Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2022

    Essential Peru is an Essential Holiday!

    For my first long distance trip I couldn't have chosen a better company to book with. Right from the start, landing in Lima, I was looked after, guided and supported the whole way through my trip. It is full on, value for money, and never a dull day. Peru is stunning and I urge anyone with a sense of adventure to book onto this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment for me was visiting the two islands. Before this trip I had no idea that there was communities that still lived like this, living off the land with little to no electricity, it's fascinating! I learnt so much across the whole trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holger was fabulous. His passion for and knowledge of Peru was what made these two weeks so special. He took us to the best restaurants for the most authentic food, so we got to try foods like alpaca and guinea pig. He looked after us and helped us every step of the way, he made the trip so stress-free and easy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise you to pack for all weathers. It can be really warm some days but very cold in the Highlands and on the island at night. Don't forget suncream, a hat and bug spray!
  • Reviewed July 2022
    Vicky Boughton

    Wild and wonderful US adventure

    Travel from Salt Lake City to Seattle, visiting some of the best US National Parks on the way! An adventure from start to finish. During our time in the impressive Grand Tetons, we had some great walks amongst mountain and lakeside scenery, even spotting moose on the trails. The cosy town of Jackson Hole makes a great base for this part of the tour. We should have had 4 days in Yellowstone but some serious flooding put a very unfortunate stop to that - a last minute itinerary change was handled incredibly well by the experienced team and our wonderful leader Mike. This meant extra time in the Tetons and Glacier, along with some other really interesting stops added along the way. Glacier was a real favourite for me, for the epic landscapes and great walks in 'bear country'. We saw 3 bears here - a great sighting near the entrance to the park! Can't wait to come back and see Yellowstone one day..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On one walk we came across a bear near the trail in a wonderful natural encounter - I'm not sure who was more curious, us or the bear. We were taught by Mike how to approach this situation and so felt very calm when it happened - an amazing experience and a moment I will remember forever!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike was a brilliant leader - hugely experienced, incredibly passionate and knowledgeable on every subject from US history, culture, music, wildlife etc.. he made the experience wonderful for our entire group, and handled all of the logistical challenges thrown his way with ease. Would 100% recommend travelling through the US with Mike as your guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all weathers. From hot to cold, the weather can be unpredictable and we needed layers every day.. hail and snow, to bright warm sunshine, we experienced it all travelling through the American West..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for an amazing experience!! Loved it!
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Unforgettable experience not to be missed!

    The town Niederdorf/Villabassa is quaint, the hotel Adler is a haven for relaxation, Christian and the hotel staff are warm, friendly, welcoming and accommodating, the cuisine is mouth watering, the scenic hikes are breathtaking, the guide Karl is legendary ...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day had a unique highlight. I found the heights of the Monte Piano climb (day 7) thrilling in a safe manner, and the exploration of, and views from, the historical tunnels were intriguing! Reaching the highest point of the week (day 6) and the trek around the Drei Zinnen/Tre Cime was an adventure in itself.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was a huge privilege to have Karl as our guide. What makes Karl exceptional is his true passion for hiking and we felt safe in his capable hands. He is warm-hearted, knowledgeable and has a delightful sense of humor! Karl was always game for fun too, which really impressed me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, do this trip!!!
  • Reviewed July 2022

    'high'ly recommended

    What a pleasure to experience the cool and cold in the midst of a scorching summer! With knowledgeable and witty guide, top accommodation and perfect weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the beauty around enjoyed through challenging oneself, unpredictable weather. Plus the flowers!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for rain, always

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Challenge people to forget taking pictures and taking in memories through the senses.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Terribly let down by Exodus

    For me the whole trip was damaged by one terrible experience. I paid the full price of over £3,000 to Exodus for this trip trusting Exodus to make the best decisions for me. I was booked on Air Europa, which I had not heard of before and is a discount airline that takes the meaning of discounting to another level. On both flights to Peru and back, I received one meal of under cooked rice and chicken, one small cup of water and a cup of tea. On the flight to Peru, fortunately I had some water with me. But flying back, I did not have time to fill my water bottle and had no water with me. I asked the steward if he would fill it for me and the answer was “very sorry, the water is for all passengers therefore I cannot fill your bottle, but ask me if you want any water”. Each time I asked for water, he vanished very quickly saying that he will come back but did not. More than the poor quality of the food that is served, not having water for such a long time was terrible. I felt very ill and after coming home it took me several days to recover from this awful, awful experience. This becomes even worse as three people on the tour (there were only 5 of us) were booked on KLM and had a very different experience. After paying the full amount including for flights, why was I booked on Air Europa, whereas other tour members were booked on a better airline? If you were saving money on me Exodus, you have now lost a loyal client. I have been on six tours with Exodus and this will be my last. You are not to be trusted Exodus and the standards that were there in the past are not there now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Machu Picchu for the first time. But there were many amazing moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holgar (Olie) was an excellent tour leader with great knowledge of his country and with very good command of English. He has a kind and friendly personality and went out of his way to help us and to make the trip a memorable one for us. His organisation skills were outstanding and he made sure that everything flowed smoothly. As I suffered from altitude sickness his kindness and help was invaluable to me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask Exodus all the details such as the air line you will be booked on (if you are booking with flights) etc before you book the trip. Do not trust Exodus to make the right decisions for you. From what I gathered from some members of the group, Exodus offers better prices and a better service if tours are booked through third parties such as Trailfinders. It might be better not to book directly with Exodus and better still, book with another tour operator.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Peru is a beautiful country, well worth travelling to.
  • Insanely good 5* adventure!

    My first time in Indonesia and I chose this trip because of the amazing variety on the itinerary. Being a water addict but also loving hiking and mountain biking, each of the days brought something new and spectacular. Our group leader Wira was first class - I cannot state this enough - and made this trip truly epic. After our amazing week we fell in love with Bali and its people, and we’re honoured to have shared this first ever trip of Sunrises & Summits, especially after the pandemic. The food was excellent, hotels were beautiful and we had some great nights out. Most of all we shared such a fun week with a great group! I’ll definitely be coming back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our sunrise hike up Mount Batur volcano was utterly spectacular, walking along the rim of the crater - unforgettable. Don’t miss this one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Wira was first class. Your smiles and love for the many islands of Indonesia and its people was infectious! Thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience, which made Bali even more beautiful because of all of the interesting facts that you shared. You were extremely professional and we really appreciated how you were constantly adjusting things with the team to make sure that everything was perfect every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t forget your rain jacket for the odd tropical rainstorm

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it don’t hesitate!
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Baltic July

    Thanks to wide comfy saddles and mostly flat terrain the cycling was easy and enjoyable. My favourite area was Laheema National Park in Northern Estonia with wooden fisherman's houses, empty beaches and BIG swings. Swimming in the Baltic is lovely - the temperature is perfect and it's not salty. Our guide, Andrius, was great at setting the historical scene and teaching us what it's like to be a Lithuanian with an off-beat Lithuanian sense of humour. He led us round Talinn, showed us the art nouveau in Riga, cycled us through Vilnius as well as various smaller towns, castles and even a nuclear launch site. He was particularly good at organising places for us to eat Zeppelins, drink mead and dig our fingers into freshly smoked fish. But he was even better at setting up musical experiences. We heard a pipe organ concert in a Riga church, a big swing band on the water-front in Klapedia and best of all, our fabulous group spent a memorable night dancing like no-one was watching to a funky jazz band playing classics. Thanks Andrius. A special mention also for Mindogas, our ever-attentive driver who kept the whole show on the road.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take cabin baggage only! Despite the best efforts of Andrius my luggage never arrived in the Baltics and is still stuck somewhere in the black hole of Edinburgh Airport
  • Reviewed July 2022

    The Baltics

    The trip was well organised and offered the perfect mix between cycling and cultural visits. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. The driver was supportive and friendly. We tasted the local dishes and I enjoyed the variety of food offered. It was great to have a local guide who knows the background and personal stories that greatly contributed to learning about the countries we visited. The routes chosen to cycle were really beautiful. I also appreciated the time we had in each capital city.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many memorable moments! Seeing the storks nesting and baby stroke popping their heads out of the nest, having a dip in the sea, admiring the beautiful buildings and managing to cycle the distances each day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andries was full of energy and kept us on the go the whole time. He was keen we saw all aspects of the 3 countries. He was very knowledgeable and gave us a good understanding of the the history of those countries. He had a great sense of humour and related well to everyone in the group. He took us to some great places to eat and taste the local delicacies.
  • Well organised trip, good hotels with excellent guides

    Trip May/June. Cycling generally leisurely with only one notable hill. Route follows the coast on quite roads and/ or cycle lanes for much of the way. (Poor road surface on one day) Hotels generally good 4 star quality, cafes and lunch / picnic stops were an excellent mix with evening meal venues being fantastic quality. Rubén’s and Rogerio were excellent guides who were very knowledgeable, helpful and good company, just a pity they had no control over the unusually inclement and windy weather. Recommend the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obidos on last day of cycling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to spend extra few days in Lisbon area to allow time to visit Sintra &/or Cascais.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Excellent!

    I went in July and our itinerary was as the Trip Notes. We were a group of 8 and everyone got on so well. I enjoyed staying at all the hotels: Ramapendula, Masseria and Sassi. Breakfast at the 1st and 3rd hotels was excellent but somewhat basic at the Masseria. My room at each hotel met my needs, so very happy with what I was given. The walks were interesting except the 2nd half down from Montescaglioso where we seemed to be walking aimlessly with nothing of interest around!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the towns we visited were so interested however two tours I especially loved (1) discovering Matera's UNESCO 'Sassi' district which involved a hike to the Murgia plateau, crossing the suspension bridge, hike to the top of the ravine ending with a spectacular viewpoint of Matera's Sassi district; (2) the guided tour of Matera by the local guide where he shared his knowledge of the cave-dwelling district and his own family's personal journey from cave dwelling to the new apartment in the 'new' town, and we also learned the history of this fascinating place. I also really enjoyed and welcomed the swim in the sea after our 2.5 hours walk from Masseria.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonino (Nino) was excellent from start to finish and he spoke very good English. Nino would always brief us the evening before of what to expect the following day. Nino was attentive, responsive, generous, patient, kind and efficient in dealing with any niggles we may have had. Could not fault him. He thoroughly knows his history of the Puglia and Matera region, including recommending restaurants and food to try.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in July and the heat was searing every day, ranging from 30 degrees upwards so make sure you have plenty of water, sun block, a hat and comfortable walking boots. Sandals you could wear in some terrain but not all so walking boots is a better choice. Take a small towel to dry yourself when you visit the beach. Credit card is accepted widely but useful to carry some local currency. Make sure you're fit enough for a lot of walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy the experience and go with the flow.