Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Mike Wells

    Varied tour of a fascinating region

    The region was rewarding and not very touristy. Towns were full of atmosphere. Some enjoyable walks. Hotels were close to centres. Not too much coach travel and enough free time. Warm and friendly guide. But quite a bit of walking so Might be difficult for those even with some mobility problems and not all accommodation great. Free day a bit problematic as limited public transport and a day in arivabello not all that interesting. But guide helped and we went to two nice towns so not insuperable. Local food and wine was good. Recommended but be prepared to walk

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The towns all full of atmosphere and the whole week more than any individual visit was inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A lovely lady lively and energetic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t go if you can’t walk easily or want luxury resorts. You might prepare by learning a little Italian as outside hotels English isn’t much spoken though you could get by

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really good week but for the price some of the hotels a bit basic
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lynette Zeitz

    Great itinerary but let down by poor accommodation

    The itinerary was very interesting and our tour leader Barbara was great. But the accommodation overall was not good. I wasn’t expecting luxury accommodation but clean and comfortable. However, in every hotel including the 4 star hotel in Ostuni there were problems for various members of the group but the worst was the Sassi accommodation in Matera where I had fresh black mould in my bathroom. Like the other recent reviewer, I found the included dinner very poor. Our group was also supplied with a minivan and bus on two different days that had broken seatbelts. I really would have liked to have rated this trip higher because the sights and experiences were great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around Alberobello and Matera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara was a delight. Knowledgeable, warm and attentive to the different needs of the group.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lynette for her feedback. Whilst we are pleased that she enjoyed the itinerary and found her tour leader, Barbara, to be great, we are very sorry that she was disappointed with aspects of the accommodation. The properties on this tour are usually in typical Apulian style buildings and generally receive positive feedback, so we regret if members of her group encountered issues. The hotel in Matera is carved from rock, thus reflecting the typical and unique architecture of the town, but the material sometimes causes issues with dampness when it rains and we are sorry that this affected Lynette’s stay. We have followed up the issue regarding the broken seatbelts with our local operator to ensure with the transport supplier that this does not reoccur. Marta Marinelli – Product Manager

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Verity Barnes

    Great tour but disappointing hotels

    I thought the tour was great and enjoyed where we visited and the activities included. I was disappointed with the hotels. Only the hotel in Ostuni was 4 star; and the rest 3 star. This tour cost a lot more than Riviera, Just You or Travelsphere and only Had 2 meals included. I was expecting it to be a cut above the rest for the price paid. The tour was good and the tour manager excellent. Shame it was let down by the choice of accommodation. I also found the places we stayed in to be much too touristy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I went on my own to Polignano a Mare for the night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are fussy about where you stay then don’t book this tour.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jan Watson

    Wonderful trip in Puglia

    I loved every minute of this very diverse tour. Every day was different and very interesting, our group leader Fabrizio was awesome and the individual group participants were lovely and lots of fun. I would definitely recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera was a highlight - I wish I had arranged for extra days there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome! Very informative and loads of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the diversity of this tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Howard Jones

    Outstanding Italy Trip

    Great combination of sightseeing, excursions, walking and activities in Puglia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trullo hotel in Alberobello was lovely; Matera was fascinating - luxurious cave-dwelling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara was really excellent - efficient, knowledgeable and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need for hiking boots, but bring sturdy sensible footwear for the walking. Some rough tracks and cobblestones involved.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent choice of venues for group meals at each end of the trip with a wide selection of local speciality dishes.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Mike Giles

    Been to Italy? Now visit Puglia

    Like many people we meet we did not know Puglia existed until we saw this trip. A gem of a region, very different and so suited to a short leisurely summer trip when time is a constraint to a full-on distant adventure tour for which Exodus is otherwise renowned. Distances travelled are comparatively short so it easy to fit in many of the historic, architectural and geological sights with ease.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The caves at Castellana are pretty impressive and the largest complex we have ever visited. However, a ‘Wow’ moment, after arriving at a fairly grotty end of Matera, was stepping onto the main square viewing platform to overlook the entire “Sassi” in which we were to later stay and explore.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara Schito was our tour leader and guide in all aspects of the trip. As a native of Puglia she was so enthusiastic in her wish to impart her knowledge and love of the region. Her delivery is passionate and charming and so much part of the whole experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food (and wine) of the region is first class and we found it to be reasonably priced having spent only 60% of our budget. As meat-eaters we were very pleased to find ristorante Carnivori in Lecce with choice cuts in the chill cabinet, cooked and served in traditional style before embarking on a week dominated by (very nice) pizzas, pastas and breads.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was exceptionally hot for the time of year, with occasional thunderstorms and it is worth considering these eventualities.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Linda Williams

    Highlights of puglia

    Excellent trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting e olive oil farm

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent could have been more helpful
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Colin Southward

    Very enjoyable

    A great week of cycling in a mix of road, old tracks, villages and town. An opportunity to swim in the Ionian Sea and Adriatic. Great real local food. Usual high standard of the guide and his knowledge of the area

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling with a diverse group in an exceptionalarea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and good at organizing stops to see the different ares of interest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training before you go. Try the local dishes.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Penelope Ralph

    ADE Puglia Discover the Heel of Italy

    A fascinating holiday very interesting area of Italy."Full on" busy busy busy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The White City. Ostuni.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Agata was a great guide and we all regarded her as a friend, very kind to me and a lovely sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This really is a full on holiday, full of interest and each of the four places we visited were so interesting May is a good month to visit this area the wild flowers were really lovely.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have been travelling with Exodus since 1996 (Petra and Palmyra) travelling by expedition truck. Now aged 80 years I still love Exodus holidays and the people who use Exodus. Keep up the excellent standard Exodus it has been a pleasure using your company.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    YIM FUN Mamie XHAN

    Puglia: Discover Heel of Italy

    excellent itinerary in covering Puglia in terms of scenery, landscapes, seascapes, distinctive landmarks in towns as covered, participating in or sharing local experience e.g. visit to olive tree groves; olive oil and wine tasting. accommodation in Trulli and formerly cave dwellings in Matera....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Castellana limestone cave; stay on Trulli in Alberobello

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very efficient, responsible, comprehensive as well as detailed in taking care of needs, requests, meeting expectations, providing and obtaining information for all participants, very knowledgeable on all areas and aspects covered by the tour, full of energy and initiatives in guiding, offering help to and motivating participants.. recommending very good restaurants and regional food

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    will base on or along my above comments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    more information on the duration as possibly required , type and terrain of walking path surfaces, e.g. rocky, stony, pebbled, gradient and varying degrees of difficulties for age group of over 60s
Call us on 020 8772 3936