals at bay.  He was also tremendously thoughtful.  On the evening prior to my birthday - our last night on the cruise ship - Fouad arranged for the kitchen staff to make me a birthday cake.  I was so touched that he would go out of his way to make my birthday so special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have a desire to go to Egypt, don't hesitate!  You will LOVE it as I did.  And, when you go, prepare yourself for a certain degree of culture shock if you are not accustomed to non-western cultures.  I had friends tell me how persistent Egyptians can be in trying to sell you trinkets (most of which aren't worth more than one tenth of what they'll ask for them), trying to give you carriage rides and camel rides, trying to open doors or help you cross a street or emile at you... all in hopes - no, expectation - that you'll give them money.  I was unprepared for this as someone who has traveled mainly to more developed nations where poverty is not so prevalent.  And please remember, these are desperate people.  Although I was put off by their persistence I had to keep in mind how hard I would push people, too, if my family's livelihood depended on it. I'll leave you with 2 pieces of advice:  1) Nothing is free in Egypt.  NOTHING.  Not even the gifts and the smiles.  Not even a business card.  If somebody tells you something is free, it will cost you in the end.2) Don't trust what Egyptians tell you when there's money or potential business involved.  Horse and carriage drivers will tell you anything to get you into their carriages and will - both literally and figuratively - take you for a ride.  Merchants will tell you anything to get you into their stores and will lock the door until you buy something (or in my case actually break out).  Children will tell you ANYTHING to get money off you and they are VERY adept at knowhing what to say to travellers from everywhere!  One even told me he loved Canada because his father had lived in Winnipeg, Manitoba.  He gave me a gift of some post cards.  When he got close enough to me, he stole 50LE from me. Trust your guide and do as he says and you'll have a great holiday!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Egypt has so many contrasts.  For a country so rich in history and antiquities I found the poverty striking.  For a country so steeped in its religions (Islam and Coptic Christian) it has strikingly few rules (or at least a striking lack of enforcement).  People do what they must to get by and nobody seems to care.  I do hope that with the new government that will take shape, soon, they find their compass and get theri economy on track.Also, FYI, our guide took us to 4 "special" souvenir places during our trip: A papyrus institute, an oriental rug making school, a perfumery and an alabaster carving workshop.  The wares at all these places were stunningly beautiful: second to none.  The prices were also tremendously inflated over the prices you might pay at one of the many fair trade shops that are popping up around Egypt.These places cater to tour groups.  They put on demonstrations (which were quite good) give you drinks for cheap or even free, give you the complete history of the art and then allow you to browse and buy with (relatively) little pressure.  Bargaining is expected but, even at the agreed upon prices, you'll still pay twice for these things that you might in a fair trade shop because these places give kickbacks to your guides, your drivers and everyone involved.  The artists make relatively little compared to the final sale value because, with such an operation and a structure of so many kickbacks, they have to price things high in order to maintain their business.I bought 2 Papyrus paintings for which the institute wanted just over $1000 US.  We finally settled on $400 US plus 3% for the credit card transaction fee.  I could never in a thousand years have obtained these in Canada or the USA for even close to that little money but for Egypt that was a lot.  I was looking at alabaster vases at the alabaster workshop, too, but they would not dip below $60 for the one I wanted and I wasn't willing to spend more than $40.  Upon visiting a fair-trade shop in Luxor I noticed she had similar but larger alabaster vases.  She was selling them for a fixed price of $25 US with the majority of the profit going to the artists.  I asked her about my papyrus paintings and she said she could probably have obtained them for me for $300 or less ith her connections. I don't mind paying a premium for beautiful things - and everything I bought was exquisite - but not at the expense of artisans.  I know these institutes and workshops provide excellent quality goods - in some cases recognized by their department of arts and culture - and that they have to charge more to maintain their business model but I would far rather see the majority of my cash going to artists and not to my tour guide and my driver who I'm already going to tip at the end of a trip.  A friend and I ducked out of the perfume demonstration and sales pitch because we saw a fair trade shop next door and we went in there.  Our guide spoke with us after about how disappointed he was that we didn't attend the demonstration on how perfume is made - the Egyptian way - and that we should stay with the group for those events. He went on to say how important it is to support these local places and the economy.  Fair enough but we bought a LOT from this shop and would have bought nothing from the perfumery.  I can only guess he gets a set amount for each tourist he brings in and, although I understand his motivation, I don't like wasting my time so someone else can get paid.  If I did I'd be looking for time-share condos :)  If this concerns you, too, look for fixed-price shops like the Habiba Galleries in Luxor and Karnak (http://www.habibagallery.com/index.php) that buy directly from the artists and crafts-people and who support women in the workplace.  All the major guide books will give you great ideas on where to find other fair trade shops too.  I even met some of the women who sewed the textiles I bought because the owner hired them to work in her store as sales people!  It was truly wonderful.
Call us on 0208 772 3936