Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jane Wilson

    Beautiful scenery

    Lucky to have so much snow making the scenery very beautiful. Challenging walks led by very good guide, sara, she worked very hard to ensure everyone was supported and also to find us safe routes as high avalanche risk this week. Stunning region, will definitely return. Hotel clean and comfortable, breakfasts and packed lunch great with good choices. Evening meals good most nights. Spa was very welcome at end of the day. Our group were all lovely we had a great week. Enjoyed the free day trying cross country skiiing. Snowshoeing is great way to explore mountains and challenge yourself. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All walks were good and reaching the peaks were a highlight, Bonnerhutte 2340m,and Durrakopf 2275m,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was great very experienced and interesting to learn from. She works very hard to ensure all have a great holiday

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to do some hill walks to prepare
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Will Potten

    Stunning

    A simply beautiful trip. We were lucky with incredible weather throughout, giving us deep blue skies reflected in the lakes. The cycling was superb, giving a good mix of roads and gravelly off-road tracks. Some mountain biking experience would be useful for these sections, particularly the long climb across the border into Argentina. The scenery was stunning - volcanoes, lakes, forests, and the food throughout was incredible. I’ve never eaten so much top quality steak in so few days. Despite the cycling, you might not expect to lose weight on this trip. Special thanks to our guides, Alex, Tai (hope I spelled that right) and Leah who regularly had her bike cannibalised when one of us broke down.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to choose. The final days cycling through the lagoons and monkey puzzles. The incredible views on the seven lakes road, and the climb into Argentina with a beautiful lakeside hotel at the end of the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was brilliant. Endlessly cheerful and enthusiastic and attentive to all our needs. A real asset to exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I loved the off road sections but I’m not sure that everyone did. Although most of the trip is on paved roads of good quality, to enjoy the cycling to the fullest extent, be prepared for some bumpy, gravelly and loose surfaces, especially when climbing.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Dennis Jenkins

    Mexico: Mayans, Aztecs and Conquistadores

    This was a very comprehensive tour from Mexico City to the Yucatan Peninsular visiting many amazing archaeological sites, colonial cities, markets, churches and seeing different local products being made. It also gave us the opportunity to sample a wide range of different Mexican foods including a lesson on how to prepare, cook and present a typical Mexican meal. Also interesting to see the varied wildlife and often stunning scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As always very difficult to highlight just one inspirational moment in such a varied trip but the optional visit to the Sumidero Canyon which also included a visit to the Mayan community of San Juan Chamula, particularly witnessing some of the pre hispanic ritual in the church.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was excellent in every way. His knowledge of his country, which he obviously loved, was phenomenal and he was always cheerful, enthusiastic and always showed great concern for the welfare of all the group. A first class tour leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days and some early starts as distances are generally quite large or in the case of some of the mountain roads, quite slow. The trip notes do make this quite clear. I would strongly recommend the optional excursion to the Sumidero Canyon and visit to the local Mayan communities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accomodation was generally very good in terms of location and character with some delightful colonial establishments. Although the trip is classified as "Leisurely" and it is entirely optional to climb the pyramids at the pre Hispanic sites, with the early starts, long days and with some of the places visited at medium altitude, I would think the classification should be "Leisurely/Moderate" as the tour is certainly"Full on". Again, this is outlined in the trip notes in which case I would question the "Leisurely" classification. I would also recommend may be extending the trip by staying 2 nights in Campeche rather than just 1 night. Campeche is an interesting city with a calm atmoshere and would give some relaxation after the long drive the day before from Palenque
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Margaret Lawson

    Exceeded all expectations

    Loved this trip, made extra special by our tour guide, Ruwan, whose thoughtful additions to the standard trip made the whole experience even more memorable. There was a good balance of visits to temples, encounters with local people, walking, information about Sri Lanka, its history and culture and seeing wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a leopard and lots of beautiful green bee-eaters in Yala NP.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstandingly good - well organised, gave us just the right amount of information, thoughtful, always available and clearly proud of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sue Bowler

    Classic Vietnam and Angkor

    Experience the sights, smells and sounds of Vietnam, a bustling culture with life on the streets. Take your life in your hands as you cross the busy roads, where confidence is key and the traffic will avoid you, well I lived to tell the tale! From the stunning natural beauty of Halong bay, which would make a good set for a dragon movie, to the quaint and colourful Hoi an. The cookery course was a fantastic addition, set in the wonderful surroundings of the red bridge resteraunt. Siagon was not my scene but showed us another side of the politics and country and we were lucky enough to stumble upon a lion and dragon dance display when walking to visit the geen pagoda. To top off the trip we finished in Cambodia at Angkor Watt which was very high on my bucket list and did not disapoint. I personally would have preferred one day less in Saigon and another day in Cambodia but that is just a personal view. An extreamly enjoyable holiday with a good bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up Ti Top island in Halong bay for the stunning view of the islands. Seeing the sun rise over Angkor Watt.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Efficient but a little distracted by new year!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would take a face mask for Han oi the polution was horrendous and really affected my throat.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    sally nortcliffe

    fab break in the snowy norwegian mountains

    great food , lovely surroundings and even some sunshine

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    being high when it was sunny to have stunning views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent ,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go the transport arrangements are a bit long winded with a train transfer so you have to manage all your luggage and wait for the train
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Graham Bothwell

    Excellent Week

    After problems with avalanches around the Brenner Pass and subsequent rail journey, we enjoyed great scenery, weather and had the benefit of a knowledgeable leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Grade 111 snowshoeing in new deep snow requires plenty of energy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I felt the group benefited from the knowledge, experience and fitness of the leader.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sonia Barber

    Cross country skiing Dobiacco

    Endless snow covered trails, rugged beautiful scenery, great company......I didn’t want it to end! Possibly my 8th time in Dobiacco but still inspired on new trails and forever in awe of the views. Love going back to the Hotel Tschurtschenthaler which is always welcoming and well situated with plenty of food. How long until next year?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the blind skiers enjoying their environment on cross country skis with their guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Liz and Ingrid worked tirelessly together to make the trip the best it has ever been. I’m forever in awe of their fitness and skiing skills and I had an amazing time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you go on the right grade holiday for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please could Exodus try a trip for touring grade 3 cross country skating style skiers such as myself.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    DIRCEU BARBANO

    Amazing Vietnam

    I believe that for many people the Vietnam is totally different what they think. This happened with me. Vietnam was a bucolic place in my mind when in the reality is a place where people are in permanent movement across cities and small villages. There are amazing landscapes and warm receptions everywhere you arrive. Every second worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are a lot of memorable moments during the trip. The down hill from Dalat and the happy new year in Hoi An were unforgettable. The landscape in Halong Bay is unic. Also, the interaction with the group and local team was perfect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Chi Nguyen is a efficient and skillful professional. He was able to establish a high degree of interaction with the group and he has always paid close attention to necessities of each person.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the trip and interact with people and places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    John Forrest

    Discover Costa Rica

    The title does not reflect how 'bird' focus sed the trip would be. We saw 120 different bird breeds and only a handful of mammals, these latter predominantly in the grounds of the lodges we stayed in! That is a minor quibble, trip was well led, mostly comfortable (the roads/tracks left a little to be desired) and overall most enjoyable. Eric our guide was excellent on spotting birds, reptiles and near invisible mammals but uninformed and uninterested in plants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The close up presence of hummingbirds (again, in the lodge gardens!).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent except for the plant quibble above. He filled our 'rest' day with well led activities including the wonderful viewing of Quetzals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No. We experienced perfect weather but other friends have either frozen or boiled. Be prepared for all eventualities and expect lots of very early rising to see wild life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on 020 8772 3936