Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

150 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Abby Willcox

    Amazing trip in a beautiful country

    We had a fantastic time in the Finnish Wilderness. Basecamp was great, the staff were all lovely and really helpful. We enjoyed trying out a wide range of activities and then being free most afternoons to do the activities on our own or just relax or have a wander around the forest. Having the marked trails was really handy for independent exploring. The food was varied and we always had plenty to eat. The constant availability of free teas, coffee and juice was nice, as was the lovely log fire in the main lodge for warming us up after a chilly day out. The equipment and clothing provided was excellent, much better than I'd expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was husky dog sledding, without a doubt one of my favourite activities ever. My partner enjoyed seeing the northern lights twice and having an endless number of photography opportunities, albeit very cold ones!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elina was great, our favourite exodus guide so far. She was so friendly and approachable with a really good humour. The only down side is your guide is not with you every day as you go off to do different activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with other reviews, you don't need to take many of your own clothes. We washed our quick dry base layers in the sink every other day. Be prepared to pay a lot for the optional activities, of which there were many more available than those listed in the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, enjoy yourself. Spend a week in another world doing fun activities, meeting nice people and eating lots of food. Nothing not to love about this trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Johnny Corn

    Should be on everyone’s bucket list

    This is a trip every Exodus traveller should do! So many different activities in a week based at the wonderful Oulanka Basecamp with its great facilities, gear and staff. The day light is short but you sure make the most of it and have plenty of time to unwind and relax. Laugh at yourself as to try and tackle most things that you would have never tried before but after a taster would want to do most of them as holidays in themselves- husky sledging, snow shoe walking, cross country skiing and driving a skidoo. The final day in the enchanted snow covered National Park of Riisitunturi is one I will never forget as one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to! Did not see the Northern Lights which would have put the icing on the cake but will just mean I will have to come again! Everyone seems to do the Petra trip but I suggest this is a most do trip too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Husky sledging and the snow shoe walk in Riisitunturi.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Elena was a brilliant guide and leader and supported by all the team at the camp! They were all so enthusiastic, professional and fun and clearly love what they do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you do the river floating do not wear your glasses as they like the clothes you are provided with freeze! You hardly need to take a thing as the gear they provide is better than the gear I have and I am a real wimp in the cold! Take plenty of good socks, hipflask, buy duty free as my bar bill was horrendous ( my own fault but enjoyed it all!), if your clothes get wet of sweaty dry them out on the floor of your room with underfloor heating! No soaps etc in rooms so take your own!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Did not get time as day light short but try and do Bear walks from Basecamp!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Elizabeth Gladin

    A happy time with new friends, lots to do in a glorious place. Very special week.

    Whats not to like? Dog sledding on a snowy christmas morning, the fabulous walk we took just the two of us on the Bear Trail, the group snow shoe hike up in the Riisitunturi National Park or the laughing tumbles practicing our cross country skiiing, or the group dinners with lots of joyful tales of our days, and a sip or two of Cloudberry Liquer? Elina always ready with a grin, a story or some good advice. The Oulanka Basecamp staff with their smiles at all times of the day, and hearty offerings of food and drink. We will return!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What to choose? All of it, really.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Everyone of our guides were brilliant - helpful, friendly, informative and professional. Elina especially was great and contributed to making our activities such fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. A brilliant way to spend a snowy unchristmasy but very special Christmas

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing to add except we want to go back. Or do another Exodus trip......
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Claudia Radaelli

    Wilderness Adventure

    The experience overall was very good on many lelvels. The basecamp was not luxorious but the people are very welcoming and it is very clean. My only criticism is about the food, I cannot understand how it one can serve frozen berries with ice cream as dessert when it is -20 outside!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Northern Lights and the Husky sledging

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very nice indeed, lovely person

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    yes, bring warm undergarments!! the rest they provide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not at this stage, just better food please and more warm choices.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Dina Stylianou

    Enjoyable week of snowy activities

    A wonderful week in beautiful surroundings and well organised activites by the team at basecamp. An opportunity to experience the full beauty of Finland and try a variety of snowy activities. Comfortable warm lodge, varied and plentiful wholesome food, a welcoming and client-oriented basecamp team and a great mixiture of snow sports and actiivites. One of my favourite Exodus holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I love everything, but in particular the dogsledding. It was very unexpectd to walk into someone's home and be so welcomed. A great experience all round. The dogs are so well looked after and well behaved. The owners were adorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fab. The Exodus leader was great. Our team leader at Basecamp was brilliant. She did all the right things and ensured that everyone had equal experince of activities regardless of level and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it. It's a great experience, and take a dressing gown to get you from your apartment to the sauna.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to Millie Reeves for answering all my questions (even the silly ones) and taking time out to talk me through (on email) the itinerary. It really helped.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Pru Goudie

    A Fantastic Finnish Wilderness Adventure!

    Just returned from a fantastic week in Finland, a country I've always wanted to visit. I travelled over Xmas and it really was a snowy wilderness with very limited daylight hours. However the tour was very well balanced between outdoor activities and downtime and we made the most of the daylight hours. We stayed in a comfortable and cosy lodge called Basecamp Oulanka set in truly stunning surroundings. The food was fantastic and they kitted us all out with all the outdoor gear and all our equipment which we got to keep for the week. We tried our hands at husky sledding, snowmobiling, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and went on many wonderful walks throughout National Parks. The trees were laden with snow, we had many campfires along the way, the guiding was excellent and the food & wine was gorgeous! I totally recommend this week away, I felt so refreshened and invigorated by the time I returned!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The natural environment we were in, all the snow and the activities were great fun - I loved all of them!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a local leader called Eleni and she was wonderful, very friendly and knowledgable and passionate about her country. Couldn't have asked for a better group leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a great trip, it's my first trip with Exodus and I wouldn't hesitate to do another one. Maybe Japan or Argentina .... two more bucket list destinations for me!!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Caryn Long

    Awesome Finnish Wilderness Week

    One of the best trips I have ever been on! Superb location, excellent accommodation with amazing food, well hosted by friendly guides. Choice of activities was brilliant and the trip was relaxing as well as moderately active. Would recommend!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky sledging, river floating, quinzee building and the night time walk with the peaceful moment for reflection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, good English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't over pack. All clothing and equipment provided of good quality.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it!!
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Great fun

    A great fun trip full of new experiences in a beautiful environment. The guides and all the staff where friendly, helpful and very passionate about nature

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending a night in a quinzee that I helped to build on a frozen lake was a great experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of the group leaders were awesome. Very passionate about nature

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your thinking about booking this trip..... book it, you'll love it
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Michelle Craig

    Fabulous Trip

    Fabulous week in the snow in the Finland. The week exceeded all expectations - helped by the fact we saw the Northern Lights on night one on the way from the airport. Had a great mix of different activities and stunning scenery. Also food was really good. Lunch was always a filling soup and dinner great home cooked Finnish dishes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The morning dog sledding - a small company is used who take good care of the dogs and dogs seemed very happy to bring us out for exercise. Also the scenery in the area was like a Winter Wonderland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martti made the trip. It was clear that he loves the outdoor life in the snow and he was happy to share those experiences with the group. He also had a great sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You don't really to bring much luggage. All the layers are provided from boots to hats and gloves.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Daphne Dorman-Smith

    Superb Week in Wintry Finland

    Brilliant week of deep snow, sunshine, stunning scenery, amazing activities, great food and comfortable accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dog sledding and Northern Lights, followed closely by snow mobiling and walking in the forest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marti was brilliant. Very well organised, clear in his instructions, and great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The lodge really does provide all the equipment/outer clothes you might require. All you need to pack is your thermal under layers, a few things to wear in the evening, and you're done.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous week in glorious scenery, the chance to try your hand at lots of different activities and a great switch off from reality. If you love the snow, winter scenery and outdoor activities, then get booking !