Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2022

    Fabulous trip with outstanding guides, Reuben the lead guide was fabulous.

    A fabulous trip with brilliant Portuguese guides. Reuben, the lead guide was outstanding and his team had a genuine passion for their country which was truly infectious. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The cycle paths meandered their way through beautiful pine forests, villages, coastal areas and farms. The pace of the trip is relaxed but their were also many opportunities to cycle faster and the guides were very flexible. The restaurant recommendations were all excellent and the Portuguese people were most welcoming. The perfect trip if you want to cycle 35-40 miles per day on fairly flat terrain using cycle paths - you won’t find better guides! Thank you Reuben, Christofe and Rogerio.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking at the incredible view of the coastline following the steep ascent and visiting Navarro.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Reuben was simply outstanding, he has a wonderful, cheerful disposition which is truly infectious, his love for his country shone through everyday. He shared lots of information and stories about Portugal. Nothing was too much trouble. The bikes were in excellent condition and the lunches were delicious.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Lots of Olive trees

    A lovely part of Italy visiting beautiful towns and cities on the route. The hotels were very nice and comfortable and some quite unique. The level of cycling was as advertised with a few lengthy uphills and a few long days in the saddle which were quite tough in the high temperatures but expected. Puglia is full of millions of Olive trees with a few vineyards too. Therefore the vistas on the route became very similar and repetitive each day. This was in contrast to the beautiful on-route vistas of the Amalfi Coast or Portugal's Atlantic coast trips which I preferred.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cities and towns we visited were the best part of the trip; All beautiful in their own way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fab was a great leader and a fun guy; Very lively and enthusiastic, had lots of initiatives and sorted out every issue quickly with a smile and always felt safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is the first trip I've seen electric bikes as an option and used by a third of the group. They definitely enjoyed the hills more and found the long days easier to manage. Something I'd consider for a future trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd like Exodus to consider solo-specific holiday dates. I have always travelled solo and met many others on earlier Exodus trips who have grasped the group ethos to make a great trip. Latterly there have been small groups coming (groups within the group) who prefer not to mix as much which has been a detriment to the holiday.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    A fabulous week

    A truly wonderful week walking in the Douro Valley along ancient levadas, over a medieval bridge and through terraced vineyards. To top it off, we tasted some great wine and port. Our guide, Lina, was excellent; she knew all about the area and the flora and fauna we saw on the walks, introduced us to some great places and restaurants off the tourist track and kept the group upbeat and on track. As usual, I met some lovely people on the trip too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to an organic vineyard in the middle of nowhere, run by a charming man called Fernando, where we were served an amazing lunch in his living room because it was raining.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lina was welcoming, fun, hugely well organised and prepared throughout. She is very knowledgeable about the area, the history, the plants, animals and people of he region and communicates her enthusiasm and love of the Douro to everyone she meets. She dealt with a couple of tricky situations on our trip with compassion and tact while making sure she did what was needed. Top marks Lina!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to enjoy it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • A lovely part of Italy

    This is a really lovely part of Italy. It seemed less touristy than some other parts but some of that may be due to the after effects of covid still hitting tourist numbers The majority of places we visited are truly stunning. I loved Matera, Alorobello, Ostuni, Polignano, Otranto and Lecce. I was disappointed not to get to stay in Otranto as the beaches there were very nice. All the places we visited were very different and very interesting and we had just about the right amount of time in each. We went to some very lovely restaurants with excellent food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really loved staying in the Trulli and found Matera fascinating as it is on so many levels - a proper rabbit warren!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I really liked Gabriele. Although it was only his second time running this trip he is a very experienced leader and is a very nice, intelligent and interesting man. Everything ran perfectly - pick ups always on time, hotel check ins much quicker and simpler than normal etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware this tour is not really suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Matera is built on seven levels so steps absolutely everywhere and paving is uneven and sometimes slippery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the trip, although I do think some improvements could be made to it. I was not a fan of the options for the free day and would like to see additional things offered such a a bike ride or a visit to an interesting town. The caves are stunning but to be honest not really my thing and Monopoli was dull. Also the plan of a walk between the Masseria to Ostuni is silly in the summer months. Although it would be fine for some people such as myself it is really not practical for a lot of people. The walk looked to be dull and a little dangerous with the heat for those who are not good with heat or very fit and although I personally would have been capable of it other members of the group would not and so we all decided we would rather get to Ostuni quicker as we would not have had much time there otherwise. Although I think it is fine to offer the walk as an option I think not offering a free transfer as an alternative is very irresponsible of Exodus and endangers their clients (which is very unlike them) and I believe this has been fed back numerous times.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    June 2022

    Great scenery especially Montenegro

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the Dormitor mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dimitri was a very capable and helpful leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoyed the trip but make sure you're fit , there's lots of climbing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I didnt enjoy cycling in the tunnels which had no lights. the lights provided on the bikes weren't adequate
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Highlights of Dolomites

    Hi, Awesome trip, thanks to Paul and Jenny (expert guides) Hotel staff wonderful people. Cheers Gary

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Piz Boe summit, superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul, expert guide and top laugh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    N/A
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Chianti and Walking

    An amazing holiday. Great scenery. Lovely walks. Great accommodation and lovely people. Jordan was a fantastic Tour Leader and went above and beyond. All in all, a wonderful week. Only down side was that I got bitten by mosquitoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jordan was fantastic! He went above and beyond on several occasions. He was good fun, helpful and joined us at several meals. Brilliant!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take mosquito repellent that contains Deet. Take Piriton tablets too in case you get attacked like I did. Eat lots of ice cream! It’s fabulous!
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Incredible local guide and fantastic, action-packed itinerary!

    I’ve just come back from the Essential Peru trip and it was incredible. Our expert local guide, Holger, was fantastic. From the beginning, his outstanding knowledge of Peruvian culture, folklore and cuisine shaped and enhanced our experience as we travelled through the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to pick just one moment, as the whole trip was fantastic from start to finish. Viewing the Nazca lines, spotting Andean condors in Colca Canyon and visiting the floating Reed islands on Lake Titicaca were definitely some of the main highlights! However, personally, it was when I caught the first glimpse of Machu Picchu coming into view. You always see it in photographs, but it was so much more impressive seeing this massive world wonder in person. Surrounded by lush green towering peaks, it really is an incredible sight to see!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nothing was too much trouble for Holger! He helped us order the best local dishes, grabbed us exotic fruits to try on long bus journeys and always ensured everyone’s food allergies were catered for. He always went out of his way to help the group. Holger was also really accommodating to those who struggled with adjusting to the altitudes on longer walks. His excellent knowledge of Pre-Inca and Inca culture knew no bounds and really added to the whole experience. He’s also a great photographer and was able to capture and share photos of Giant hummingbirds and Andean Condors with the group! You could tell this is more than a job to him. He loves his country and is really passionate about being a tour leader, taking travellers beyond the guidebook to ensure we saw a different side of Peru. Thanks Holger for being such a wonderful guide!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get bitten abroad, definitely bring mosquito repellent and soother with you! In the winter months, I’d consider bringing thermal socks and thermal jackets. Layers are a must, as it can range from -2 to 23 degrees on a single day in winter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is amazing! There’s so much diversity in the country’s landscape and wildlife - and this itinerary makes sure you see the most notable highlights and best bits you wouldn’t find in a guidebook.
  • Reviewed July 2022

    Really lovely holiday

    Beautiful Island, lovely crowd of fellow riders and great trip leader and driver/mechanic. Ragusa, Modica, Nota, Syracuse and the coast, it was all lovely. Hotels were very good as was all the great Italian/Sicilian food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nota and the Agriturismo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide was an excellent tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even in June it can be very hot so lots of sun cream and re-hydration.
  • Fantastic trip

    One of the best trips I’ve done… This trip offered a mix of everything- beautiful scenery, lovely undulating walks through and around glorious countryside, vineyards, llevadas and small villages, wine tastings at some excellent local vineyards, excellent accommodation and good food. Lina, our guide for the trip, was one of the very best. Thoroughly knowledgable and prepared for each day ( and ensuring we were too!) and always thinking about what little things or adjustments might make our days better, as well as being an absolutely lovely person. A guide can really make or break a trip - and Lina is definitely is the first category! This trip was so good that despite the unusual June weather (so much rain for late June was not typical!) our group still had a really fantastic time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely outstanding - see above comments in the summary,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a swimming cap if you want to use the hotel pools! - It’s mandatory in Portugal and you won’t be allowed in without one. Flip flops also a good idea.