Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

62 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2017
    Julian Gale

    Julian Gale

    Great combination of walking, sightseeing and sampling the local food and wine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Tuscan countryside, and in particular the walk to San Gimignano, which ensured some beautiful views. The days in Siena and Florence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was an excellent leader. Definitely one who goes above and beyond the call of duty. Very hard working and keen to make sure everyone has an enjoyable holiday. Good at communicating the options and making any necessary arrangements (such as restaurant bookings etc). She even fitted in a quick photo stop at the leaning tower of Piza on our way back to the airport.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worth making sure you also pack a long pair of walking trousers as one of the walks is through long grass areas where ticks might be lurking!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As per my summary points, this is a particularly good option if you are looking for a mix of walking and sightseeing. Plus, if you like Italian food and wine then you are on to a sure fire winner!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Colin Read

    Chianti walking and wine

    Another excellent Exodus trip. Some good walking through Tuscany combined with other activities such as a guided tour of Siena, visit to Florence, visited to wineries and much more. Accommodation in Villa Casalta was good on the above scale.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick out one, but probably the excellent locally guided visit to Siena.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was everything one might wish from a really good group leader: friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. She was also an excellent driver of our Exodus minibus; felt much safer that on some previous trips with Italian drivers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to avoid flying with British Airways; we only narrowly escaped the 27th May IT debacle and were grateful to return the Gatwick only 4 hours late. BA short-haul is just another budget airline and not a particularly good one at that.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Gail Oleszkowicz

    Chianti Walking and Wine

    A great mix of walking, wine tasting and touring Tuscany towns. Scenery just as advertised.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I liked San Gimignano the best of all the towns we visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz Proctor was an exceptional leader: she really went out of her way to do everything possible to help everyone who needed it. Safety was a top priority and she was genuinely concerned for everyone's wellbeing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am not used to walking on rough paths and was unable to train properly ahead of time. I managed but struggled. If you have health issues, do the training beforehand as suggested on the website to get in proper shape.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The farmhouse, hostess, staff and food were exceptional. Very comfortable lodgings.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Louise Hill

    Autumnal delight

    A fantastic week of walking in golden hued countryside, sampling local wines and enjoying local food. The group was great, the guide (Mark) top notch, the hotel and staff lovely, the organisation seamless - who could ask for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting with the whole group outside a restaurant in Siena overlooking the city as the sun went down - throwing the most beautiful golden colours onto the red brick and ochre paintwork of the buildings. Idyllic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark organised us without making us feel at all "organised" and clearly knew the area well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a extra fleece if travelling in October!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Suzanne Pollard

    Chianti walking & wine

    A great holiday, Liz was fab. Be prepared for some serious walking if your not a regular walker up & down hills on rough ground. All in all a great time with a great group of people & lovely accommodation. Would definitely recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Siena & Sarah our guide was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very organised & ever attentive to everyone's needs

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practice walking on rough ground with ascents & descents

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Judith Williams

    Chianti walking and wine. J Williams.

    This is a good week. The programme is good and varied. The accommodation was fine ( apart from the midges) This is not a good trip for me. It was to,introduce a friend to Exodus. I shall upgrade next time!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing specialI

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I did walking in Tuscany with Liz 2 summers ago, and was very happy to have her leading this trip. She herself is super fit, very knowlegable about the area, a very capable leader, and a very friendly 'people person' Please will you send her winter walking in Turkey over new year?

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check that you have suitable shoes, a good water dispenser, and waterproofs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The journey was rubbish. I've twice travelled to Pisa, for Tuscany and cinque Terres. Going via 3 hours in Rome airport made for very long days. We were all pretty tired on day 2, and I for one, as a church organist was working the next morning after getting home at one in the morning. It would have been good of your sales team had mentioned this when I booked.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Jacqueline Taylor

    Chianti Wine & Walking

    A good balance of walking in the countryside with visits to towns & cities for that cultural fix. The wine tasting was something I would not usually have done but I learnt from it & found it enjoyable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in Florence

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, well organised
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Diane Mark

    A memorable holiday

    A really good balance between sightseeing, walking and wine tasting from an excellently located villa

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Numerous stunning views across the Tuscan countryside

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz, our group leader, was extremely helpful and committed to ensure that everyone experienced the delights of Tuscany to the full
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Susan Sargeant

    Tuscany Walking and Wine

    A really enjoyable and varied week in Tuscany. Three lovely walks through forests and vineyards. Stunning hilltop villages and market towns. Excellent wine tastings and winery visits, each a little different, and we certainly drank a lot of local Chianti. Liz, our guide, was efficient, knowledgeable, capable and so friendly. We had plenty of time to explore the cities of Siena and Florence at our own pace, and on our free day most of us opted for a cookery class at a local restaurant. Enormous fun and the lunch we helped produce, was amazing. The family run farmhouse where we stayed was full of character, and they made us so welcome. The evening meals were generous and based on local produce and served with their own estate wines.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was stunning. A beautiful part of Italy. So many wild flowers around the vineyards. And looking down on the rooftops of Florence from the Plaza Michaelangelo was just fabulous.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz Proctor was so efficient, capable, energetic and friendly. She was always adding extra touches and local specialities for us to enjoy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was the first trip of the season. It was very cold in the farmhouse, we had some rain and dense cloud, so be prepared with extra clothing and wet weather gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was the first Exodus walking holiday I had been on. I really enjoyed it, and the mix of walking, local history, culture and wine was just right for me.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Karen Robertson

    Chianti Walking and Wine Tour

    This tour was fantastic! Staying at Casalta was excellent. It is located close to the township and the food and people were awesome. It was an excellent balance of walking, wine, and socialising with the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am struggling to pick out one thing. The views were incredible of Tuscany. Taking in the smells and sights before visiting the Castellare winery on the first day was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Ale was excllent! Our group was great as well, everyone was similarly focused on having a great time.