Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Cris Bonomy

    Review

    It did what it said on the tin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bosnian Cusine and coffee. I had no idea of the extent of the legacy of the Ottoman Period and was favourably impressed. The 2 night stay in Umoljani. The closest to the 'real' Bosnia that was being promoted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of what you might be letting yourself in for.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Spend more time in villages such as Umoljani and less in Sarajevo Miss out the ski centre village of Babin Do. The state of the buildings was something of an embarrassment although the interior of the hotel and service was fine.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Claire Willis

    Brilliant Trip

    A fantastic trip. What a joy for a non-skier to be so high up in snow covered mountains. I loved Sarajevo and the Bosnian people. A great activity trip with the opportunity to find out more about the tragic history of Sarajevo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being at one with the varied snowy landscapes. Most days we barely saw anybody else on the mountains. The walk in the fir forests of Igman mountain was pretty special, aided by great weather & soft snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was an excellent guide, ably aided by Benjamin. They could not have been more supportive or better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No experience needed. Expect to fall over, but in soft snow!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jutta Linke

    Bosnia Snow shoe hiking

    Highly recommend. Leaders experienced and nothing was too much trouble. Accomodation, food, hikes all very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenge and achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best leaders ever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The scenery was amazing, interaction and supporting the locals and knowledge gained invaluable.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Fiona Bulmer

    A great trip in an interesting corner of Europe

    This is a very good trip for beginners to snowshoeing. The ascents are not too long or steep but you do get to summits with great views. The holiday is enhanced by the chance to learn about Bosnia, and Sarajevo's recent history with excellent and passionate guides who provide real insights into their country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lorenc singing in the mountain chalet after a very wet day on the hills.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was brilliant, well organised, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable. Our second guide, Lorenc was great too with his quirky sense of humour, and they made a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for wet weather. According to the guide the Exodus trips always bring the rain. The bad days didn't spoil the trip but good waterproofs help.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Mark Seymour

    Excellent trip

    An excellent trip, and a great chance to try a new activity in a little-visited part of the world. Worth it just to meet and spend time with the trip leader Lorenc, who is an absolute gentleman. He has everything under control from beginning to end and can't do any more to help you or make your experience easier and more memorable. Even when a cancelled flight meant I had to miss the first day of the holiday (totally outwith the control of Exodus or Lorenc's company Green Visions), both companies did everything they could to assist, picked me up from the airport and reunited me with the group. No complaints whatsoever, and I thoroughly recommend the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Breaking steps in the wilderness, and celebrating Lorenc's birthday with cake he had melted chocolate over with a stove he brought to the top of the mountain...legend.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be daunted by the difficulty rating or snowshoeing itself - it's certainly not easy walking and does take it out of you, but it's more than worth the effort, and if I can quickly get the hang of walking in snowshoes, anyone can!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Angela Salt

    Snowshoeing in Bosnia

    This is a great trip - exercise, history, culture, food, wine, landscape, guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    achieving tops and ends of the walks; the cities of Sarajevo & Mostar; the people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - Lorenc was experienced, knowledgeable, kind, helpful, one of the best guides it's possible to have I think.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on the trip!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Marcelle Cassar

    Marcelle Cassar

    A memorable and enjoyable holiday, as much for its' educational interest as the activity itself. Living and walking among the recent turbulent history of Sarajevo was fascinating. Hearing events from those who experienced them first hand, delivered with respect and dignity, was very humbling. The landscape we snowshoed through was very picturesque;beech and conifer woods, far reaching vistas of distant mountain ranges, lowland pastures dotted with haystacks.The Bosnain people were very hospitable, friendly and accomodating too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two. The first was walking through the quiet peace of the conifer woods, snow laden branches almost arching down to the ground with the hazy sunshine casting an ethereal feel to the wood. The tranquility was all the more precious when you realised that once , this very area was a war zone with civilians being targeted by snipers in these very woods. The second was learning of the recent Balkan war while having a conducted tour of Sarajevo by Lorenc,the driver.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a good group leader. I've led walking holidays myself so know the role. He was informative, positive, decisive in any change of plans/routes required. At all times approachable, friendly and accomodating. He looked after the groups needs before his own. I felt confident of his abilities to keep the group safe and together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're interested in history, especially of the Balkan area, then reading up about it before you go will make this trip more meaningful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip to allow you to experience and support a country emerging from difficult times that has a lot to offer the traveller. It is aiming to establish and progress its tourist industry, and by going on this trip, not only do you have a wonderful walking experience, you are helping people like Samer and Lorenc fulfill their ambitions for their country. I would recommend this trip to any open-minded adventurer.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    John Morrison

    Snowshoeing in Bosnia

    Totally different place to go. History fascinating, some recent, some much older. Good walks, even if not always enough snow for the snowshoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching 2 peaks Saruk and Trebevik

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent safe guide. Lots of history as he lived through the siege of Sarajevo. Good support from Lorenc as driver/second guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty of ATMs in Sarajevo, so you don't need to carry loads of Euros, Drinks etc are cheap, so you don'rt need a lot of cash
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Colin Simms

    Snowshoeing in Bosnia

    The trip proved to be a great mix of peaks & passes, history & culture and food & fun. While the lack of snow switched the trip from snowshoeing to winter hiking, it meant an unrestricted schedule visiting all areas on the itinerary and more, enjoy stunning views and exploring some hidden gems.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably between the panoramic views as far as Montenegro from Crveni Kuk Peak on day 2, the lunch in the mountain hut midweek, and the final day hiking through fresh snow to the top of Trebevic with Lorenc’s description of the views of Sarajevo the clouds hid from us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lorenc was a star, covering multiple roles across the week (mountain leader/city guide/history teacher/trekking troubadour/translator/troubleshooter) switching effortlessly between them. He made sure we got the most from our short time in BiH. Samer and Mustafa, who ably assisted with logistics across the week, also deserve credit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're looking for a mix of mountains, history and culture in a relaxed, comfortable and welcoming atmosphere, this is a good trip to try. Come with an open mind, sense of humour and a healthy appetite and go with the flow and you'll have a great trip.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Michelle Elliot

    Snowshoeing in Bosnia

    The trip became Hiking in Bosnia due to the lack of snow, though we all carried the snowshoes, optimistically, on the first day. On account of this, we were able to walk further and higher on some days, as well as appreciate the delicate beauty of new spring flowers underfoot. The mountains, whether snow covered or dry, provide a rugged backdrop to a nation that is working to create a new future from a complicated past.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day seemed to bring its own "this is the best day" moments! The picnic lunch at Crveni Kruk with a panoramic view of surrounding peaks. The warm hospitality of the pension at the village of Umoljani and walking with the local cats/dogs as a full moon rose in the clear sky. Discovering pockets of snow perfect for a toboggan run. Freshly fallen snow creating a Narnia-esque hiking experience. Eating a delicious meal by a wood burning stove in a cozy mountain hut. Walking in the footsteps of recent and extended history in Sarajevo and Mostar. The goal of "snowshoeing" faded quickly with the opportunity to really get immersed in all the facets that the hiking permitted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were in capable, experienced, professional hands with Lorenc as our group leader, and with the supporting team of Samer and Mustafa. The knowledge, respect and passion Lorenc has for the mountains - history, flora, fauna - was always framed by his attention to the safety and enjoyment of the group. With weather being the uncontrolled variable, he continued to offer us diverse, rich experiences and perspectives - culture, music, stories, humour, cuisine and play in the snow whenever we encountered it. He also continually demonstrated a curiosity and interest in the stories of each of the group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The packing list is a great reference (particularly gaiters, for snow or mud). Be sure to also bring an open mind, a flexible outlook, and a tolerance for outdoor adventures being "weather dependent." And a foam sit-pad is not only nice for picnic lunches but it makes a brilliant sled in a pinch. If you have any dietary needs/concerns, be sure to make this known at the time of booking. Gluten free was accommodated with delicious alternatives - I extend my thanks once again for that, I never went hungry!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The words on their t-shirt said it all - "Have you ever heard a boring person say 'let's go to Bosnia?'"
Call us on 020 8772 3936