Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    J S

    What a fascinating country

    A full itinery with a wide range of things to see, do and contemplate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Provided a safe environment for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It seemed like we got the less well positioned rooms; facing busy roads and in the basement with the noise of the restaurant starting at 6.30 am overhead. Ask to be moved. I does work sometimes.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Dave B

    Not just a walking trip

    If you think it's just a walking trip then you're in for a pleasant surprise. There are a good variety of walks (although there a lot of downhill steps, so you should do some preparation for this otherwise your knees will complain !) ... but you also get cookery lessons, trips to Vesuvius & Pompeii, and optional trips to Capri/Herculaneum, plus a bit of exploratory time at the end of the walks. The days are full, with early starts on a couple of the days. The food at the hotel is great. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say one: Many, many fantastic views (worth getting to a 'high' point for a sunrise or sunset if you can) Pompeii was much more impressive than I expected (& brought to life by our guide) Travelling on the Capri buses was memorable !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great :) - if you get Martina then you will be very well looked after

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You'll read it in a lot of the reviews ... there are a LOT of steps, and most of them are downhill. You really will benefit from doing some longer downhill walks before you come to prepare your quads/calves/knees, it will make the holiday much more enjoyable if you do. Using two walking sticks will be very beneficial.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you don't know any, then learn some Italian before you come ... it is appreciated :) If you can't make the group transfer then it's easy to book your own transfer from the airport to the hotel. If you do book, you'll have a fab time.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Stephen Stagg

    Good for wildlife but definately not for cycling

    Having previously experienced an excellent exodus Vietnam trip, this was a big disappointment. The wildlife is great and the guides knowledge is first class. The accommodation in the Eco lodges was great but some lodging outside the parks was poor quality with several issues such as cold water or low pressure. Cycling is generally on busy roads with trucks. The drivers are courteous but not a cycling experience for the nervous. The guide insisted that we always cycle single file. While safe this does not make for an enjoyable or social ride.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The National parks for wildlife

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonio

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not contemplate this trip if you like social riding or cycling on quiet roads

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would we return to Costa Rica cycling, definitely not. Would we go back to Vietnam, definitely yes
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Robert Tuddenham

    An wonderful trip!

    This was a superb and varied trip with so many experiences and all in two weeks! A lovely group and with an excellent leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many it's difficult to be specific - all the walks, Madurai temple, Periyar Reserve, the Houseboat... ............. The top two are getting to the top of Meesapulimalai and the many interesting and informative stops on our coach journeys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam Benjamin was brilliant -a great guy always prepared to go the extra mile. He got on well with all the group and with a lovely sense of humour. He is very well informed and his talks on the bus journeys and the interesting stops were highlights for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a great introduction to Southern India. - recommend with no reservations at all. The walks in the Western Ghats are quite demanding so you need to be reasonably fit and up to walking on rough and steep terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly memorable trip!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    jill clark

    Wonderful Holiday

    Although classed as level 1 adventure you do need to be fit. One day cycled 15kms, another climbed all 1100 steps up Lion Rock. You did not have to do these things but would have missed interesting fun experiences. I travelled with my sister. We are both in our early 70's and managed all the included activities. Enjoyed the age group varying from late teens upward.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Its hard to decide what was the most inspirational event on the trip as we saw so many special things. Wild elephants, ruins, temples in use and the beautiful countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dileepa stepped in at last minute and did a superb job guiding us all. He knew so much history and other information about his country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had independent flights and enjoyed a few days relaxing before the trip which meant I was not 'jet lagged'. If this is possible I do recommend this.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Joanne Hunt

    A varied trip of wildlife, cities, and food!

    This was a highly enjoyable trip covering a wide range of different experiences. The first few days in Borneo were particularly excellent at Sepilok and Kinabatangan. We were lucky enough to see a wild orang-utan, a gibbon and proboscis monkeys. KL was also a highlight - particularly enjoyed the food tour and a (optional) trip to the PETRONAS towers. The food markets at night were also a great experience. A relaxing couple of days on Langkawi was (once we got there!) a really nice end to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the wildlife / Borneo section of the trip (and perhaps wished I had chosen a trip with more wildlife)!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both tour leaders were excellent. Aldrin was friendly and organised and an all-round excellent tour leader. Similarly, Jeremy was helpful, enthusiastic and took us to some varied restaurants/eating places!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the ferry crossing continues to be part of the trip - beware! The Lonely Planet guide warns that the crossing is particularly rough at certain times of year (Jul-Oct) and can be a vomit inducing experience. They are not wrong. I am never sea sick, but on our crossing almost everyone on board was sick. Be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall I really enjoyed this trip. I'm not quite convinced the travel across to Kinabalu was worth the journey. I quite enjoyed the tea plantation stay but the botanical walk was slightly underwhelming. Similarly, the city tour in KL was a bit underwhelming. We spent several hours at the Pewter factory (including a stop for lunch) which was a bit tedious. Would rather have spend more time at Batu Caves. Touring the city in a small minibus where it was difficult to see out of the windows was also slightly frustrating.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Theo Theodoulou

    AOP181027

    Good holiday with an excellent guide called Keigo Ninomiya. He was always available and provided some fantastic optional trips such as the temple of a thousand budhas in Kyoto called Sanjusangen-do. I do not understand why this was not in the itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Temple of a Thousand Budhas In Kyoto and the optional trip to Mount Fuji. The EDO museum in Tokyo was very good. The bullet train trip to Hiroshima was also inspirational and may be more time should allowed for the Peace Memorial Museum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Keigo Ninomiya was excellent always helpful planning optional trips on our free days and buying our railway tickets for instance on our day trip to Mount Fuji which involved bullet trains and other transport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    MasterCard and Visa were accepted everywhere contrary to the trip notes so less cash is needed. In addition, the minimum cash withdrawal from 7 Eleven stores was 10,000 Yen which is around £70 which is a large amount if you are in the last few days of your trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Tokyo was not very good. I paid a single room supplement and I could barely move it was so small. The trip to the snow monkeys was a waste of time as they did not appear which according to other group members is quite normal. This should be dropped and an extra day added to Tokyo where an optional visit to Mount Fuji could be added. There are so many things to do in Tokyo that the time we spent did not do it justice.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Douglas Robertson

    A Vast and Beautiful Country

    If you like huge landscapes and wildlife this is a must do trip. Namibia is unlike any country i have been to before and certainly felt different to other areas of Africa (im no expert!). The scale and space has to be seen to be believed and adds to the beauty - sunsets are amazing. We went towards the end of the dry season and this meant that animals were gathering at the waterhole. We were lucky enough to see herds of elephants and several rhino ... not to forget giraffes, oryx, gazelle, hyenas and many many more. We were on the camping trip and Ronney and Jonas done an amazing job to set up camp and take it down ... we tried to help but they are so good at it I think we slowed them up. They were fantastic guides, great ambassadors for the country and Jonas cooked food on a fire that i couldnt in a fully equipped kitchen. This is our fourth trip with Exodus and I will certainly be back for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on top of Dune 45 at sunrise

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was a fantastic leader and just made the whole trip go smoothly. Nothing was a problem and he put up with our sometimes dodgy timekeeping with a smile

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    book it ..... its a fantastic place to see!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Arianna Jakositz

    Patagonian Adventure

    From the vast, isolated Patagonian Steppe to the gorgeous Andes mountains, delicious steaks and empanadas, challenging but rewarding hikes, weather prone to dramatic changes within 15 minutes, glaciers, penguins, pumas, and guanacos galore.... this trip has it all. Upon returning home, we pulled out our roadmap of the region (thanks again for giving us yours, Xavier!!!) and talked about what else we’ll see when we come back one day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was completing the first hike. Not only did we have perfect skies and weather for our views of Mt. Fitz Roy and glaciers off in the distance during this hike, but as a new hiker I definitely had a sense of accomplishment that I could actually do this in the first place. My husband would say the hike in Torres del Paine was most rewarding, as he thought the trail and views were better (I didn’t partake unfortunately, but was instead treated to a more private tour of the park with two other members of the group who also weren’t up for the arduous trek that day). We also booked an extra excursion during our free day in El Calafate to hike on Perito Moreno Glacier that we both agree ranked as another favorite part of the trip. We missed our way more fun Exodus group, but still had a blast drinking from glacial streams, hopping over crevasses, and silently eating lunch on the middle of the glacier while listening for distant avalanches. Pictures don’t do Patagonia justice — it’s unbelievably beautiful, and every viewpoint was in its own way an inspiration.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was amazing! I had been hoping to have him as a guide as previous reviews really raved about him and we were not disappointed one bit. From being very open with us, to having all the best advice of what to eat, to saving us at the last minute in the little ways (like giving us a copy of the roadmap that we missed out on, or arranging for some trekking poles for us on a moment’s notice) to the bigger stuff (taking one in our group to the doctor to make sure everything was all right after a bad fall, or frantically making sure we were all checked in on our flight to Buenos Aires after an airline strike the day before) he really worked hard to make sure everyone had an enjoyable experience. This is only our second Exodus trip but we can tell Xavier is a high-caliber guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A few things: 1) The full-day hikes really are tough. Poles are a must if you don’t want to feel completely wiped out. Also, just as an FYI, they are both around 14 miles with 3000 to 4000ft of elevation gain (starting from a fairly low elevation though) with a lot of that gain being in some rather steep, shorter sections. I wish I had trained ahead of time so that I could have participated in all the hikes, including the free day one the *entire* group went on in El Chalten except for us. 2) Breakfast in most places is going to be toast with a few small pieces of ham & cheese that you might be really sick of by the end of the trip. Pack extra snacks if this is a concern! 3) Cash only in most places, no joke. Especially with the fluctuations in the Argentinian economy these days, your cards are mostly unwelcome. There’s a bank in the EZE airport right by the customs doors (before or after — we went after) that has a very fair exchange rate and, if I remember correctly, takes GBP as well as USD. In Chile, cards are accepted everywhere except the middle-of-nowhere toilet stops you’ll desperately need, so you only need a small amount of Chilean pesos. 4) If your heart is set on a glacier walk in El Calafate or a penguin walk in Ushuaia, these things sell out early. Let your guide know days in advance you’d like to book these (with the hopes of getting a spot), or book them yourself ahead of time. Note that the penguin walk may make you miss out on the morning walk in Tierra del Fuego though, so choose wisely! 5) A lot of times in restaurants, Xavier was nice enough to give us a taste of what he’d ordered. You’d think after a couple times we’d realize he was routinely ordering the best dish and copy him but alas we did not. So my advice to you is — if he’s your guide — ask what he’s having before you order. The man knows what to pick!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really — just have fun if you choose to go on this trip! Accept that the bus rides can be a bit long and uneventful, and that you’ll need plenty of cash on this trip, and then roll with any inconveniences that might arise. You’re in the middle of nowhere a lot of the time and it’s amazing how well orchestrated the trip actually is considering that.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    John Hirons

    Kayaking the Lower Zambezi

    This was definitely a trip to get me out of my comfort zone (wild camping and kayaks instead of hotels and minibuses) and certainly did not disappoint. The fact you get so close to the wildlife far outweighed the fact you are wild camping (which I though I would struggle with). The sense of achievement at the end of the week was overwhelming, having travelled such a long distance in a kayak. The safari element far exceeded anything you would imagine and felt far more real than if you were in the back of a safari jeep (which I have done in South Africa). Animals spotted included elephants, hippos, lions, warthogs, buffalo, impala, zebra, baboons (and other monkeys), fish eagle, kingfisher and lots of others too much to mention. The group I was with was amazing and everyone got on so well and helped each other. The food was good throughout the week and we even had a celebratory BBQ on the last night. All in all I can safely say if I can do this holiday (and enjoy it) then anyone can!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting so close to the elephants (which is the main reason I chose the holiday). the sense of achievement for actually getting to the end without breaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    CB was amazing. Very knowledgeable, humorous, kind, professional and clearly enjoyed his job. It is no wonder he is an award winner. Best made the perfect assistant guide and is clearly learning a great deal from CB. Both together looked after us so well and work brilliantly as a team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    sunscreen. I ran out of 2 tubs (although half of one ended up at the bottom of the safari truck). Deet - I had 2 and ran out although I was probably the one with more bites than anyone else. Bite cream offers a major relief for the bites. Head torch (with a red light), gloves for the rowing. Prepare for no showers until the comfortable camping half way through but we were able to cool off and kind of clean off in the river a couple of times. It is proper wild camping so there are no toilets until the comfortable camp but the views you get when behind the bushes are literally stunning :-) If you can, add on a quick trip to Livingstone for the Victoria Falls. You are so close it would be a shame to miss it. As well as bringing a load of school supplies bring an extra suncream with you if you can. They give any spare suncream to a charity looking after albino children as it is prohibitively expensive in Zambia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring your sense of adventure with you and you will not go wrong.
Call us on 020 8772 3936