Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    John Grant

    Cycling Vietnam

    A great trip really well organised from start to finish, fantastic to see so many places in one holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt the people of Vietnam, fantastic people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An excellent group leader who kept everything together and on time. Great knowledge of Vietnam and its history a really interesting man with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some practice in and take Cycling padded pants. Get your drinks before you get on the overnight train as they ran out of beer very quickly.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Margaret Shaw

    An amazing adventure with awesome wildlife

    This was a full-on trip, early morning starts with full days of activity - but SO worth it! Each of the 4 islands visited were very different in both their landscape and wildlife. Tourism in all but the last island (Santa Cruz) was very low key and I felt privileged to be there and see all that I did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were quite a few inspirational moments, snorkelling with rays, sharks, turtles and sea lions, dolphins swimming at the side of the boat, but for me seeing a huge manta ray jump completely out of the water right in front of our boat was the moment I shall never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo was a great guide, he was very keen to share his huge knowledge with us all, had a passion for all the wildlife and was extremely proud of his country. He even managed to smile through our incessant barrage of stupid questions, ie ‘will there be a toilet?’ ‘Do we get changed now?’ ‘Do we need fins?’ ‘Do we need to take everything with us?’

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be very aware of the sun whilst snorkelling, a few in our group did get sun burnt. When there are such fantastic things to see it is so easy to forget that you are sometimes in the water for an hour or more and even the best sun creams struggle in these salt water conditions. My advice would be at the very least to take a rash vest or rash suit. One or two in our group after being burnt even snorkelled in their pyjamas! They worked perfectly. Others in our group hired wetsuits, our guide, Pablo always wore one. I took my own very lightweight 1mm wetsuit and was so glad I did, not only did I not have to worry at all about the sun, it also protected me from the biting flies when we were above water listening to our guide. For the hiking, I managed mostly in shorts but long trousers were a good call when we descended into the volcano to view the fumaroles, the path was very overgrown with thorny bushes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are reading this review then you are obviously considering doing the trip yourself ~ stop dithering, just do it, it’s amazing and you won’t regret it.
  • Reviewed March 2019

    Totally enjoyable trip packed with variety

    Two weeks packed with variety of scenery, wildlife, culture on this beautiful island. The itinerary is well balanced to enable you to experience so many highlights yet still have relaxation time. The hotels, apart from the Orient, were a very high standard and in great locations. I travelled on my own yet always had an enormous double/twin room and felt safe. Our guide Nala and the driving crew were superb, everything was well organised yet flexible enough to allow us to enjoy "local experiences" which added to our fun. You will return from this trip with so many happy memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose from so many highlights - on wildlife has to be seeing a leopard so close up in Yala national park as well as elephants passing so near to the jeep. On scenery, the far-reaching views from Lions Rock and watching the sunrise from Adams Peak (after 2.5 hours of effort climbing up steps with hundreds of others). Patiently queuing to view the casket in the Temple of the Tooth was a humbling experience. The trip was full of other enjoyable experiences - biking, rafting, canoeing - where we were so warmly welcomed by the locals. Their smiles were simply heart-warming!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nala was a key factor in the success of this trip. He was an excellent guide, working very hard behind the scenes to offer us "local experiences" such as lunch in a traditional village, a spontaneous game of cricket or a stop at a roadside fruit stall. He was keen to impart knowledge about Sri Lankan life to us, was extremely well organised (giving us verbal then written details about the day's plans!), unfailingly calm and pleasant. An absolute delight to know! Nala worked well with our driver Dinesh and assistant Clement - they were a very competent team giving us excellent service (those cold flannels on returning to the minibus to escape the heat were bliss!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dinners were mostly eaten in the hotels for convenience but if you don't want the buffet, you can choose a la carte, just order well in advance! Lunchtime was when we tended to experience locally prepared food. When you visit the national parks they do bag checks so make sure you don't take any plastics in. Have a pair of socks handy for temple visits, saves burning feet on hot stones!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Lesley Wilkinson

    Misrepresented

    An extremely disappointing trip. Several places we should have visited were closed on the days we were there because of change to itinerary (why was this not checked out?) Distances travelled on some days were much longer than stated in trip notes. Not sure whether it was due to drivers getting lost or road, we weren't told. Drove for hours without being given any information on areas we were travelling through. Did not see anything of Mandi as we did not arrive there until after 6 pm. Hotel there was filthy. Some of the other hotels were not much better; SIlverine in Shimla was unheated and extremely cold, even public areas and restaurant. Sat in jackets etc for breakfast and dinner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Evening visit to the Golden Temple. Visit to Dalai Lama's temple.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was pleasant enough but lacked both enthusiasm and knowledge of places visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book a different tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been on previous trips with both Exodus and other companies, which were excellent. Some of these have been to remote areas of developing countries, so we were not expecting 5 star treatment. Considering the cost of the trip this has to be the worst experience with any company we have travelled with.
  • Reviewed March 2019

    Pura Vida!

    I have been wanting to visit Costa Rica for a number of years and it didn’t disappoint. What an amazing and diverse country, so many different landscapes and microclimates in such a small country. If you are interested in wildlif and birds then this is the trip for you - I tried to make a note of everything we saw and I still only captured about half of it! You stay in every place for 2 nights which is great as you have time to relax and explore each place. All the lodges and hotels are in great locations and of good quality. Some of the best wildlife spotting was in the beautiful grounds of the lodges - you could just sit outside your room and wait for it to come to you! Driving distances are not too great and there are plenty of opportunities to stop and enjoy your surroundings- some of the roads are very uneven so you do get a good massage but our fantastic driver, Carlos did his best to keep this to minimum. I shared the experience with a great group which made the trip even better, you had plenty of time to do things together or take time out and do your own thing if you wanted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s very difficult to pick out one moment - seeing my first sloth in Tortuguero, seeing the sunrise on a deserted Caribbean beach, zip lining through stunning cloud forest in Monteverde, being woken by howler monkeys doing what they do best, swimming in the Pacific Ocean, enjoying the amazing surroundings of Esquinas Lodge, becoming blasé about hummingbirds after seeing so many, listening to coyotes howling in Savegre or enjoying happy hour!! Make the most of every moment as it’s over far too quickly and you’re back to reality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I chose this trip in March as it was being led by Jonny Villalobos, tour leader of the year 2017, as I’d read so much fantastic feedback about him and I can honestly say it’s all true. His knowledge of and passion for his country and it’s wildlife just shines out of him and it’s utterly infectious. He was so attentive to our groups needs, we had a number of vegetarians, vegans, gluten free and dairy intolerant in our group and he made sure there was always something for them to eat. He added extra walks and wildlife spotting opportunities if you wanted them or he gave you time to just unwind in your beautiful surroundings. March is probably the peak time to go but Jonny was brilliant at getting us away from the crowds which were really only evident in Manual Antonio national park, which you don’t want to miss as the beaches are stunning here. Jonny is a brilliant ambassador for Costa Rica and for Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions - ensure you have a good poncho or waterproof as the only thing I can guarantee is you will need it at least once!! Dry bags are also very useful to keep your camera and other essentials dry. Avoid this trip if you don’t like early mornings - I stayed on UK time so was up early most days to enjoy the sights and sounds of Costa Rica which were at the best in the early mornings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it- Costa Rica is a very diverse country with so much to offer - no 2 days are the same. Pura Vida!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Godfrey Bancroft

    Superb in every way.

    The hotel, food, scenery, walks and especially our guide (Vania De Paoli) superb in every way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the highest quality. Company and humour of our group was brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli. 'Simply the best.'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A trip not to be missed.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    barry tylee

    Kenya delivers

    This was my third trip to Kenya on safari. For me it just gets better. Of course there is a lot of luck involved, but the professionalism and determination of the guides ensures that you will enjoy a memorable safari adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is always a very difficult question to answer, when you are presented with such a variety of sittings. How can you follow seeing Lions, leopard and Cheetah.Not too mention many other species in between. My personal inspirational moment was taking a photograph of a single female cheetah which had just jumped up a tree in front of us to take a look at what might be on the menu for lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was, Davis. (Peter was the other guide/driver). I have been in groups with both and Davis comes with a track record which is difficult to surpass. Very competent driver, superb knowledge and a great organiser and communicator. I'm sure that we will meet again in the not so distant future when I again travel to the Massi Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long drives, comfort stops are plenty. It can be a bit bumpy (so what). depending on the time of the year it can be a bit dusty. Otherwise prepare yourself for a great adventure. Sit back and enjoy it. From your pictures you will relive the moments for years to come.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared. When you arrive in Kenya and are collected you will start your journey and indeed your safari. Your first excursion is a boat ride on the lake. Make sure that you have your hat, sun glasses and sun cream (or long sleeved shirt/.blouse) at hand as the time that you will spend on the lake in an open boat is time enough to get burnt in the African sun.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jackie N

    Amazing trip, highly recommended

    This trip is excellent and I could not recommend it more highly. Breathtaking scenery, excellent accommodation in a beautiful family-run hotel and some of the very best Italian food you will ever eat. Our guide (Vania) was fantastic, enthusiastic, efficient and full of good recommendations. The walks are not too strenuous if you are reasonably fit, but be prepared for some short but steep ascents and longer descents, with a lot of steps/stairs on some routes. Good footwear and walking poles recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Path of the Gods and also the walk up the rim of Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was great: professional in her leadership, very enthusiastic and always full of smiles and energy. Excellent English too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Herculaneum is well worth a visit on the free day, even if you have already seen Pompeii. The two sites are different and complementary in what they teach you about Roman life. Make sure you get a guide (Vania recommended and booked an excellent one for us).
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Green

    Fantastic fun in the snow

    I was looking for a trip that I could go on with my wife who is not happy with camping and wishes to have some degree of comfort. This trip seemed to tick all the boxes with a great balance of activity, plenty downtime and a relative degree of comfort compared to a freezing tent and basic toilet facilities at over 5000 metres up a mountain. The area of Oulanka National Park is one of outstanding beauty, peace and cleanliness with zero pollution. The easy snowshoe walks mainly in pristine forests were enchanting and did not require much in terms of effort or bravery. All instruction and a safety briefing was given and we all felt very secure. Our group of 12 mixed well staying in the comfortable and well heated logging cabin after Exodus changed the accommodation due to an issue at Basecamp Oulanka. Our guides Ismo and Mary Louise were absolutely fantastic. They conveyed their enthusiasm for the beautiful environment and we learnt so much from them in such a short space of time. There was much raucous laughter as our group got to know each other all encouraged by Ismo’s gentle humour. Everything to make us comfortable in the cold in the way of clothing and hot food and drink was provided and the food was tasty, plentiful and varied during the week. The cabin was really warm even when the outdoor temeperature dropped to -26C, hot water for showers was unending, the sauna and an outside roll in the snow was invigorating and the WiFi was good enough to catch up with the news back home and watch content on Netflix when relaxing in the room. Snowshoeing requires no special skills and is a wonderful way to spend a fun week in this enchanting place. We also experienced other optional activities on the 2 free days, including a visit to a reindeer farm, snowmobiling and husky riding, however these are an expensive add on but worth trying. Everything was so well organised that we found our week both relaxing and refreshing. We even ventured out to walk at night on a number of occasions under the light of the moon, hearing the amazing forest sounds and saw the Northern Lights. I can not recommend this trip highly enough.... really great fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in such beautiful surroundings surrounded by nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ismo was funny, helpful and worked tirelessly to ensure that we all had a great time. He was funny and interesting with a great sense of humour and it was such a pleasure to have spent a few days with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes.... just go without any preconceptions, appreciate the amazing environment and enjoy every minute. Oh, and be prepared to spend some more money on the optional activities.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ruth Durbano

    Wonderful trip

    A wonderful experience, very varied with a generally good standard of hotels. Excellent guide, bus driver and helper.Fantastic places visited, which combined historic places,temples,Ashram,caves and nature reserves where we saw lots of birds and animals. Also had a little time free to soak up the feeling of the areas and of course some retail therapy, ending up at a beautiful seaside resort to relax for the final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and tranquillity of the stay on the fabulous houseboat in the backwaters in Kerala, would have liked another night ! Also the whole experience of Mahabalipuram.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukose was amazing, very knowledgeable, very helpful and always looking out for everyone.He went the extra mile on so many occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on trip with amazing sights,food and nature full of wildlife.Quite a few hotels don't have fridges,hairdryers or safe boxes in the rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't over impressed with cookery demonstration. I could have done with a little more free time,but overall an absolutely brilliant holiday and experience.
Call us on 020 8772 3936