Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jeremy Burns

    Costa Rica birding departure

    Good for bird watchers Excellent professional guide and comfortable air-conditioned coach Costa Ricans friendly nice people Good opportunities to ride on boats and walk in unspoilt rain forest and swim from beautiful Pacific beaches Drawbacks are lots of long coach journeys on slow roads and many of the places visited are crowded with coaches and tourists. Also hotel food is nothing to write home about except at savegre where it is excellent Don't bother with night walk and suspension bridges at Monteverdi which are poor value in my opinion. Costa Rica also very expensive even for basics like bread or fruit . I found it hard to understand how the poor local population could afford to live at these prices

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting tortuguero

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent very knowledgeable pleasant hard working and considerate... Guillermo Gomez is his name

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take colones or pay by Visa card. If you are British and buy US dollars to take with you, you then end up converting dollars to colones at a poor local rate and lose out twice on the currency conversion If you are elderly you may find the high altitudes at Monteverdi and at savegre a problem. My 82 year old mother for example managed most of the rest of the trip ok but became ill in the high country Good binoculars and camera a must for the birding departure
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Tim Shaw

    Snowshoeing in the sun

    The amazing weather meant that snow was fast disappearing, but our leader, Miguel, still found some excellent routes. There were some enjoyable snowshoeing challenges, and outstanding views of distant peaks. Miguel also shared his passion for Catalonia and its history,food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The reward of fabulous views after a hard traverse uphill to Creu de l’Eixol.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Flexible in choosing appropriate routes for the group members.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Anne Farrow

    Title is appropriate

    Had great week in Bolquere. Lovely group and lots of snow and sunshine. Varied routes each day and really good food at our mountain stops. Hotel small and friendly and delicious 4 courses every night. Every detail of the trip taken care of by Bob our guide. As an improver, I think I did meet most of the challenges - only took my skiis off once on the last day! I didn’t hear another English voice all week which is a big plus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The third day after it snowed and we skiied to an isolated mountain refuge. For me, the skiing was much easier in the fresh snow and the scenery was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The village is very small. Take some reading materials.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I liked this trip because we were surrounded by locals - not an English voice to be heard. The village is tiny so do not expect any cafes or bars.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jim Watson

    Fantastic two weeks. I could have stayed longer!

    This was my fifth trip to Dobbiaco, the first as an absolute beginner. The trip was as enjoyable as my first. The first week was grade 3/4. The second was grade 2/3. A hard first week with long days. The second week was more relaxed with more time for a hot chocolate and a sauna on returning to the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing down the Kreuzburg Pass. A really interesting 5k snowplough.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz and Ingrid were both excellent as usual. A great combination of providing instruction at an appropriate level and good encouragement. They looked after the health and safety of the groups while at the same time encouraging the participants to stretch themselves. They are both relaxed and sociable: They are good to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Dobbiaco is the ideal location for beginners with the Arena complex the ideal location to begin skiing safely. More advanced skiers can stretch themselves to their full ability in a variety of different locations. If you can manage go for two weeks. You will want to stay for longer as you become immersed in the culture of the area. Make sure you go for a hot chocolate in the cafe across the road from the hotel. My favourites were the white and the chilli versions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is excellent with a fantastic spa. The hotel staff are relaxed, friendly and efficient. They even provided good porridge at breakfast! Perfect for a Scotsman.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Robert Earnshaw

    Mt Toubkal Winter Climb

    Really great trip. All the other people in the group were lovely. Scenery and food fantasic. Mountain accomodation basic but more than adequate. Toilets could be better though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Both main mountain days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well organised and concerned for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some ice axe and crampon training and practice before the trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Richard Christian

    Not as expected

    Having previously been on trips snowshoeing in winter in Finland and trekking in the French Pyrenees during the summer months, I had an expectation of a snow filled adventure on this holiday. Unfortunately we were unlucky to have no snow! On another trip, blue sky and sunshine would have been great but it was not what we were expecting. To be fair, Miguel our guide did take the group snowshoeing on some ski resort pistes during the week and on the final day, after a bit of a drive, led us on a memorable trek through pine forests up to spectacular mountain views. The Hotel Victor was nice, clean , comfortable with very friendly staff. The breakfasts were very good and there was a good choice of three courses for dinner in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best part of the trip was on the final day when we trekked through pine forests to a mountain refuge and the onwards up to a view point to see magnificent views on the distant peaks. The trip to the village of Sort to visit the jail where Allied Pilots etc escaped over the Pyrenees from France during WW2 was a moment for reflection.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel is a very enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide. He was very organised and we always felt that we were safe and in good hands. He is very passionate about the Catalan people and his evening talks about the history of the region, way of life and flora and fauna were very interesting. He has a great sense of humour and the evening routine of translating the menu for the next days dinner from Catalan to English was always a good laugh. There is no doubt that his humour made up for the lack of snow.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do check a reliable site for the weather forecast for your trip and take the appropriate gear. Miguel will asses the fitness of the group on the first day and he will adapt the following hikes accordingly. Be honest with him if you find the first day hard. Our group of 8 were all experienced hikers and our treks were in the challenging range.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus can't control the weather so do check and be prepared for unexpected conditions. The area is full of trails with beautiful views.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Claire Willis

    Brilliant Trip

    A fantastic trip. What a joy for a non-skier to be so high up in snow covered mountains. I loved Sarajevo and the Bosnian people. A great activity trip with the opportunity to find out more about the tragic history of Sarajevo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being at one with the varied snowy landscapes. Most days we barely saw anybody else on the mountains. The walk in the fir forests of Igman mountain was pretty special, aided by great weather & soft snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was an excellent guide, ably aided by Benjamin. They could not have been more supportive or better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No experience needed. Expect to fall over, but in soft snow!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Peter Sumpter

    Snowshoeing versus global warming, perhaps?!

    To state the obvious, snow is very much necessary on a trip such as this. So when the quantity is rather lacking and the quality is rather poor, the trip has the potential to disappoint. The departure date unfortunately coincided with a period of un-seasonably warm weather, such that the snow that had been present only a week or two before (see other reviews) had retreated well up the mountains. Although the group leader tried his best to find routes to make good use of our snowshoes, there was no way to produce the walks that I had anticipated. For me, the setting at the edge of the Pyrenees, the nice family run hotel, an enthusiastic and entertaining group leader, the cheese and wine tasting, and a very agreeable group of eight of us couldn’t compensate for that lack of snow. There was probably some great walking that could be done under the circumstances, but understandably the group leader was keen to find opportunities for us to use our snowshoes, even where that involved the edges of ski runs and rather thin and icy snow. From previous reviews, it’s clear that this trip usually delivers the expected experience. But my week in the Catalan Pyrenees was not usual – a week of full-on sunshine (great) that meant daytime temperatures in Dialp of up to 16C (not so great). And that was a pity. My rating of the trip is therefore primarily based on the snow conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the snowy peaks throughout the week would be the highlight. If pushed, then I’d say reaching the summit of the Espot mountains on day 4 was the most inspirational, with the views that were presented all around.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel is friendly, keen for all in the group to have a good experience and works hard, and that included accompanying us for much of our free day. He looks to adapt the activities to the weather / snow conditions and to the abilities of the group. He was perhaps a little too keen to push us, recognising that we were a reasonably fit group. That pushing did have its rewards, but it would have been good to be more involved in the decision making. Miguel is very passionate about Catalonia and imparts information on a variety of topics in the evenings (a little too detailed for me, at times!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Glorious quantities of snow are not guaranteed. Pack those layers – although in my case plenty of the winter clothing wasn’t required. You might wish to consider bringing more than the recommended 1 litre water bottle, given the time you'll be out and active - have both a flask and a bottle, perhaps. Take note of the activities detailed in the Trip Notes rather more than the general grading of a 3 (Moderate) activity level. There can be a significant amount of walking in snow and of elevation gain while doing so.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope.
Call us on 020 8772 3936