View our latest travel disruption updates due to Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

4726 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Moira Chaplin

    Manaslu Lodge Circuit

    A wonderful and inspiring experience Crossing the

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the Larke pass was awesome even to the point of being spiritual. Visiting the Tibetan villages high up near the border was a privilege and seeing how the villagers live and survive in such austere circumstances given the altitude and logistical challenges with getting supplies across the mountain passes

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorjee was just brilliant; intelligent, entertaining , respectful, attentive and informative. He ran an excellent team of porters and guides who all got on very well together

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Potential travellers do need a certain level of fitness but you don’t need to be an elite Athlete or a regular on the triathlon circuit. The main issues that can cause pain and grief are of course the lower limb joints namely feet, ankles, knees and hips, so be prepared. The trip allows for good acclimatisation for the high pass at just over 5100 meters. Personally, I did take diamox which caused me no side effects although I did continue to suffer from early morning headaches over 3,000 meters and I would definitely take it again if I do another high altitude walk. I suppose in some ways I was using the diamox as an insurance against feeling very unwell with the altitude. The exodus team also insisted we complete the lake louise scoring system for AMS every day which ensured that appropriate action could be taken in good time in case of AMS

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Considering I was very apprehensive when the holiday was approaching in case I wouldn’t cope with the physical challenges and fitness required, I managed extremely well; just sore knees on the last day. The trip proved to be a memorable experience and I would not have missed it for the world.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Vishakha Phatak

    Trip and group leader review

    Absolutely wonderful trek with stunning scenery each day. The whole trek was very well organised. The accommodation was good and the staff were really amazing, always ready to help with a smile on their face. The food that Jim, Pilar and the team served was delicious! Had not expected to be served 4 course dinner everyday ! Saw plenty of vultures, mountain goats,horses and of course the cows with cowbells! Would definitely recommend the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Nacho was the best group leader amongst all the treks I have done with Exodus. Nacho had excellent knowledge of the local area, and had fantastic organisational skills. I would definitely vote for him for the star Leader award !
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Benjamin Vassallo

    Excellent and professional experience.

    To whom it may concern, I am incredibly thankful for the experience I had while I was away on my trip. Zohi and Ben were nothing but professional meanwhile keeping a light hearted friendly attitude throughout the time away. Their food was exceptional. I was expecting something alot less and what was delivered was nothing short of an incredible dining experience. If I knew I was getting them again I would not hesitate for a second booking another holiday with Exodus. To second on that Shaun the hiking guide was professional and made hiking incredible and informative. We learnt so much from him as a group from the surrounding area. The staff is by far your best asset and will encourage people to come back again and again im sure. Regards

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking through the dense forest on a new track as the normal route was closed. The forest and views were absolute breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun the treking guide as mentioned in the summary was amazing and look forward to seeing him again on another trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay open minded and maybe do a little walking before heading on over
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eriza San Miguel

    Perfect!

    This trip was just perfect. The daily walks were sublime and breathtaking. Zohi and Ben really looked after us well. They are a magnificent duo that are not only great at what they do, they also enjoy it. The chalet was clean and had everything we needed. The food is gourmet and uses fresh ingredients. Both Zohi and Ben are super friendly. Not only do you get to eat delicious food, the conversations were also fun and genuine. Our guide John is a master at his profession. He plans what’s best for the group and monitors our walking pace regularly. He is very knowledgeable on not only the hills and mountains surrounding the Chamonix valley but also all the popular hikes around the world. John provides training on the best way to walk (slow and steady) and he’ll also throw in lessons on different types of coniferous trees for free. The walks and Chamonix itself is already a sublime combination. Throwing Zohi, Ben and John into the mix is certainly what made our trip perfect. My friends and I already agreed we’d do this trip again in a few years time. Here’s hoping the trio will still be there (fingers and toes crossed).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The alpine scenery is incredibly magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a great leader - he is masterful at his trade. He looks after the group and is very easy to get along with. He is incredibly knowledgeable. In the many tours I’ve done, he is a stand out group leader - a rare find.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some challenging parts, so train harder than you think. The rating scale of moderate translates to a rating of 4-5 in Australia. Bring waterproof shoes in case it rains/snows.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zohi, Ben and John - thank you for giving us a wonderful experience. As a group we felt extremely lucky to have been led and looked after by yourselves. It’s definitely what made the trip perfect! Thank you 😊
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Simon Lord

    Kumano Kodo: A fascinating insight in to Japan.

    This was an excellent trip that we thoroughly enjoyed, giving an insight into contrasting landscapes/areas of Japan and to its culture and food. After initial exploration in and around Kyoto, the four days on the Kumano Kodo trail were quite demanding (particularly because it was so hot on our departure) but we got a fascinating insight into one of the more rural areas, staying in traditional Japanese hotels. A good proportion of the trail itself was in trees with occasional viewpoints and shrines, it also passed through villages and rural settings. The trails are well made and on some days the walking was long, as set out in the trip notes. The traditional Japanese food we ate every day was elaborate and carefully prepared – a bowl of sticky rice and an array of up to around 10 other small dishes of food for each person – at each meal, including breakfast; lunches were bento boxes. There was much fresh seafood by the sea. Travelling on the efficient Japanese public transport was interesting and enjoyable as it is indeed very punctual, but also uncrowded and generally very comfortable. The last couple of days in Tokyo were different again – a short time to get an impression, but as we are not really city people, this was fine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The end of the Kumano Koda trail after four days of hard walking, with a fantastic temple and views to a high waterfall. We also enjoyed the pearl museum and learning about the Ama divers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hide, our leader, ensured the trip ran well which was no small feat give the numerous buses, trains and overnight stays that were required to complete our journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in early September and it was very hot (often over 30 degrees, a hang-over from the hot summer), and the walking was at the upper end of the moderate scale (give the heat). We found sticks important, particularly as the trail could be mossy and slippy after rain. Bring a swimming costume also – there’s opportunity for swimming in the sea as well as useful for the outdoor hot spring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fascinating insight in to Japan.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul Garrod

    Kilimanjaro

    I was part of a group of 6 teamed up with a further 10 individuals. We bonded well from the beginning and throughout this amazing adventure and from this experience I would have no hesitation in travelling alone. The Exodus team were superb from start to finish and The African Walking Company who were locally based were the guys on the ground and their knowledge of Kilimanjaro was superb and with 50+ porters/guides our group of 16 were well catered for and out 'leader 'JT' was excellent. This was a challenging trek, particularly the final two days and should not be taken lightly. One gripe is it needs to be made clearer on summit night how best to keep water from freezing, as many of us were very de-hydrated on the way down having summited in atrocious conditions. But I would highly recommend the experience and Exodus and we have made friends for life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Helping, being helped, supporting and summiting as a team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well and research anti-altitude sickness tablets as these I'm sure helped me, though others did still suffer

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having a positive mind-set and just keep putting one foot in front of the other and you can do it.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Alex Campbell

    Just amazing!!!

    This trip was fantastic from start to finish. Really well organised by Exodus. We loved every minute of this trip, the Inca sites you visit along the way and the amazing scenery just make this amazing, it really does make it about the whole 4 days of hiking rather than just the last one when you arrive at Macchu Picchu. We were lucky to be hiking with a fantastic group of people and our guide and porters were incredible. The chefs and porters deserve a special mention, the food was incredible, and arriving at camp every day to find everything set up and a drink waiting for us made it feel much more like glamping!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say, on the last day of hiking the guide for us up early to climb a little higher and we watched the sun come up over a glacier, the porters arrived with hot tea and it just felt a little unreal and magical. Of course arriving after 4 days of hiking to see Macchu Picchu below you is incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was AMAZING, nothing was too much trouble and he knew so much not just about Incas but about all the flowers and everything we saw along the way, it really made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared for an adventure, and ladies take loo roll in your back pack everywhere, it's often in short supply!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to everyone involved in making our trip so memorable we planned this a year ago and it totally lived up to our expectations!!!!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Cheryl Huyck

    Exceeded Expectations

    Our first hiking vacation and the whole experience was incredible. Our guide, Louise, was energetic and so very passionate about her joy of hiking as she lead our group of 16. Strangers we were on our day or arrival but friendships formed quickly as we enjoyed our mutual love of exploring new countries and hiking the most amazing trails. Each day was fantastic as Louise expertly guided us safely along the paths we walked, encouraged us when we needed encouragement and was helpful in so many ways. Hotel was well located, meals delicious and accommodations comfortable. Each staff member @ our hotel worked hard and made us all feel welcome. Would highly recommend this itinerary. Glad we did this in mid-late September. Weather still warm but not blazing hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the rim of Mt. Vesuvius on a crystal clear day with great guides and companions. But then there was the incredible Pathway of the Gods.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Truly loves hiking and an experienced guide. Would love to hike with her again some day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear appropriate hiking shoes, use walking sticks and keep your eyes open.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip. Would do it again if time allowed.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Fiona MacColl

    Great Trip

    This is a fabulous trip in a beautiful country. There is so much to see and walking means you get to see everything close up and in your own time. The trip is really well organised and the guides Simon and Cathy do a great job of making sure everyone is happy and included. The accommodation and food were all excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many great moments, fabulous views and seeing lots of whales, great white sharks and dolphins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon and Cathy are both great, really knowledgeable about the area, friendly and professional. They made sure we all had a great time.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Nick Bennett-Britton

    Great Trip - Very Varied

    A very varied trip of very scenic walks, unexpected extras (eg a visit to a Mozzarella producer; making a pizza; making tiramisu), lovely quiet hotel, great guide (Tony) and superb optional extras.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the serene Gardens of Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and then a walk afterwards.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was great - caring, very organised, knew ALL our names from day 2, always available at any time to answer questions; coordinated transport, cafes etc with our walks; knew how to avoid crowds on our walks and very friendly. Thanks Tony!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The “optional extras” do add extra cost eg the trip to Capri was over 100 euros (I believe); the Gardens of Villa Cimbrone were about 10 euros; the barbecue was 30 euros; the last Saturday trip to Herculaneum before our flight, was about 40 euros. They were all worth doing and interesting/fun (I didn’t go to Capri), and but you need to take some extra euros if you partake of them (I do recommend them!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very lucky with our friendly group, all of whom has similar walking ability. It is a very varied and worthwhile trip with lots of interesting walks, superb scenery and a nice little local town. I really enjoyed it.