Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

37 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2015

    A Short but Perfect Adventure!

    A short but perfect adventure in Andalucia. Alexi, our tour leader was an energetic young man who looked after us well. Our base in the Cortijo Rosario, Algamitas could not be better from where we visited Granada and Seville.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to the Alhambra was included and this is a must.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexi was a charming young man who looked after us well. He had everything in hand and his briefings were brief! He looked after individual members of the group who wanted to do different things, especially on free days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As Exodus advise, our base-The Cortijo Rosario is not a grand hotel but a converted farmhouse. Don't expect a city centre style hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope that Exodus will come up with an extended version of this trip with extra nights in Granada and Seville and if possible including Cordoba in the itinerary. It would also be nice if Morocco could be offered as an optional extra extension.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Chris and Anne Down

    Discover Andalucia

    Accommodation at the Cortijo Rosario, a converted farmhouse, is very comfortable, homely and clean, with an authentic Spanish feel and decor – we felt very at home there. It is located on a hillside in the countryside, surrounded by olive groves and open farmland. The whole area is unspoilt by tourism, and is a world apart from the ‘Costas’. The food was excellent and plentiful! Authentic Andalucian cuisine – we even had a cookery lesson, provided by Maria – what a privilege! The owners, Bill and Anne, and all the staff were friendly, welcoming and keen to please. We spent a night in Seville at the Baco hotel, which all the group felt could have been of a higher standard. After our feedback, an alternative hotel will most likely be offered on later trips. Seville is a beautiful city, with so much to see – notably the cathedral, the Giralda tower, the Plaza de Espana and the Alcázar palace and gardens. The Hotel Navas in Granada was absolutely fine. We very much enjoyed our stay there and loved Granada, especially the Alhambra area. We visited Cordoba as an optional excursion on our free day. The spectacular Mezquita is a must see and there are many other places of interest in the city. The Cortijo staff kindly arranged a minibus for us, as travelling by train is rather difficult.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the castle in Olvera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour guide Chris was efficient, with a friendly, relaxed manner, and very knowledgeable about the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were there in February/March, which is a good time of year to visit – not too hot, and not too busy. We suggest taking some warm clothes at this time of the year, as it can get a bit chilly at times!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a new Andalucia trip, and we were happy and willing ‘guinea pigs’. We feel we have paved the way for others, and highly recommend this holiday for a relaxing and interesting experience. A good combination of activity, sightseeing and free time to relax. This was our first Exodus trip, and we plan to travel with them again. We were very impressed with the whole booking process and efficient customer service.
  • Reviewed November 2014
    Anonymous

    Fabulous week in Andalucia

    This was my first Exodus holiday and certainly won't be my last. The Cortijo was in a beautiful spot, the staff were very welcoming and the food was fabulous. Our guide Alexis knew the locals and found us the nicest places to eat wherever we went. Most of the group met up at lunch times with him and although we could have spent that time sightseeing for me to be sat in the sun eating and drinking with nice people made the holiday all the more special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a cup of coffee in the most fabulous café overlooking the gorge at Ronda. Ronda was such a fabulous place on the last day a few of us caught the train back there for the day. Also seeing the gryffon vultures and other wildlife particularly the otter in the water at Cordoba.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was absolutely brilliant, very organised and knowledgeable about the area; and with a very good sense of humour. A pleasure to spend time with.
  • Reviewed June 2014
    Jan Dodd

    What an amazing trip

    This trip was described as leisurely and it certainly was but with no compromise on cultural interest. Every day we visited beautiful places and leant lots about the culture while at the same time the pace was leisurely and extremely enjoyable. the organisation was exceptional as was the team of people looking after us who were so much fun that we didn't want the trip to end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I would like to be able to pick out one special place that we visited that was exceptionally interesting but really every day was an absolute joy. There was however a Flamenco festival in Cordoba which our guide had found out about and then made it happen for us and this turned out to be a really special event to witness and be part of.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was really exceptional in his devotion to us and attention to detail and his organisational skills. He was also very knowledgable about the local area and people and best of all he was so much fun and a joy to be with for the whole 7 days!
  • Reviewed May 2013
    Anonymous

    A WEEK IN ANDALUCIA

    The Cortijo Rosario is an excellent base from which to explore and be introduced to Andalucia in a group trip. The cortijo is situated half way up a hill overlooking the valley and the village of Algamitas. The accomodation is simple, adequate and spotlessly clean and caters for everything that you may need. The staff from the village are very friendly, approachable and will do everything possible to help. The food is really excellent whilst the bar provides a good range of wines and other drinks for most tastes. If you are trying to diet, forget it!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst the organised day trips are excellent, we find that a 20 minute stroll into the village to wander through the street market and then pop into Remy's bar for a drink is so special. The welcome is something we rarely encounter at home these days and everyone is so courteous and polite. The views from the cortijo of the valley and the hills beyond are great, but a short walk up the track and through the olive groves reveales many more fantastic images of colours, patterns and shades that continually change throughout the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The local Alax James is a new leader to Exodus and shows great promise for the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be prepared to have a fantastic trip with plenty to do and see but also with lots of time to relax and be stress free.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Algamitas is not a tourist area and on the face of it, there is nothing there. However, once you start looking and thinking about the cortijo, the village and the surrounding area, you realise how much there is to do, see, hear and enjoy during your week.
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    An excellent trip, surpassing my expections.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The daytrip to Ronda on the free day (Wednesday)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alana was a great group leader. Friendly and informative, she made a point of finding out any additional information which she needed to answer our questions. Her briefings were clear and concise and she was very organised and efficient. Thanks Alana!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try all the activities and excursions, as in different ways, they were all excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had a wonderful week in Andalucia. This trip affords an opportunity to get a real feel for the region and its towns and cities. The Cortijo was a charming, relaxed and comfortable base for the week. It was immaculately clean and expertly run by Nieves. The bedrooms are small though, and I'm glad I booked a twin for single occupancy. The food was excellent. Local produce beautifully cooked by Maria and Rocio and served in spectacular surroundings. I really enjoyed the cooking demonstration on the last evening. Use of the Cortijo bus, expertly diven by Juan, made all excursions easy and pleasurable, without the need to worry about timetables and connections. A great holiday, made even better by the company of a lovely group of people. Thanks all!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    A really different trip altogether, with great surroundings, delicious genuine food, lovely people, both local and fellow travellers and beautiful places to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The times we used to dine outside in the cortijo terrace overlooking that great scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He did not always know answers to questions asked and nearly always referred us back to the Spanish locals who were taking care of the cortijo and our stay! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To make sure that if they like seeing places, they plan to go for a trip to Granada or Ronda on the free days of the trip, which in our case were Wednesday and Saturday, as there is not much to do at the Cortijo as it is pretty cut off from the big cities.  Algamitas is pretty, but small and there is not much to do there either during the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been nice if we were taken out to the village more often  during the week after dinner, to get a better feel of the village and its people.All those taking care of us at the cortijo were great people.  They really work hard and do their utmost to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    The holiday was truly a relaxing one.  I particularly liked the cultural element and I really enjoyed the visits to Seville, Cordoba, Granada and Ronda.  Moreover Exodus leaves you free to explore these cities at your own pace.  The Andaluscia region is full of moorish architecture and it is amazing!  The Cortijo Rosario (residence) was really fantastic and the local cuisine was excellent.  I would surely remember Maria (the famous cook), Rocio, Nieves and Juan. I also appreciated the Spanish lessons, as provided by Isabella.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As I said earlier...I particularly liked the Moorish influence on this part of Spain.  The remains of Moorish times are breathtaking.  Although our days were full to the brim, I also managed to find time to relax by the pool. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader had a fair knowledge of the historical context.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advice potential travellers to avoid mid/end June and July for their travels.  Even at the beginning of June, the heat was starting to get unbearable!!  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    HISTORIC ANDALUCIA

    I had a wonderful time. The group was lovely and the leader excellent. Cortijo Rosario is a fantastic place to stay, a lovely restored farmhouse in beautiful Andalucian countryside. Maria and the staff produced a different culinary delight of three courses on all but one evening ( when we ate in the village) .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite a few highlights really. The first days walk ,ending in a tapas lunch in Algamitas. The walk into and around Setenil followed by another tapas lunch! Seville is lovely and has so much to see.I loved the Alcazar gardens. The surprise display of flamenco dancing on the last evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richie was a great guide, energetic and enthusiastic . He kept us entertained and educated with snippets of history as we travelled around and even produced a written potted history of the area for us . He was very organised and for our free day , he spent ages sorting out everybody's wishes. Couldn't have wished for better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy what is on offer!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would love to return, maybe I will book the walking trip in the next year or two.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Keith Bushnell

    Andalucia

    The holiday was the 10th I had done with Exodus. I have also done 10 with Explore,I therefore think I can speak with some experience. The room I shared with another traveller was very small. The towels were changed once in that week. However there was nowhere to dry the used towels ,so the room took on a damp towel smell and it became hard to dry oneself. The transport was not of a good standard. The mini bus failed its MOT during our holiday. This meant we had a replacment bus and drivers that did not know where they were going. Due to our guide also being new to the job ,we also got lost whilst on foot in the towns. On the free day there were no good maps/guides for us ,so all 3 parties that went for walks got lost !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Cities

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was a nice girl ,but had little experience ,the driver with the useless bus normally knew where we had to go.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you get one of the bigger rooms ,you will be okay but first time Exodus travellers got them on my trip! So much for loooking after loyal customers !! Get your own good maps of the area where you are staying if you want to walk, as exodus suggest you can do on your free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Feel let down.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Keith and Peter (below) for their reviews, although we are sorry that they were left feeling disappointed. We are aware of the issues this group experienced and are investigating them.