Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2016
    Jonathan Hoar

    Fantastic cycling adventure

    This was an amazing cycling trip through the Luberon National Park and Provence. Every day took us through beautiful countryside and there were plenty of opportunities to stop for coffee and experience Provencal village life. All the hotels were good quality the jewel in the crown being the two nights at Charembeau, an amazing setting and lovely people. We cycled in early September and it was into the mid thirties somedays, we were told this was unseasonable hot and it was a bit too warm one day. We hired the hybrid bikes which were ideal as some road surfaces would not have been ideal for road bikes. The swimming pools at two of the hotels were great to cool down in after a day cycling. We did have a slight problem on arrival with the first night hotel booking and bike hire but this was quickly resolved by Exodus. Overall the organisation was very good and we were able to navigate using the trip notes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling up Mont Ventoux, the last 6k from Chalet Reynard was tough.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/a

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not good in heat consider spring or autumn. If going in the summer start cycling early, some shops shut at lunch but we had no problems getting food and drink. Take picnics there are many places to enjoy brilliant views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an amazing cycling experience on mostly quiet roads. The food was amazing and the tour gives you the chance to see a part of France you otherwise may not visit.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Andrew Goodwin

    A week in Provence

    This is a great trip round the varied landscapes of Provence. The route has been well thought out, taking you through some stunning landscapes and beautiful villages. The directions provided were really detailed and mostly easy to follow. The accommodation was all ok but the hotel Charembeau was by far the best, and one of the nicest places you could ever wish to stay.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of Mont Ventoux!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not applicable as self guide

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great trip , great route- very hot in July when we went so lots of drinks required but still manageable. If you can speak a bit of French that helps. The route is quite undulating - do try and get to the top of both Montagne de Lure and Mont Ventoux if you can - it's worth it when you get there. The Mont Ventoux Rose is very drinkable!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would happily do it again!
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Andy Eckersley

    Brilliant

    Just come back from this cycling holiday and I must say it was fabulous. The hybrid bike, although a little dated, was very well maintained and the right bike for the trip. The route notes were very detailed and easy to follow. The accommodation was lovely, one in particular was a really great place to relax after a long day in the saddle. The routes were great and scenery spectacular. On the two "rest days" I managed to climb a couple of mountains. Both were worth the effort with amazing views from the summit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me the highlight was cycling to the summit of Mt Ventoux.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would definitely recommend this holiday to others who enjoy cycling. It was brilliant.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Phil Roberts

    A brilliant trip!

    We had a great trip overall, the hotel staff were always really friendly & helpful, and of course, food and wine were excellent. We felt that we were really in the thick of it, visiting old villages and staying in authentic French hotels. We travelled early April and the first few days were overcast but it cleared up for the last few days. Temperatures were in the range 5-18°C (warm clothes needed).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The weather forecast for the week wasn't great (we travelled early April), but it cleared up for the day of the ascent of Ventoux and we made it to the top, after a couple of breaks and a sugary chocolat chaud at Chalet Reynard!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A as we were self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As others have said, shops do close at rather inconvenient times for the touring cyclist, so make sure you have your picnic ready before you set off in the mornings. If it's not quite coffee-time and you pass a cafe that's open, but you think "maybe we should press on till the next one" - don't! There might not be one, or it might be closed! Pay close attention to the trip notes, although there were a couple of errors - easily rectified though so long as you keep you own 'internal compass' switched on! While the distances look quite modest, we generally averaged around 15km/hr (as experienced, but out of training cyclists) due to terrain, frequent stops at pretty villages, sluggish hire bikes, panniers packed with food & warm clothing and the WIND!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Language-wise, people seemed genuinely happy that we were English (often didn't know if we were Scandanavian, German, American, Australian etc). I do have A-level French (20 years ago) which was useful as an opener, but generally people did seem to want to practise their own English on us. Having said that, on the night that we got a lift back to Charembeau with the chef of the Bistrot de Pays, we had a full-on discussion in French on the merits of Provencal Andouillette compared to Ardechois Andouillette (tripe sausage!). So you could equally do the whole trip in French if you wanted
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Anil Batra

    Cycle Provence & The Luberon

    A stunning trip. You have to appreciate that its not like cycling at home and the pace is slower simply because it is hilly but the payback is stunning scenery and great challenges. We could have benefited from maps on a Garmin or equivalent - sometimes we got lost Food and hotels were good - only the first nights meal was disappointing

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We climbed Montagne de Lure - stunning to up at 1850m - we wanted to Ventoux but the weather forecast for that day was bad. Also the last days cycling was great the views and the villages

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A self guided

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - it was great - my very best cycling experience
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    We booked this after another trip fell through but it was great. Stunning scenery. Could get there by Eurostar/TGV. Accommodation far better than we expected. We hope to revisit one of the places.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just completing the big climbs and seeeing yet another great view.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self-guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Villages often close up at lunchtime so consider buying things for a picnic lunch early in the day and eat with a great view (if possible with a downhill after eating). Be prepared for strong winds. They are hard work. Tour best if you are reasonably fit for hill climbs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bikes could have been better. We should have tried them out before leaving, but Exodus sorted them when we phoned en route.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    Fantastic week cycling through spectacular scenery and pretty villages.  Hotels basic but adequate, everyone we met was very friendly and food and wine were superb! 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlight of the week had to be Mont Ventoux.  Although my husband is a seasoned cyclist, it was the first time I had attempted something of this difficulty and felt a real sense of achievement getting to the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were on a self-guided tour so this is not relevant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You may want to think about taking your own bikes with you, as we were not overly impressed with the quality of our road bikes, especially if you want to climb Mont Ventoux.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    very poor notes, sent to the wrong villagerooms not booked as paid for  bikes  did not fit, nor were fully equipedvery disappointing service 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    mount ventoux

    What did you think of your group leader?

    not applicable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    please be very strict on your accomodationask for instructions priorthere was no tour package depsite paying over 5000 aud  just one map and inadequate instructionsvery poor standard. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the route was good but distances inaccurate and no proper informationvery rudimentary tourwe took two children age 12 and 16, they rode it all easily but the organisation, accommodation and instructions were very poor. we have tried several other rides and this was the worst.one day our ride instructions had us finish 15 km from where we were supposed to  stay!! come on?? 
  • Reviewed July 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    A fantastic opportunity to see the best bits of France at your own pace. The views were fantastic and the hotels quirky making this a unique experience to get fit!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of Mount Ventoux! The satisfaction of passing professional cyclists going up the mountain was amazing! The long slog is definitely worth it and there is a cold beer and good food waiting at the top

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Buy good cycling shorts!Remember that a lot of shops and restaurants in France close from 12pm to 4pm roughly. Yes some of the restaurants close at lunchtime!! Make sure you have plenty of provisions to keep you going
  • Reviewed June 2011
    Anonymous

    CYCLE PROVENCE & THE LUBERON

    France the place to cycle, but so pleased my friend spoke french, the directions were awful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the destination at the end of each days cycling. As we had always cycled much further due to poor directions and getting lost. ( Two Australians on same route also got lost everyday)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    No group leader on our trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for (or research your own) directions. Need blown up maps of each days route.Ask cost of taxi airpost to destination. Ours 100 eur. Trains don't always run that often.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unlucky enough that a bird flew into our engine on take off, that delay caused us to miss train connection. Disapointed Exodus happy to leave us 5 hours waiting for train, thought guy out there might have picked us up. Also Phone number given in case of emergency was supposed to be an English speaking gent - although he was lovely, he could not speak english. YOU NEED TO SPEAK A GOOD DEAL OF FRENCH TO GO ON THIS HOLIDAY.
Call us on 020 8772 3936