Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    JEAN WOOD

    SATISFACTION GUARANTEED: EVERY DAY IS EPIC.

    This was a magical ‘out of this world’ adventure that went way beyond my wildest dreams. Dive in - a spectacular tropical paradise awaits below and above the warm turquoise water. It was incredibly spine-tingling getting up unbelievably close to whale sharks, manta rays, turtles, eagle rays, dolphins, sharks and a vast array of stunning colourful fish. ‘MV Felicity’ was THE ideal way to have these unforgettable encounters with marine wildlife and ‘chill out’ at the same time. I can not recommend this more highly and it totally ‘recharged’ my batteries. Captain Shafi and crew were outstanding and from the moment I stepped aboard this gulet, I felt at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming along beside ‘Fernando’, a magnificent 7.2m long whale shark.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    KAMEY is THE BEST, the finished article, the ‘real deal’. He is perfect in this role - going the 'extra mile’ at every opportunity to make this the trip of a lifetime for the entire group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Spend at least 1 night on deck gazing up at the stars and listening to the waves as you drift off. It is so therapeutic.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Doreen Drews

    Wonderful holiday on a lovely island with a huge amount of variety over the two weeks

    Very much recommend this trip to people who like a huge variety of experiences on holidays. The trip notes are very accurate and you will travel through, walk through and stay in many different scenic places ranging from small villages, paddy fields, national parks, hill plantations and beach locations. You have opportunities to see and get close to a range of wild animals, bird life and to have contact with local people and their lives during walks and other activities. There are UNESCO world heritage sites and a range of towns to explore. Above all, there are the lovely, smiley Sri Lankan people to meet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose one. I loved all the world heritage sites (especially Sigiriya) and the game drives (although there is a bit of an issue with the optional elephant game drive ...more later) Others in the group would identify the white water rafting or whale watching so it depends on individual choices.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was the best tour leader I've travelled with on my many Exodus (and similar companies) holidays. Well organised, personable, knowledgeable and with a passion for his country but also willing to discuss its difficulties. On long journeys he would give us a 'talk' on a particular subject be it Buddhism, history of the country etc. He had a lovely sense of humour which encouraged all of us to participate in activities and there is no doubt that his leadership and good relationship with the coach driver and co-driver helped everyone feel comfortable throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the days involve long coach journeys but each of these were broken up by stopping at interesting spots or having breaks for tea or lunch. There was much more eating in hotels than I've ever experienced on previous Exodus trips. In some cases this was necessary as the hotel was 'out of the way' with little opportunities for cafes/restaurants around , but in other cases you could choose to not eat with the group and search out alternatives (which would be cheaper) locally. Be aware that in all hotels and some restaurants there are taxes to add onto your meal and drinks which increase the cost by 25% The hotels were of a much higher standard than I expected. You don't need to bring a hairdryer or shampoo/conditioner as all provide ...except one. The cottage hotel in Nuwara Ellya had an issue with hot water in some rooms and food service was painfully slow but this hotel only stood out as the others were so great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whilst I enjoyed seeing Asian elephants in the wild on the optional game drive near Sigiriya, be aware that currently there are no licenses granted or restrictions put on the number of people who can take tourists in jeeps. This of course leads to far too many vehicles being in the park at any one time. There seems little thought given to the welfare of the elephants as jeeps were allowed to get too close to them surrounding them at certain points. It felt uncomfortable. The game drive in Yala National Park seemed better managed with fewer jeeps and much greater distance kept back from the animals in the main.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Lynne Porteous

    A great and varied trip!

    This was such a good trip! I've wanted to go to Kerela for a long time and I wasn't in the least bit disappointed when I finally got there. This trip had something for everyone in it: wonderful scenery, wildlife, food and people! We covered a lot of ground, literally, and the itinerary was wonderfully varied in content.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my highlights was the trek in the Munnar hills where we walked up through the tea plantations to gain breath-taking views of the surrounding area including the highest peak in South India, Anamudi. Made me want to come back and trek next time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Santo, was a star! Knowledgeable, flexible, and engaging with a good sense of humour and attention to detail. Nothing was too much trouble!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great way to experience India, especially if you haven't ever been before - the people are so friendly and welcoming and the itinerary offers so many opportunities to learn about the country, its history and its culture.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Martin Wiselka

    Trails of Vietnam

    This was an action packed adventure holiday with different places to visit and activities each day. The itinerary allowed time for homestays in three different places including a very remote and rural hill farm and the homestays, trekking and cycling activities helped us to understand the country better and meet some of its wonderful people. There were so many photo opportunities in each destination. The trip truly allowed us to experience the varied climate, cultures and cuisine of Vietnam, including opportunities to sample some excellent home cooked local meals. The activities were moderately strenuous and the Leader always ensured that everyone was happy and included.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the countryside around Hue visiting the local market seeing people tending their fields, water buffalo taking a bath and herding ducks across the road. Staying at the mountain homestay sharing a house with the local family

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Tan Nguyen was outstanding and ensured that everything occurred like clockwork in the complicated itinerary. He went out of his way to include everyone and ensure that everyone was enjoying their holiday and did everything with a smile on his face and great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a very active holiday with many new experiences every day. Requires moderately strenuous physical fitness and activity. Padded cycle shorts recommended. Climate very varied, from surprisingly cold in the northern mountains to sweltering heat in the Mekong delta.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vietnam is an amazing country and this trip helps you to experience its culture and highlights. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Marilyn Powell

    Fantastic Trip

    In the favourite word of our leader 'FANTASIC'. Superb trip. Stunning scenery in an area off the beaten track despite only being an hour from Benidorm. Challenging walking at times but well worth the effort. We were lucky to have glorious weather and apart from one cloudy hour at the summit of one walk tee shirts were the order of the week. Pension El Trestellador was delightful. Basic, clean rooms. Comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. Whilst the owners and staff at the pension had limited English they were always friendly and helpful and extremely trusting. You just mark down on a piece of paper any drinks you order - no formal bills at the end of the week. Breakfasts were lovely, pack lunches excellent and evening meals generally good. Traditional, homely and plentiful Spanish food. Area for Exodus clients to make tea and coffee was great and well used by all. Enjoyed the company off the group which definitely added greatly to the whole experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many spectacular moments to name a singleone. Sharing the experience of walking with a great group of people. The dedication and knowledge of guide Jamie.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jamie was absolutely wonderful. So enthusiastic and full of local knowledge. His passion for the area in which he has grown up is evident. He was constantly pointing out things along the way which we would have missed and telling us the names of all the plants. He gave us almonds off the trees and wild asparagus to eat. He encouraged us all when we occasionally flagged and hugged us all when we reached the summits. As mentioned by so many other people the sandwiches he made for our packed lunches were superb and it was always exciting to open the pack at lunch time to see what delights he had created. Definetly Michelin star sandwiches. Jamie also often supplied snacks whilst out on the walks and when we got back to the hotel and were enjoying a beer on the terrace - chocolate, nuts, olives and other local delicacies.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is as the brochure says - challenging. Not a holiday for anyone who is not an experienced walker. Distance is not everything. The terrain was often very rocky and scrambling often required. Steep inclines and decents. I think most of us had the occasional fall albeit without serious injury. If you think you are up for the challenge definitely book this trip - you are unlikely to be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Absolutely great holiday from start to finish. I sincerely hope it remains in the brochure for others to enjoy. Really good value as pack lunches provided and free wine with dinner.and constant supply of free tea and coffee.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Keatinge

    Travelling around

    A great trek to take in the Anti Atlas. Traditional villages, blossoming almond trees, and unexpected blooming mountainsides. Delicious food, guides, Lahcen and Hassan were excellent and able to set a steady pace, catering for all levels. Fabulous fellow trekkers made it unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the trek!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lahcen was excellent. Managed all levels of fitness very well. He and Hassan worked very well together. Both full of local information, not only about the people but the flora & fauna as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to enjoy yourself. Don't worry about anything, it will all be organised and looked after.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An unexpected delightful experience due to very good organisation, excellent guides and a fabulous group.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Keatinge

    Travelling around

    A great trek to take in the Anti Atlas. Traditional villages, blossoming almond trees, and unexpected blooming mountainsides. Delicious food, guides, Lahcen and Hassan were excellent and able to set a steady pace, catering for all levels. Fabulous fellow trekkers made it unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the trek!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lahcen was excellent. Managed all levels of fitness very well. He and Hassan worked very well together. Both full of local information, not only about the people but the flora & fauna as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare to enjoy yourself. Don't worry about anything, it will all be organised and looked after.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An unexpected delightful experience due to very good organisation, excellent guides and a fabulous group.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ann Ford

    Excellent

    As someone who wasn’t bothered about our trip to Costa Rica I can honestly say I have fallen in love with this country and it’s people. The trip with Exodus was so good. The guides, the activities and accommodation was first class. I would recommend this trip and Exodus to everyone. Fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Quetzel .. I have fallen in love with bird watching.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. Helpful, inspirational and an all round wonderful guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was just a wonderful trip, cannot thank Exodus and Camino travel enough.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Roberts

    Fantastic holiday. We really enjoyed snowshoeing which allows you to walk on fresh deep snow and to highish altitudes . The Dolomites are very beatific and our guide Sara has a lot of geographical and historical knowledge. the Hitel Adler is excellent.

    Highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was most enjoyable, active during the day and very good company with the rest of the group in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara , our group leader was friendly, well organised and an excellent guide .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a rucksack that has straps to attach snow shoes ( already suggested but I didn't) to and possibly some mini crampons that can fit over walking boots . There were times when we walked and carried our snow shoes . The tracks were a bit icy in places.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    stephen roberts

    Worth every penny

    Its difficult to write this review without repeating what everybody else has all ready said. We had some fantastic tiger sightings that frankly left me breathless, we also saw sloth bears, leopard and fantastic bird life. Some people saw more some saw less, but that's always going to be the case on these types of holidays. The quality of the guides and drivers is hit and miss, but Exodus has little control over this as they work for the park. Hadn't appreciate that the jeep allocation was so tightly regulated. Who is what jeep, is decided when the jeeps are booked, and passports are checked on each drive to ensure that's the case.. but you are moved around so your not sat with the same people all the time. The accommodation on the whole was better than expected, although some people seemed to have problems getting hot water a few times. Being welcomed back of every drive with a warm flannel and cold drink was very welcome. Everybody gets a bit stressed just before the overnight train, but once we were on and settled it was okay, and I slept okay, and the bedding was clean, and didn't feel the need for a sleeping bag liner. There was a western and Indian style toilet in every carriage, been in worse on UK trains. Make sure you stock up on snacks before you get on the train as the packed lunch taken with you was uninspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was being eye ball to eyeball with a wild tiger walking towards me. Still get the shivers now, just thinking about it. For my wife, getting to touch and feed the working elephants as they passed our jeeps.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna has great, fed us loads on info on Indian culture, and the wildlife. Kept our spirits up when the tigers wern't playing ball. and took care of the minor problems quickly. My wife is Type 1 diabetic and found the brunches a bit late for her sugar levels. Once we had mentioned this , Krishna sorted out some extras to eat before we left in the mornings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its cold on the first few hours of the morning. Take hats, gloves and a warm jackets. The one afternoon we didn't take waterproofs, we had a storm. So pack them every day. Yes its as dusty as they say, so be prepared for that. Getting small bank notes was an issue, buy some small items(sweets or water) in Delhi airport to try an get some smaller notes. Card machines at resorts not always working. Take cash. In two weeks we spent about £750, mainly on lunches, beers, snack and tips (and a couple of souviners). For info a beer was 350 rupees. We also tipped some of drivers and guides a bit more than suggested

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As the group had bonded well, we had hoped for a few goodbye drinks on our last night. But being a Friday the hotel was dry. If we had been warned we would have brought a couple of beers earlier and put them in the fridge in our rooms.
Call us on 020 8772 3936