Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Jane van der Ploeg

    An exciting adventure in a land of ice and fire

    An action packed week in a landscape of snow, ice and volcanoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were (un)lucky enough to experience record breaking snowfall. Although it curtailed some of our activities the upside was the incredible scenery decked out in her finest white.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't speak highly enough of Kristjan. I have been on other trips where there have been a tour leader plus driver/helper. Kistjan did the lot. Plus it's quite labour intensive making sure 14 people have helmets/harnesses/crampons fitted properly - not just like popping a pair of flip flops and a sun hat on! He had a hard job coping with the weather and compensated for it by taking us to different attractions where possible. His tales of Icelandic sagas kept us all mesmerised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need thermal tops and bottoms with waterproof trousers - these help keep the wind off you. I am veggie and found no problem with the food - quite on the contrary. Alcohol isn't cheap - but nowhere near as bad as I'd imagined. We ended up going on a big bus trip to do the golden circle on our free day in Reykjavik because we'd been unable to do it earlier in the week due to inclement weather. It made us realise how worthwhile it is paying that bit extra for a small group trip like Exodus.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do it!!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Sheila Morley

    Southern Iceland Winter Explorer

    This holiday exceeded expectations. Iceland is somewhere I've always wanted to go. It was beautiful, breath taking, and actually no words do it justice. We had an amazing guide and a great group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it was incredible, I loved the ice on the beach. The ice was blue, the sand jet black, and the snow dazzling white. The glazier walk with the clear air and views such a fantastic experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    10/10 for Kristjian. All of the group felt he went above and beyond a 'job', to enhance our enjoyment and kept us safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Lesley Cunningham

    A veyr fine trip

    A really fabulous trip with all the best elements for a super holiday - fantastic country full to the brim with history, culture, folklore, scenery and landscape and a good dose of just the right activity to keep you active. Plus, a first class guide and a great group. All in all, a winner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention, so I can only highlight that, for me, it was the vast beautiful scenery and landscape - every day different and in every weather different again. Lava and Ice - and the wild weather that although managed to curtail us slightly, brought its own adventure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He, Kristjan, was first class from start to finish. I think he went well out of his way to ensure we had the best of times in Iceland. We managed to achieve some extra activities, such as entering the ice cave at the glacier. Sadly the following day he had to rethink things for us due to very bad snow and storms. No matter, he made the best of all siutations. I don't think we could've had a better guide to be honest - and no matter our schedule and activities he always made sure we had time for coffee stops, and had all of the necessary bases covered. When extreme weather meant rescheduling and rejigging he did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you fancy it, go for it. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with Iceland. Perhaps, and if there is any downside, it can get so busy at the top tourist sites. However, it's more than compensated by the exodus manner of touring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think it's a great trip for either solo travellers or couples - we all seemed to get along and mix very well.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Kathleen Todd

    Iceland Experience

    Brilliant trip, wonderful guide, fantastic scenery, great activities and a lovely group of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many great moments , snow shoeing, glacier walk in crampons, glacial lake walk, waterfalls.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was brilliant, informative, energetic and good fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with Exodus, it's always great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a big thank you.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Mark Webb

    Iceland Winter walking and snowshoeing

    This is a top notch holiday for any one wishing to do winter activities in Iceland. It was fairly full on from the moment we landed till the moment we got back to Ray K. We did see a lot of Iceland in a small amount of time. I enjoyed the sight seeing and the Group Leader's stories about the Icelandic sagas, so much so that we bought a book on them all! War And Peace and Lord Of The Rings combined! We did spend a lot of the time in the mini bus on some days so we did feel a little bit cooped up. When we were let out we stayed out as long as we could!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the whole group was still keen to do some snowshoeing in a white out, blizzard on top of the mountain after the Group Leader had said this was madness!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan was very well organised. We followed the itinerary as close as we could. He was very good at judging the abilities of all in the group and kept them safe from harm. Like I mentioned above his stories and local knowledge was superb even though he thought we weren't listening. And his local pub was spot on if you like bottled beers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pack as much warm clothing as you think. We did have one day at -9, but after that it was mostly above zero. The wind is a killer when it blows so make sure you have decent waterproofs and windproofs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lot of good memories. A story about riding an Emu will all ways stick in my mind. It must of been the Brennivin!

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

  • Reviewed February 2015
    Caz King

    Winter Snowshoe Adventure

    Brilliant week packed with sight-seeing and activities exploring Iceland's beautiful scenery. This was my first trip as a solo traveller and so I was slightly apprehensive at the start. Needn't have been, the trip was much more than I expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day brought something different, and this variation combined with experiencing Iceland's drastic changing weather was amazing. The glacial lagoon during sunset was beautiful and completely contrasted with snowshoeing in high winds and the eerie stillness of the lava tube. It was nice to have a free day at the end to explore Reykjavik, and Kristján, our guide, helped recommend a restaurant so the whole group could all meet up on our last night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristján was fantastic, very enthusiastic, and engaging. He was especially good at filling the bus trips with stories, legends, and facts about the areas we were passing or stopping at. At Þingvellir he took us on a trip through time and explained the history of the area, which was much more interesting than reading the signs. Always felt in very safe hands, even when we were travelling through high winds and snow. Cannot praise him highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pace was relaxed even when walking, and not very strenuous, whilst still providing the opportunity to further explore each area to your heart's content. Don't underestimate the wind, and bring proper gloves etc. to keep nice and toasty. I'm also very happy I took sunglasses.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I stayed in Reykjavik for a few days after the tour finished, and Exodus were incredibly helpful in organising everything. Never thought we would fit so much in one week. I would definitely recommend this trip!

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

  • Reviewed February 2015
    Louise Bottomley

    Winter Wonders of Iceland

    An amazing week of seeing some of the natural wonders of Iceland - a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was full of highlights - it was quite a full itinerary, with stunning scenery every day. The end of the first day on the bus - it was almost dark and we were driving to our hotel, when Kristjan our guide announced that the Northern Lights were starting to show - just the faintest of streaks in the sky then, but it turned into a good show later that evening. The most beautiful sunrise I've ever seen on the Tuesday morning, with an extra bus stop to allow us to appreciate it and attempt to photograph it. The Glacial Lagoon, surrounded by seals who looked like they were enjoying the view as much as we were. The story-telling and scene-setting at Thingveller - it really did feel like we had stepped back in time. And I liked the lava tube... even though it turns out I might be a little bit claustrophobic! Thanks Kristjan for getting me through it! Oh yes, the snow shoeing in the strong wind was the real highlight!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan was fantastic - a great mix of mountain guide, culture guide, icelandic-folk-story-teller & bus driver all rolled into one. All performed with patience, good humour, and enthusiasm. I felt we were in very safe hands! And he tried to teach us all how to speak fluent Icelandic.... I can now say the number 4 and attempt to pronounce the name of that volcano...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's not a hard-core walking trip - there's a lot of time spent on the bus. But that is necessary to see all the amazing things we got to see. And it's a very nice bus; well-driven, goes over ice no problem, and is very well stocked with biscuits and snacks... It could be quite windy outside at times - good to have warm clothes that cover every part of you! Proper gloves and buffs or something round your neck / face.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed this trip. I loved Iceland, and it's a perfect trip to see and experience a lot of it in just one winter's week. I might just have to go back again in the summer...

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

  • Reviewed February 2015
    Rob Pearson

    An Exhilarating Enthralling Winter Adventure

    A week of varied thrilling winter activities

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching sunset surrounded by small icebergs washed up on the black sand beach near the glacial lagoon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan was a very hard working informative well organised guide and leader. He was very enthusing in both activities and stories; he drove well and safely (in "rrreally" extreme winter road conditions). He guided us superbly through "improbable" and amazing activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Layers, layers, layers. Listen to the advice offered and follow it - you will have an enjoyable and safe trip ! If you are on land only arrangements, ask Exodus for a local tour operator e-mail ticket for the Blue Lagoon before you fly; you can buy a Flybus ticket to go to Reykjavik, with a stopoff at the Blue Lagoon - not to be missed! (if you arrive at the Blue Lagoon midday be prepared for long queues, worth the wait, large bags stored for 3euros each). If you do an optional flight over the lava field on the last day, take the flight at dusk, not earlier; don't eat before the flight - it can be very very turbulent. Hence don't bother with photos, just gawp in amazement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have done over 10 Exodus trips to date, as well as other "adventure" trips with other companies. I think that this trip was probably the best 1 week long trip we have done so far. Such amazing sights and varied winter activities.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    SOUTHERN ICELAND SNOWSHOE ADVENTURE

    This was a terrific trip.  We had previously been on the Glaciers, Geysers and Waterfalls trip and had loved Iceland so much that we wanted to return. This was much more than a snowshoeing holiday and lived up to all expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many.  Walking on the glacier, visiting the thermal springs at Krisuvik, seeing the Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon and the icebergs on the black beach, snoeshowing through the volcanic scenery  and exploring the lava tube were all brilliant experiences.  We also were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan was an excellent leader who made sure that we got the most out of our holiday. He was sociable, knowledgable and concerned to make sure that everyone was comfortable with what we were doing.  The stay at the remote guest house near Vatnajokull meant that he had to do a lot of driving and was working long hours, but he remained flexible and enthusiastic throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This wasn't simply a snoeshoeing holiday, it was a winter adventure.  If there had been more snow, we wouldn't have managed to fit in so many other fantastic experiences.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    SOUTHERN ICELAND SNOWSHOE ADVENTURE

    Despite initial concerns about the lack of snow, the whole holiday was so packed with sights and experiences we wondered when we would have found time to do more snowshoeing. The country has a lot to offer whatever the weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Walking on  the glacier in beautiful sunshine was one high point in many. The glacier was a wonderful blue colour and as it was free of snow we could walk into the ice formations and descend into a crevass to see it all more clearly. Other highlights incude lava tubes, snow shoeing and the northern lights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristjan is an enthusiastic leader who worked hard to ensure that, despite a lack of snow, all our time was filled. He was very informative and entertaining with a good sense of humour and he was also very supportive of all the group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is advertised as a snow shoeing trip but we only had one good day on the snow because of the conditions. In order to visit all the sights there are quite long minibus journeys which are broken up by visits to waterfalls, glacier lagoon, mud pool etc. 

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    Please note the above review applies to the previous incarnation of this trip which was more active and included some snowshoeing and winter walk. Many of the sites visited and leaders used are however the same and much of the comments regarding what to wear are still relevant for this trip. As such we felt it useful to leave the reviews in place.

Call us on 020 8772 3936