Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

62 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2014
    Richard Hope

    Perfect Holiday

    Great holiday with a fantastic leader. A good starter walking holiday for us, with the right balance of walking and sight seeing providing an excellent introduction to Tuscany.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wine festival in the local town and the leader changed the itinerary so that we could attend.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and Charismatic. Went out of his way to make all the group feel included.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Has encouraged us to look at other similar trips.
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Jacqueline Bailey-Scott

    Chianti June 2014

    This was our first Exodus trip, it was well organised, everything was as per the trip notes & I would certainly look at other Exodus holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the beautiful tiny villages & hamlets that we walked through, one even had an unscheduled stop for a taste of the local wine & a chance to buy jams & olive oil. Siena & the Tuscan Wine School were superb, as was Florence & San Gimingnano.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was a great guide. I was also impressed with the English representative of the San Gimingnano winery, she was lovely & really explained a lot about the wine making processes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Roberta at Villa Casalta is a great lady & nothing is too much trouble. We were actually a party of 3 & really wanted to room together, when we booked we were told it wasn't possible but after a day or so Roberta moved us all into a family room, so it's always worth asking her if you need anything arranging. The food at the Villa was fairly basic but there was often enough if you wanted seconds, I was a bit disappointed with the breakfasts, especially the bread - not much of it (1 roll each is a bit stingy) and tough stuff too! There's an 'honesty bar' fridge with bottles beers, wine & water (though we had plenty of wine included with the meal). The village is a good 20/25 minute walk away down (and up!) a little old road/track, so we tended to stay at the Villa all evening when we ate there. We also took handy little Graze Boxes with us for nibbles out on the walking trips too.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    Another fantastic holiday by Exodus (Waymark).  Our 7th trip.  And not our last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the Tuscan countryside.  Absolutely beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale is just the most fantastic guide.  We had met him before on our trip to Spain two years ago and it was a delight to be on holiday with him again.  He makes his job look so easy but manages to combine being great company with a being a professional guide who is both informative and 'in control'.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes.  Book tickets for the Uffizi BEFORE going on the holiday.  This didn't occur to us so we essentially missed the chance of visiting the Uffizi on our day trip to Florence.  Although we found the walking very easy and pleasurable - there were still one or two people who found the going tough.  In the grading of your walking, I think you need to be explicit about the type of walking on each holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have now experienced 7 holidays (all Europe) with Exodus (Waymark previously) and every single holiday has been a fantastic and memorable holiday.  The holidays are great value for money and we meet like-minded people.The one downside - EVERY bathroom we have ever had on an Exodus holiday has had a 'floppy' shower head in the shower!  Ha!  As we are handed the key to our room on arrival, we always know that we're going to get the floppy shower head!!!!  But hey, if that's the only thing we can complain about then Exodus are doing a pretty great job.  We will continue to holiday with Exodus.  THANK YOU. 
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    My first trip as a single traveller, I needn't have worried. The whole experience was fantastic. Good food ,wine, excellent company together with a well planned itinery. The walking pace was sentitive to the groups ability add the trips,wine tasting and scenery and I had a wonderful holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tuscan coutryside, views and of course Sienna, I would love to return to see the horse race on the square.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ali was great, any minor concerns were solved without  fuss, he coudn t have been more helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the description it is exactly what it says on the tin!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I fully intend to repeat the experience soon
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    This was our first walking holiday and we will definitely do it again, we loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip to Sienna was a fabulous day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nothing was too much trouble, he interacted wonderfully with the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is what it says it is, follow the guidance notes before you go and you will have a fabulous time.
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    Our first Exodus trip and it won't be the last. A very good taster for finding fitness levels and gauging whether or not this holiday type is for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the views across the Tuscany hills and valleys are amazing. A patchwork of vineyards, hill top towns and a spattering of red poppies. In the background a cuckoo. In Siena we had The Baptistry chapel to ourselves and could see Donatello's font panels at close hand. Amazing after learning about them years ago in A level Art.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ale pitched the level very well. He was always happy to chat with anyone and everyone at breakfast, on the walks or at dinner. He had excellent local knowledge and guided us towards some hidden bars and restaurants. He managed to keep the trip seeming fresh and new which is a rare skill. Any problems were solved quickly and amicably.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great starter trip if you unsure whether Exodus is for you. The group got on well right from the pick up at the airport. No one minded who they sat with on the minibus or at meals. Singles and couples were all happy to get on without feeling space or privacy had been invaded. There was always a good atmosphere when we were out together. The walks were a good distance for a casual walker 10-12k without too many steep hills. The guide made sure we took sensible breaks and waited for stragglers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd been concerned that my fitness level would not be up to even a Leisurely/Moderate holiday but it was pitched well for an average walker. The group was very easy to get on with, and from what people who have taken several Exodus Holidays say, this is normal. There was plenty of free time on the visits to disappear and explore the sites you wanted to, be it shopping, galleries, chapels or sculpture. The wine tasting was interesting and amusing, nothing pretentious and certainly no hard sell at any point. Since returning we have booked a second holiday in Spain for September. What more recommendation could there be.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    great mix of a holiday, fantastic scenery, walking 95% off roads, great sight seeing too!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    having breakfast as the mist cleared revealing the tuscan view - beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    took great care of us, very clear in her directions, made sure we had nothong to worry about, and went the extra mile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be prepared for it to be wamer than the UK, possibly humid too.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    A very well put together trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wealth of knowledge of our leader was apparent from day one and hearing of all of his experiences both in Italy and around the rest of the globe was fantastic. The food was incredible - all of it - the meals at the Fattoria were delicious and varied, the ice cream was superb as you would expect, and the meals out were superb too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knoweldgeable and charismatic. He knew at least a little bit about everything, even the wild flowers, fauna and of course the luscious fruits. Ale always made sure we had the right footwear for the type of day we would be having and checked weather forecasts for us too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy! The food is superb and your guide may offer you the option for a picnic lunch on one of the days. Take it - it was great! We lounged under olive trees eating bread, meat, cheese, olives, sundried tomatoes and fruit. The walks are not hard at all, of course lots of up and down but Ale let us take things at whatever pace we wanted to so that didn't hinder things at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A lovely trip. My first centre-based trip so it was a joy to leave my toothbrush by the same sink for so many days! Beautiful landscapes, friendly people, amazing wine and plenty of it.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Wonderful guides, people, scenery, walks, wine and accommodations. Everything was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the balcony at Fattoria Voltrona looking at the incredible scenery.  I love Australia but this took my breathe away.The villages that we passed through on our walks. Old and beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was fabulous. This was my first trip with a group leader and a group of people that I didn't know.From the first meeting at the airport Karl made me feel very welcome.Karl was always very happy, helpful and also interesting to listen to.Karl appeared to take time to make sure everyone was included in all group activities and that no one was left out unless they wanted to be. I would recommend this tour and Karl to anyone that was interested in this sort of trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good walking shoe and be prepare for a lot of hills and steps.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Also would like to aknowledge the other group leader that was with our group.  Ale.  Also excellent.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    CHIANTI: WALKING & WINE

    The trip had a really good balance of activities, with plently to do while still leaving you time to relax and chill out. Tuscany is so beautiful and Fattoria Voltrona was a great place to stay. I would definitely recommend this trip to my friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl and Ale were both excellent guides. They took really good care of the group and were fun people to hang out with.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip suits a wide variety of ages, both my mum and I had a great time.