Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

73 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2016
    adrian Tyrrell

    Cuban highlights ride

    Excellent trip, (I was in Jane's group, see review below) Freddy was indeed excellent, in addition to being a great cycle guide his knowledge and passion for Cuba knew no bounds, I came away refreshed and more knowledgeable after a most enjoyable holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent, difficult to see how he could have been any better

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    cash points available in Havana and Trinidad
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jane Simpson

    Cuban Highlights

    This was a very well organised trip lead by Freddy, who was a brilliant guide. His knowledge of Cuba and its history was exceptional. He made the trip so interesting and his attention to detail was second to none.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick just one as the whole trip was fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food is uninspiring, so don't go with high expectations. Wi-Fi is very limited so warn family/friends that communication will not be easy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be nice if the transfer back to Havana could be split into two days as it is a long day of travelling. The hotel in Havana was poor - our room was dusty and dirty and breakfast was almost inedible.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Clare Lillywhite

    Cuban Cycling Highlights

    What a great trip! A fabulous way to get a taste of the real Cuba. Our guide was so helpful and friendly. Our group was great fun. The bikes were fantastic and well maintained. The mojitos were good too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The camaraderie amoungst the group, especially when the cycling got tough right at the very end (there was the option to get on the bus) but making it to the top with everyone's support felt great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't have asked for more! He was helpful, friendly, supportive and so very knowledgeable. He organised us very efficiently but in a way that did not harass - he recognised we were on holiday!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and be pleasantly surprised. It is a great country with lots to offer in terms of culture and vitality. Cycling is a great way to enjoy this and the free time experiences really fill in the gaps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You don't have to be an avid cyclist for this trip but it is hot and sometimes hard work so you need to be reasonably fit. However, the effort is worth it and you are never pressured to do more than you are able to. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Elaine Lyons

    Cuban highlights tour

    Absolutely fantastic trip highlighting the true Cuban way of life. Great organisation by the tour guide, personal approach, group became like one big family including our guide, driver and mechanic. Spectacular views made better by taking them in on two wheels. Superb beach opportunities and general sightseeing when on two feet rather the bike. Overall smashing trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling 103 km up some very steep hills! The personal approach made by our tour guide Freddy! What a hero!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above....hero! True legend. How he put up with us all the way he did and then went straight on to another group with the same enthusiasm is beyond me!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get cycling!! Although anyone can do it! Course varies and you can always get on the bus if you're tired!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant trip in every aspect!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Deborah Parker

    Cuban Highlights Cycle

    Great trip , with enough cycling to be enjoyable but not onerous. Great insight into Cuba.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mojitos...mutiple

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a star . Gave us a real insight into life in Cuba....and he is not a bad cyclist.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cuban hills may not be high but 30 degrees humidity makes them harder than you think . I appreciated my saddle cover.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Julie Telford

    Cuba on two wheels

    This trip gave us a brilliant insight into all Cuba has to offer as well as the delights of cycling along the coast and through the countryside

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the challenge of cycling up the hill on our last cycling day-great to finish with a sense of achievement. And the opportunity to see Che Guevara's Mausoleum was a very moving experience. It's well worth climbing the tower in the museum in Trinidad -the steep stairs lead to a stunning view. Trinidad really took our breath away-friendly people, cobbled streets, craft stalls and music on the steps in an afternoon with a mojhito-perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Laz was very engaging -the group enjoyed his company, appreciated his extensive knowledge and valued his consideration

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot-take plenty of sunscreen and plenty of snacks to eat whilst cycling. And don't leave Cuba without taking a ride in one of those stunning cars along the sea front
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Kirsty Graham

    Cuban Highlights Tour

    Cycling through Cuba is a great way to see the sights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding through the towns and hills of Cuba.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Tomoko Fukaya

    Cuban Highlights Ride 2016

    This is perfect way to explore Cuba. I experienced everything what I wanted to do in Cuba through this trip. Cycling under the bright sky, swimming in the Caribbean sea, taking a nap on the beach, tasting Cuban cigar, dancing with local gentlemen, lots of mojito, walking around the colonial town, staying at a friendly Casa, driving by a classic car, and of course, meeting new friends from around the world. Is this excellent experience for summer holidays, isn't it?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every moment was brilliant. Cycling, swimming, dancing and drinking with lovely new friends were fantastic moments. Woke up in the early morning before the sunrise and went to the sea where's no one else but me. Floating on the sea and seeing the beautiful sunrise was one of the inspirational moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader Freddy is perfect leader we can count on in this trip. His accurate knowledge of history, technical advice for riding, smart joking boosted our travel. Also his prompt action with warm consideration was really helpful when I had a trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No worries about cycling. The support vehicle follows us every time, you don't have to have any equipments during cycling. A bandanna is useful to clean your face, to cover your mouth with it. You sometimes get a terrible vehicle emission when riding behind the cars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    To learn some steps of salsa before visiting Cuba makes your trip much fun.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Susan Williams

    Cuban Highlights late April 2016

    What it says on the tin, and much more! A well chosen itinerary, allowing us to see a good mix of coast, countryside and beautifully preserved towns. There were well timed stops along the way, especially the refreshment stops, sweet coffee and chocolate on day 1, fruit tasting on another and the heavenly peanut butter fudge stall to fuel our final uphill stretch. In addition the hotels, casas and restaurants provided a good mix of local cuisine and accommodation, the hotels surpassing my expectations. Even the last day, a tour around Havana, was fun and interesting, avoiding the sad 'end of holiday' feeling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to pick, but the gentle, patient encouragement of Ali, our mechanic and experienced competitive cyclist, who more or less dragged us up the last hill, and made us feel like champions for finishing. The dynamics of the group, much enhanced by our group leader, made every shared experience a highlight in some way or another. We came away, each with a dozen new friends from around the globe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddy was excellent. His depth of knowledge was vast, and imparted with a humour that made the facts more memorable. His outlook on the exciting future of Cuba at present, was measured, sensible and very informative. He 'shepherded us' brilliantly, providing appropriate warnings of, and then encouragement through the tougher cycling, and added to everyone's sense of accomplishment at the end of each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax, and enjoy the ride. You will be well taken care of, all 'hitches' easily dealt with, and don't stress yourself about the speed or keeping up with the front riders. This is everyone's holiday to be enjoyed. Practically, some 'once daily' sunblock and some cool long sleeves if you can find them are useful. Also, give yourself a couple of extra days to see more of Havana if you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first organised tour since schooldays. I was apprehensive, especially seeing fleets of buses disgorging lanyard wearing tourists in and out of our hotels. but the cycling made this so different. It was a fantastic way to get into the countryside and 'feel' Cuba, complemented by brief periods of bus travel with well presented information.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Adrienne Simcock

    Cuban Highlights Ride

    This was a really enjoyable trip. As well as enjoying a good variety of cycling, we learned a lot about the life and politics of the country and had the chance to explore some amazing historic towns.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed cycling through the country villages and seeing the pace of rural life. I preferred the habited areas to the coast as there was more variety of landscape. However, I also really enjoyed riding around Havana in an open-topped sixty year old Pontiac.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a very conscientious and thoughtful leader with a good sense of humour and a good manner with the group. He made every effort to ensure that we made the most of our holiday. He was also very informative about the history and politics and gave us a much greater understanding of the social issues in the country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The holiday was graded leisurely/moderate, which I thought could be slightly misleading. I went on the Indo-China and Angkor Wat ride last year which was graded moderate. However, although the mileage in the Cuban trip was significantly less, I thought the cycling itself was harder with more hills and a regular headwind. If I had done the Cuban trip first, I might have been worried about the Indo-China trip being too hard for me. It is always difficult to judge these issues though, and sometimes it depends on the fitness and pace of the overall group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was an excellent way of getting a flavour of Cuba and enjoying some cycling in a short period of time