Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Tim Hall

    Great first trip for riding the big mountains

    Excellent itinerary for a first trip into cycling big mountains. Great food and drink to be had en route - Thierry's ability to conjure up a suitable picnic every day, and find beautiful spots to stop to eat, was definitely a highlight. Stunning views from the cols.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cime de la Bonette - highest road in Europe. Seeing the banners for the Tour de France that would ride some of the same climbs just a couple of weeks after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come prepared for all weathers! We had blistering hot days - but other alps trips at the same time of year have had snow falling and temperatures around 0C. If you're bringing your own bike, have a 32 cassette rather than a 28 - you'll use it a lot.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Lorraine Naylor

    Amazing trip for keen cyclist

    The Cols of the Tour de France have been on my bucket list for many years and now I've finally done it. We had exceptionally hot weather but being mountains this can change at any time. Our tour guide was amazing. He was supportive and helpful and full of local knowledge. The mileage each day was manageable but for anyone who doesn't cycle hills regularly it is important to get some training in. Some days you can be going up hill for 3-4 hours (depending on how fast you cycle of course). Downhill skills are also needed ! The scenery is spectacular and worth the effort. I loved the trip, the local hotels, the food and the Apres cycle beer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling to the top of the Col de la Bonnette. The last section was steep and very demanding but the satisfaction and views were worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Thierry was excellent. He worked so hard and was always happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some hill training in. Develop your aerobic fitness and learn to hydrate properly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The daily mileage isn't huge but the mountains are !
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Dean Snowden

    A lovely trip with some great people culminating in the Tour of Cape Town.

    A really lovely trip in all sorts of weather. From very hot across the winelands and Karoo to some wet weather around the coast. Certainly some challenging cycling with the very strong wind testing us all at times. Though it turned out great practice for the Tour day on the Sunday. We stayed in varied accomodation but always clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect. A tip here is to take some mosquito repellent as a few of us got bitten. The trip route was well run but I did feel the group was too large (20 plus) in that time was an issue and involved us missing out on the odd side event. We cycled through Franchhoek without even a tasting or even coffee and cake. The cycling was on roads that were mostly in great shape, not a pothole to be seen! The route was such that we had some stunning rides amid fantastic scenery, it took away the pain of climbing some of those hills. Overall, especially if cycling is the overriding aim on your holiday this is a great tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride along Chapman's Peak drive. What a fantastic ride, and we got to do it twice!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leaders were great. Their job was so much more difficult with two vans and 20 plus people to organise. Accomodation had to be split occasionally, but this was really an issue. One or two had difficulties with their bikes but these were sorted at first opportunity, and they also helped pack and unpack the bikes. Their local knowledge really helped and they found us some great restaurants to help us catch up on the calories we'd lost during the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take sun screen and mosquito repellent. Also if possible get a few miles in before you go. As with all trips the better prepared you are the more you are likely to enjoy them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the only slight issue was that the group size was too big for the road trip. It may have been better to split the group into two and meet them up again at the final destination.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Dean for his feedback and we were pleased to read that overall he enjoyed the holiday. We are sorry, however, that he found there to be too many people on the trip. Due to the popularity and the fact that the holiday is scheduled around race day means that we have two groups of up to 14 people. We were very sorry that on this occasion the groups were not kept as separate as we would have liked, although there were a total of 5 crew working with them, including 2 leaders. We will ensure that the two groups are kept completely separate for the departure for next year and we hope that this will improve the experience.

    John Penge – Product Manager for Southern Africa

     

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Peter Carter

    An amazing and immensely enjoyable trip

    The trip was way beyond my expectations. I’m 67 and enjoy rides of 100km and hills. I knew that I’d be right for one or two days but was apprehensive that I could string it together for six days and still enjoy it through to the end. Each day I got stronger and finished reasonably fresh at the end of the day. We went through a range of stunning country; vast mountainous views, valleys and picturesque towns. Roads were very smooth, even in the mountains and drivers very courteous of cyclists. We enjoyed temps of 30C and higher (and one day when we had 2-3 hours of rain, another with half an hour of very heavy rain, fortunately not too cold) Claude our guide/van driver was fantastic. We all were strangers to each other at the beginning; different ages (39 to 67) and from different countries, but got on extremely well - I am sure because of support and service provided by Claude that meant went the trip went so well. I hired a bike through Exodus with 105 Shimano componentry and 32T cassette; (a lesser quality than my own at home) but found it very reasonable. (it’s the engine not the machine!!) Accomodation and meals (breakfasts and evening meals were very reasonable (certainly didn’t need or want a 4 Star experience)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was the last day; a ride of 150km that included a great climb up Col des Pailheres, that finished at St Cyprien Des Plages. Walking into the Mediterranean I was overwhelmed with emotion; the realisation that my trip with new friends was now finished!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Claude our leader/van driver, was sensational, and provided exceptional service. Each day he provided gpx files, a detailed route map, and a cue sheet that detailed towns, turns and morning tea stops and lunches. Along the way he stop his van by the roadside, ready with drinks and nibbles, and calm words of encouragement. He also arranged to buy our lunches on our behalf, so we were able to enjoy wonderful picnics on a Col or beside the road. Each evening, he provided an excellent briefing of the next day’s ride, before our evening meal. Overall a very professional and meticulous service, that was calm, relaxing and supportive to us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I believe that it would be very beneficial for riders to do a number of 100km rides, including hills, in the weeks before. That way way you’ll be better prepared, and hence enjoy the trip. I also used a heart rate monitor so that I rode within my capabilities. On the first day I road a bit faster, and my average heart rate was nearly 140. I knew that if I continued at that rate I would get accumulated fatigue, and perhaps muscle soreness that reduce the enjoyment of the trip. I subsequently averaged each day about 120bpm, which meant I finished the days fresher, and very little fatigued (but tired). I would also suggest at the end of a days ride, to have a banana or other carbs, and electrolytes within half an hour (ASIS do that with their riders)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Again to say what a wonderful leader Claude was, just awesome!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mike Taylor

    Seven go to Mt Ventoux !

    We had a fantastic time; great cycling, beautiful scenery, good humour, two epic climbs up Mt Ventoux, nice food and wine, pleasant company, perfect weather and everything worked out just fine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up Mt Ventoux from Bedoin on day 2. A continual uphill slog of between 1.5 and 2.5 hours depending on your fitness and weight, pedalling out of the woods and into the lunar landscape of the final 6 km at the summit which looks out over Provence at 1900m above sea level. This is an iconic location from Tour de France's of years gone by with it's distinctive transmitter building and mast at the top, our inspirational moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yves was a frist rate leader. Organised, well prepared, suitably cautious, good fun, knowledgable, patient and selfless and also a good photographer who snapped us in action. He speaks very good English, knows about cycling, and also know the area very well. He is an ideal guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not sure Exodus are running this trip again ? If you are then tips would be:- - max kg in bike box at LHR T3 is 23kg - cash point machines in local villages often broken - take sun cream

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tips for Exodus:- - please issue the maps in electronic form as files for Garmin etc before trip - please issue Email messages from a single e-mail address [easier to find] - please send a single message [rather than in dribs and drabs] with all details as close to booking as you can manage - Please run the trip again !
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Tracey Sheppard

    Ventoux trip

    Ventoux was a personal challenge for me, and this trip was fantastic. Ventoux was the highlight but the whole area is amazing. Nice hotel in a lovely town (Sault), with great local support. Would love to go back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Ventoux (3 times!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. We were a larger group (15) but somehow Yves managed to support us all. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and encouraging.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to pace yourself and don't overdo it early on.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Michael Navin

    Excellent trip and organisation

    Well organised and local support was excellent. Hotel was comfortable and provided secure storage for bikes. Fantastic countryside and climbing was tough but as expected Overall can thoroughly recommend

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to have photo at top of Mont Ventoux

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't overdo it on 1st day. The following days are tough
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Martin Harris

    Pyrenees Coast-to-coast

    As a solo traveller, it can be a bit of a risk signing up to a group ride over such a testing parcours. The group was small; no cliques or egos just a bunch of guys wanting to ride some mountains. Ride solo at your own pace or ride together helping each other along? We did a bit of both. The weather was superb, some overnight rain and damp roads early-on but no rain when riding and dry when descending. The morning clouds giving some great affects in the high mountains before the sun burnt them away. Claude was our group leader and what a great job he did. No-one got lost, went hungry or thirsty and he took some great photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The high passes of the Tourmalet and Peyresourde were special but for me the best day was the last day. A 1,300m HC climb first thing in the morning to a chilly and cloudy summit and then a long descent pretty much all the way to the coast. Steep, tight and twisty at first with fantastic views as the clouds burnt away, a slightly wider road through the gorge and then a long, fast descent on a smooth road (except the level crossings) with little traffic, the sun on our faces and the wind on our back. A couple of little rises to negotiate but a day that it all. Yes, the traffic got a little worse near the coast but that was to be expected. 6 degrees on top of the mountain, 30 degrees o the beach.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Claude was awesome. His advice is to start early and hopefully finish early, also allowing for contingency. We were on the road at 8am every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the hotels had swimming pools and a couple were in spa towns so pack appropriate kit to aid your post-ride relaxation. Note that the thermal spas have restrictions on certain (most) types of bathing costumes. Respect the mountains and be sure to pack kit for all weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do some training! 6 days of mountain riding are tough and don't overdo it on Day 1 and the morning of Day 2; the smaller climbs of the Basque country have to be conquered before the first major test - the Col d'Aubisque late on Day 2
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andre van Wiggen

    Great trip

    Great trip, tough climbing but managable, even for a Dutch person, with proper training. Nice company. Great tour guide (Thierry) who makes sure there is enough to eat and drink. It helps to have your own bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each time you reach the top of those tough climbs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Made sure we had enough food and drinks. Nice guy with a lot of experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t do this unprepared. Three out of six cycling days are long and tough. Try to bring your own bike though rental bikes are good.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Stuart Brandom

    Breathtaking scenery and challenging cycling.

    An amazing week full of hard cycling climbs, adrenaline filled descending, great company, magnificent regional food and a superb tour guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst cycling the Col du Lautaret on the way to the Col du Galibier the clouds had come over the mountains and surrounded me. Visibility was poor, the temperature dropped and facing a strong head wind. I'm left with the eerie sense of completely missing the top of the climb and not knowing when it's coming. I turned the corner to climb the Galibier, and a fellow cyclist calls out my name. To my complete surprise, there is a hotel at the top of the Lautaret and café. We took a break to let some of the cloud clear (and hope that the temperature rises) and head onward to the top of the Galibier. Although the climb was hard, I soon forgot the agony when you can look over the valley at the breaking clouds below. Seeing my friends stretched out below me and sharing the same experience was a memory I'll never forget and cheering everyone up to the top knowing we all suffered through freezing cold and strong winds reminds you that life is pretty good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was my second tour with Thierry as group leader and once again he excelled himself. Always cheerful, knowledgeable and a pleasure to converse with. Knowing that after each climb, we had lunch waiting for us made up of fresh bread, with wonderful regional cheeses and succulent peaches, it kept you motivated to get over the climbs. Thierry had everything sorted and left you with nothing to worry about. For the briefest of seconds, Thierry made me feel like a pro as he ran up the Alpe D'Huez with me whilst passing over Harribos.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train....train....train...keep training and don't stop. Seek out those hills and keep going up and down them. You'll need to find your climbing pace and aim to sustain it for at least two hours. Take leg warmers and thermal jackets for the descents. It maybe warm at the bottom of the valley, but coming down the mountains could be freezing cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling was superb, but so was the local food. It was a real delight to sample the local produce and have it cooked to perfection. If you have any apprehension of going on your own, don't. The group bonded really quickly and everyone encouraged each other to succeed on the climbs. Lastly, remember to go right at the top of Alpe D'Huez and not straight on. :)
Call us on 020 8772 3936