Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jane De Vries

    Superb family adventure

    We booked a private tailor made slightly shortened 6 day Camels and Kasbahs itinerary to fit with the half term school holidays of our teenage children. It was a really excellent adventure and introduction to Morocco, starting in Marrakech, crossing the High Atlas Mountains to the Sahara desert and back to Marrakech. We really felt like we got to know the essence of Morocco in a relatively short trip, and also felt safe at all times thanks to our superb guide Abdul and very safe driver Moustafa. We definitely intend to return to this beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights were staying and stargazing in the remote Berber village of Tighza in the High Atlas Mountains, bargaining for a carpet in the remote desert town of Rissani and camel trekking and climbing the sand dunes to watch sunset over the Sahara in Mergouza.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Abdul was insightful, humorous and spoke perfect English. We learned a huge amount from him about the culture and way of life in Morocco. Moustafa was our friendly and very safe driver, transporting us in a comfortable air conditioned minibus. We were very well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring head scarves for the desert, or you can buy them en route. Stock up on small value dirham notes and coins for tipping along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Bernie Abromaitis

    Camels and sand dunes

    Exodus gives you tours that are interactive with the local culture - up close and personal. We had a wonderful time sampling the different areas of Morocco - from the city of Marrakesh to the dunes of the desert, from ancient towns to mosques, universities and modern movie sets. We sampled local cuisine (tajine), we haggled in the markets (souks), we wandered through the old towns and learned the history of how the cities evolved.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After riding camels in the desert we camped overnight. We took our beds outside and slept under the stars! I tried to stay up all night to see the incredible number of stars; the milky way and shooting stars. Then in the morning we climbed the sand dunes to watch the sunrise. What a memory! We also did a fashion photo shoot in the dunes!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sheena was awesome! She made everyone feel welcome and led the pack with fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! Morocco is such a diverse country with so much history: The Desert, the camel ride, Atlas mountains, a donkey ride, experiencing a traditional hamam (spa), having tea in a local home, visiting ancient fortresses and haggling in the souk (market). And the food is fantastic! You'll come back refreshed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm looking forward to my next Exodus trip already!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Phillip Heap

    Pompei and Amalfi Coast

    A great trip well organised. On the family trip, but with a teenager she was a little board. Very suitable for young children. Felt the walk was too short for adults around Vesuvius crater, so that was disappointing. Capri was spectacular, but again the tour around the island was very short, so you felt you didn't full see the caves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pompei was sensational. So was Capri

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought he was superb for adults, but not necessarily for kids. Very helpful and sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check carefully. Not a lot for teenagers. I chose the trip specifically for that reason, but nothing for them to do. The adult trip, walking, seem to have a more adventurous trip. This family trip is for younger children, my daughter, age 14, didn't enjoy it much. Make sure there are lots of other travellers the same age, otherwise they will be bored in the evenings, nothing to do in the village
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Chantal Sargent

    Inca Trail Challenge and Amazing Amazonia

    An experience of a lifetime, but definitely not for the faint hearted! The Inca Trail is stunningly beautiful, with incredible wild flowers and birdsong, offset by incredible challenging, unrelenting steep and uneven steps up, followed by deep, slippery and very steep steps down... whatever anyone says otherwise, however fit or athletic, coupled with altitude and decreased oxygen levels, this trip is a challenge! The porters are incredible- so encouraging and happy as they run up (and down!) the steps, singing! The wonderfully refreshing and beautiful Amazon sights and sounds was a reward beyond compare! Take a good set of binoculars to the Amazon and ‘video’ the sounds....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone on the last morning of the Inca Trail, looking out over the incredible panorama below- listening to the birdsong, admiring an overhanging wild orchid, with a lama munching in the bush behind me. In the Amazon, seeing a female jaguar on the riverbank, being teased by a male, whilst we rowed into the sunset, on the Tambopata river, on our last evening- what an absolute privilege!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bobbie was simply outstanding! His knowledge of Inca history was superb, but more importantly, his understanding of people, his positive psychology and his humour, helped us get to the top of Dead Woman’s Pass alive! His gentle encouragement, with no pressure to rush, but also his ability to make us feel safe, in some desperate moments where we felt we couldn’t go on, need commending- thank you Bobbie!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a tough trip- certainly not for the faint hearted and I would suggest, a significant challenge for younger teenagers. One needs to be athletic and be able to walk up steep hills ( as a training exercise), without getting breathless. No amount of fitness training in a gym can prepare one for the altitude, coupled with unrelenting, steep uneven steps up, and very deep, slippery and steep steps down. If one feels uneasy being at a height looking down, this is not the trip for you! The best advise is to have good Leki walking poles with rubber tips, and descend the steps sideways, like a crab, to save ones’ knees! Keep poles very long when going down, and short for going up! When packing the duffel bag, pack your stuff in a big see through bin liner first. Take lots of layers and thermals for the night- it is sub zero, wet and lonely at the top, without a proper, thick 4 season sleeping bag! I would recommend hiring a sleeping bag. Day pack: do not use a bladder- they leak! Keep a water bottle round your neck- (buy a bottle holder at the shop where you have breakfast, before the trail starts), and a bottle of lucozade or similar in the side pouch- do not let your sugar levels go low! Take sucking sweets that are easy to unwrap and suck whilst walking- chewing and walking and breathing, up those steep steps is impossible! Take some bars of chocolates- you will crave chocolate! Keep a bag of small change (1soles) for the toliet stops on parts of the Inca trail (no toilets higher up). Take acetazolamide ( ask your GP) to prescibe 250mg tablets (not modified release). The recommeded dosage is to start taking it in Cusco the day before the trail starts ( if one feels dizzy, nausea/ vomiting, breathless and as if head is going to burst) An adult should take half a tablet (125mg) twice a day until the last moring if the trail, and a young teenager a quarter of a tablet twice a day. This was recommended to me by a Professor of Pulmonology, I chanced upon in our Cusco hotel. He was a Godsend! One can buy ‘Oxyshot’- small cannisters of Oxygen at the pharmacies- go to a pharmacy if one feels one may need advise- they were excellent! A good tip to acclimatise, is to go a few days early, before the trail starts, and stay in Pisac. (which is slightly lower in altitude to Cusco). We stayed at La Casa del Conde, just outside Pisac, overlooking The Sacred Valley- superb accomodation and views, and one has to take a ‘tuk tuk’ to get to it from the town, as it’s up a track! Pisac has a fantastic market and quaint restaurants- well worth spending 2 days there at least. Do an open top bus tour from the Place d’Arma in Cusco which takes you to various ruins- Saksaywaman- brilliant experience! Take a good headtorch on the trail and for the Amazon. Use a ‘bumbag’ to keep your camera/ iphone, lipice, tissues in- for easy access whilst walking. Take a daypack that fits: waterproof trousers and light waterproof jacket, rain poncho, beanie and waterproof gloves for the top of Dead Woman’s Pass. Wear good polarised sunglasses for the glare. Take a small memory foam pillow in your duffel bag- will make your camping experience much better!! Wear waterproof trousers to sleep in if you get cold and put your duffel bag under your mattress, at the foot of your tent, to prevent slipping down your tent! Take a power bank to recharge camera/ phone to take photos. Wear hiking liners- to prevent blisters. One needs to adhere to the tipping guidelines for the porters especially- they are brilliant- you need at least 230 soles per person for the Porter’s kitty, then additional tipping money in the Amazon for the Amazon guide, the Posadas lodge staff, the boatman and then your main guide for the trip. ( recommended $5 per person per day) The tipping is a hidden extra which definitely needs to be acknowledged prior to taking this trip. There is no cash facility in the Amazon but we could pay for our extras/ drinks using Visa. Have a pisco sour and lomo saltado in Cusco at ‘Baco’s’- both to die for! Take lots of videos both on the Inca trail and especially in the Amazon- the sounds are quite spectacular- especially the jungle call! Most importantly, enjoy every moment, take in every sight and sound as if it were your last, and ENJOY the beauty and the freedom! Don’t rush to get to the campsite- you’ll miss out!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did this trip as a 50th birthday family adventure and fundraising challenge, for a Conservation charity in South Africa, for leopard rescue. Seeing the jaguar on our last evening was a ‘spiritual’ moment for me! And as our guide said at the outset of the Inca trail, heading to Machu Picchu is ‘a pilgrimage’! It is a challenge which needs careful planning, both for the fitness, the equipment and gear, but more importantly the mental challenge as a whole- the travel there and back is a challenge in itself! Make it a lifetime event- share your experience... write a blog.... it’ll make you feel whole.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Fiona Crawford

    Peru

    Trip to Inca trail/Machu Picchu was amazing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inca ruins on inca trail & Amazon Lodge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader from Peak DMC was 10/10. Frank dealt with lost luggage, last minute bookings, questions on environment, fauna, flora, everything with a smile and a giggle; nothing was too much. He and his colleagues from Peak made this trip, every aspect of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Jane Trevorrow

    Trip of a lifetime

    A trip of a lifetime and a dream come true to visit Peru, Machu Picchu and the Amazon rainforest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were blessed with the most amazing sunshine during our trek to Macchi Picchu and left with beautiful photos of the Andes and wonderful memories.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Frank, was everything you could wish for - as an advocate for Peru and as a guide. There could not have been a more perfect person for the job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t take the category 4 rating lightly in terms of the challenge. Whilst some people trotted up and down like mountain goats, my lungs and heart really, really struggled. I did a lot of cardio and strength training in advance, but it was still very, very hard work.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Sarah Podesta

    Fun, educational and activity-filled trip!

    This three- centre holiday combines city, beach, island-hopping, and walking at altitude on Mount Etna, and as a result a week's holiday goes a long way! We loved the balance between physical activity (walking and sea kayaking) and relaxation, and between organised group time and time to do what took our fancy as a family. The itinerary as a whole was very good and we appreciated the way that bus journeys on transfer days were broken up with informative visits to the local pasticceria and the volcano museum. Hotels were fairly basic but clean and perfectly adequate and transport arrangements ran very smoothly. Overall this was a wonderful holiday with friendly like-minded families and a helpful, knowledgeable guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip from Vulcano to Stromboli via Panarea, with a stop for leaping off the boat to swim in the beautiful clear sea; circling Stromboli in the boat after sunset and spotting a volcanic eruption; visiting the archaeological museum on Lipari and viewing the Greek and Roman relics; walking through the Catania fish and produce market.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alessio was full of local knowledge and very helpful and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take earplugs - it was a bit noisy at night on a couple of occasions. If you want to experience the sulphur mud baths on Vulcano, take an old swimsuit because apparently the mud gets into the fabric and the smell lingers for months afterwards. It's possible to hire walking boots and other kit on Etna, so no need to buy if you don't already have. Long socks are very useful to stop the volcano ash getting into your boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only disappointment with the itinerary was on the final day, when our flight left Catania at 2145 but we were dropped in the city at 10 am and left to our own devices until 7 pm. It was a very hot Sunday and finding i) amusement and ii) shade was a challenge. We ended up spending a lot of time in the airconditioned department store and then reading books in the park. Some suggestions of what to do in Catania on a Sunday, or a hotel lounge to use as a base for the day, or an alternative flight time, would have been a good idea.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Michelle Laverick

    A fabulous trip

    We travelled on the May 1/2 Term departure to Sicily and we had an amazing time. The tour manager was brilliant and the group of 15, made up of 4 different families, were lovely. The trip combines some great activities with plenty of chill out time too. Our family highlights included climbing Mt Etna and also the walk to explore the Fumaroles of Vulcano and Kayaking around the coastline of Vulcano. For me, I also loved swimming around the bay every morning, where we stayed, before breakfast. It was so tranquil and warm. The visit to Stromboli was brilliant and we all enjoyed the boat ride and the pizza for dinner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Mt Etna was definitely the most breath-taking and inspirational experience I had on the tour. It was incredible and the volcano was more active than I'd anticipated. It was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Allessio was very organised and was a very lovely and caring tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss the opportunity to climb to the top of Mt Etna. It is incredible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great tour. The accommodation is in a great location and I would have never have thought about going to the Islands of Sicily. They are really stunning and remote, which makes for a relaxing yet active break.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Samantha Hall

    Whetted our appetite for adventure!

    In the past my husband and I have travelled quite a bit but this was our first adventure travel as a family outside of European culture. Our children, aged 9 and 7 thought it was amazing (their word) and we had a great time too. We started with a few days in Essaouria (independently) which was a perfect introduction to the country and a chance for the children to acclimatise, then we travelled back to Marrakech for the start of the Exodus trip. We were at little uncertain about group travel but it worked out very well indeed. The group mix of 5 adults and 5 youngsters (including ours, they aged 7,8,9, 14 and 15) was just right - a little like-aged company but not overwhelming so there was still plenty of family time too. The itinerary was very good. We packed a lot into the week long trip - much more than we would have managed independently - but there was still time for playing round the (chilly!) pools and hanging out. I would have enjoyed an extra day in the desert, perhaps getting as far as the ergs (sand dune seas) at the expense of time in Marrakech, but overall it was a good taster. There was a lot of time in the bus on travel days but we stopped regularly for views, loos and refreshments so the journey passed quickly. The camel riding was a big hit - and pitched at the right length for our kids to love it but not get too hot or tired with the experience. The accommodation and facilities were excellent throughout, with electricity, hot showers and (almost always) WiFi. Indeed, I would perhaps have rathered a day or two away from home comforts to enhance the adventure aspect of the trip - like a wild camp in the desert - maybe next time! Our guide, Mohammed, was excellent. He was non-intrusive but also present whenever you needed him. He was interesting and knowledgeable on everything from change in political policies over the last 20 years to architecture and sustainable agriculture. He was also an amazing fixer, arranging extras like a visit to the Ouarzazate Kasbah with an excellent guided tour and a trip to another hotel's pool when ours was out of action due to renovations. His manner with the children was also brilliant. He was totally trusted and loved - my 7 year old was especially sad to say goodbye. Overall, we loved the trip and although it could have been more adventurous for my and my husband's tastes, it was a pitched just right for the kids and was perfect introduction to adventure travel. It was fun and, at times, exciting trip - without the hassle and stress of organising it independently. It was good value and comes highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My daughter loved the camel riding best of all - the desert was such an alien environment for them and wrapped in their 'Sahara scarfs' felt to be real adventurers. My son's highlight was the walk to the mountain village. For me, it was seeing my children' s reactions to being in an exotic environment - marvelling at palm trees, delighting at the snow covered High Atlas Mountains and supping mint tea with gusto!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. As above: Our guide, Mohammed, was excellent. He was non-intrusive but also present whenever you needed him. He was interesting and knowledgeable on everything from change in political policies over the last 20 years to architecture and sustainable agriculture. He was also an amazing fixer, arranging extras like a visit to the Ouarzazate Kasbah with an excellent guided tour and a trip to another hotel's pool when ours was out of action due to renovations. His manner with the children was also brilliant. He was totally trusted and loved - my 7 year old was especially sad to say goodbye.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do try to extend your visit with extra time in Marrakech or beyond. We had a few days in Essaouria before the trip started which gave the children time to acclimatise and us time to relax. Essaouria is much smaller and more laid back than Marrakech and the children were able to get used to the environment, food and people. They learned to haggle in the souk and came away with scarfs and tops that they enjoyed using throughout the rest of the trip. It was very easy to organise accommodation and bus tickets ourselves (we used Booking.com and Marrakech Tickets).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travelling as a family in Morocco was such fun. The Moroccan people went out of their way to welcome with children and made them feel so special with treats, smiles and jokes. Go!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jonathan Taylor

    Fantastic family experience

    I can't fault this trip. An excellent balance of guided tours and beach time/down time. I have to say that our guide Eduardo was a gem. Exodus are extremely fortunate to have him working for them. He is a gold mine of knowledge, full of conversation and great with the kids. I am sure that our experience and access to places you would never be able to reach are down to him. The pizza making was brilliant and the kids even joined the chef to cook our dinner one night! Thank you Exodus but more so thank you Eduardo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch in an old farmhouse on the walk of the Gods. Only accessible by foot or mule. Good food, good wine, good company... All overlooking Positano and the turquoise sea from 700metres!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. He made the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
Call us on 020 8772 3936