Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17958 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007

    Picturesque white knuckle ride

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the moutains and hillsides that we would be travelling into. The Julian Alps are a magnificent site! Also the Boka Waterfall and the 44 foot waterfall that we could have abseiled - frightning but unfortunately the water current was too strong.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a hotel owner who organises the activity week with two guides. It was very basic introductions and we hardly saw her after that. The guides were great though. Unfortunatley Peter was ill most of the week so couldn't do the activities with us. Urban was extremely saftey concious and made you feel beyond safe despite the experience that is canyoning!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use your day off to walk around the local area - theres enough sites and walks to keep you throughally entertained. We went during Bovec day which was a nice local event that brought out very nice market stalls.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a shame it did not have a guide that stayed and ate with you all week (like the Lycian activity week) as that really seems to bond the group together. As all meals were paid for in hotel, made people releuctant to eat together and the group only stayed together for each activity.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Sleeping under the stars

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the hustle and bustle of cities and tourist resorts. It was fantastic to be able to moor up for the evening, take one final swim before having pre-dinner beers with the rest of the group. Then settling down to an evening of home-cooked food and good conversation. It's almost of holiday of back to basics - whilst on the boat, there really is no point dressing up or wearing make-up and the simple pleasures are the best - cold water and the sound of water lapping against the boat (although we also liked the crocodile canoe!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    To be perfectly honest he was a little immature - he didn't seem to adapt to the varying tastes of the group who generally seemed to want to chill out whereas he wanted to party!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't sleep in the tents at all during the trip as it would have been far too hot. Instead, we either slept on deck or in the (slightly claustrophoic) cabins. Sleeping on deck is great but I would suggest taking earplugs (to reduce the disturbances of fellow passengers) and a sheet rather than sleeping bag.Best way to wake up - a morning swim before breakfast.Take the opportunity to visit the Turkish baths - the massage was excellent and thorough if a tiny bit painful and great value overall.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    In the first 10 minutes of our first game drive we came across not one, but two cheetahs lying in th

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness of the animals and the privilege of being part of their world - to camp in the middle of the Masai Mara with all this just outside your tent was the most amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - excellent in every respect !!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - you would not regret a single moment.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Bears, beer and buddies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sea kayaking off Vanouver Island and spending the night on the uninhabited Vargas Island was unforgettable. We were there on American Independence Day and as our tour guide was from Texas we celebrated in style with Champagne and Mars Bars! When sitting round the campfire toasting marshmallows with the sea lapping the shore, the sun setting and the bald eagles swooping down , I looked round at the new friends I had made and thought 'It doesn't get much better than this!' 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Carson, was awesome. He was a great cook, great company and really helped everyone feel part of a team. He was incredibly organised but also flexible so we didn't feel that we were just being told what to do and when to do it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on a camping trip, take a kit bag rather than a rucksack as you can never find anything in a rucksack, especially by torchlight in a small tent. It gets very irritating after a few days!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every moment of my trip (except, perhaps, putting up our tent in a torrential downpour on the first night) and can't wait to do another Exodus holiday. I made some really good friends and re-acquainted myself with the joys of camping and adventure after years of beach holidays.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The views were incredible when the weather allows, it snows in italy in July

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Tribuluan Hutte in snow, and then the weather clearing to see the surrounding hills just after lunch!  WoW!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, knows alot about Alpine flowers! Good humoured (well he had to be to put up with us!).  Well led walks, safety concious, ood steady pace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Excellent opporutnity for an introduction to Alpine walking! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The best holiday ever. Perfect

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our leader Baz

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.  I wrote a letter (via email) to you about our excellent leader but you did not respond

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are British make sure you have 10 pounds sterling for Turkish customs.If you are Irish (even if travelling from Britain) make sure you have 10 euros for Turkish customsMunicipal tea gardens are a great place for cheap drinks in peaceful surroundings Don't opt for the second week activities except the boat trip.  They are more expensive and represent poor value for money compared with the first week's activities.In the first week, I wouldn't do the boat trip to the beach.  You can do it more cheaply independently.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I put in my email letter and feedback form that I would like you to do more 2 WEEK family adventure holidays.  This is currently the only one.I also queried the expense of the second week activities (see comment above).
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Time for a nice Aass.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The serenity.  The company was excellent too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    They were all excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go to Norway if you don't like reindeer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Organisation excellent, apart from the fact that Exodus chose to inform me by surface mail that the itinerary had changed.  Even though we'd been in touch regularly by phone and e-mail.  The letter arrived the afternoon of the morning I arrived in Oslo (I'd booked land only, joining the group there). 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Polar Paparazzi Perfection

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful Polar Bear sightings on ice - good to see there was still sea ice in the area and hope for the young cubs we saw - there must have been seals for the Mums to catch - they looked healthy and they didn't seem at all disturbed by the ship or us.Everything was wonderful and even better when the mists went!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul - what can one say - fantastic enthusiasm and a way with words - his daily reviews were superb - just wish we could have a copy of them - where have they got to?  A superb leader. 'Woody' and all the Vavilov team were brilliant - such a wealth of knowledge, qualifications and enthusiam -  have never been on such a fantasic trip before. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO - don't wait any longer - go while there is still ice and wildlife to see.  Don't put it off but would suggest/ recommend the Exodus charter of Vavilov rather than other dates if going alone.It's not cold as you will be dressed for it and the zodiac 'cruising' and landings are superb.  Take plenty of memory cards for your cameras Don't worry about going on your own - you'll never feel lonely or alone.  Everyone got on well together and you'll make many new friends.  As long as you can get up and down the steps on the side of the ship and onto/off the zodiac  (with assistance) you'll be fine.  The longer your legs are the better for a dignified climbing back into a zodiac! from the shore!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a fantastic experience - want to go again! 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It has it all - from deep valleys to snow covered plateaus - great trekking

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Galdhopiggen and seeing snow covered mountains around you is the highlight of the trip.Scrambling down the Bessegen ridge came a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorgen and Gro were friendly and helpful. They both keep up a good pace so you need to be physically fit for the trek. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The accommodation is quite basic. Members of our group were dissappointed with the standard of accommodation at Memerubu - we stayed in bunk houses outside the main complex - although our guide said there was a misunderstanding and that we should have been in the main complex.Vegetarians were reasonably catered for although can be quite basic (e.g. the Reindeer Tongue soup was just the soup base without any meat in it).The Besseggen ridge (day 2) was a little more airy than expected although doesn't present any great difficultes. Probably Striding Edge level of exposure and difficulty. Beer is extremely expensive (£6 for a 500ml tin of beer).Unless you are really want to do caving, potholing or white water rafting at Lom, then this day is really a wasted day. There is not a lot to do in Lom -it's a very small town. There didn't seem anywhere decent to walk from the town itself. It might be worth hiring a car to do some exploration (if so, take your driving license). It would be far better if Exodus used this day as an extra walking day on the trek, (e.g. a circular walk from Memerubu or Spiterstulen). I guess they are just using it as a contingency day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people on the trek thought that it should be graded a C/D. This is mainly due to the length of the walks and the difficulty of the terrian (e.g. walking over stones and boulders).  I personally think it was just a hard C.Day 2- We bagged some of our stuff and this was taken by boat to Memerubu. This meant our rucksacks were a lot lighter for going over the Besseggen ridge. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Don't get caught by the cows!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational part of the trip was definitely the last day. The views as we climbed higher and higher up the side of the valley were breathtaking and the huge vultures (?) circling the thermals at the top were beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richia Astridge was a very good leader and guide and never lost enthusiasm for the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take wax ear plugs

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip. Glad I went with Exodus.