Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17932 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2020

    Truly enjoyable

    It was one of the best hikes I have ever had in my entire life. I did not know that such wonderful mountains with dynamic views existed in Greece. VIllages in Zagori with stone houses, unchanged for centuries, are truly beautiful. All hotels we stayed, except for one night at a mountain refuge, were family owned. They are converted traditional stone houses and wonderful. Local Greek food were delicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Natural landscapes. Astonishing views of mountains and gorges. Hikes were varied from one day to another, from relatively easy hikes to little bit challenging one to get to the mountain refuge. Aperitifs after a walk at stone-house hotels and cafes at a village plaza were wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. She, young,dynamic and charming, was the best group leader of Exodus hikes so far as far as I am concerned. Despite difficult conditions with COVID, she managed to make our trip truly enjoyable. With uncertain weather conditions, she flexibly adjusted schedule and itineraries so that we could enjoy every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This hike in unknown parts of Greece should not be missed. I went there in September. I will come again in spring time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hikes in Meteora with visits to monasteries were also very interesting. Thessaloniki, the second largest city in Greece, is a very lively town.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Fabulous trip

    Just returned from this trip. While destinations are limited at this time, this is no second-rate option. The family-run hotel is lovely with plentiful food and good rooms. The mountains are spectacular and the walks varied in nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there isn't a single answer to this. We had 2 days walking on snow, other days with clear blue skies and pristine meadows, harder days and easier days. The stars of the show are the mountains, and our walks gave us a variety of spectacular views of them and from them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alina is lovely. Although relatively new to the region she has clearly worked hard to familiarise herself with the walks and the surroundings. She was fun to be with as well as someone who inspired confidence.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Other people have written similar, but I would stress that if you are not normally a pole-user (as I am not) borrow some anyway. In the snow they were invaluable. It's probably fair to grade this as a Moderate, although the snow made it trickier in places and thus a little harder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our was a social group of mixed ages. Several people had booked this holiday as their other trips were cancelled, but I don't think anyone felt disappointed in any way. Highly recommended!
  • Fantastic... everything :)

    An exhilarating week of walking in beautiful Liguria complemented by great food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing view looking down on Corniglia against a lively turquoise sea on the last day - absolutely stunning. The wine tasting was also fabulous - interesting wines in a very atmospheric restaurant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michela was brilliant: she was informative, really adaptable given the challenges of coronavirus and the occasionally stormy weather and made some great suggestions for where we could eat out in the evening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Italy’s a great place to go despite coronavirus - it felt very safe and clean. Be prepared for lots of mask wearing.
  • Fabulous break - and far less tourists than usual due to COVID travel restrictions

    I travelled solo on this trip departing on 19 Sept 2020, having booked it quite late as Italy was one of the few venues Brits could travel to without any COVID-related quarantine requirements either end. It turned out to be a very special time to travel as the usual hordes of tourists in one of Italy’s most tourists areas were absent (although still enough people to give it an “atmosphere “!). The trip includes two full days walking between the stunning villages of the Cinqueterra and time to see each village. Portofino is beautiful and Sestri Levante is gorgeous too. There was a storm towards the end of the week so on the last day we were able to experience the Cinqueterra villages with huge waves crashing into the little harbours - an awesome sight - and the bright blue sea made a fantastic back drop for photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many! - Approaching Vernazza from above on the “blue path” from Corniglia. - The walk through the terraces and vineyards between Corniglia and Manarola with the incredible blue sea below (there had been a storm the previous night) - The very informative wine tasting in Moneglia - The Bay of Silence in Sestri Levante (on the free day) - Eating spaghetti seafood on the harbour fronts in Portofino and Vernazza - Watching the huge waves crash against the harbour walls in the Cinqueterra villages - an unusual sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michaela has led his trip multiple times and we were lucky to have her expert knowledge! Very caring, very organised, and always joined us for dinner in the evenings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    - Make sure you go to The Bay of Silence in Sestri Levante at some stage during the week. - Splash out on trying some local wines other than the carafes of house red and white. - Upgrade your room at the Hotel Piccolo to get a balcony and a sea view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed that this trip ran so well despite the COVID restrictions. In fact the lack of tourists made it very enjoyable. Be prepared to wear your face mask in all the towns though.
  • Reviewed September 2020

    Fantastic trip - even more appreciated in these times of COVID restrictions!

    I travelled solo on this trip departing on 12 Sept 2020, having booked it quite late as Italy was one of the few venues Brits could travel to without any COVID-related quarantine requirements either end. I was not disappointed. It is a perfect blend of walking (3 days - with fantastic views) and city tours (2 days with a guided tour of each available). Villa Casalta is a quality hotel with rooms with a view and a fabulous terrace overlooking the vineyards and skyline where all meals are eaten. The pool is also very relaxing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to San Gimignano on the last day; the guided walking tours of Siena and Florence; and the session at the Tuscan Wine School in Siena. I also loved my pre-breakfast swims in the pool and the sense of peace at Villa Casalta.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teresa did a great job and was very personable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a kettle in the room - and teabags - but bring some instant coffee if you are a coffee drinker!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed how this trip ran so well despite the COVID restrictions.... but don't forget to bring a face mask.
  • Reviewed September 2020

    Superb trip

    You get out of something what you put in, and that is 100% the case for this holiday. The walking was challenging but so rewarding in terms of scenery and atmosphere. The weather was excellent bar one afternoon and the leaders (Paul and Louise) and the other people on the trip made the holiday outstanding. Plus, finally, the fact that you're in Italy - what more could you ask for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery, stretching for miles all around near the summit of one of the mountains. We stopped as a group for a minute or two, on a rocky 'plain' before the final steepish climb to the top with the sun warmly shining in blue skies and I thought (and said out loud), 'it doesn't get any better than this'.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul and Louise were outstanding - knowledgeable, helpful, great sense of humour and highly professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are two levels of walks so don't be worried about whether it will be too hard. You'll be fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've already asked Exodus, 'where to next please?'
  • Reviewed September 2020

    South India Explored

    What a fantastic trip this was! So many highlights -- this is a temple-studded tour, with visits to the most iconic structures in Southern India like the temples at Madurai, Thanjavur, Mahabalipuram, Halebid and Belur....Beautiful natural scenery and drives through several Nature Reserves and along the coast of the Bay of Bengal made even the long "transit" days a delight. The overnight stay on the backwaters houseboat in Alleypey was also magical. The food, especially in the coastal regions, was exquisite. The friendliness and warmth of the locals was also a highlight for me. This is a terrific introduction to Southern India and is a nice companion to the North India Explored trip that Exodus used to run.....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wow -- so many.....I was awstruck by the intricacy of the temple architecture, but also sunrise and sunset on the houseboat will take your breath away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ajay Gupta, usually a northern guide, did an extraordinary job of introducing Southern India and Dravidian culture to us. His warmth, joie de vivre, and keen sense of humour really added to our experience.This was my second trip with Ajay and I was so thrilled!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come with an open mind and lots of energy. Be curious, try everything, talk to the locals....and enjoy to the max!
  • Reviewed September 2020

    Top trek - Do it !!

    What a great opportunity to escape the C-19 situation in UK & experience the stupendous Dolomites. The Exodus office staff were helpful and supportive in advising what trek was suitable within certain countries, within the time ‘window’ I had, given the different country restrictions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    ....... to stop, quietly absorb the stupendous views and truly appreciate just how amazing and awe inspiring the Dolomites are.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was a true professional. He was so well informed and bought the landscape to life with his knowledge and stories of the history of the area as well of all the flora, fauna and geology. He had spent time before the group arrived to check everything out in specific relation to the impact of C-19 restrictions & conditions and the effect it would have on the group during our stay. Mindful of the varying ability levels of different group members he was motivational and inspirational, encouraging those where and when needed, yet always with safety first and foremost in his mind. Cheerful and engaging it was a pleasure to be in his company every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always take full advice from ‘What to take’ page.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Adler was a great base. Very comfortable and great meals. Staff were always cheery and accommodating. Of several ‘1 base’ treks I’ve done this hotel has certainly been the best. To have such a base to return to after a day in the mountains certainly helps relax, chill & recharge for the next day.
  • Reviewed September 2020

    Amazing trip with Sublime scenery

    Wow! Thank you for being consistently brilliant! This is my 4th Exodus trip, and it did not disappoint. From the start, the Hotel Adler was a great base with great food and facilities ( you can never really go wrong with Italian food, and the Austrian influence added nicely to the mix). We had a brilliant guide with Karl, who is not only fun to be around, but very well informed about many things, in an area that is not just a beautiful mountain range, but a WW1 battlefield and part time filmset (think Cliffhanger). I've been very fortunate to go to a number of mountain ranges around the world, including Alaska Range, Himalayas and the Andes - however the Dolomites hold their own and are right up there with the very best. Despite all that has happenned around the world with Covid this year, it's great to know that travel is still travel and that we can still visit these places. Do not change the formula - every day hiking got better and better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to narrow down- Tre Cime, Monte Piano, the view from the Strudelkopf. Great fun afterwards retiring to the hotel for post hike drinks, followed by dinner with a great like-minded bunch of hikers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic all round good man!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like hiking, just book it and let the scenery unravel.
  • Reviewed July 2020

    Beyond my expectations

    This was a really happy accident. I had wanted to do the Inca Trail, but I booked my trip too late and Exodus put me on the Moonstone Trek instead, which was a ridiculously good piece of fortune. As it turned out I was the only person on the trek - I felt ridiculously pampered. I had a guide, one chef, two porters and our four pack horses. The first day we went to the Moonstone which gives the trek it's name before heading on to the departure site for the trek itself. While climbing up the hills we passed another tourist group coming the other way, but they would be the last tourists I would see until the end of the trek. The scenery as incredible - not the lush forests you might see on the Inca Trail, but an incredible trek through the high pampas. We walked through little settlements where the locals offered us wheat wine (although my guide said it would probably be best not to take them up on it as it can upset your stomach if you aren't used to it). I joined up with the rest of the group in Aguas Calientes at the base of Machu Picchu the night before we all headed up, and I decided to get up early the next morning to get a glorious view over the lost city from the sun gate. It was well worth the early start.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the Accocasa Pass was brilliant and the views were absolutely incredible, while Machu Picchu is everything they say it is. However the best moment for me was camping in the hills above Ollantaytambo with a wonderful view of the nearby peaks and the river valley below the night before the Moonstone Trek ended. Something I'll never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aside from the trek and Machu Picchu our guide, Smithy, was brilliant. Always willing to help, supremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and gave us some incredible tips for eating out. Fabrizio, my guide on the Moonstone Trek, was fantastic - really knowledgeable and eager to give little insights into the rich history of the area. He was always willing to answer my annoying questions, and very good at keeping my chin up on some of the tougher sections of the trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While the altitude didn't cause me any sickness, I could definitely feel it while walking up the hills, especially on the second and third days of the trek. If you can spend an extra day acclimating to it in Cusco. Hiking poles will be your most valuable ally on the trek, especially on the steeper sections where you are panting out of breathe. Buy a cheap poncho in Cusco - you'll definitely need one if it rains, as there is no shelter while your out on the hike until you get into the tent for lunch and dinner. Plus, suncream and a wide brimmed hat are a must for Machu Picchu, as there is little to no shade, especially in the middle of the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Absolutely the trip of a lifetime - I'd recommend this to anybody and everybody.