Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17959 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2021

    surprisingly lovely UK trip

    At a time when we were unable to do foreign travel, we signed up to this trip with not particularly high expectations, but we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. Nice balance of scenery, country and city, exercise and leisure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing particularly inspirational, but just really enjoyable spending time meeting new people (a very nice group), seeing beautiful parts of the UK, exercising, as well as eating and drinking and socialising - after a long time without any holidays and minimal social contact during the pandemic, it was so refreshing to have some enjoyable normality!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic group leaders, particularly Jago. They were incredibly hard working, organised, and made us all feel looked after. They also both gave the impression they were enjoying themselves, and made everybody on the trip feel valued.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    no

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not sure how we would have enjoyed the trip if the British weather had been bad..... but we were lucky, we cycled every day without any rain
  • Reviewed October 2021

    Excellent!

    A week-long exploration of the countryside in north Portugal interspersed with plenty of wine and port-tasting opportunities topped off with a day in Porto.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks through the villages where people still use the communal washing facilities and herd their cows; the fabulous lunch and vinho verde at Quinta das Escomoeiras; managing to get in the icy infinity pool; the beautiful autumn light on the vines and heather...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lina was brilliant, and together with Antonio they made the trip unforgettable. The slideshows in the evening were a particular bonus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this trip is categorised as leisurely it is still a walking holiday, and there are some ups and downs so go suitably prepared.
  • Just amazing, in every way..

    This was such an amazing trip that weeks later here at home I find myself missing the hiking, the mountains, the people the food, (and even the 6:30 AM church bells!! Go figure!) I’m so happy I was able to be part of this trip, I will never forget the beauty of the mountains and lakes we visited, and the their history that our guide Karl shared with us each day as we explored a new mountain range. I cant imagine a better guide than Karl. He was a calm, confident knowledgable (and funny!) presence we could count on each day. The best.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was inspired by the beauty of each hike and how different they each were! Karl was so intimately familiar with the regions we hiked in, that he took us off the beaten paths and always found THE most glorious spots for us to sit for our lunches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above! The best👍🏼

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t miss out on this one!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel Adler and all the staff were outstanding. The dinners were classic 5 course meals, and just delicious. The setting is beautiful as well.
  • Reviewed October 2021

    Review of Sept-Oct 2021 hiking in the Dolomites

    This trip was certainly one of the best and most memorable of my life! I have been home for a number of weeks now and I am still basking in the memories of this trip and missing the daily excursions in the Dolomites. The adventure vacation of this particular trip was only super-enhanced by the expert guide, Karl, and the wonderful accommodations at the Adler Hotel!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Karl encouraged each of us to challenge ourselves and in doing so, he took great care to ensure all were safe and that each of us felt safe. The most inspirational moment for me was on the day we hiked along narrow paths while holding a cable for stability. It was breath-takingly beautiful, it was challenging, and it was soul-filling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl Mather is a genius. Not only is he a highly trained and skilled guide in the Dolomite region, he was able to read the very diverse abilities of our group of 16 hikers, anticipate daily weather conditions, and consider daily adventures that would be most interesting to this particular group of hikers and adventure seekers. Karl was deliberate in each day's hike and he provided a drastically diverse experience each day, and the group quickly grew to trust him completely. This trip and these memories would not be possible without Karl as our guide. I would love to go on another adventure vacation with Karl guiding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Alder Hotel and staff in the little town of Niederdorf/Villabassa were impressive. There was an abundance of food and the varied spa accommodations at the hotel are exactly what is needed after a long day's hike. I would go on this trip again with Karl as the guide and at this same Hotel.
  • Fantastic stay in the Dolomites

    It is difficult find the words to describe the majestic Dolomites. SPECTACULAR! This is a region steeped unforgettable views and history. Our treks each day left us reeling and amazed by the beauty. Our guide Karl Mather was outstanding! (more on Karl below) The Adler Hotel in Villabassa was a perfect respite after our long tracks each day. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the spa/pool was beautiful. A great way to end the day sooth your aching muscles.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The never ending awe inspiring beauty!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl Mather was an excellent and experienced guide. He led our group with professionalism, confidence and humor. Karl is a true historian of the area. He shared many interesting (and some humorous) stories as we hiked along the trails. Karl set just the right pace for our hikes each day. He gets to know his hikers abilities, strengths and weaknesses and carefully (and safely) encourages you to push your limits. Karl was a joy to get to know and travel with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I highly recommend exodus and especially our guide Karl Mather!
  • Reviewed October 2021

    Excellent trip into the mountains of Cumbria

    We had a great group of people who were led superbly by Jago and Chris. They brought the mountains alive with a vast knowledge of the flaura and fauna and the history of the locations. The group was well matched and the organisation excellent. Well done to all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the mountains and getting to the peaks of each day's goal with a great bunch of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Jago and Chris were excellent. Jago, for example, offered extra equipment for us walkers and nothing was too much trouble. Chris was a local guide and had decades of experience, anecdotes and information. And both guides had an excellent sense of humour. Really, these guys were the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip and enjoy the Cumbrian landscapes, hospitality and safe, fun walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've said it all above
  • Reviewed October 2021

    A fantastic cycling trip

    I'd highly recommend this cycling trip to those who are looking for a 'moderate' cycling holiday. The route is great - you visit some of the main tourist sites in Puglia, but also visit some of the little towns that have very few tourists. The scenery is beautiful - you cycle through olive groves, along the coast and through narrow lanes in little towns. Our tour leader, Emanuele (Mani) was fantastic. He was keen to ensure that everyone had a great time. I really can't praise him enough. We ate in a range of cafes and restaurants for lunch and dinner - all were very good with some delicious food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So difficult to decide as the whole itinerary was excellent. Cycling along the coast was really 'feel good'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele (Mani) was fantastic. He bonded well with the group and really did everything to make sure we really enjoyed the trip. He took us to some great local cafes for lunching dinner. Despite the dinners being optional the whole group ate together each evening as the places he chose were so good. He shared his local knowledge, which put things into context for the places we visited. Mani made an excellent trip into something really special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like Italy and cycling, get this trip booked!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Italian drivers in this part of Italy are VERY considerate to cyclists. They seem to celebrate cycling rather than get inpatient with them. I felt safer here on a bike than in the UK All dietary requirements are catered for.
  • Just what the doctor ordered!

    It is incredible how much difference to my wellbeing a week away made. We had incredible guides in Luis and Irella, jaw dropping rugged scenery and an exceptional group. Each day was different as we walked on the rugged cliffs or on the beaches to the Atlantic Ocean. I was mesmerised by its beauty and I felt as though my mind had been cleansed by the sea, light breeze and sunshine. Looking back, i can now tell you the stress of lockdown and london life and not going anywhere for 18 months had really took its toll and this trip bought me back to me and made me have faith that the world will be ok again. Absolutely loved it and just what the doctor ordered. Im home and feel renewed and rejuvenated. Thank you Luis, my wonderful group, beautiful Portugal and Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking out daily as we walked to the never ending expanse of the Atlantic Ocean and the power of the waves as they broke against the cliffs. Those moments i will remember forever!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There aren't enough positive words to describe them. A person who loves life, nature and people - he was exceptional and nothing was too much - thank you Luis and Irella!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You MUST go - it will exceed your expectations!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can i go and relive it again!?? The food and hotels were also AMAZING. I work hard and it was important to stay in lovely places with great food too. This trip was one of the best and i have been on loads (more 15x)
  • Reviewed October 2021

    Mighty Trek

    This region bursts with unique landscapes, peaceful villages and majestic mountains. There's no better way to experience its vast beauty than this northern Italy week long hiking tour. beautiful architecture, culture and incredible landscapes, for a challenging adventure through the far north of Italy, the Italian Dolomites hiking adventure hit just the spot!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A 19km up, around and under the ‘three chimneys’ The tre cime di lavaredo. Highlight of the week, physically exhausting, but breathtaking, and spiritual. Elevation ~ 8200’.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A small group (16) hike in the Dolomites, IT. Sept/Oct. 2021, From the USA. Karl M. Is a true professional, (over 30 years of experience) as well as kind, knowledgeable, and deeply passionate, a gentle man. Awe inspiring to travel these mountains treks under his care and safety for sure. All MUST EXPERIENCE the true beauty of this part of the world with his leadership and expertise. Thanks Karl!
  • Reviewed October 2021

    A Great trek and stay in the Dolomites

    The hotel was perfect for our group trekking adventure; the food was excellent, the staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The pool and spa area after our daily hikes was a treat and helped me recover for the next day. The staff to a person was courteous and pleasant. Our guide for the week was Karl , a very experienced all season hiker, mountaineer and climber who accommodated the wide range of abilities our group presented. Every day brought something new and his knowledge of local flora and fauna was amazing. He also brought us to historical sites in the mountains and allowed us to explore areas in depth. Karl made the trip so much more enjoyable with his confidence and easy going manner,- all our questions and concerns were answered and addressed with professionalism. I can recommend this trip with great confidence and I hope to be able to visit the region again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the 3 chimneys was spectacular and was a treat for the senses The Mt. Piano area with the tunnels, trenches and via Ferrata was over the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Refer to the summary above. I can’t say enough about him: his experience, knowledge , and confidence made the trip that much more enjoyable. We able to spend some time with him socially and that was a treat .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be at altitude so be sure to train with some long hikes and elevation gain to get yourself prepared.