Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

39 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2015
    Charlotte Lacy

    Fantastic trip to a stunnning country!

    This is another great Exodus trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. We decided to go to Bosnia on our honeymoon and it was a great decision. The country is stunningly beautiful and has so many hidden gems. The countryside is incredible and you barely see another person on the small tracks that you walk along. Each city brings a lovely contrast to the walking. They are unusual and fascinating places to visit. Definitely recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights to this holiday it's hard to single anything out. All of the walks offered amazing views and each city had it's own story to tell. We had a preconceived idea of Sarajevo from the images of the war many years ago. However it is an incredible city which is so full of history and has been beautifully rebuilt. The old city is fascinating to wander around and seeing so many different cultures and religions living side by side without conflict was impressive! A must see city for anybody!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a fantastic leader. His passion about bringing tourism to Bosnia and allowing people to see the beauty of his country was so clear to see. He showed us around brilliantly and was a lovely man who made everyone feel valued.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep an open mind throughout the trip and be prepared for the basic accommodation in the National Park. It's completely as described as the rooms are pretty old but the views are stunning and a dip in the swimming pool nearby is a must (although it is pretty damn COLD! Be prepared for some long hours on the little bus as many of the walks can be quite far from where you're staying. Bosnian mountain roads aren't very well maintained but our driver was particularly skilled and determined at getting up them :)
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Kathy Ombler

    Walking in Bosnia-Herzegovina

    A seven day walking trip starting/finishing in Dubrovnik, visiting Sutjeska National Park, Sarajevo, Neretva river canyon and Mostar. The trip encompassed a mix of strenuous and easy day walks, visiting a remote mountain village, and exploring and understanding the volatile history of the country. An overall highlight was discovering the beauty of the landscape - so many mountains, forests, lakes and rivers. Accommodation ranged from the basic, Socialist-era style hotel in Sutjeska National Park (though perfectly comfortable and adequate), to the small, comfortable and more modern hotels in Trebinje, Sarajevo and Mostar. Travel was in a 12 seater van, driven by the personable Gvard, from Sarajevo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Mt Maglic, Bosnia's highest peak. Walking to and being hosted for lunch in the remote mountain village of Lukomir, near Sarajevo. Sharing the knowledge and experiences of our guides, Samer and Eldar, both in the mountains and their times as teenagers living in the Siege of Sarajevo. Learning about the complicated and volatile history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is one of the most inspirational trip leaders I have had the pleasure to travel with. Passionate about his country and its mountains, knowledgeable and open minded about the history, organised and professional, patient, caring, gentle and a tricky sense of humour. Co-guide Eldar also shared his love of the mountains - he is also a keen rock climber, mountain biker and part of the mountain rescue team, so we felt more than confident! Also helpful, going out of his way to show some of us find Sarajevo's specialist biking and sporting shops.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect any pillow menus - however this is five star tour for what it offers in discovering a beautiful country, still recovering from a tragic recent history.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Victoria Adnitt

    Fascinating and rewarding holiday.

    A thoroughly rewarding and fascinating insight into the rich history and geography of BH. As a trekker of limited experience but average fitness I found the walks challenging but well within my limits to complete thanks to the expert guidance given. The routes planned by our excellent guide Samer showed us the vast range of climates, ecology and history of the region-within one day we went from a Mediterranean climate to a alpine and back again! Every day was packed full and every aspect well organised. A fantastic mix of rural walking, a couple of interesting city tours and even a day of rafting. I highly recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was so different and so packed full it is hard to pick out one moment but probably reaching the summit of Maglić having beaten the looming storm!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer along with his colleague Dino was faultless as a guide. Their, humour, knowledge and enthusiasm for BH made the trip. Every aspect was planned in-depth from the treks to booking lunches/dinners for the group; we were made to feel very looked-after throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather. During August we arrived at the end of a lengthy heatwave but still experienced frequent showers-some heavy. If you get travel sick just be aware that some of the minibus travel is through bumpy and windy roads; most journeys about an hour via minibus to the start of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend the optional rafting trip- it gave a great perspective of the gorge with a dramatic landscape and crystal clear waters as a backdrop. The route is mostly very gentle with a few small rapids just big enough to make it exciting but not too big to distract from the scenery; plus with a good 4/5 hour trip including cooked lunch of fresh fish at the end it is amazing value.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    David Tuckett

    Bosnia and Herzogovina - Walking

    Overall an excellent trip with a good combination of walking and cultural sights. The scenery is magnificent and unspoilt. The rafting was great fun down the Neretva river through gorges and over rapids. Sarajevo is a most interesting city and the people in Bosnia Herzegovina were very friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Maglic Mountain felt like a real achievement but the most moving part of the trip was seeing the evidence of the recent Balkan war and hearing some personal stories from the leaders. They brought the conflict alive in a way that is not achievable by films or the written word.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar was very calm and capable and he coped with every situation. He was exceptionally good at managing people and had a fun dry sense of humour. His knowledge about the history of the country added a rich dimension to the trip. Benjamin - the assistant guide was full of energy and good humour but when necessary he was supportive and patient. Both guides were very safety conscious. I have been on many group trips and they have been amongst the best leaders that I have encountered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Day 3 is a long arduous hike - much more strenous than the other days. If you have any doubts about your ability have a rest day. Note that there is quite a lot of time spent on the bus travelling to and from the start and end of the walks and between the various overnight stops

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit this unspoilt part of Europe. There is a great variety of scenery, interesting towns and cities plus a rich history.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Andrew Hickey

    Bosnia Herzogovenia walk

    This trip gave us an excellent insight into life in Bosnia Herzogovenia pre and post the 1992 war. This was one of the main reasons we chose this hike. It did not disappoint. We also saw a great deal of the country and its majestic parks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Mt. Maglic after an arduous and long hike along many differing terrains. The descent was just as thrilling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar Fazlagic was one of the most patient and laconic guides we have spent time with. He was aware of everyone's capabilities and nuances and wisely managed the group to accommodate these points. He was informative and helpful when asked. He gave personal and interesting insights into the history of his country and the troubles that beset it during WW1 and the 1992-95 war. He gave the trip an "edge" that helped Andrew & I know we chose well in making the journey.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We did this trip when there was record heat in Eastern Europe, temps of 32-38 deg. I know this is unpredictable but another time of the year may reduce this possibility. Some of the walks are exposed and lengthy and in that heat a challenge. Listen to the guide. If his advice is that you may be better to have a day off, listen to him as day one is a good measure of a clients stamina and he goes from that. They will accommodate but if a less fit client makes the day 3 hike, it really slows the group and makes for a most difficult day. Also be aware there are lengthy trips in the bus that are necessary to get to starting and end points of day's hike. If this is not your zone, think again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Benjamen, the secondary guide was great fun, most helpful to those of the group who lagged behind due to tiredness and heat stress but never did he intimate it was a trouble or an onerous task for him to "bring up the rear". His conversations in the bus during the journies were always chirpy and informative.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Julie Hyam

    Balkan secret

    The holiday visited areas of Europe where many people would not think of visiting, they are missing stunning scenery,interesting history and the chance to eat fantastic pastries atop a mountain, the best we have ever eaten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating the pastries on a hillside in a village that time seemed to have forgotten.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent he was very good to ensure we always had a plan b as the weather let us down a few times but we were not disappointed ,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep an open mind as your trip may need to be changed.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Richard Lowry

    Bosnia Herzegovina

    A fantastic trip! I really liked the combination of several days walking alongside the opportunity to take in some culture too (Sarajevo is an amazing city). Bosnia and Herzegovina is a really beautiful country and my advice would be to go now before it is spoiled by mass tourism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was interesting and moving to learn about and see evidence from the recent Balkan war and hear our guides talk about their experiences during this time. I enjoyed the scenic views of glacial lakes but due to poor weather conditions and terrain reaching the top of Maglic Mountain (Bosnia's highest peak) was not possible. Since I went for the challenge of such an opportunity this was disappointing. Rafting down the Neretva river.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders were good. They were extremely knowledgeable about their country and provided a very balanced view of its recent history. Well organised, happy to answer questions and their health and safety considerations were very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be well prepared for wet weather. Gaiters were a great investment. It is worth considering adding a couple of days before or after the trip to see a bit more of this beautiful city. It is worth considering adding a couple of days before or after the trip to see a bit more of Dubrovnik- I visited the city walls as well as taking the boat across to Lokrum island. It is also worth taking a ferry boat ride to the island of Lupad. I organised a day trip to Montenegro- visits to the Bay of Kotor for wonderful scenery and a good climb along the city walls of Kotor up to the fort is good if you like a challenge but be prepared to race down in time for the pick up time. Budva for wonderful beaches definitely worth visiting again for a longer stay.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip if you like exploring unspoilt places.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Rafik Taibjee

    A great cultural and walking experience

    A brilliant holiday that surprassed my expectations. bosnia is a hidden gem, with amazing mountain scenery, beautiful towns and cities and some fascinating recent history. seeing different faiths and their shared existence was particularly interesting

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved th Maglic Mountain Hike, walking around Mostar at sunset

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samir was a gem - one of the best leaders I've ever had. Charming, thoughtful and most importantly a great ambassador and teacher abotu his country and its history

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    bring some bug spray bring shoes/sandals for white water rafting

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Adam Parker

    Bosnia

    A tour of Bosnia. The countryside is stunning and the cities fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk through the gorge near Sarajevo. the flowers were amazing, the views great and the lunch at the end in the village was really good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lorenc was really good. He was very interesting on local history and everything was really well organised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    we were a bit unlucky with the weather as it rained a lot at the start and the first two days' walking was shortened.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    An excellent trip to a beautiful country with outstanding local guides.  The itinerary provides a good mix of walking in great scenery with time spent exploring the cities of Bosnia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The rafting trip down the Neretva River.  This was my first experience of white water rafting and I found it exhilarating.  The Neretva canyon itself is magnificent - with plenty of rapids punctuated by really peaceful sections between vertical rock walls. The walking in the Sudjeska National Park was a wonderful experience - rocky peaks and grassy hills.  It was so quiet you almost felt that our party had the mountains to ourselves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was simply outstanding - the best guide I have had on any of my trips.  He is extremely knowledgeable about his country and provides a very balanced view of its recent history.  He has a great love for the mountains of Bosnia and is sure to inspire you.  He ensured that all the trip arrangements went smoothly and is an extremely patient guy - despite us probably asking the same questions several times over. During our visit to Bosnia Samer was ably assisted by Srdjan - a tower of strength, whose "Tardis" like rucksack produced flasks of hot water (tea/coffee), biscuits, fruit and all manner of nibbles to keep us going on the walking days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and do not expect gourmet cuisine (especially at the start of the holiday in the first two hotels).  The restaurants in Sarajevo and Mostar are very good, however, and the prices cheap. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book today!