Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018

    Amazing Experiience and am Awesome Group Leader

    I along with my wife went for the Discover Colombia package and it was a marvelous experience which we will chersih forever. Starting from the journey to reaching the place, sightseeing, food, accomodation, everything was just the way we wanted and we didn't had to compromise on anything. We loved the way we were shown around the country and definitely would love to go once again with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when we two suddenly wandered off from the group and couldn't find them. Hilarious but that was an exciting moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dedicated, professional, friendly and very supportive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Barry Cooper

    An Interesting visit to a diverse Country

    This Tour travels firstly to Bogota and then to other areas of Colombia some of which are a considerable distance from the capital so there are several internal flights using the National Airline Avianca and always on modern Airbus aircraft. Colombia is a vast country which is only now emerging from a long period of unrest and consequently some areas of the Country are still not considered safe to visit. The areas visited on this Tours are safe and give an excellent impression of Colombia from the Colonial architecture of Villa de Leyva to the busy city of Cartagena and the rural landscape around Salento.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is an impossible question when the trip is made up of so many interesting moments and I wish Exodus would rename it for this review.. Bogota is a busy Capital City and the graffiti decorating so many buildings is interesting and often works of art in themselves, the journey by Jeep Willy into the Cocora Valley culminating in a sight of a condor something very rare in this part of Colombia, and lastly the old city of Cartagena very busy with cruise ships calling but vibrant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unusually, we had two leaders, Juan Carlos and Andreas. Andreas was in training and his friendly approachable disposition complemented Juan Carlos's efficient leading so we were superbly led Nothing was too much trouble for either leader and they were always they to help and support.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy tour and you arrive in Bogota Airport at 0400 and you start the City sightseeing at 0900 so if you can arrive a day earlier, it would be less tiring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I linked this tour with Discover Costa Rica and the two two complimented one another. Colombia was Historical and cultural whereas Costa Rica was Natural History. If the dates fit and you have the time, I can recommend this arrangement.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Stella Pilsworth

    Discover Colombia

    A wonderful introduction to a complex country. The colour and architecture of the historic towns we visited was was fascinating and vibrant. The people were welcoming and friendly and Tayrona National Park and coastline was just beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cartagena was the place I wanted to see and I wasn't disappointed. Hearing the horses hooves clopping around the old town at night as they took the carriages through the beautiful narrow streets was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and agreeable but he certainly needed more experience. He was out of his depth with a group of 15 or so seasoned travellers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to keep up with the group and participate in the long walks. Also the last day involves a hike out of Tayrona to get the coach and it is a long journey back home before you can shower unless you book an extra night in Bogota.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Derek Gott

    Discover Colombia

    Colombia was a pleasant surprise. The people are friendly and the accommodation and food are of a good standard. We visited a variety of interesting places ranging from the cool highlands to the heat of the Caribbean coast. We has a comfortable air conditioned bus and travelling, once we escaped the traffic jams in Bogota was easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all new to me . I particularly enjoyed visiting Villa de Leyva, the coffee zone, Cartagena and Tayrona N.P.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel is a pleasant friendly lad. He admitted he was still learning but we all liked him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It helps if you have an elementary knowledge of Spanish if you go off on your own.Be careful after dark as there are a lot of uneven pavements in the towns. Take care of you valuables.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Stephen Devlin

    Discover Colombia AAK

    My first group tour & my first time to South America. A well organised and interesting trip. Nice group of people from all over the UK and Europe from various backgrounds and age groups. Very informative site seeing tour with easy walks within national parks, coffee regions and city locations. Enough time on your own if needed to look around, yet always felt part of the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Salento in the coffee region. One of the most beautiful Village's and location I've travelled to. Small independent coffee grower tour that shows how a small family business survives in a very competitive global market. Very interesting, educational and enjoyable tour!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic Always on hand to answer questions or assist you when needed. Very informative and articulate

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book the trip as soon as you can................. Don't book a hammock at the end of your trip in the Tayrona national park, people were bitten quite badly by insects. Upgrade to a Cabana instead.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COLOMBIA

    This trip is ideal for someone caught up in the western world with bad media coverage. Colombia is anything but dangerous and scary. This place stole my heart and this Exodus tour captured just a small portion of Colombia's natural beauty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being grounded in Bogota for 2 additional nights due to farming protests and roadblocks restricted us from travelling to Villa De Leyva, which enabled me to see, firsthand, the people's resistance against its own government.  Waking up surrounded by mountains in Manizales at the Palestina Ecohotel left me breathless. Arriving in the Caribbean, in beautiful Cartagena and being welcomed by a wet, yet very warm tropical storm. The rain at no point could get in the way of this perfect city.  Tayrona NP and the hammock experience ! Apart from the hammock not being the most comfortable bedding I’ve ever slept in, this experience is unforgettable - as you fall asleep to the sound of wildlife and nature. Topped off the following day by a swim at a pristine, secluded beach. Absolute paradise !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan really was perfect for this trip. He is so passionate about his country and is incredibly experienced. His local knowledge in all cities was the best I’d ever had on any tour. He knew the best restaurants (very well priced), hideouts and most importantly he knew where to find the best coffee. He became one of the group members early on yet remained aware of each group member's whereabouts at all times. There's no doubting our experience was made better with Juan leading the way !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember, Colombia is only just opening up to tourists ! Be flexible for itinerary changes, lack of water pressure and on the odd occasion, no hot water (Mostly in the Caribbean areas)  Take a wet proof jacket and a lot of sunscreen. The climate is very different from North to South.  **IMPORTANT ADVICE** DO NOT go horse riding in the Cocora Valley !! This is the alternative to a 5 hour hike and not worth the risk even if you are an experienced rider. It is very wet, slippery, muddy, rocky and STEEP terrain. It's certainly not the best ground to fall on, let alone from a further 2 meters up !! (Pack hiking shoes)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although this tour doesn’t include places like Cali, Medellin, San Andres, Providencia, San Agustin, Popayan, the Amazon, Ciudad Perdida etc etc etc. it STILL offers so much !! Take some extra time and see more if you need to, or simply go back the following year.  As they say over there, "The only risk is wanting to Stay !"
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COLOMBIA

    The trip was varied and Colombia is a great country, but you need to be flexible and understanding to potential changes.We had a few issues due to strikes (by the farmers and lorry drivers) and a few flight delays, but the trip leader did everything he could to ensure our safety and that we were kept aware of the frequently changing situations which were out of the control of anyone. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The intensity of the electrical storms in the Coffee Region and Tayrona National Park.   Colombia and it's people are lovely and there is wide variations between the different regions, it really is magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan took a lot of time to ensure we are all OK and looked after.  He did an amazing job at helping us at restuarants to ensure we all ordered what we wanted and had separate bills.Juan talked a lot about Colombia, it's people and cultures and was very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be flexible.
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COLOMBIA

    Well organised and varied trip which encompasses the highlights of Colombia.  Colombia is not at all dangerous - I think you are less likely to have your bag stolen than in Rome or Barcelona - and the people are great.  Highly recommended as a destination.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was enjoyable (though I'm not sure I would use the word inspirational - it's a big word).  Cartagena was beautiful and atmospheric, Tayrona national park had stunning beaches. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was a fantastic leader.  Extremely friendly, engaging and interesting.  He was always prepared to go the extra mile and has the perfect personality to be a tour leader.  We loved him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Colombia isn't at all dangerous, so no need to worry about that at all.  The people are great and very happy to see tourists.  I would recommend this trip.I spent more money than I expected, primarily because I drank wine, which is not really drunk out there and is expensive.  You are better sticking to beer if you are economising (or water!). Not all the hotels had hot water (I'd been told they had) which is why I haven't put the holiday down as five stars.  We had hot water only half the time, which didn't matter to everyone, as it wasn't cold, but I am keen on hot water.I did the riding in the coffee region along with a fellow travelling companion (instead of the walk).  We had told them we were inexperienced riders.  The riding is unsuitable for inexperienced riders.  No helmets provided, but also on very rocky terrain, across rivers and up steep climbs.  My companion got thrown off twice (amazingly she got back on after the first time).  It was very dangerous and I would only recommend this ride to very experienced riders with riding hats. On the walking day in the coffee region we set off at 11 and didn't get back until around 5, so I would recommend eating something before setting off.  Otherwise you will be very hungry.Take insect repellant - quite a lot of bitey things around.In Tayrona national park, five of us rented a cabin to share there and then (we decided we couldn't face the hammocks).. It was fabulous and excellent value between the five of us.  And it had hot water!Not too many early starts, which was great.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have been to Peru and Argentina and want to see another South American country, I would really recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anna Clark

    Anna Clark

    I just want to state that we have traveled on nine previous occasions with Exodus and have always given ratings of four or more stars. This rating is not a reflection on Colombia, which we loved, but on the value for money this trip offers. Compared to previous trips this seemed to be very expensive basically for a trip that offered hotels and transport.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved wandering around the streets of Cartagena. Please be aware that if your free day in Cartagena falls on a Monday a number of the museums and churches are closed. Absorbing the atmosphere in Villa de Leyva.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Whilst Juan was a lovely bloke he did not live up to our expectations of an Exodus guide. The information on Colombia was obtained from guidebooks. We saw very little of him. There was often no option for a group meal, which was fine, although if you enjoy the group experience this is possibly not the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The optional excursions were a lot more expensive than the prices listed in the itinerary. This may have been because our group was small.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We are extremely sorry that Anna’s trip did not live up to her previously very positive experiences of travelling with us. We understand that this departure did not run as smoothly as we expected, and in conjunction to the below review, we have now responded to Anna and Rosalind’s concerns directly. An Exodus staff member will be travelling on the next departure of this trip and we trust this will ensure that the trip continues to run to the high standards we expect.
    Exodus Customer Services

  • Reviewed June 2013
    Rosalind D'Albert

    It's Colombia, not Columbia!

    Colombia is a wonderful country and this trip gives an opportunity to taste a good variety of places, climates and altitudes. From Bogota to the serenity of the coffee zone, then over to the Caribbean and the jungle, we experienced more, and less, than we expected. More in that our guide did not seem to follow the trip notes, not sure if it was him or the notes that were wrong, and less in that there was a lot of free time with no activities, although we could have done them independently - easy if you speak Spanish. An expensive trip to have so much unorganised time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sun set from Cartagena and travelling back from the Rosario Islands in a bouncy speedboat! The day in the coffee region visiting the farm was also a great one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan Diego was charming although he left us to our own devices more than we had expected.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I opted for a cabana rather than the hammocks in Tayrona, very luxurious with fabulous bathroom, worth every penny! It was SO hot, lovely to sleep under a fan rather than with a mosquito net inches from my face. Also, be prepared for some discrepancy in the time the guide reckons a walk will take and the actual times. We found the Lonely Planet estimates were spot on. In Villa de Leyva there was not enough to do to merit a free afternoon, the visit to the dinosaur/fossil museum could easily have been included and still left enough time for exploration and shopping after the guided tour in the morning, so find out about taxis and go it alone. Much cheaper than the extortionate price the local guide was asking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Rather than spend a free day in the steaming heat of Cartagena we took the trip to the Rosario Islands, organised by the local guide, which was lovely - nice to be out at sea - with a walk round the village, canoe trip, lunch, pool etc. BUT on this very expensive holiday it was not an option for everyone, to have to pay so much extra. Don't get me wrong, we had a fantastic time and loved the country, travelling with a great group, but just had a few niggles about value for money, and attentiveness of our guide, compared to other Exodus trips we've done.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were sorry to learn that this trip did not quite live up to Rosalind's expectations. Rosalind has also contacted us directly to raise some concerns regarding her trip and we investigated these matters.

    Exodus Customer Services

Call us on 020 8772 3936