Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

116 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Kevin Walsh

    A Baltic autumn

    An interesting trip across the three Baltic countries, with the opportunity to see the three capitals and some countryside in between. Tallinn and Riga were both excellent, although Vilnius was less impressive. First two felt like small, self-contained towns however Vilnius was much larger and more “western”. The size of the group was a little large (at 20) and thus tended to break into smaller units - which we felt detracted from the overall experience. The hotels varied in standard and quality, although in the main were relatively faceless city blocks and unfortunately also used by other tourist groups which made the breakfasts in particular a bit of a scrum and thus not particularly enjoyable. The food in the restaurants was however good and there were some excellent places chosen for the group meals (for those who opted to attend) as well as plenty of other options for the “free” evenings. The tour leader (Migle) was efficient and organised and provided an excellent insight into Baltic history, culture and everyday life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure about inspirational, but we particularly liked Tallinn and also the Coronian Spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, Migle was efficient, organised and very informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather forecast very carefully - we went in mid-September and it was very wet and surprisingly cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An enjoyable trip but not up there with the best that we have taken with Exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Stephen Gilmore

    Gastrocycle

    A gastronomical experience on 2 wheels. Every day had a culinary surprise including grilled salmon, onion (not the crappy French) soup, onion pie, pink soup, mushroom soup, venison, pork knuckle and Zeplins!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the Baltic Sea in all 3 countries and in Lake Galve by Trakai Castle. Visiting the Cold War Museum and nuclear missile bunker (which really should go on the itinerary).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius is the master of the flexible plan and suggested that we abandon the planned cycle in the rain and crafted an excellent ride in the sunshine. Importantly Andrius is old enough to have experienced soviet occupation and is able to regale many tales of that era. He delivered much more than was expected, with little surprises and optional extras. He clearly enjoys his job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alcohol limits are much lower than in the UK. Cycling under the influence of alcohol is never a good idea.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Benjamin Alan Teece

    The Balkans

    This was an excellent trip with excellent trip manager Jolita and good local guides. Very hectic on the go all the time. Covered a great deal of history and would recommend it highly. One major problem the Hotels are not up to standard of the rest of the trip. Standard Double Rooms were very small and dark and bathrooms miniscule. An option to upgrade should be offered. We upgraded at one Hotel for 20 Euros per night and had a fantastic light and airy room with a balcony and large bathroom fully equiped . This would change the package for the better. One night is OK but 2 / 3 night stays is not on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tallinn was an inspiration not to be missed its buildings and culture was first class. Trakai castle was a surprise in such a beautiful setting and not too many tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best, Jolita's ready smile and extensive knowledge made the trip. Her ability to handle any situation that occurred was something special. Her energy was inspiring to us all

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Upgrade hotel rooms on 3 and 2 night stays.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Rebecca Hill

    Sunny Baltics

    The trip was very interesting with lots of variation, capital cities lovely little fishing villages. Lots of culture and history and easy cycling. Excellent food. Andries was a really great tour leader with a great sense of humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The villages around Peipsie lake .The hill of crosses . Cycling around Vilnius. Swimming in Trakai lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was a great tour leader with a brilliant sense of humour. He was very knowledgeable and a great story teller. He definitely went the extra mile nothing was ever to much trouble and some special little surprises .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it you will have a great trip.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Jan Rae

    A wonderful trip

    A thoroughly enjoyable and interesting trip. The Baltic states are great places to cycle with lots of dedicated and well maintained cycle paths away from the main road. Cycling through beautiful forests and by lakes and the sea, we also had time to sample the culture as well. Very good food too. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost too many to mention but top days included: Cycling through Laheema National Park and Curonia Spit National Park plus the Witch Wood; smoked salmon lunch in the museum; onion soup cafe!; Trakai Castle; swimming in the lake by Trakai castle; organ recital in Riga Cathedral

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was a great group leader - great sense of humour, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the Baltics and through his story telling skills bought the history of the country to life. Was alert to the needs of the group and ensured that were able to do our choice of activities whether minority or majority. We were lucky to have him take us this beautiful region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be relaxed, follow your guide's advice, go with the flow and take a swimming costume
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Dave Tweedie

    Cycle the Baltics

    Easy cycling with mostly flat terrain throughout. The three main cities, Tallinn, Riga and Vilnius are all a very interesting but quite different. The climate drier and warmer than I expected but maybe we were lucky. Food and drink really good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the Curonian Spit and I really enjoyed the folk night in Vilnius contrary to expectations

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius held my interest from beginning to end with his extensive knowledge and great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your swimming trunks and have the smoked salmon at the fisherman's museum.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Ian Archbold

    Enjoyable trip cycling through the Baltics

    Overall this was a very enjoyable trip, visiting the Baltic capitals and countryside, learning about the history of the countries and enjoying some very good local food. It is a relatively flat route through the countries on some very good quality cycle paths and roads (compared to the pot holes in the UK) and the distances are not too challenging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was some enjoyable cycling, interspersed with some unusual but very interesting sights such as the Hill of Crosses and the Nuclear Missile site in Lithuania, which were about as different as you can imagine but both worth seeing. The nightlife in Vilnius was also a lot of fun!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was an excellent group leader, with great local knowledge, a sharp sense of humour, and able to tell interesting stories about the history of the places we were visiting. He was well organised, and coped well with a couple of first aid incidents! Food choices were good (the smoked fish a personal highlight!) and having a plan B on the only day it rained was great as well, as it meant we cycled an alternative route, while still heading in the right direction for the final destination, which the group appreciated.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with the flow and you’ll have a very enjoyable trip
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Felicity Jones

    Lovely Baltics

    Our trip was full of surprises, it was warm and sunny, the Baltic sea wasn't freezing, there were flowers everywhere, the food was great for a vegetarian and it's not boring cycling through a forest. Andrius was a great guide and storyteller, lots of jokes, folk tales, history and local information. We ate as many local specialities in unique locations as he could track down. On our one wet day he came up with a brilliant alternative of cycling round Kaunos instead which was lovely. A great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the villages around Peipsie lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your swimming costume.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Marilyn Sim

    Wonderful Trip

    We enjoyed ten days of fun, sightseeing, riding and good food. The countryside we rode through was picturesque and always interesting. The villages, towns and cities all had their own unique charm. Our accommodation was very comfortable and our group were all friendly and good to ride with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding in Lahemaa National Park and along the Curonian Spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Andrius, was very informative and explained the history and culture of the Baltic countries with candour and humour. He was very well organised so it all ran without a hitch and the pleasant extras were very enjoyable.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Gillian Tanner

    Very informative

    Andrius was an excellent guide through the three Baltic countries. Th cycling was not too challenging but at times rather monotonous as we cycled in forests or along roads with little changing scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating smoked fish outside the fisherman's house, the delicious salmon lunch, gazing out over the Baltic. Understanding a little more about life in Soviet times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was witty, sardonic, extremely knowledgeable and completely made the trip for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax, enjoy your fellow cyclists (we had a great bunch!)and if Andrius has any little suggestions follow his advice!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We will be travelling with Exodus again!