Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

55 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A fantastic trip for anyone wanting to gain a flavour of Nambia, from its stunning desert landscapes, to cafes on the coast, game viewing in Etosha and geological curiosities en route. I've done 8 exodus trips in the past and this is right up there!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, it was the visit to Sossusvlei, where we saw the sunset and sand change colour as the sun rose from the top of 'Dune 45' and then the trip to Dead Vlei. You get a choice of going to either Hidden or Dead Vlei but definitely choose the latter.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was superb! I had read most of the reviews on the website before and saw his name kept cropping up, and I was delighted that the very complimentary comments were not misplaced. He was amazingly knowledgeable, had eyes like a proverbial hawk, so could pick out the tiniest animal or bird and identify it for us. He (and his team of Jonas and 'Happy') were absolutely amazing - incredibly hard-working, the fastest tent constructors I have ever seen and the food was absolutely stunning every night, ranging from fish and chips, chicken curry, springbok stew and cottage pie. Everyone on my trip was amazed with the food!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To be honest, there's nothing here that's not either been said before or fairly obvious, but here are my comments:1. Get South African currency before you go. The Namibian dollar is pegged to the SA rand and is accepted everywhere. Saves finding ATMs (though to be fair, this wasn't difficult).2. Bring a spare battery for your camera. Charging facilities are available (both on the bus and at every campsite), but it's good to be cautious!3. I found a pillow case was handy to stuff my fleece and other clothes items in to make up a pillow. Hardened campers might not need one, but it helped me sleep!4. The adapter you need is the 3 round pins that are marketed for South Africa.5. The water at every camp site was fine. Many people did buy bottled water (and there were plenty of supermarket stops to stock up on supplies) but I didn't. I reckon that at most campsites it taster better than my water back in the UK. 6. A notebook can be a good way of keeping track of all the species you see, if that's your thing.7. Don't bother booking an additional game drive. We saw well over 100+ species from the van and the waterhole at the first Etosha campsite is floodlit; we saw 26 elephant at the waterhole simultaneously one night and then 6 rhino the next.8. I didn't think the books that exodus 'recommended' were all that great. The van has 7 or 8 reference books (birds, mammals, insects, flowers, geology etc etc) so personally, I wouldn't buy any of the books they list and just get a general guide instead, such as the 'Insight Guide' of Namibia (10.99 on amazon), which was very very good. Highly recommended for general information on the areas you visit.9. The flight via Frankfurt is a bit of a pain, but that's all part of the experience! Just check that your hold luggage is being checked in all the way to Windhoek on the way out, or Heathrow on the way back.10. I travelled in July/Aug 2013 and we had great weather (about 7-12C at night and 24-28C by day), bar two very windy days at the start at Sesriem and Solitaire. For the most part it was a dry heat, so all you need are plenty of t-shirts, one or two long-sleeved tops and a fleece. I took a down jacket as so many other reviewers said how cold it was but never used it; maybe we were lucky? Anyway, it helped make a good pillow. Zip off trousers were good as it meant it was easy to keep warm in the cooler evenings and mornings. I took walking boots but they really weren't necessary. Sandals were best most of the time. 11. I can wholeheartedly recommend the quad biking whilst in Swakopmund. Great fun! Brad Pitt's been there 13 times, apparently. 12. Ear plugs are good to muffle the sound of any snorers in the group!!!  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the exodus trips I'd done before going on this one had been very active (long walking/camping/hut to hut trips or multi-activity trips) so I was a bit wary about whether the trip would be a bit 'slow' and involve a lot of driving, as Namibia is such a huge country. However, there was such variety on the trip I rarely felt bored in the bus. The roads were less bumpy than I had expected (think a pot-holed road in the UK and that's about the gist of it, at its worst) and I loved the camping, as I felt we really experienced living in Namibia. The itinerary has been very carefully thought out and I really gained an excellent insight into an amazing country. If like me you've been thinking of going on this trip for a while then do - it was amazing!
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    Really excellent tour of a fascinating country for people, history and wildlife. Very different from East Africa in all respects so well worth exploring if you are used to safari in Kenya, Uganda etc.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A group of 20 elephants socialising around the waterhole at Halali. We saw maternal and sisterly love, burgeoning male adult naughtiness to a young female and the selfish fun of young elephants chasing impala away from a drink. All life was there! Cheetah conservation talks were fascinating in terms of the scientific advances being made in the care and protection of these magnificent animals. African sunsets, dawns and starry skies take some beating of course. Return to Africa is imperative for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was good fun, an excellent driver and brilliant at animal and bird spotting out of the corner of his eye whilst keeping both hands on the wheel. His zoological knowledge was impressive.Jonas joined in the fun and was a great camp-fire cook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had flight problems with checking in people and luggage for a through flight via two airlines: Heathrow to Frankfurt [BA] and Frankfurt to Windhoek [Air Namibia] . People and luggage got left behind. Check with your Exodus contact before you go to find current advice.It really was cold at certain stages: fleece and head-covering much appreciated.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are hestitating-- hesitate no more. The trip itinerary and the lodge accomodation were first rate. Excellent food too.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A superb trip covering nearly all the places you could possibly want to visit in one trip to Namibia.  The Namibians were really friendly and cheerful and the guiding of the tour and group was excellent, made it even better.  The scenery, landscape and animals were brilliant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There wasn't just one inspirational moment but the following few are some highlights.  Seeing the lion walking down the road on a night game trip and the magical waterhole at Okaukuejo where the animals came to drink of an evening.  We were incredibly lucky to see the leopard on another game drive out in the open on our last game drive and it made the trip end on a high note.  The climb to the plateau at Waterberg was enjoyable but can be hard work for some.  The dunes just made you appreciate the scale and grandeur of Namibia and the interesting geology of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was brilliant with the group telling us so much about his country which he was evidently proud of.  He told us so much about the landscape, geology, animals, culture and politics of his country.  He was also very humorous, interesting to listen and talk to, enthusiastic and looked after us incredibly well.  He and the rest of his team (Thomas, Ronnie, Freddie) worked very hard, the cooking was really good and organisation of the tour superb.   The next group will be lucky to get the same team. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It did get really cold in June so though it says take a season 3 or 4 sleeping bag in July and August if you go in June take the same.  Also thermals, hat and gloves as particularly Etosha was very cold during the night, early morning.It does also get very dusty and sandy so advise to take most of your clothes suitable for safaris such as cut off trousers, shorts and shirts rather than anything dressy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go if you've always wanted to visit and perhaps combine with a trip to Botswana or South Africa while you are at it.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A fantastic trip. So much to do and see in one country. Would thoroughly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up dune 45 to watch the sunrise and change the colour of the sand was truly inspirational. It was also amazing to finally see leopard, cheetah and meer cats in the wild in Etosha.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was brilliant. His knowledge gave us a brilliant insight into the culture, geology, wildlife and history of Namibia. He had a great sense of humour and was really interesting to talk to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take South African rand as your currency as it tracks against the Namibian dollar. Also we ant in June and it got very cold at night so pack your thermals!
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    Excellent introduction to exodus, would certainly use them again! Enough variety to keep you occupied. Excellent tour guide/driver & wonderful food served straight from the fireside. Several hours of driving gave a wonderful overview of the country. Camping made the whole experience natural and magical.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up a sand dune for the morning sunrise, I didn't quite get to the top before the sun but magical all the same. As we bounced down the side of the dune we were met by a wild oryx at the bottom. Exceptional and once in a lifetime moment, at one with the natural world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Knowledgeable. Friendly. Happy. Proud of his country. Would recommend to anyone visting Namibia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a warm sleeping bag (as it gets quite cold at night and in the early morning), a good camera & plenty of sunscreen. Take a movie camera as animals don't stay still for long! Also, stay by the waterhole at night as you will get a wonderful view of the local wildlife, one night we saw 6 rhinos at once, amazing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On our trip we were the only couple, all the others were single travellers, something that made the trip varied, everyone was included. Don't miss out on the oportunity to experience Namibia if you can't find anyone to accompany you.  The night drive at Etosha N.P. was a great extra as you saw the animals in a more natural setting, behaving as the would if you weren't there. Don't be scared of the dark, its another world but worth the late night!  The camping was a great way to experience Africa. Quality tents & fresh local homecooked food. It was so peaceful and quiet, worlds away from city life. The night sky was not covered by western light polution, an atronomers dream.  The craft market was a great place to get African knicknacks, be warned that the stallholders are persistant and can be pushy if there are not many tourists around.   
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    A good all round trip covering a large part of Namibia. The waterholes at Etosha mean that animals congregate there during the dry season so viewing them there is easy if that is what you want; Swakopmund provides opportunity for other activities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing several rhinos and groups of oryx. The unnexpected events such as seeing an aardwolf on the night drive, or the sun coming out at Swakopmund, where I was able to take photos of flamingos in flight for the first time, the male kudu on the footpath at Waterburg plateau.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Compared to other guides, maybe a bit too relaxed, particularly about making late departures from the campsites which reduces the opportunities for seeing animals at first light and seemed to mean some fast driving. Ok if you prefer a lie in when you are on holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take SA rand with you. It is used interchangeably with the and avoids the problems experienced by some of our group when changing money at the airport on the way in. Also, you are allowed to bring it back out again. The Namibian dollar can't be brought out and Windhoek dutyfree charges about 3x the high street price.A lot of viewing in Etosha is done by standing on the seats to look out through the roof. If you are less than about  1.65m (5'5") it makes it difficult to use a camera and if you stand on the floor you are going to be looking between the legs of those who are a bit taller. If you are taller than that, then no worries - it gives you a better view than the people in the land cruisers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great bakeries and cafes at Swakopmund and along the way (especially at Outjo). Giant sand dunes! I've been to both the Hidden Vlei and the Dead Vlei and don't think there is much to choose between them. Be prepared for basic toilet facilities at dune 45. A bee swarm was attracted to the toilets when we were there. Water is generally fit to drink but you might want to take a water bottle with you.Take plenty of memory cards rather than waste time and battery on review and deletion. Recharging seemed to take longer at some sites than others, but was possible at most of them.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    It was a very varied tour, during which we experienced very versatile landscapes, ranging from desert to the coast, plateaus and gorges. We saw lots of wild life during these days, which culminated in 3 days in Etosha National Park. Definitely worth it and highly recommendable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Breakfast at the foot of Dune 45 after an early morning start seeing the sun rise over the Namibian landscape. It was magical having our breakfast in the middle of the desert surrounded by the red sand of the Namib desert. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney made our Namibia tour an unforgettable experience, about which we still talk enthusiastically after 6 months. He is a great ambassador for his country, sharing knowledge about plants, animals and landscape. Working relentlessly and discretely in the background, he created a really nice atmosphere, allowing us to experience a worry-free holiday of which we enjoyed every minute. He is very good with all members of the group, being patient, approachable and friendly at all times. When rooms of different standards had to be allocated between the group members he demonstrated great diplomatic skills, leading to the group accepting the situation and being content that the best solution had been found.Through his commitment, hard work and enthusiasm Ronney made our holidays a special experience. For this and to recognise his dedication to the job and the group we recommend him for the tourleader award 2012.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of memory cards for your camera and spare batteries as they are not as freely available as in Europe. Pack varied clothes as the mornings can be very cold (we went in August) but during the day - especially inland - it can get quite warm. Layers do pay off. When doing the lodge based tour, take a hair dryer with you, as they are not available everywhere.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are so many memories that will be forever with us and that make this holiday and unforgettable experience: Sitting at a lookout hill at Solitaire Lodge on after our first full day in Namibia, watching the sun set and experiencing the sheer endlessness of the country sideHaving breakfast in the namib desertExperiencing the Namibian wildlife entering and exiting the waterhole at lodges in Etosha as if it was a performance on stageseeing an elephant squirting water on a rhino to end a fight over  a waterwholeWatching 30 elephants at the waterhole, drinking, play-fighting and "performing to the audience" led to 2 unforgettable hours of entertainmentExperiencing the tension of antilopes before the appearance of a lion at the waterhole and a lioness drink at nightStaying at white lady lodge in the middle of nowhere, seeing the most incredible star sky with the milky way running through itClimbing up the waterberg plateau until the plain opens in front of you for a impressive viewa really unforgettable experience, made possible by a great tour leader   
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    An excellent trip providing a snapshot of all the wonderful things Namibia has to offer. My expectations were exceeded on a daily basis and I ran out of words to describe the wonderful places, people and animals that were all part of this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting by the waterhole in Etosha and watching a zebra family cautiously make their way round and in to drink; finding one lone elephant having a drink, only for him to be joined by the rest of his family, some giraffes, hyenas, jackals and warthogs; sitting by Sesriem Canyon and watching baboon families on the other side watching us as the sun went down; walking through the dunes to Deadvlei surrounded by the wonderful desert scenery to name just a few!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was very pleasant and helpful and knowledgeable about his country. He worked hard to make sure we got the most out of our holiday. The teamwork displayed by Ronney, Sam and Jonas was exemplary. They were so efficient setting up camp in the evening and striking camp in the morning while we just relaxed! A special mention must go to Jonas' excellent cooking!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    November in the desert is seriously hot - even at night! On the last day the market at Okahanja is not the nicest - there is serious pressure to buy and the stalls all seem controlled by one company so you do not feel that your money is going to the community. Check with your guides but depending on flight times you may have free time in Windhoek later that day. There is a community craft market in the centre of Windhoek which is a much more pleasant experience so if you know you will have time there just have a coffee in Okahanja and leave the shopping to Windhoek (the coffee shop in Okahanja served great coffee and cake!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If game viewing is a priority beware travelling once the rainy season starts (November). We were lucky and saw most of the animals we wanted to but everywhere we went we were told it was going to be difficult to see animals as the rains had already started in Etosha and then they don't come to the watering holes as much.All in all though an amazing trip and a holiday I will remeber for a very long time.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA Lodge trip

    A journey that takes one through mountain landscapes to gigantic sand dunes and then on to one of Africa's best game parks. A photographer's delight! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The incredible changing colour and shadowed expanses of Namib sand  sculptured in the early morning sunlight was unforgetteble.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was a cheerful hard working leader who drove carefully and had super vision in spotting distant game.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Buy a solid rubber ring pillow for both the eleven hour flight and the long bumpy journeys in the truck. An excellent guide is by Chris McIntyre [Bradt, 4th edition, 2011]; this provides a lucid summary of Namibia's history, culture,  environment and animals; as well as local detail. Prices  are low compared to the UK; 1/2 litre of good local beer was around £1.25 and wine £7 a bottle in a restaurant [November 2012: Nam$ 13.5 = £1]. There are numerous exchanges at Windhoek airport, the city, and large towns (though not so many); and a better exchange rate than in the UK. Treat yourself to an excellent four course dinner in the magical old 'Beau Geste' fort at Namutoni in the Etosha National Park [about £15]. Don't buy bottles on the return flight - one faces brutal confiscation at Frankfort when changing planes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The lodges during the hot summer time do generally provide welcome air conditioning and reasonable comfort. However, the condition of the hotel at Swakopmund would not be acceptable to the YHA. Bradt (in 2006 ed.) observes 'rooms are basic', and nothing has changed! Have not seen fly-papers hanging in a dining room since - well, long ago! Namibia is well worth exploring; the people are friendly and welcoming, the country offers great scenery. I enjoyed the journey (together with the geniality of my companions); and, hopefully, so will you.  
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER NAMIBIA

    The trip was well organized and an inspirational. We saw all we could have hoped for and more. It has certainly given me the bug and intend to book future holidays through Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many special memories but the highlights have to start with climbing Dune 45 at sunrise and walking through Dead Vlei, swiftly followed by 4x4 in the Dunes at sandwich bay. The stand out highlight had to be finding completely wild desert elephants in our camp at Brandberg. I woke up early to take pictures of sunrise only to find elephants moving through the camp site which was a wonderful sight. We saw every type of animal we could wish for in Etosha including giraffe, Zebra, Kudu, lions, cheetahs, various antelope and springbok. But the highlights of Etosha and herd of about 25 elephants which came right up to the truck crossing the road in front of us and a leopard which snarled and charged at the truck only to swiftly melt away into the undergrowth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam our guide was excellent he was friendly, helpful and had an inexhaustible knowledge of all the animals, birds, culture and history of the Namibian people. He also made sure we got to all the sights and into the game parks before the other tours which made a real difference. I will never forget the drive to Dune 45 as well as walking and viewing the desert from the top of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The nights in the desert were quite cold so there is a need for a few warm clothes. However thing soon start to warm up once you get towards Swakopmund. I would also highly advise to the 4x4 desert drive in Sandwich bay which is a new optional tour as it was excellent fun driving up and then down the dunes, seeing where the sea meets dunes and digging for Geckos in the sand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an excellent tour which has great variety. I was worried that 3 days of the game park at Etosha would be too little but we managed to see most of the major animals all on day one or beginning of day 2 as they all came to us at the waterholes!!! I would highly recommend it and the dunes are fantastic sight which all should see.