Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17956 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007

    In the first 10 minutes of our first game drive we came across not one, but two cheetahs lying in th

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness of the animals and the privilege of being part of their world - to camp in the middle of the Masai Mara with all this just outside your tent was the most amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - excellent in every respect !!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - you would not regret a single moment.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Bears, beer and buddies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sea kayaking off Vanouver Island and spending the night on the uninhabited Vargas Island was unforgettable. We were there on American Independence Day and as our tour guide was from Texas we celebrated in style with Champagne and Mars Bars! When sitting round the campfire toasting marshmallows with the sea lapping the shore, the sun setting and the bald eagles swooping down , I looked round at the new friends I had made and thought 'It doesn't get much better than this!' 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Carson, was awesome. He was a great cook, great company and really helped everyone feel part of a team. He was incredibly organised but also flexible so we didn't feel that we were just being told what to do and when to do it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on a camping trip, take a kit bag rather than a rucksack as you can never find anything in a rucksack, especially by torchlight in a small tent. It gets very irritating after a few days!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every moment of my trip (except, perhaps, putting up our tent in a torrential downpour on the first night) and can't wait to do another Exodus holiday. I made some really good friends and re-acquainted myself with the joys of camping and adventure after years of beach holidays.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The views were incredible when the weather allows, it snows in italy in July

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Tribuluan Hutte in snow, and then the weather clearing to see the surrounding hills just after lunch!  WoW!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, knows alot about Alpine flowers! Good humoured (well he had to be to put up with us!).  Well led walks, safety concious, ood steady pace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Excellent opporutnity for an introduction to Alpine walking! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The best holiday ever. Perfect

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our leader Baz

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.  I wrote a letter (via email) to you about our excellent leader but you did not respond

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are British make sure you have 10 pounds sterling for Turkish customs.If you are Irish (even if travelling from Britain) make sure you have 10 euros for Turkish customsMunicipal tea gardens are a great place for cheap drinks in peaceful surroundings Don't opt for the second week activities except the boat trip.  They are more expensive and represent poor value for money compared with the first week's activities.In the first week, I wouldn't do the boat trip to the beach.  You can do it more cheaply independently.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I put in my email letter and feedback form that I would like you to do more 2 WEEK family adventure holidays.  This is currently the only one.I also queried the expense of the second week activities (see comment above).
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Time for a nice Aass.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The serenity.  The company was excellent too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were all excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go to Norway if you don't like reindeer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Organisation excellent, apart from the fact that Exodus chose to inform me by surface mail that the itinerary had changed.  Even though we'd been in touch regularly by phone and e-mail.  The letter arrived the afternoon of the morning I arrived in Oslo (I'd booked land only, joining the group there). 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Polar Paparazzi Perfection

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful Polar Bear sightings on ice - good to see there was still sea ice in the area and hope for the young cubs we saw - there must have been seals for the Mums to catch - they looked healthy and they didn't seem at all disturbed by the ship or us.Everything was wonderful and even better when the mists went!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul - what can one say - fantastic enthusiasm and a way with words - his daily reviews were superb - just wish we could have a copy of them - where have they got to?  A superb leader. 'Woody' and all the Vavilov team were brilliant - such a wealth of knowledge, qualifications and enthusiam -  have never been on such a fantasic trip before. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO - don't wait any longer - go while there is still ice and wildlife to see.  Don't put it off but would suggest/ recommend the Exodus charter of Vavilov rather than other dates if going alone.It's not cold as you will be dressed for it and the zodiac 'cruising' and landings are superb.  Take plenty of memory cards for your cameras Don't worry about going on your own - you'll never feel lonely or alone.  Everyone got on well together and you'll make many new friends.  As long as you can get up and down the steps on the side of the ship and onto/off the zodiac  (with assistance) you'll be fine.  The longer your legs are the better for a dignified climbing back into a zodiac! from the shore!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a fantastic experience - want to go again! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It has it all - from deep valleys to snow covered plateaus - great trekking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Galdhopiggen and seeing snow covered mountains around you is the highlight of the trip.Scrambling down the Bessegen ridge came a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorgen and Gro were friendly and helpful. They both keep up a good pace so you need to be physically fit for the trek. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation is quite basic. Members of our group were dissappointed with the standard of accommodation at Memerubu - we stayed in bunk houses outside the main complex - although our guide said there was a misunderstanding and that we should have been in the main complex.Vegetarians were reasonably catered for although can be quite basic (e.g. the Reindeer Tongue soup was just the soup base without any meat in it).The Besseggen ridge (day 2) was a little more airy than expected although doesn't present any great difficultes. Probably Striding Edge level of exposure and difficulty. Beer is extremely expensive (£6 for a 500ml tin of beer).Unless you are really want to do caving, potholing or white water rafting at Lom, then this day is really a wasted day. There is not a lot to do in Lom -it's a very small town. There didn't seem anywhere decent to walk from the town itself. It might be worth hiring a car to do some exploration (if so, take your driving license). It would be far better if Exodus used this day as an extra walking day on the trek, (e.g. a circular walk from Memerubu or Spiterstulen). I guess they are just using it as a contingency day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people on the trek thought that it should be graded a C/D. This is mainly due to the length of the walks and the difficulty of the terrian (e.g. walking over stones and boulders).  I personally think it was just a hard C.Day 2- We bagged some of our stuff and this was taken by boat to Memerubu. This meant our rucksacks were a lot lighter for going over the Besseggen ridge. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Don't get caught by the cows!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was definitely the last day. The views as we climbed higher and higher up the side of the valley were breathtaking and the huge vultures (?) circling the thermals at the top were beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richia Astridge was a very good leader and guide and never lost enthusiasm for the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wax ear plugs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Glad I went with Exodus.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I've lost my heart in Tibet, so I have to go back to find it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the vast emptiness, the endless skies, the mountains, the people we met on the way, the children, serious and playful at the same time!   I read a lot before going there and have read a lot more since coming back, and would recommend this to anyone travelling there.   It helps you to understand the current situation and to be a respectful and sensible traveller. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was great!  He is a responsible, loveable person and he is a great asset to Exodus!I do hope when I travel with Exodus to Mount Kailash next year, that I have the same group leader and local guide !  They worked very well together (hint!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would strongly advise potential travellers to read up on Tibet before going there.I would recommend Tibet,  Tibet by Patrick French and Last Seen in Lhasa by Claire Scobie as both books give you a good understanding of how to behave and when to keep quiet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with an open mind and an open heart.  It is an unforgettable experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Oy choy oy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pinpoint one area, but the highlights were definately the below:1. Staying with locals on trekks to get a real feel of the culture and people2. Halong Bay, but could have been an extra night  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Truong Long was brilliant, he entertained us as well as showed us the highlights of his country with a wealth of knowledge on all aspects.  It is always hard to keep up the motivation when people are tired etc.. but he always managed it.  He also was on hand to deal with our hundreds of questions and helped book other tours for us when needed.  He seems to get on well with all the locals as well, which made our trip even more enjoyable. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Got to Vietnam!!  Also I had a week before in the South and Central parts which are also great areas to visit.  Try everything and you will get to know Vietnam properly

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would suggest that although the Mauseleum was good, it is an optional tour and it is replaced by the museum of Ethnology before the trek as this gives a great insight into Vietnam and some of the tribes you meet on the trek.