Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2017
    Christine Gausden

    Cycling Namibia

    We were a small but 'elite' group - 'holy moly' - we were the beautiful family who enjoyed every aspect of this trip The challenge of the cycling conditions, in excessive heat, but in the most inspirational landscape, did not defeat us

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I chose this trip because of the physical challenge, however, my first glimpse of a lion at close quarters was almost overwhelming

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane & Enrico shared the lead - always smiling - they ensured this trip was full of fun & laughter

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat is excessive most days - you must keep well covered & well hydrated

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip suited a small group - the maximum number would quite possibly make for uncomfortable vehicle transfers
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Susie Giles

    Bucket List Trip

    I loved this trip, and seeing, climbing and then flying over the amazing dunes lived up to my expectations. Big bucket list tick for that. And the wildlife round and about, but especially in Etosha (particularly at the camp waterhole) was brilliant. Watching rhino's preliminary mating dance, elephants bathing and a stand off with a pride of lions, from a safe distance while supping red wine, was one of life's great experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on top of the dunes at sunrise.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane and Happy did a great job and were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The cycle guide for this trip (Jaco) less so - but it didn't spoil the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not used to cycling on gravel / sand, it takes a little while to feel comfortable and can be an adventure in itself. There are some long straight stretches of tarmac (especially in the second week), which go from nowhere to nowhere, which is an experience, but not like cycling through villages etc like you get on some other trips. There is no one there! Although the scenery is stunning and changes from day to day - on any particular ride it can be quite samey, so worth bearing in mind if you are easily bored, also as it is mainly quite flat. Having said that - it's more fun being on the bike for part of the day than it would be in a truck all day and can be a bit of "zen" experience! I thought it was great - in the main:) Hire a sleeping bag from the local operator - good quality and warm enough. Book it before you go. June is a great time to go - dry and pleasantly hot days. Chilly at night - take layers. I can't imagine doing this trip in December! TOOO hot, even with early starts. This is quite basic & remote camping - and all the better for that. Fantastic star gazing. All sites had good showers and loos. One even has a surreal bath with a view!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go see Namibia - it's an extraordinary and beautiful place. This trip is a great way to do it.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Peter Wilkinson

    Cycling in Namibia

    Namibia would not be my number ever travel destination as much of the country is ordinary and the distances between the highlights are too long. That said don't dismiss it. The two things that most fascinated me was the seeming harmony between all the races and tribes, compared with just over the border in South Africa and the maintenance of a significant German influence in both architecture (old and new) and language. And for the latter it is over a 100 years since it was a German colony.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day I enjoyed most was mouching around Swakapmund soaking up the atmosphere and talking to locals and tourists alike.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The whole support crew (3) were excellent in their own very different ways. They obviously got on like a house on fire with each other and this helped create a very sociable atmosphere.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect gravelly roads and camping, not glamping.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Paul England

    Cycle Namibia, the good, the bad and the not so ugly

    Some stunning landscapes and some fairly mundane cycling, but some really worthwhile experiences make this holiday a mix of average to great experiences

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Dune 40 to see the sunrise. Note we avoided Dune 45, said to be the biggest, on the advice of the group leaders recommendation, this was good advice as we avoided the crowds but still saw a great sunrise. The trip to Etosha reserve is also a great experience, though we didn't see leopards or cheetah and only a single elephant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane very friendly and personable, got on well with everyone and tried hard to keep the group on the same page when it came to cycling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the small print on the trip notes - a sleeping bag is essential but this is only mentioned once on page 7 after the cycling essentials. Three of us had to buy sleeping bags at the destination and these aren't easy to find, the temperature really drops at night in March and will be colder in later months! Take a bandanna to cover your face when cycling, some of the roads are very rough and dusty and passing 4x4's at speed set the dust flying. Due to the daytime heat we finished cycling by 12:00 so very often had early starts, rising at 6:30-7:00 most days. Camping is described as full service, this means you get a tent and a sleeping mat and nothing else. Aside from the sleeping bag take something as a pillow and don't forget a towel! The campsites don't have any illumination so you'll need a head torch and spare batteries. Away from Windhoek and Swakopmund there are no shops to buy basic essentials Over the nine days cycling we averaged 30 miles per day, always finishing before lunch. The support bus is on hand with water and snacks, but our support cyclist wasn't up to the task, being a new starter on a bike. Cycling conditions are not easy - I've experienced a few Exodus cycling holidays and whilst there aren't any real hills on this holiday the cycling can be hard, so if you're not sure about your fitness, cycling in heat and on rough roads this holiday is probably not for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cycling in the first week is uninspiring, we found it's lots of endless roads/tracks, some of the surfaces very poor and there is little or nothing to see, our expectations of wildlife didn't materialise when we were cycling at any stage on the holiday. The second week improves in terms of landscape and wildlife. The trip notes were out of date! Aside from the missing emphasis on a sleeping bag, the promise of a trip to the Cheetah Conservation Centre on day 11 didn't arise and the overnight location had changed for day 7 with a disappointing replacement.
  • Reviewed January 2016
    Ian Wilson

    Cycling through Namibia over Christmas

    This trip is about the scenery of Namibia. The sense of enjoyment of riding undulating gravel roads, earning the downhill coasting, the vast open spaces, getting to the end of each day to find a bar next to a pool, was all amazing. It's not a luxury trip but drinking gin & tonic from a metal cup watching the sun go down after a day's cycling, was priceless.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sunsets... Watching the sun go down in Etosha sitting by the water-hole, with drinks and ice with new friends I'd made on the trip, will never be forgotten.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sven, the group leader was fantastic, he used local knowledge and experience to get the most out of each day. The two helpers were amazing too, producing meals each end of the day on a wood fire, putting up and taking down our tents whilst we relaxed, deserves special mention.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is an amazing trip and you will not regret going. There are a few things which I found helped: take some sports eletrolyte tablets or powder to add to your cycling water, I got through more than I thought I would. There are some electricity recharging opportunities, but a couple of multi purpose usb spare battery packs worked a treat to keep cameras/phones topped up until you get to a lodge. Not all sinks have plugs so taking a camping one is useful! The electric socket in Namibia is the same as South Africa, it's fairly unique with large pins..a universal adapted won't fit, but you can get a SA one in Jo'berg airport. Be prepared to improvise a pillow for camping

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate to book this trip!
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Vincent Gaskell

    Cycle Namibia

    This is a well organised and diverse trip. Good cycling, great and varied topography and wonderful wildlife. This is just such a good way to see a good cross section of Namibia. The campsites were terrific set in some wonderful locations and to get swimming pools in some of them is a real bonus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two great moments for me. Climbing the giant sand dune for sunrise was brilliant. The colours and shapes and shadows are awesome. The camp site in the Etosha NP was great but watching the wildlife at the water hole late into the evening was pure theatre.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sven and his team were brilliant. So flexible and attentive. They worked so hard to make this trip a success for each of us in the group and the food in camp was terrific. How they manage to produce such great food is beyond me. Fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In November, be prepared for high day time temperatures. By noon temperatures were reaching close to 40C and Sven, our guide, quite rightly would end our rides by then each day. So do not expect to ride all day. There are also some lengthy transfers but these are needed to ensure we saw as much of the country as possible. We used these to catch up on sleep after early starts. Don't expect to see many village people. The cycling and transfer routes do not really take you through many villages.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip really needs a leader who is knowledgeable about wild life, the country's history, and its geology because of the huge amount of ground covered during the trip. This is were the benefit of having a local guide, Sven, and his team is so important to the success of the trip.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Paul Masters

    Exceeded my extremely high expectations

    Unforgettable blend of landscapes, cycling, camping, wildlife in a country which has masses to offer at great value

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to single out because the variety was enormous: the animal drama of an evening at the waterhole in Etosha; the beauty of the dunes; the sheer joy of the boat trip off Walvis Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sven led the trip but the team work between him, Benson and Jonas was excellent. They combined very well - manhandling the bikes repeatedly, making and breaking camp with great efficiency, cooking great food in no time, and being really good, informative travelling companions. I can't speak too highly of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Above all, if you like the look of the cycling, book! Of the options on the day off in Swakopmund/Walvis Bay, all our group opted for the boat trip and were delighted we chose that. Our November trip saw no rain at all. Everywhere we stayed had places you could hand wash kit easily, and in the conditions we had it dried very quickly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary and structure of the trip were really well judged. The day started early so we could avoid the (greatest) heat when cycling, and the truck journeys mostly happened when it would have been too hot to do much else. Excellent way to enjoy the cycling, yet see a good bit of this vast and beautiful country.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    KIM PAYNE

    Great landscapes

    The landscapes were fantastic. Real variety of scenery from rolling hills, to endless gravel sections, lots of gorgeous sand and small towns. Namibia has some fabulous food, extremely affordable. The bikes we hired were of fantastic quality too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunrise on the Sand Dunes. Incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was okay. Very organised, very safety and environmental conscious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a pillow! The accommodation is very budget. Even the last night in the Superior Hotel was not Superior. They were basic 2 star hotels. The camping equipment was great. Tents were spacious and put up and down for us - easy camping in my book! We were there in March and didn't really need a sleeping bag or any wet weather gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want a cycle trip that has lots of villages and locals enroute - don't cycle in Namibia! We didn't come across many children or people on the cycle days. It was not at all like cycling the Cape Town Garden Route or Vietnam/Croatia that I have done with Exodus. We didn't really have much interaction with locals. Also all the accommodation used is Government funded which personally didn't have much character! I am glad I did it and the scenery was spectacular and much nicer to see Namibia on a bike than stuck in a vehicle. Also the kilometres on the itinerary were not what we rode. We rode much less which was disappointing. The cycling is definitely not challenging ie hills, but the gravel can take a bit of getting used too and the heat of course.
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Nicola Ward

    Amazing Country

    Amazing country, fabulous campsites, dramatic scenery and great wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many, I cannot decide between sossousvlei sand dunes, sipping wine at the watering hole watching lions, cycling through the moon landscape, or watching dolphins and seals in a boat trip. Then their were the many beautiful sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great leader, flexed the trip to fit around the weather (scorching sunshine). They worked all hours to fix the bikes as they get a battering and cook us delicious meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared there may be some flex on the trip notes to account for the weather and also some early starts. Be prepared for some long transfers, although the early starts meant we slept through some of them. Take in the scenery, racing through it you will miss so much.
  • Reviewed December 2014
    Diana Maynard

    Awesome

    So much about Namibia impressed me: the varied landscapes, the friendliness of the people, the great food, the miles and miles of desert, the cleanliness, and of course the big game. The trip is not difficult cycling and is very easy going, which means you have plenty of time to admire the scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many moments I couldn't name a single one, but watching the sunrise from the top of Dune 45, many sunsets enjoying drinks and views, and so many breathtaking views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I simply can't praise Roger enough - he was incredibly enthusiastic, bursting with energy and information, sociable, and attentive to our needs and problems. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he was always on hand to fix bikes, answer questions and crack jokes. He dealt with any situations calmly and effectively. His support team of Ronney and Freddey were excellent and always on hand to help, cooking up fantastic food, assisting with the bikes and camp duties.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In winter the sun is very strong - most of us got burnt at some point through inattention to detail with the sunblock. You also really don't need to pack much on this trip - you stop at plenty of supermarkets to top up with snacks, wine and anything else. A washing line is handy for drying stuff around the tents. Bring plenty of reading material/music to entertain you during the long hours in the bus and evenings. Binoculars for spotting game are really worthwhile. And do take the time to learn a little bit about the animals and country before you go. While you don't have to do anything around the camp if you don't want to, the support team will always appreciate a little bit of help with packing up tents, washing up and so on. And finally, do listen to the guides - they really do know what they're talking about even if you think you know better.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I didn't know much about Namibia before I went, but I completely fell in love with it. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
Call us on 0208 772 3936