Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2022

    Highlight of the Dolomites

    A very good trip. Scenery magnificent , explored well by both grades of walk. Walk routes well devised using a good network of cable cars, chair lifts and local buses and lovely mountain refuge stops. Family run hotel, so friendly, helpful, very clean, good choice of food. The holiday was made by the two fantastic guides- Jenny and Alejandro - professional, caring, knowledgeable, fun, encouraging and very capable.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Great trip

    New to Bulgaria, great week discovering the landscape, flora & fauna and culture of this unique region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the plank at the Eagle's eye

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic and inspirational. Passionate and happy to share his extensive knowledge of the country and region. Excellent walk leader - pace and support for strugglers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a microfibre cloth to dry the bathroom floor. Take tea bags - although the herbal tea is fine, really missed a good cuppa. Consider adding an extra day or two at the end to explore Sofia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first Exodus experience, all positive.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Awesome once you get there.

    Fantastic holiday. Just do it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Auronzo di Cadore with the three peaks was probably the most spectacular day. Lago di Braies made for a refreshing dip in the heat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Karl and his wife Elaine were great people with just the right mix of experience and friendliness. Thank you very much for a wonderful week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation at Hotel Adler was excellent and the food fantastic. A great base to come back to every day.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Excellent Tour Discovering Namibia’s Magic

    I took my mum to Namibia to celebrate her birthday. We were with other 9 fellow travellers and our excellent lead guide Shane. The trip was quite comprehensive and we traveled almost 3000 km, exploring some of the most beautiful and picturesque parts of the country. The truck used for the trip was quite comfortable, with large windows and operable roof. Although we traveled long distances we made frequent stops and the landscapes were always fascinating. We explored the magical desert, the skeleton coast and ship wrecks, the Etosha natural park with its wildlife and the majestic mountains/plateaus. Truly memorable. Our guide Shane was knowledgeable, kind, funny and patient. He could also spot hidden animals easily (he spotted a chameleon while driving the truck!!). Really good trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To visit Deadvlei and the sandy dunes. Also, the skeleton coast, where the desert dives into the ocean. Lastly, the number of animals in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was simply amazing. Caring, calm, kind and funny. Also, very, very knowledgeable! 10/10

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would suggest doing the optional small plane flight to explore the desert and skeleton coast: truly memorable
  • Reviewed July 2022

    An interesting insight into the Silk Road in medieval times

    This gave me an interesting insight into the Silk Road, particularly in post-Islamic times; very little that was built beforehand has survived. Our group of ten worked well as a team and with the two guides and the hotel accommodation exceeded my expectations, as did the bus, which was very comfortable to travel in. The highlights of the first week were Bukhara and Samarkand, which Dilshod presented with style and of the second week, were watching the eagle hunter and staying in the yurt camp, up in the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the ruins of Ulugh Beg’s observatory, completed in the 1420s. The museum next to it was fascinating and it made it clear that 600 years ago, he and his team were calculating the movement of the stars across the sky and also calculating the length of a year to within a minute of that calculated by computerised means today. Europeans didn’t get to this stage until at least 300 years later! Incidentally, I do think that school children wishing for a diverse curriculum, should be taught about this sort of ground breaking non - European scholarship.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First week: Dilshod was very much in control and presented a wonderful picture of his country, Uzbekistan. He is clearly very experienced, respected and well known to people wherever we went. I appreciated the clarity he brought to bear in outlining the day ahead and the kindness and consideration for each of us that he showed at all times. I have nothing but good to say about him. Second week: Valentina was a very good guide and had the language skills for both countries and of course, Russian. She too was knowledgeable and forceful, when required. My concern with Valentina occurred when we went to a Uyghur home for dinner. For me this was spoilt by her asking me whether I could see the Chinese Government’s perspective on wanting to prevent the Uyghur from creating their own independence. I diplomatically explained that it was natural for peoples around the world whose culture and connections (possibly nomadic) were severed by artificial national boundaries, to want a degree of autonomy and to express their opinions on the subject. She argued with me, which was particularly insensitive in a Uyghur household. I said this was not a conversation that should be continued. A few minutes later however, she pressed me on the same matter. I had to again say that we should talk about something else. This spoilt the last two days of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip which I would recommend highly. Even in mid summer, it is cold in the mountains, so an extra layer of fleece or merino is needed. Read up about the history of Central Asia before you go, as each site is well explained but without pre-reading and a good knowledge of timelines, it can be hard to place each site in its historical perspective. As the guide books say, avoid restaurants near Samarkand's Registan Square; we ate there one evening and most of us were poorly for a few days afterwards. Otherwise the food was good and very inexpensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip organisation by Exodus was great and I again felt very comfortable travelling with them. Everybody I spoke to was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and phone call are taken very quickly. What would really help, in identifying fellow travellers at the airports on the outbound journey, would be either an Exodus Pin or luggage label for the cabin bag, for each traveller. This is really important because arriving alone and tired in an unfamiliar country, in the early hours of the morning possibly, is the point of greatest risk for travellers.
  • Incredible!

    Man what a trip! in equal parts stunning and tough - the TMB absolutely delivered. Every day we were treated with a gruelling ascent, a toe bashing descent and simply incredible views all the way through. The tour guide and the camp manager were just fabulous too - the guide wasnt just an IML but also a trained biologist clearly deeply in love with Mother nature - to learn a little about the local flora and fauna whilst also feeling completely at ease and secure knowing your guide has your back was just lovely - it meant we could concentrate on putting one foot in front of the other and just enjoy the ride. Our camp manager Vega cooked us some seriously delicious food on only 4 camp stoves - it smelled so good she had random campers coming up to ask what she was cooking! The camps where all lovely - some perhaps a little more loud than others but overall, as far as a camping trip goes, it was pretty darn luxurious. Would do this again in a heartbeat

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Honestly just completing it was the biggest thing for me. I was quite worried ahead of the trip whether I would be fit enough - and there were definitely some times where I really had to push myself but thanks to the pacing set by our guide Jef, we all managed it and that last day, with the longest ascent all the way from camp to Brevent was super tough but getting to the top and being presented with some bubbly was the perfect end to an epic trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jef was awesome. Part mountain goat, he went running on the days off, casually just doing our walk of the day before in about 3.5 hours. He was also a trained biologist so we were treated to some lovely knowledge bites on local flowers and bugs. Always had a smile on his face and you just felt completely safe with him - he knew just how to get the best out of the group so no one ever felt like they were too slow. he is definitely one of the best if not THE best guide I have had on a walking trip. Thank you Jef!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Doing a bit of strength definitely helped me - it wont make it easier, but at least I didnt have to worry about muscle aches. The more walking you can do beforehand the better as your legs are just better prepared for the work they have to do - but mostly, just enjoy the experience... from the camps to the gruelling ascents - its such a treat, especially when its sunny. Oh - and speaking of sunny - factor 50 all the way, even if you are a professional tanner.. the sun is hot hot hot and strong strong strong!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it - you wont regret it
  • Bears, whales and a whole lot more!

    We were really lucky with the wildlife side of the trip, we didn't see a grizzly but that was probably because on a walk we saw one was in the immediate vicinity and we wisely left! A moose also did not make an appearance but we were blessed with a wealth of black bears (with babies), dolphins, humpback whales etc. Scenery was a major highlight so even on the longer bus journeys you are always seeing something new. Lots of good walks. We are regular travellers with Exodus and know what to expect and this trip didn't fail, we had a great time, blessed with a brilliant guide and excellent fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife. Two zodiac trips are included and we did book an extra eco raft trip in Bella Coola which is highly recommended. With the long ferry trip and the orca viewing zodiac trip you'd be pretty unlucky not to see whales so personally wouldn't book an additional whale watching trip. We didn't see orca but boy were we thrilled at the humpback whales feeding around us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mariejo was our guide and she was excellent and saved our holiday when Air Canada decided our suitcases would remain at Heathrow for a couple of days!. Full of relevant information, well organised with maps and books for us to read up on things etc. Gave clear advice and with a whatsapp group set up a 6.25am reminder of time to depart, what we are doing and importantly a local weather forecast for the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip notes need updating on everyday costs as they are probably 3 years out of date and it proved much more expensive but we were eating really good food. Some places offered bbq areas, your guide should warn you if you need to consider getting food, to save money and stop waste talk amongst yourselves and have a party! Be warned the minibus is small so with a full group, ours wasn't, it is going to get very crowded so if you are a person who likes a ton of space, needs every gismo you own with you on the bus then this may not suit you. Obviously wildlife opportunities vary on when you go but beware June/July for mozzies. Covering up and spray helps but in Tweedsmuir they were a bit vicious and of course at toilet stops you are rather exposed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Canada, like everywhere else is opening up after a long lock down and there are staff shortages so lots of restaurants are restricting numbers and times or aren't open at all; this did cause a few issues, nobodies fault, but if you are a regular traveller on this type of the trip you know you have to be flexible.
  • Amazing Itinerary

    This was hands down one of the best trips I've ever been on. I was drawn in by the variety of activities packed into the 10 days and my personal favourites included the open air cooking class and the vintage Vespa ride around Ubud. I was a little nervous about this after seeing the crazy Balinese traffic but felt completely safe. Overall this was a really well organised and well managed trip with a great group of people and I didn't want it to end!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Mount Batur at sunrise. It was more strenuous than I was expecting but everyone was encouraged to go at their own pace and we all enjoyed the breakfast with a view at the end of it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Right from the start to the end of the tour Wira was an amazing guide - full of energy and never tired of answering questions and had such a wide knowledge of Balinese and Indonesian culture, history and nature.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring bug spray!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The long flights are definitely worth it.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Classic Dolomites July 2022

    Stunning views, beautiful accommodations, and delicious food sum up this trip. Each hike was distinctive for its history, geology, and botany-not to mention the spectacular vistas. Karl guided us through the mountains imparting folk lore, WWI history, floral identification, and geomorphology with humor. The Hotel Adler’s staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on top of a mountain eating lunch next to a WWI trench while gazing at the Tre Cimes. It made me ponder the silliness of man and the beauty of nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl embodied the perfect guide with his extensive knowledge of the mountains and concern for the group’s safety. His humor was also appreciated!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for rain ( including rain pants)and cooler temps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes, do it! You won’t regret going on this trip!
  • Beautiful Bali

    As soon as I read the itinerary for this trip, I just knew I had to experience it and it totally did not disappoint at all. You cover so much in your time on Bali, and witness the distinct differences between the quiet West Bali area and the bustling south and its beaches.. Yet despite its packed itinerary there’s sufficient free time for you to enjoy some fabulous swimming pools and catch some Bali sunshine. The social element of the holiday is important for me as well, and we got to dine in some really nice restaurants and sample a great variety of foods, from traditional Indonesian dishes to western foods,like burgers and pizzas.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Conquering Mount Batur for sunrise, was the highlight of the trip for me, being fortunate enough to capture a clear sunrise and over looking Mt Agung and the lake was something else. A special memory with some special people and a morning I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wira, was the best guide we could of possibly had. His English is very good and his knowledge of Bali and Indonesia in general was exceptional. Very helpful and always thinking of the group and looking out for us. You’ll start the trip with a guide and finish it with a friend, such is the warmth of his personality.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As Nancy says, definitely bring a rain jacket, as the downpours can be pretty torrential, although your clothes will dry quickly. Maybe ask Wira for the “party bus” especially on the longer journeys. We had a singalong, all suggesting songs random songs that got played and we sang along, lots of laughter and more memories to treasure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s a long way to travel and some of my wishes the trip was a 2 week one as opposed to a 10 day one, However the 10 day trip is an amazing one and if you book it, you will not be disappointed.