Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Taki Payazidis

    Wonderful Tour

    Just came back from this wonderful tour of this lovely country. The tour was very well organised and diverse in it's content. All the places we visited and the activities were different which made it all the more enjoyable. Colombia is a very big country which meant that there were a couple of long days travelling with internal flights but that was to be expected. I loved this tour and would recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Salt Cathedral, Coffee tour, Cartagena.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Anne Grabham

    A fabulous trip!

    When I told people I was going to Colombia for a holiday the reaction was always the same - Really?? Isn't it dangerous? What do you want to go there for? It's a shame that a country gets a dodgy reputation and, in the case of Colombia, a totally unjustified reputation. Wherever we went people were friendly, we felt completely safe and at ease and the scenery was stunning. I'm sure there may be areas of the country which aren't so good for tourists to visit but this is surely the case in most countries. The trip is a wonderful mixture of culture, sightseeing and walking and with plenty of free time to explore further on your own and spend time in cafes watching the fascinating street life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights but for me Villa de Leyva was very special. It's main square (apparently the largest public square in Colombia) had no huge statue and/or water feature in its centre as you would expect from a square of this size (just a very small statue) and was also completely unevenly cobbled all over. Surrounded on all four sides by low rise, white washed buildings, with a beautiful backdrop of green mountains behind, gave it a very special quality and made it quite clear that this was a Latin American town not a European one. When 6 men on horseback unexpectedly appeared in the square, galloped round two sides and out again it made it just perfect! Guitarists abound in cafes and on street corners adding to the atmosphere. Bogota was a surprise. I was expecting it to be a fairly nondescript city, just used as a starting point for the trip, but it was a real delight. The old city was fascinating to explore with beautiful buildings, interesting museums and lively street life. The Cocora Valley was stunning - a really beautiful area. Cartegena we knew would be lovely and it certainly didn't disappoint. Oh, and the Salt Cathedral! Simply amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan Carlos was friendly and very knowledgeable about his country. He suggested some good places to eat and in Cartegena introduced us to Colombian street food which not only was delicious but also extremely good value! He was particularly helpful to me when my suitcase failed to turn up at the start of the trip. I wasn't reunited with it until three days before the end of the holiday but Juan Carlos spent a lot of time emailing and telephoning people trying to locate it for me. He helped me fill in endless forms and accompanied me to the airport to pick it up when it finally appeared.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear long trousers and use insect repellent in the coffee plantation! We had a great time picking coffee and exploring the plantation but I was badly bitten!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Colombia is a beautiful country - lush and green, with stunning scenery. The towns are so pretty with their colourfully painted houses and the people are friendly and welcoming. I would have liked to have seen more of the country, a three week trip would have been great.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andy Davies

    Fantastic Diverse Tour

    Wow. Just returned from an amazing trip and can't believe how much we did in the time. Colombia is colourful, very friendly and safe. Juan Carlos was a great guide and he looked after our wonderful group very well indeed. A lot of travel but in a country so vast not unexpected. Huge variation in climate from cold in Bogota to steamy and humid near the Caribbean. Fantastic food and lots of options Fabulous safe experience and my third trip to South America; don't hesitate just go! Recommend you go one day early to recover from the trip; Exodus arranged this for me and it worked like clockwork. I am planning to return to Colombia independently next year based on this experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting at the orchid farm eating lunch whilst dozens of hummingbirds were feeding right next to us. Last group meal on the beach with a bonfire and Latino music with the waves almost lapping our feet! The colour of the buildings and awesome food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan Carlos was great. Very professional and intelligent kind man who really went out of his way for me several times. He needs to work on his table tennis though :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above. Book a day early to recover from the flights. We started at 8am and some people had only arrived at the hotel at 4.30am. Bring mosquito spray for the coffee plantation tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous experience from booking to return.
  • Reviewed May 2018

    Amazing Experiience and am Awesome Group Leader

    I along with my wife went for the Discover Colombia package and it was a marvelous experience which we will chersih forever. Starting from the journey to reaching the place, sightseeing, food, accomodation, everything was just the way we wanted and we didn't had to compromise on anything. We loved the way we were shown around the country and definitely would love to go once again with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when we two suddenly wandered off from the group and couldn't find them. Hilarious but that was an exciting moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dedicated, professional, friendly and very supportive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Barry Cooper

    An Interesting visit to a diverse Country

    This Tour travels firstly to Bogota and then to other areas of Colombia some of which are a considerable distance from the capital so there are several internal flights using the National Airline Avianca and always on modern Airbus aircraft. Colombia is a vast country which is only now emerging from a long period of unrest and consequently some areas of the Country are still not considered safe to visit. The areas visited on this Tours are safe and give an excellent impression of Colombia from the Colonial architecture of Villa de Leyva to the busy city of Cartagena and the rural landscape around Salento.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is an impossible question when the trip is made up of so many interesting moments and I wish Exodus would rename it for this review.. Bogota is a busy Capital City and the graffiti decorating so many buildings is interesting and often works of art in themselves, the journey by Jeep Willy into the Cocora Valley culminating in a sight of a condor something very rare in this part of Colombia, and lastly the old city of Cartagena very busy with cruise ships calling but vibrant

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unusually, we had two leaders, Juan Carlos and Andreas. Andreas was in training and his friendly approachable disposition complemented Juan Carlos's efficient leading so we were superbly led Nothing was too much trouble for either leader and they were always they to help and support.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a busy tour and you arrive in Bogota Airport at 0400 and you start the City sightseeing at 0900 so if you can arrive a day earlier, it would be less tiring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I linked this tour with Discover Costa Rica and the two two complimented one another. Colombia was Historical and cultural whereas Costa Rica was Natural History. If the dates fit and you have the time, I can recommend this arrangement.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Stella Pilsworth

    Discover Colombia

    A wonderful introduction to a complex country. The colour and architecture of the historic towns we visited was was fascinating and vibrant. The people were welcoming and friendly and Tayrona National Park and coastline was just beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cartagena was the place I wanted to see and I wasn't disappointed. Hearing the horses hooves clopping around the old town at night as they took the carriages through the beautiful narrow streets was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly and agreeable but he certainly needed more experience. He was out of his depth with a group of 15 or so seasoned travellers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be reasonably fit to keep up with the group and participate in the long walks. Also the last day involves a hike out of Tayrona to get the coach and it is a long journey back home before you can shower unless you book an extra night in Bogota.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Derek Gott

    Discover Colombia

    Colombia was a pleasant surprise. The people are friendly and the accommodation and food are of a good standard. We visited a variety of interesting places ranging from the cool highlands to the heat of the Caribbean coast. We has a comfortable air conditioned bus and travelling, once we escaped the traffic jams in Bogota was easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all new to me . I particularly enjoyed visiting Villa de Leyva, the coffee zone, Cartagena and Tayrona N.P.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gabriel is a pleasant friendly lad. He admitted he was still learning but we all liked him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It helps if you have an elementary knowledge of Spanish if you go off on your own.Be careful after dark as there are a lot of uneven pavements in the towns. Take care of you valuables.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Stephen Devlin

    Discover Colombia AAK

    My first group tour & my first time to South America. A well organised and interesting trip. Nice group of people from all over the UK and Europe from various backgrounds and age groups. Very informative site seeing tour with easy walks within national parks, coffee regions and city locations. Enough time on your own if needed to look around, yet always felt part of the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Salento in the coffee region. One of the most beautiful Village's and location I've travelled to. Small independent coffee grower tour that shows how a small family business survives in a very competitive global market. Very interesting, educational and enjoyable tour!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic Always on hand to answer questions or assist you when needed. Very informative and articulate

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book the trip as soon as you can................. Don't book a hammock at the end of your trip in the Tayrona national park, people were bitten quite badly by insects. Upgrade to a Cabana instead.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COLOMBIA

    This trip is ideal for someone caught up in the western world with bad media coverage. Colombia is anything but dangerous and scary. This place stole my heart and this Exodus tour captured just a small portion of Colombia's natural beauty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being grounded in Bogota for 2 additional nights due to farming protests and roadblocks restricted us from travelling to Villa De Leyva, which enabled me to see, firsthand, the people's resistance against its own government.  Waking up surrounded by mountains in Manizales at the Palestina Ecohotel left me breathless. Arriving in the Caribbean, in beautiful Cartagena and being welcomed by a wet, yet very warm tropical storm. The rain at no point could get in the way of this perfect city.  Tayrona NP and the hammock experience ! Apart from the hammock not being the most comfortable bedding I’ve ever slept in, this experience is unforgettable - as you fall asleep to the sound of wildlife and nature. Topped off the following day by a swim at a pristine, secluded beach. Absolute paradise !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan really was perfect for this trip. He is so passionate about his country and is incredibly experienced. His local knowledge in all cities was the best I’d ever had on any tour. He knew the best restaurants (very well priced), hideouts and most importantly he knew where to find the best coffee. He became one of the group members early on yet remained aware of each group member's whereabouts at all times. There's no doubting our experience was made better with Juan leading the way !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember, Colombia is only just opening up to tourists ! Be flexible for itinerary changes, lack of water pressure and on the odd occasion, no hot water (Mostly in the Caribbean areas)  Take a wet proof jacket and a lot of sunscreen. The climate is very different from North to South.  **IMPORTANT ADVICE** DO NOT go horse riding in the Cocora Valley !! This is the alternative to a 5 hour hike and not worth the risk even if you are an experienced rider. It is very wet, slippery, muddy, rocky and STEEP terrain. It's certainly not the best ground to fall on, let alone from a further 2 meters up !! (Pack hiking shoes)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although this tour doesn’t include places like Cali, Medellin, San Andres, Providencia, San Agustin, Popayan, the Amazon, Ciudad Perdida etc etc etc. it STILL offers so much !! Take some extra time and see more if you need to, or simply go back the following year.  As they say over there, "The only risk is wanting to Stay !"
  • Reviewed September 2013
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COLOMBIA

    The trip was varied and Colombia is a great country, but you need to be flexible and understanding to potential changes.We had a few issues due to strikes (by the farmers and lorry drivers) and a few flight delays, but the trip leader did everything he could to ensure our safety and that we were kept aware of the frequently changing situations which were out of the control of anyone. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The intensity of the electrical storms in the Coffee Region and Tayrona National Park.   Colombia and it's people are lovely and there is wide variations between the different regions, it really is magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan took a lot of time to ensure we are all OK and looked after.  He did an amazing job at helping us at restuarants to ensure we all ordered what we wanted and had separate bills.Juan talked a lot about Colombia, it's people and cultures and was very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be flexible.
Call us on 020 8772 3936