Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    sue lockley

    Highlight of Morocco

    I enjoyed most of the holiday but would have like to have stayed in a Essaouira another night and one less night in Marrakesh at the end of the trip as it was lovely by the beach and very relaxing after a lot of driving. The mountains were great, Fes and many other places were great, very interesting trip. I did not like long hours in the mini bus but it was part of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Mountains and gorges, Fes was also very interesting in the old and new part of the city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good group leader, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful when I was not well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great holiday to see Morocco, but if you do not like travelling hours in a bus it could be too much especially when you feel rough!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were very good and the amount included in the trip was all in all very good.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    GRAHAM CLARKE

    Highlights of Morocco - Premium

    A good overview of the country taking in the major sights and attractions. Due to the geography of the country there were a some long drives but these were broken up by stops and we were travelling through some spectacular scenery in some cases.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a number of course, but for me personally it was the ascent from Gorge du Todra and the walk in the Atlas mountains from Kasbah Oliver. Marrakesh is quite mad but that was expected. The camel ride into the desert campsite was a new experience also.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammad was excellent: he was ever helpful, kind and considerate with a good sense of humour as well as a good knowledge of the country. I should mention also Yussef (not sure of spelling) who drove us safely the whole time particularly on the winding mountain roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Hotels were not the best I have ever stayed in, they were sparse in most cases and not always warm we went in February; that is all there is in many places but at least they were clean. Do take heed of the packing list and take warm clothes; fleeces, gloves,hats etc. It can get very cold at night and in the mornings before the sun gets up especially in the mountains and in the desert camping. If you are intending to do the walk up the Gorge du Todra then a walking pole or poles would be very useful and Exodus could well add this to their packing list.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A memorable trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Chamini Mendis

    Cities and beyond

    The trip had a great mixture of imperial cities of Morrocco as well as country side and desert. Great to see Essaouira which a starke contrast to other cities. Loved the walks in Torda gorge as well as the high Atlas. Loved the city of Fes with winding souks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise in the Sahara and high Atlas walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed is a great leader with immense amount of knowledge and experience. He made sure everyone was involved were looked after well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a busy but fun trip that has bit of everything . Great introduction to Morocco.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Chamini Mendis

    Cities and beyond

    The trip had a great mixture of imperial cities of Morrocco as well as country side and desert. Great to see Essaouira which a starke contrast to other cities. Loved the walks in Torda gorge as well as the high Atlas. Loved the city of Fes with winding souks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise in the Sahara and high Atlas walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed is a great leader with immense amount of knowledge and experience. He made sure everyone was involved were looked after well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a busy but fun trip that has bit of everything
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Chamini Mendis

    Cities and beyond

    The trip had a great mixture of imperial cities of Morrocco as well as country side and desert. Great to see Essaouira which a starke contrast to other cities. Loved the walks in Torda gorge as well as the high Atlas. Loved the city of Fes with winding souks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise in the Sahara and high Atlas walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed is a great leader with immense amount of knowledge and experience. He made sure everyone was involved were looked after well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a busy but fun trip that has bit of everything
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Ciaran Brooks

    Enjoyable trip

    A good introduction to the country and a chance to see the majority of the sights, albeit sometimes briefly. The cities of Fes and Marrakech were interesting, and the time in the mountains and Todra Gorge were enjoyable. The food was good, though perhaps dominated by tourist rather than local restaurants. The guide was excellent and the driver good too. Overall it was an enjoyable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The city tour of Fes was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great in all aspects. Professional, organised, approachable.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Alvise Calamai

    What an amazing trip!

    We decided to do a family adventure-type trip for the Hallowe'en mid-term and we picked this trip. It was really a phenomenal experience. We travelled from Marrakech across The Atlas mountains and back (with a couple of days in Marrakech at the end) in a week. We visited some amazing places, had a great time, and the pace and intensity level was perfect for the whole family (four of us, ranging from 9 to 46 years old). Our guide (Mohamed) was really excellent, always attentive to everyone's needs, and always very interesting and insightful in explaining us everything that we saw and was going on around us. Truly, truly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking back from Kasbah Oliver

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide (Mohamed) was really excellent, always attentive to everyone's needs, and always very interesting and insightful in explaining us everything that we saw and was going on around us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Truly recommended
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alan Staniforth

    Camels in a sandstorm

    A relaxing and very enjoyable adventure. First day of camel trecking was enhanced by a terrific sandstorm, followed by torrential rain that fell whilst we were sleeping outside in the Sahara desert. The guide said we needed scarfs to protect us if there was sand storms and we needed them (although at first I thought they were making fun of the travellers).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having what some would call bad weather, which made the experience more of an adventure. Spending time gelling with the group. Spiritual drinks. The Haman.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul the 1st was very knowledgeable and took time to speak to all members of the group. Was also helpful when mine and another member of the groups bags broke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a scarf at least 2 meters in length.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Bill Lovett

    Morocco in double-quick time

    If you want to see a country fast, and get a good taste, not just in the obvious touristy places. If you are ready for a lot of travelling and a bit of mild discomfort. Then Highlights of Morocco will be for you. There is a real variety. Some reviewers (elsewhere) talk about the hassle they have had from Moroccan sellers. Read what the guide books say about pictures. But I had little *serious* grief from sellers. if your idea of bargaining is an English car boot sale, then yes - it is much tougher, more manipulative. But compared to say Gambia or India... its mild stuff really. And for me the real surprise is the Moroccans themselves. Nice, welcoming people. People who (many) do Sunni Islam fairly seriously, but not of the negative varieties found elsewhere... They are willing to discuss beliefs and welcome respectful discussion. Long Live Morocco.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single "high", nor low for that matter. There was a rapid succession of interesting sights and experiences, but before you could really absorb a place or sight, woosh! You were away elsewhere. This is *inevitable* in a 14 day helta-skelta. What is worth noting for new readers is the variety: grand historic sights; mysterious dilapidations in remote places, barren mountain grandeur, broad desert, seaside resorts, French style boulevards, busy developing country market experiences. Even the "commercial" stop overs (handloom factory, stoneware factory, furniture factory) did not have the hard sell flavour that you will get elsewhere. They were places to see trades in action (and smell in one notable case (aaah, Bisto?).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader Syed and driver Abdul were both excellent. Experienced and health and safety conscious. Your hearing aid broken? Your trainer falling apart up a mountain? Wading across a hill stream? Going to get lost in the souq? Syed will help/advise/caution. On the long car journeys, he breaks up them up well with interesting little stops. He gave helpful warnings about taking pictures, and his tipping (from our pot) helped us take interesting people shots. I will support Vicky's comment that Syed could have given us a bit more background to places. he would certainly answer questions if asked, but general background was not offered. But note: general background is actually quite hard to give. it too easily slips into GCSE history lists. The Vandal, Almohad, Almoravid, Abbassids and Whatchamacallit dynasties all slither into a sticky broth.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice is from a "tour" newbie to others who are going on a tour for the first time. 1. This is a low to moderate level intensity tour. Indeed, but it still demands quite a lot. There are a couple of walks that are not steep, but are not trivial either. 9 different beds in 14 days brings its own strain. There are two long days driving. Syed breaks up these journeys well, but.. but they still wear you out. At the end of the tour, you are *tired*. 2. Read the Exodus travel notes carefully. They are well written and give you useful details for your trip. 2b Hotels. Trip notes do say that some hotels are better than others. So be prepared for a variety. Be sure that as soon as you arrive you check, do I have towels. Is this bed meant for a single so how I and my wife going to fit? Does the A/C work? Are there light bulbs that work? The hoteliers try in their own ways: "ask and you shall receive, knock and it shall be opened...." 3. Money. I took GBP cash and changed as I went along. Others can comment on ATMs, but it did not appear to be a difficulty, just a matter of timing. Change and small notes were a problem. So be parsimonious with the coins at the beginning. by the end you should be fine. My mistake was to forget [1] to put aside enough money for the final meal and [2] have ready money for the final tip. I was not well at this stage and thought I was out of cash on the last evening. Silly me, I had another cache of cash and all was well. Just watch for the end. I also took single USD bills. Turned out handy in the end. The Casablanca Airport transition lounge took EUR, USD, Dirahams, but not GBP. Grrh. USD was ket here. 4. Enjoying the company. Readers who have done tours before will appreciate very well what I under estimated. Your tour group is a little community of complete strangers that has to interact closely, evenly intensely, for 14 days. It requires concerted and continual effort, certainly for tour first timers. We inevitably make our own judgments, but keep ones mind open and talk to everyone where ever possible. 5. Health. In September, this tour was not blighted by mosquitoes or flies. it was (for me anyhow) an almost bug free visit. However there was a dose of runny tummy that scythed through the group. Bring your own Immodium. Toilets, but were thrones, but be ready for squats. Aaah, enjoy that cross cultural experience. The salads are nice, I'll leave them till the end, next time. A cold swept through our number, and alas, I'm still suffering from it. Just be ready to pick something up, we are all together in one vehicle for a long stretches.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Was the pacing right? Would I have liked more days in x and less in y? No - personally I was happy with the pacing. The cancellation of the hammam experience was unfortunate, but... stuff happens.... Unless you know the coffee is good in any one location, make Moroccan mint tea your drink of default. it is really interesting. The wine? Not so great. Give your liver a 2 week holiday. It is surprising how people have a little smattering of English. But if you have any French or Arabic, it is nice to dust it down, showing sellers or hoteliers that you want to make a small positive gesture.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Vicki Gunner

    A good, varied trip

    Overall this was a good and varied trip. The people in the group were lovely, some were a little eccentric (but in a good endearing way). I hope to keep in touch with some people from the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to the Sahara at sunrise (so beautiful and tranquil) and also sleeping under the stars (I saw 12 shooting stars). I also enjoyed the walk to the Top of Todra Gorge (seeing some three week old kids - baby goats) - the views were amazing and it was a great sense of achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was friendly, concerned for our safety and knowledgeable. I would say that he wasn't very forthcoming with volunteering information about the different places we visited (if you asked him a question he wouldn't mind answering it but as a guide I wouldn't expect him to be more proactive). On previous exodus trips the guide has spoken on the coach at length about: - what I will be happening during the day and also - has given some background to the history and religion of the country and then - when at the destination, provided us with his comprehensive knowledge of the place we were visiting. I appreciate an official guide was needed in some places. I would have appreciated some guidance on haggling/good places to buy - as when asked he never give his opinion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There were not many opportunities to have laundry done. Take a bank card that is ease to use and ATMs and doesn't charge you as there were not many opportunities to actually go into banks/hotels and exchange money. Although you pay a single person supplement there are 4 nights out of 14 where you will need to share (whilst I didn't mind this I think it could have been made clearer). It is a level 2 fitness ensure that you can walk up a hill reasonably well - it was a gentle pace but a couple of people struggled with a gentle incline and had to go back to the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We discovered that our Hamam in the mountains was cancelled I think Exodus should think of an activity that could be done (Moroccan games etc/learning how to make a tagine) as time here in the gite felt like wasted time. Personally I would have preferred more time in Essouria - a lovely coastal town with lots going on.
Call us on 020 8772 3936