Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2017
    Vicki Nunn

    A good mix of things to do in the snow!

    A good introduction to winter sports (a reasonable level of fitness is useful!) mixed in with some 'nice' activities giving variety and interest to the week. The food was good and hearty. The dark beer particularly delicious. Sadly our tobogganing was cancelled as there had been 2 broken legs the previous day so sledge hire was not available. We built snowmen and had snowball fights (all things we hadn't done since having young children). As usual we enjoyed the company of a great group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the 5km route at the cross country skiing centre, enjoying the most amazing views in the warm sunshine, on our free day. I do not downhill ski at all which made the achievement even greater!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was very knowledgeable and always ready with a tale or two.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you drink tea in the morning, take bags with you! Take light clothes for the evening as it seems the Slovakian way is to super-heat indoor spaces whilst outside it is SO cold (on the train I was stripped off to a vest top and thermal leggings only!!!) Yak Trax would have been useful (the pavements were sheet ice in places). Use the restaurants in the village, so much better than the food in the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is graded moderate but as a couple of fit travellers it felt quite a leisurely week.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Gillian Goodyear

    Tremendous Tatra

    An amazing, activity packed and fun holiday. We have had many Exodus holidays and this was one of the best. As always it was extremely well organised with an amazing guide. Peter was so skilled in all the activities and couldn't do enough to help ensure we had a brilliant time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As this trip was great for complete beginners, there was a variety of skill levels. I was a total novice but was so encouraged by the support we gave each other. I got a great sense of personal achievement in tackling snowshoeing, dog sledding, sledging and skiing (with degrees of success) and I loved the feeling that we were all in this together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was amazing. He was so skilled and knowledgable and he was determined we would have a good holiday. He took care of everything but remained unobtrusive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!! I guarantee you will love it. I recently celebrated my 60th birthday and was worried I wouldn't cope. I had never had a winter break with these kinds of activities but Alex at Exodus reassured me I would be fine and he was absolutely right.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My only regret is that the free day came before I had tried the tobogganing. I ended up having another ski lesson and skiing isn't really my thing. Now tobogganing!! That's another story and would have had another day doing that had I known. Perhaps a free day once all the activities have been tried so you could choose a favourite.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Celia Cornell

    Tatra Winter Activity Week

    The whole week was packed with activities which could be enjoyed by everyone, including complete beginners. To mention just a few, dog-sledding, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, tobogganing, We also enjoyed cultural visits to local museums and a mountain top ice chapel. The activities were moderately strenuous but no prior technical ability was needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the dog-sledding. It was a beautiful setting in the mountains, with bright sunshine and blue skies. The dogs seem to enjoy running and we all felt the thrill of the ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was real gentleman. He did everything possible to give us a great time. Our days and evenings were full of fun. He gave us plenty of information for our day off and gave up his own time to take us out to the Belianska caves. I would rate Peter as an excellent leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We enjoyed very good food in a variety of restaurants. However, Slovakia does not really understand the concept of vegetarianism and there were limited options for non-meat eaters. You need to be quite fit for the activities. Regular hill walking or gym work is needed before tackling this amount of sport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an ideal holiday for anyone wanting to try out a range of activities. It gives you a chance to discover new skills and aptitudes. I may try out a summer activity week now.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Janet Stevens

    Tatra winter activity

    Loved trying al the different sports and ways of getting around in the snow. Definitely the holiday for adults who want to get in touch with the child in them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many more than one! Here's my top two... The Husky sledging on the top of the mountain with sparkling snow, clear blue skies, sunshine and dogs having fun, Truly memorable for feeling of enjoyment and amazing confidence and calmness. Skiing a black run in clear skies then going through the fog on blue artificial snow runs to get back to base. Feeling that I could do anything and handle with ease any situation I came across.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous, flexible, beyond expectations and fascinating. Great stories, his depth of knowledge on so many different subjects is incredible. I learnt the benefits of waxing skiing and what to consider when applying the wax if I am ever involved in running an Olympic team! I loved learning from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproof boots for the snowshoeing. Waterproof outer jacket and trousers plus lots of thermal layers. Exercise before going, even if it is only spring cleaning the house as per BBC exercise routine!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to Peter and our driver for taking us to Krakow earlier, it was a much better use of our time and great to see some culture. Peter's commentary and knowing where to show us was awesome. Avery talented man.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Rachel Bowden

    A great week of snow fun!

    A full itinerary of adventures. Great to have a go at everything and get a taster of each activity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed snowboarding on the free day and sledge races down the ski slope.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was really relaxed and went out of his way to look after everyone in the group and cater for everyone's needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a variety of clothes including full ski wear and warm waterproof gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was excellent and fantastic value for money.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Deborah Woolley

    Winter Activities

    A great week for all. Lovely surroundings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The snow Skiing, sledging and thermal pools. Plenty of different activities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was very good.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Joanne Barlow

    Great taster for winter acttivities

    Brilliant value for money, both in terms of activites, hotel and food. Loved Slovakia and would go back again. It was a great opportunity to try different winter sport. I liked the fact we were out as a group most of the day but could go out as group or on our own in evenings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I especially like the downhill ski lesson and cross-country skiing. I also enjoyed the fact we used public transport a lot so you felt you could get about independently if you liked. The train was comfortable and clean and had great views.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Vegetarians will cope, but Slovakia would be a very difficult place to eat if you are vegan. Hotel made a reasonable attempt to accommodate dietary requirements. Hiring helmets is 5 Euros and it is probably worth having one so it might be cheaper to buy one in UK at somewhere like Decathlon. Definitely eat out at the restaurants in Stary Smokovec rather than dine at the hotel. For main course, a beer and a dessert we never paid more than 15 Euros a head and it's possible to do for well below 10 Euros. Most places close around 10 to 11 pm, most of our group were in bed before that anyway - but not a place to go to for the night life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Weather conditions can change the activities available on each day, so you need to be flexible and understanding - but by the end of the week we got to do everything on the list. Very family friendly area. Lots of good conditions for beginners, but some harder runs if there are experienced people in the group on the downhill days. Generally we always found people who could speak English, although very few Brits in the area which was nice. Brilliant, cost effective place for beginners. Be warned the bus journey if you arrived Krakow on Saturday morning takes 4 to 5 hours to get to the resort due to traffic, not 2.5 hours as says in trip notes. There is a toilet and snack stop on the Polish side so worth having a few Zlotys and some tissues for the toilet. Returning as it was a 5.30am start did only take 2.5 hours.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Evelyn Storrie

    Great Fun

    We were lucky to have fantastic weather which added to the excellent activities that were planned. Tiring but exhilarating at the same time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact that my son learnt to ski competently after one group lesson.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader, very laid back and easy-going. Managed to sort out any problems we encountered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a proper day rucksack as you can end up carrying clothes for all weathers especially as public transport used on some days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well worth going on. Would definitely recommend
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Louis Millington

    A Week in the Tatras

    I had a wonderful time in Slovakia. Exciting and invigorating activities, gorgeous mountain landscapes and a warm, rich culture were all in abundance on this very well-run trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's too hard to choose from so many. I became utterly enamoured with Slovakia's culture; the food, drink, music, clothing and folklore are so charming... though I was particularly inspired by our leader's recounting of the events of the "velvet revolution", wherein the Slovakian people overthrew their corrupt government in a totally peaceful manner, without no bloodshed at all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter is a consummate professional; he is charming and kind, his organisational skills are above fault, his passion for local customs and culture is infectious, and his competence is absolutely evident in every facet of the trip. He is an excellent group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're dressed for the cold, and in moderately good shape. And bring a camera!
  • Reviewed February 2015
    David Dobson

    Tummy Laughs

    If you are thinking about booking this trip, just go for it and you will find your childhood again, a fantastic week with an outstanding leader "Peter" and full of laughter and smiles.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment, Wow how can I put one above others, the dogs fantastic, bobsledding yes on a 2.5 km run, snow shoeing overlooking stunning mountains and far more the fellow adventures, typical of an Exodus holiday great, great company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Peter very professional, a true credit to Exodus and gave far more than was expected of him, fantastic knowledge not only of the activities but also history and very diplomatic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Simply go for this one, there is no need to have any knowledge of the activities, if you want an adventure of a life time don't put this one off.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    What more can I say, just go for this one and you will not look back, I went for land only due to living in North Midlands and spent two nights in Kraków first then met at the airport, I would highly recommend doing this.