Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Nicola Rouse

    Amazing!

    What an amazing trip! Incredible wildlife at every turn - sloths, monkeys, turtles, iguanas, frogs, coatis, the list goes on, beautiful birds and unusual plants too. Seven very different locations, shortish travel times and great hotels. Just be prepared to sweat more than you thought humanly possible!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a green turtle lay her eggs at Tortuguero (optional extra). And the sloth with her baby hanging low on a vine beside the river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Siobhan Partington

    The Inca Trail to Machu Picchu

    This was my first experience of travelling outside Europe. I absolutely loved it and it has made me so excited to see the rest of the world. I met some really great people and it was so great to experience this with them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Sun Gate and looking out over Machu Picchu after four days of trekking was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio was absolutely brilliant. from start to finish he made this a wonderful experience. Our luggage didn't make it to Columbia and he was phoning at 3am and going to the airport to make sure we got it in time for the trek. Nothing was too much for him or Jonny the second tour guide and they really made the trip a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definitely do this trip again. I would advise travelers to take waterproofs and a good poncho (available cheaply in Cuzco) even when not in the rainy season as its better to be safe than sorry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The whole group - Porters, chefs and tour guides/leaders were so brilliant. However, the support from our tour leader Julio was exceptional. He organized everything so well including day trips we wanted, restaurant recommendations and bookings in Cuzco and even took us personally to the airport at the end of the trip. He was so knowledgeable and his passion for his country shone through. Can't thank him enough.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    sarah shorter

    Sri Lanka Summer 2018

    In 2 weeks we managed to see most of the main sights in Sri Lanka. It was going full tilt mostly staying one or two nights in each place. We really enjoyed all the places that we visited and found them very interesting (apart from the gem museum which was very dull and boring and high pressure sales). The accommodation was more luxurious than we expected, having been on tours with other companies. The nice thing about this was that almost all hotels had pools and very pleasant surroundings. The downside of this was that they were often outside the population centres so that you forced to eat there and had less scope for exploring local towns and villages and using their shops and restaurants. It also therefore added to the expense of the trip. The transport was comfortable (coach) and the driver did a really good job in such adverse and hectic driving conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our favourite moment was watching the elephants splashing and playing at the waterhole at Kaudulla national park. This trip was optional but we all did it. It was actually a better trip than Yala which is included in the itinerary. We saw crocodiles there which don't move (no leopard) and loads of birds at both but there was more birdlife at Kaudulla. The most enjoyable activity was walking on Horton Plains, looking at plants, wildlife and the amazing view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent. He went out of his way to explain about the history and natural history of the island, using his own visual aids! Nothing was too much trouble and he was constantly looking out for our welfare, from health and safety to making sure that we were served the drinks we had ordered. He also helped us to organise our onward travel at the end of the Exodus trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sri Lanka is an amazing place full of friendly people but in most places there are no pavements or streetlights so if you are out after dark, take a torch and/or flag down a tuk tuk (very cheap). Not all ATMs will give very much money - some restrict it to less than 40,000 rupees (£200). Hatton National Bank (HNB) will give you up to 200,000 rupees and charge 200.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sri Lanka is a fantastic and varied country and 2 weeks is a very short time to spend there.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sarah B

    'Happiness from small things'

    ' 'Happiness from small things' is what we want to give our guests; peace and tranquillity from our countryside, and company with which to discover the secrets and beautiful areas of Garfagnana' so says the Agriturismo Braccicorti website - and this trip provided just that. I was a little apprehensive initially, never having done an Exodus trip before and because my own level of fitness wasn’t what it had been and should have been. Yet, those apprehensions dissipated when I met the group and discovered Tuscany. Great company in my trekking companions and leader, and kind hospitality from the family – an enjoyable and memorable break overall (despite the pain in my knees!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just stopping and taking in the breathtaking and spectacular scenery of the region, whilst walking or relaxing at the farmhouse. (and finding out that one member of our group had scaled Everest - three times!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz excelled at every level. In addition to being immensely knowledgeable and organised, she was incredibly industrious, understanding, caring, funny, helpful - and very, very patient! It was very evident that she was passionate about the region, the walking/activity and her role. I cannot believe she eats cake! A worthy runner up for the Tour Leader Awards in 2014 (check out the Exodus website!) – but very much a winner in 2018 ;-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore any apprehensions and go for it! Take mossie repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As others have commented - perhaps the trip could be extended to ten days? Or offer some dates for a ten days.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Gill Fowkes

    Excellent trip and experience with a brilliant tour leader - Nuts

    This trip was a great experience and the best cycling holiday we have been on to date. Our tour leader Nut was outstanding, he could not have done more to ensure everyone on the trip had a great holiday, we could not rate him more highly. The trip itself was well thought out and we covered so much in just a few weeks. The highlights included: Cycling in Vietnam, particulalry down the muddy tracks! the homestay in the Mekong Delta, the Killing Fields and the variety of food in each country. I would recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of all the people, the greetings from the local children and seeing Ankor Wat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nut was an outstanding tour leader, he thought of everything, he gave attention and checked on all group members and worked really hard to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. Looking after a group of 16 with a variety of needs and abilities is no mean feat and he handled it brilliantly, we could not fault him and he had a really positive impact on the enjoyment of our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip it is a really good mix of cycling and sightseeing. Read all the info sent by Exodus and you will be well prepared.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Julian Hartley

    A well balanced adventure.

    A superb introduction to Peru. This was the first time we have used Exodus and we can’t wait to use them again. The trip way very professionally organised from start to finish. Cusco exceeded expectations...a surprisingly interesting city with lots to do and see during the day and a variety of good restaurants and bars. The group we were with were great fun and as well as having a common interest in the trip itself we soon realised we had a very similar sense of humour...which came in handy during periods of inevitable minor adversity. The Inca trail itself was perfectly planned with good food (no idea how the chefs did it really), porterage and general support. The walking was just challenging enough and the rewards in terms of scenery and sights were well worth it. Our guide, Julio, had the complete skill set...language skills,local network,man management and empathy with the group. He set expectations well throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As well as the clear thrill of realising we were actually at Machu Picchu the real thing for me was the way the team bonded ...due in no small part to the initial cohesive impact of Julio.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate...the complete skill set. He made it look easy...when I am sure it wasn’t.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weathers...it can be very cold and wet ...even in the dry season. Take lots of layers. Set up a Watsap group to share photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want a relatively short trip that gives you some spectacular scenery and one of the greatest sights on the planet (M C) whilst starting and finishing in relative luxury this is a great option.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ian Hudson

    A walk through a lunar landscape

    A five day walk through the land that allegedly inspired JRR Tolkien to write "Lord of the Rings". Go on your own journey to return your own one ring to Mount Doom. More volcanoes than you can count on both hands but no Orc's. Iceland has quite a high rainfall but not a problem for this trip because: 1) It didn't rain all week! 2) There is very little soil, so no mud, you spend most of the time walking over volcanic ash or lava!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking over a mountain of obsidian boulders/cobbles. For non geologists obsidian is a volcanic glass that appears black , shiny and breaks with sharp edges. Usually difficult to locate but here there is a whole mountain of the stuff. Being informed that Icelandic trolls are bad, big, don't live under bridges and turn to stone if caught in daylight. Familiar if you have read the "The Hobbit". Petrified Troll spotting was a highlight of most days. The company of a great bunch of Exodus clients.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gunnar is a very experienced Icelandic guide with a flexible approach to travelling in the mountains. The forecast of high winds early in the trip meant we we didn't use a couple of exposed campsites which made the trip more enjoyable, high winds and tents don't mix! He is a wealth of knowledge on the locality, its eruptive history and the Icelandic saga's. He even coached me in local pronunciation I can now say Eyjafjnallajokull .......(I think).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes the advice in them is good especially the bit about using duty free at the airport. Gunnar carried hot water flasks for lunch tea/coffee but if you a lunchtime cuppa soup person take your own flask and packets, plenty of hot water at breakfast. Strong winds over ash produce "dust storms", take a pair of close fitting sunglasses to keep it out of your eyes. Goggles would be a little OTT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is trip that will interest Geologists.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Richard Atterton

    Does what it says

    15 day trip travelling around Costa Rica discovering all it has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife close up. Being in the rainforest,amazed at the trees,vegetation and flower species.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgable and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe try to put your clothes in sealable bags as first days are in rainforest and everything will get damp and stay damp. Don’t pack too much, opportunity to wash clothes at halfway point of trip. Protection for camera or make sure you have one with two viewfinders in case of water ingress (my camera broke down on third day!). Good protection if you suffer from insect bites.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sara McDonagh

    I would do this again!

    This was an amazing adventure. I had never camped before nor had I ever trekked in the Alps, so lots of reasons to be a little nervous before I went. On reflection, any worry was unnecessary. The camping was fun and well managed. The scenery was amazing. And the trekking, although hard work at times, was entirely manageable and hugely rewarding. Incredible views. Wonderful people. If I could, I would do this all again. In fact I just might!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    How could you ever grow tired of looking at these mountains and trekking among them?
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Penelope Becker

    Good trip

    Went with my 22 year old son July 18 .. flew via Bogotá to Quito on Avianca ..Long transit at Bogotá Airport, recommend buying transit lounge pass, but staff very unhelpful, and on return trip . Quito high altitude and lovely authentic hotel .. restaurant close by , son ate guinea pig ,, and recommend artisan market for Alpaca poncho and Panama hats .Long boat ride to Napo destination and wonderful accommodation in newest palapa on lake edge with outdoor jacuzzi , deck and hammock, but very little free time to relax ..stinky turkey birds ...great character and plumage ...Canoe rides fab, but not much wildlife can be seen from canoes because of dense undergrowth . Super watchtower at Napo valley for birdwatching ..no good if you can’t do heights, climbed two other watchtowers for amazing views over canopy to see blue macaws and toucans ..best view from watchtowers with scope provided and set up by Eduardo ..also took pics through scope ..can sway a bit with large group up top ..not for the faint hearted ..also saw cayman and river otters from canoe ..managed to get away from noisy Australians by ducking out of village tour , and instead Eduardo took us for a. Jungle trek and climbed watchtower on our own to see blue macaws ..absolutely fantastic . He also presented us with an enormous male crested owl after a trek ..so exciting ... back to back excursions, got bitten last night as too tired to be vigilant, blessed the fact we had our vaccinations ..lots of monkeys ..very hard to see ..your own bins an absolute must .. one sloth , through scope ..hard to see ....Very remote location ....parrot licks amazing ..back to Quito and then to Galapagos, fortunately for us we were upgraded to Beluga ...lovely boat, no time to rest...daily very early starts ..on and off a panga to islands ..all that you could wish for ..2 more owl, barn in lava cave ..short eared owl on open terrain ..swum with sea lions, lots of turtles, son went diving in washing machine ..not good clarity .ha ha ...all the boobies you could wish for ..right next to you .. ..albatross ..nesting ..eggs, chicks tropicbirds , yellow warblers ..finch, Galapagos mockinbird .. marine and land iguanas everywhere ..sea lions ..no penguins ....could see golden rays from cliff top ..a lot of walking ..daily ..extreme snorkelling ..very cold water for me ...my shortie not thick enough ..even with rash vest ..too exhausted to do one afternoon on lava island ..thought I would rest in cabin, but staff had a noisy get together ..also rough sea on night journeys ..every night ..barely slept ..big day with tortoises ..returned via night in Guayancil ..more alpaca from market ..and then Bogotá to London ..arrived home totally exhausted ..not enough sleep throughout trip ..good food on board ..took my own snorkel and fins .. saw a juvenile hammerhead from panga on last day around mangroves , juvenile sharks .spotted rays and turtles plentiful ..managed to change cabins for final 3 nights ...put in tiny cabin .originally ...one porthole and not enough daylight ..make sure you get one with at least 2 portholes ..upstairs cabins open on to seating area ..but best with huge windows ..lots of getting on and off pangas and trekking ..would rate level 2 ... came home and slept for a week ......camera with bird watching zoom lens essential

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mating dance of albatross and the albatross nesting site ..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Too tired.. in Quito twice but only went to park and city tour ..artisan market ..too tired to go to cloud forest and very expensive ..however managed to see England v Sweden World Cup match .., and also when we were thrashed by Croatia ..there in no internet on the boat but can get on Darwin in cafe

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    High energy level needed !
Call us on 020 8772 3936