Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIDDEN TREASURES OF JORDAN

    Fantastic trip, with a great mixture of ancient ruins and adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My personal highlight of the trip was the 2 days in Petra and the walk of the High Places in Petra, with the most amazing view of the Treasury.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very friendly, knowledgable and helpfull.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan is a great place to visit and prides itself in being the Switzerland of the Middle East, its a must see.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    A very well put together trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wealth of knowledge of our leader was apparent from day one and hearing of all of his experiences both in Italy and around the rest of the globe was fantastic. The food was incredible - all of it - the meals at the Fattoria were delicious and varied, the ice cream was superb as you would expect, and the meals out were superb too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knoweldgeable and charismatic. He knew at least a little bit about everything, even the wild flowers, fauna and of course the luscious fruits. Ale always made sure we had the right footwear for the type of day we would be having and checked weather forecasts for us too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy! The food is superb and your guide may offer you the option for a picnic lunch on one of the days. Take it - it was great! We lounged under olive trees eating bread, meat, cheese, olives, sundried tomatoes and fruit. The walks are not hard at all, of course lots of up and down but Ale let us take things at whatever pace we wanted to so that didn't hinder things at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely trip. My first centre-based trip so it was a joy to leave my toothbrush by the same sink for so many days! Beautiful landscapes, friendly people, amazing wine and plenty of it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    An outstanding trip with a really good mixture of sights and activities.  The trip was very well organised and gave a great snapshot of Jordan.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It has to be one of the following:The second day in Petra (walking in via an alternative route to the Siq and getting away from crowds then the High Place of Sacrifice).  That was topped off by also doing Petra at night. OrThe 4x4 trip round Wadi Rum combined with sleeping under the stars and a camel ride the next day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader, Khaled, was very good.  There were clearly some bits of the trip he is more enthusiastic about then others (he isn't a fan of Petra by night, for example) but he was always amusing, always helpful and had a good feel for (1) how much time to spend telling us about where we were and (2) the right amount of time to leave us alone to explore for ourselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip is the best answer I can give to the advice question.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing I would add is that Aqaba really isn't for everyone and, personally, I wouldn't include it in the itinery - more time in Wadi Rum would be much more enjoyable.  Aqaba is a real resort and unless you are into sunbathing or snorkelling there really is nothing there for you during the day (particularly given the exteme heat).  On the other hand it did work well on our trip as it is the one place in Jordan that actually has bars and coincided with an England match we all wanted to watch...
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    GALAPAGOS: IN DARWIN'S FOOTSTEPS

    Amazing wildlife on land and sea, fascinating islands, pristine beaches, interesting walking – the Galapagos has it all! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many wonderful experiences to choose from!  Swimming with sealion pups off San Cristobal, watching the antics of the sealions at Santa Cruz fish market, relaxing at a beach bar in Isabella, the ‘lunar landscape’ of the lava fields on Volcano Chico, the luxury day trip to Bartolome Island, and for 'adenaline junkies' exploring the bell and clock towers of Quito’s gothic Basilica is not to be missed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabian was fantastic.  He made sure we got the most out of every aspect of the trip.  His enthusiasm for everything Ecuadorian is infectious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Having a pair of flippers really assists your snorkelling.  I am not a particularly strong swimmer and borrowing a short pair of flippers revolutionised my meagre swimming abilities. There is potential for rain up in the highlands of all the islands.  It was amazing how it could be beautiful on the coast and yet 'tipping it down' only a mile or two inland!   Come prepared for the wet - light water/wind proof jacket is essential.  It is too hot to walk in waterproof trousers and so a pair of gaiters proved invaluable for preventing water entering your boots! It is worth spending time exploring Quito - I think it is an underrated city.  I had an enjoyable couple days exploring the city before the group arrived - they missed a connection in the USA on the group flight and arrived a day late.  It proved far better to book the direct flight from Amsterdam with KLM which has great connections from many UK regional airports.I

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday is the way to experience all that the Galapagos Islands have to offer and I can unreservedly recommend following "In Darwin's Footsteps".
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Perfect holiday really. Great accommodation, fantastic food, brilliant walking, good company and a first class leader. Can't complain about anything!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ice cream! Mamma's cooking, Sara's enthusiasm.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go walking in Tuscany. Challenging week was great......not horrendously difficult.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    This trip exceeded expectations.  We consistently enjoyed a huge variety of wonderful flowers and other plants, extremes of weather (snow, humidity and hot sun), local customs, culture and history which were only beaten by the wonderful and diverse landscape. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spoilt for choice, the walk around Cuicocha Crater Lake. You could do a 30 minute walk as indicated on the itinerary but would strongly advise you take the longer version; lying in bed at night following our night walk listening to the noises of the Amazon Rainforest; gate crashing a party in Banos and dancing with the locals to a girl band dressed in not much and gold boots; train ride along a visibly stunning valley; Cuenca, much the nicest and prettiest town where some of us requisitioned a restaurant and pretended to salsa our way through the afternoon and evening; Cajas National Park, quite beautiful and silent; boat trip on the Pacific Coast where the colony of frigate birds was a delightful surprise and you really do get to see bottle nosed dolphins; the swim in the Pacific.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous. Eddie Ona showed endless patience, consistent cheerfulness and enthusiasm which infiltrated the group. A font of information and an aptitude for herding his ‘stray sheep’ back on track with artless diplomacy, Eddie sculptured out a fantastic trip which has set the bar high for other adventures.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When in Quito take taxis back from any restaurants and listen to what the guide tells you.  It is not the nicest of cities but given due care and attention can be enjoyed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't forget to put insect repellant on during the day.The itinerary does not truly reflect the activities of this trip and needs to reflect the options available.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    Great holiday, more hiking than the trip notes so it was even better than I antcipated.  the variation in landscape is incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to 4800m on chimbarzo and having a picnic! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic and enthusiastic, no matter how many times he has made the trip previsously, he was still taking photos and enjoying himself (or he looked like he did!) .  I learned lots about the history, flora and fauna of the place.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is more walking/hiking than the trip notes suggest.  Take a torch for the amazon.  Taking plenty of long sleeve tops, easy to burn at the top of a mountain!  Also, DEET up, the bitey things were a problem particular in the first stage of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Additional things note in the trip notes were a trip up Chimborazo which was great.  We also had a visit to a garden full of humming birds which was beautiful.  Also at the end of the trip you will see more frigate birds than you can count on a visit to a bird watching island in the mangrove swamps, likely to see dolphins too.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    A great activity holiday! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention! Each day was great with a new challenge and experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Goeff looked after us all well, we couldn't have asked for more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a physically challenging and non stop week - you couldn't pack much more in!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definately reccommend this holiday, I just want to do it all over again!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    THE TURQUOISE COAST

    A lovely place, beautiful surroundings, comfortable and friendly hotel, excellent walking guide but the walks were rather undemanding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Paragliding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zanep was excellent and even though we were her first group she did really well -very keen enthusiastic and a lovely person

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be prepared for cullture, excellent food but not so much the walking -leisurely I would say.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    excellent holiday just a little disappointed with the walk length and duration
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN JORDAN

    We have both travelled a lot, usually independently and outside Europe, but this is possibly the best one-week holiday either of us has been on. The itinerary is perfect for that length of time, as it incorporates iconic sights such as Petra, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea; Jordan is an extremely welcoming and friendly country - all the more remarkable when you consider its neighbours; and the trip was outstandingly well run with a brilliant guide who was very knowledgeable and passionate about his country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We've been wanting to visit Petra for a long time, and the Treasury (the rock-hewn facade that everyone associates with the site) is absolutely stunning, however many pictures you may have seen before. However, we never realised how extensive the site is, and it is full of some of the most amazing man-made structures. The Monastery may be a long, steep and hot walk, but is well worth it, as is the second day hike to take a bird's eye view of Petra. Camping out under the stars at Wadi Rum was very memorable, but to add something that isn't always mentioned, we both enjoyed the boat trip from Aqaba and the surprisingly impressive reefs for snorkelling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danny was outstanding, and I'm fairly sure that everyone in our group felt the same, even if they don't get round to writing a review. He was extremely warm, friendly and approachable, and nothing was too much trouble. He has clearly been running the trip for some time as it went like clockwork, but Danny was still keen and enthusiastic to tell us about his great country and to make sure that everyone had a wonderful holiday. We had a great group and everyone got on really well, but I'm sure part of that was down to Danny's skill as a leader, making everyone feel welcome and included, and sorting out any minor problems almost before they occurred. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will receive plenty of warning about this at the time, but it's worth bearing in mind how long, tiring and potentially expensive the days in Petra can be. Going from the gate to the furthest extent, at the Monastery, is a very long way - and then you have to come back again! There is transport on offer, but it is broken down into stages, so if you didn't feel like walking at all, you would have to take a horse, then horse-drawn 'rickshaw', camel and finally donkey up the steps. The horse is included in the ticket price, but the operators still push hard for as big a tip as they can get. All the others are negotiable, but it could end up expensive if you don't bargain hard, and the heat means you end up climbing on that camel when you vowed you would never need one. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have ever been put off going to Jordan for some reason - possibly because of seeing where it is on the map, then put those worries aside and go. You can see some truly amazing sites and have plenty of memorable experiences in just over a week's travelling. It's a packed tour, but strikes the perfect balance by fitting plenty in without leaving everyone feeling too tired and harassed. We were also pleasantly surprised by the excellent standard of accommodation, especially considering the price of the trip. We went in late May, when the official high season had just ended, so I imagine at those times Petra can be a bit less pleasant and with a not so good hotel because of the crowds. As I mentioned before as well, Jordanians are very friendly and helpful, and the hassle is minimal, especially compared with the constant badgering from stall-holders in particular that you often get in other Middle Eastern/North African countries.
Call us on 0208 772 3936