Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

39 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    This trip was a fantastic introduction to both Bosnia & Herzegovina and to Exodus as a travel company. The walking was fabulous - beautiful mountains, forests and flower-filled meadows. It was also an amazing cultural experience - village life in Lukmir, east meets west blend and the evidence of recent conflicts. Great organisation and a tour leader (Samer) and guide (Srdjan) who were helpful and truly passionate about their country made it an experience I will treasure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There's a few highlights - perhaps the best was the Day 4 walk to Maglic peak. Something that I couldn't have completed without a guide. Fabulous views at all stages on the way up and the way back down!Also eating Bosnian pie cooked by one of the villagers in Lukomir - mmm lovely!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is a great ambassador for both his country and Exodus. A fountain of knowledge on Bosnia's geography, history and culture - his commentary gave added richness to the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellant - mosquitoes were abundant in the national park and walking poles are a must on the Maglic walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a fantastic trip for anyone who likes walking but is also interested in history. The fact Bosnia doesnt have a well-developed tourist infrastructure makes it all the more interesting to visit.Plan a trip now before it obtains too much of a 'polish' like the neighbouring Croatia.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    This trip is a great mix of walking and sightseeing, just enough of each for me to totally fall for the beautiful Bosnia and Herzegovina

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wild flower meadows in the Sutjeska National Park were my favourite thing, there aren't many places left like this. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is such a nice man and a great group leader. He knows the area inside out so was able to take us on fabulously scenic walks but was also able to give us lots of interesting information about the history of his country.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bosnia is not the most popular holiday destination but it could be before long! Get yourself there before it gets too busy, it really is totally stunning and it isn't packed with tourists.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    I have just returned from this trip and it was my first with Exodus. Anyone unsure if this is the trip for them all I can say is that I thought that it was excellent. Bosnia Herzegovina is a beautiful country and the guides that accompanied us on this trip were amazing, it was their enthusiasm, expertise and knowledge that really made this holiday so enjoyable.I will return to Bosnia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and peace of the Sutjeska National Park and the sumit of Maglic. You feel as if you have the whole park to yourselves it is so quiet. From a cultural point of view the first drive into Sarajevo was breathtaking and the old part of the city has a fantastic atmosphere.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Samer Hajric and as I mentioned before his friendliness and enthusiasm really made this holiday one to remember.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would strongly advise that you take a walking pole even if you don't usually use them. I don't use them and had to borrow one for the decent of Maglic. Also, pack one pair of long trousers as on the first day of walking you will go through a meadow with long grass and we all suffered from mosquito bites even with the use of insect repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a fantastic holiday which provides a great opportunity to see the beauty of Bosnia and the Sutjeska National Park but also to sample Bosnian culture. I will recommend this holiday to my friends.
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    A great and varied holiday with excellent leadership.Quite a lot of travelling but that enabled us to get to some very beautiful places.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meadows full of wild flowers and butterfliesOld forestsImpressive mountains - and getting to the top of someInteresting old cities

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Helpful, knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb of Maglic has a section that is quite hard and exposed but there are fixed ropes on most of it.Be prepared for drives on very rough roads in Sutjeska National Park

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended if you like quiet places to walk. (The last night in Dubrovnik was a bit of a contrast!)Besides the great walking there was the variety of historical cities to visit
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    One of the best weeks walking in one of the most beautiful countries in the world. Great variety and one of the best leaders.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ascent of Maglic - an exhilarating and challenging mountain day. It had everything - forest, flowered meadows, high rocky mountain, lake, stupendous views.But it doesn't seem right to pick out one day from all the mountains, forests, profusion of flowers and butterflies, visit to the traditional highland village of Lukomir - not to mention the beautiful cities of Sarajevo and Mostar, essential to understanding the country. There was Dubrovnik too - a fascinating place but too many people! History - ancient and modern - is in your face all the time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is a superb leader - this was our second trip with him, having already done the snowshoeing one, and he was a significant factor in our decision to go back to Bosnia. You always feel well guided and well informed on the landscape, wildlife and the history which is so much part of his life.He was ably and very willingly assisted by Srdjan. Two top guys. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!!Better take some insect repellent, the mosquitoes were bad in the Sutjeska National Park, though Samer said that was unusual and caused by a wet spring and early summer. And make sure you're prepared for hot sunny weather, chilly weather and a bit of rain. Just in case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Did I mention that Bosnia is one of the most beautiful countries in the world, the people are some of the friendliest, the walking some of the best, the group leaders some of the best, and anybody with a taste for adventure should go NOW?And by going, perhaps you're doing a little bit to help this leautiful place and these wonderful people move forward after being so tragically torn apart. 
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    Bosnia is a fantastic country - fabulous varied walking, beautiful scenery, great food and super guide. Added bonus was walking with no other walkers on the trails.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scrambling up Maglic and finally getting to the top of Maglic Mountain - a fantastic challenge and experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was a brillant guide very knowledgeable, passionate about his homeland and had a good sense of humour. The biscuits he brought along for our coffee breaks were appreciated!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a very long day going up Maglic Mountain but don't miss it as it's definately not one to miss. I went in September and it was freezing in Bosnia - take warm clothes! Weather very mixed - sun, rain, wind, freezing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Walking in Bosnia & Herezegovina was a wonderful trip. I've done quite a lot of walking trips with Exodus and each year I think the next holiday will never match the previous one but this one did. Read the Cellist of Sarajevo and Beseiged both about Sarajevo.  Best part - seeing the minibus to take us home at the end of a very long 10 hour day up Maglic Mountain! Enjoy the pivo!
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    A beautiful country, friendly people, lots of history, but sadly still showing the ravages of war. If you're looking for quiet hills & mountains, this is the place to go.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cooling off on a very hot day in the Neretva river after walking along the Rakitnica Canyon. A breathtakingly beautiful place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samir was passionate about his country and sharing the amazing places that so few people (including the locals) actually see. He taught us a lot about the culture of the people and how they are coming to terms with rebuilding the country post the war. He also knew how to have a good time.....not that we needed much encouragement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When in Dubrovnic, get up really early to enjoy the old town before the crowds and the heat gets too much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great choice if you want quiet days in the hills and then a little more life in the cities.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    An excellent trip. One of my favourite. It was a great mix of trekking and city exploration.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two points : Getting to the summit of Maglic mountain after a long walk up. The view from the top was truely awesome.Also an evening meal in Mostar overlooking the Iconic bridge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was excellent, as was Emir his assistance. Both were very engaging, helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was concerned about the trip notes description of needing a head for heights. For me, the anticipation was worse than the reality !You really don't get very long at all in Dubrovnik, consider extending the trip by a few days.The Maglic day was a long one. Be prepared for this, especially the last 2 hours of the day which is up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Maglic day, was long, and we didnt start walking until 10am. The trip would be improved by an early start and a picnic breakfast at the start of the hike.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    Varied walks through unspoiled countryside contrasted superbly with the visits to Sarajevo, Mostar and Dubrovnik - a magical mix. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A balmy evening spent in a restaurant terrace overlooking Mostar bridge eating exquisite seafood.A swim in a beautiful lake after a tough nine hour hike.A walk around Dubrovnik's city walls in the early morning before the crowds arrive.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is an inspirational and informative guide with an encyclopaedic knowledge of Bosnia having lived through the recent troubles as a young boy. His optimism for the future and his love of the country is infectious. He is the perfect guide, offering encouragment when the climb seems a bit steep and ensuring all clients stay within their comfor zones.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    August can be (and was for us) very hot - take a good sunhat and plenty of sunscreen and drink lots of water.Enjoy the beers at the end of the day.Be prepared for some quite long minibus transfers between locations. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I visited beautiful Montenegro in February and intend to explore this whole region much more in the next couple of years.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

     A fantastic trip in an amazing country! I really liked the combination of several days walking alongside the opportunity to take in some culture too (Sarajevo is an amazing city). Bosnia and Herzegovina is a really beautiful country and my advice would be to go now before it is spoiled by mass tourism. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had lots of inspirational moments on this trip ranging from reaching the top of Maglic Mountain (Bosnia's highest peak), rafting down the Neretva river, spending time in Sarajevo or just relaxing with the group and a few beers! It was interesting and moving to learn about and see evidence from the recent Balkan war and hear our guides talk about their experiences during this time. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leaders, Alan and Emir, were great. Really well organised, happy to answer questions and make suggestions and their health and safety considerations were impeccable. They made a real effort to help the group bond together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You cannot obtain Bosnian Convertible Marks outside of Bosnia and Herzegovina. I took Euros and changed them at a bank when I arrived. I think it would have been easier just to take Marks from the cash point(s) on arrival. Useful to take some Croatian Kuna for use in Dubrovnik. I would like to have spent a few more days in Dubrovnik. It is worth considering adding a couple of days before or after the trip to see a bit more of this beautiful city.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really reccomend this trip to anyone who is considering it - book it now!