Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

39 Reviews

  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    Bosnia has it all for hill walkers except the crowds.  Walking, nature and history come together in a country of many textures and complexities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Oberving how the Bosnian people have made peace with one another and and sucessfully rebuilt their country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class.  Samer had all the qualities one looks for in guide with some to spare.  The guides overall gave much informaton about Bosnia politics and history as well as the mountains.  The overall feel was very relaxed even on long days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is quite hot in August and not all hotels have air conditioning.  Also lifts are scarce so traveling light is advisable.  The heights mentioned in the trip notes may be overstated.  On the long day, one section was supposed to be challenging concerning drops, but I didn't notice it and I assumed that we went a different route.  Apparently, not!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bosnia is a inexpensive country and mostly unspoilt by tourism.  The hills are impressinve yet very few walkers go there.  Because tourist is underdeveloped, Bosnia has a relaxed feel, where hawkers and high prices are a rarity. 
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA HERZEGOVINA

    A fantastic walking trip in spectacular scenery where you'll most likely meet nobody else, plus the chance for sightseeing in Dubrovnik, Sarajavo & Mostar. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walking is reasonably challenging but the views are exceptional - there are some very long days, some very steep scrambles and one very long steep descent all of which can test you when the temperatures are in the mid to high 30's! (August 2012).  You do need a head for heights at times with a few steep drops.  The ascent of Maglic Mountain (2386m) is a very long day but was fantastic with spectacular views all around, plus the chance of a dip  in Trnovacko Lake (in Montenegro) to cool off about three-quarters of the way round.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Samer Hajri? from Green Visions, a local Bosnian company - he and his assistant Damir were everything that you need from a group leader - always there with information and assistance.  Helpful, polite and enthusiastic - obviously proud Bosnians who love to show people what their country has to offer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As you might expect from this part of the world, the inclusive meals in this trip will be quite baisc and some of the accommodation, whilst clean and tidy, is rather small and basic.There is more travelling on buses throughout the trip than I was expecting - most days involved a bus trip both to and from each day walk of an hour or two, plus the transfer days of course.  The bus trips to walks and back were also on very rough roads, especially in the nataional park.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend that you add on a couple of days (either before or after the trip) so that you can explore Dubrovnik properly as you really don't get much time there at all in the schedule (arrive about 4pm on Friday and depart about 11am on Saturday for the airport) plus the hotel Exodus use is about 15 minutes on the bus/in a taxi from the old city.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    Excellent trip- varied walks and lovely scenery-very caring guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in a beautiful area, a fascinating mix of cultures and such warmth from the people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders first class-Samer was assisted by Dan and nothing was too much trouble for either of them.They projected a kind caring nature and are a credit to their country and Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The waking is not easy in the heat but the walks are excellent and well worth the effort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bosnia is cheaper than most of Europe so the money lasts well. The Sarajevo War Tunnels close at 16.00 so no time to visit unless you miss a walk.Lovely views of the city from the fort-only 10 mins walk from the hotel.Could have done with a little more time in Mostar but the trip went as intineray.Bosnia is like stepping back 30 years -go and enjoy.  Suggest adding a few extra days in Dubrovnik to take in the old city and beaches prior to starting the trip.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    This was one of my best ever Exodus holidays, combining moderately-demanding trekking in beautiful alpine scenery with the culture and emotion of a war-torn nation.  The reviews provided by fellow walkers, Maria and Paula, say it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo broke my heart.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simply the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel breakfasts are in a league of their own - but you'll have to go there to find out why!
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    An excellent trip.  Very good mixture of hiking and sightseeing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the Neretva river - cold but exhilarating. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sameer and Eldar were excellent.  Sameer was always willing to answer my many questions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It would be a good idea to read about the history of the country - as there is much to learn.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You are likely to meet pleasant group members (like we did) because the itinery will probably attract like minded people.
  • Reviewed September 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    An absolutely beautiful country.  The walking was fantastic, very beautiful, sometimes challenging and sometimes the group would be the only people I would see all day.  The trip was well planned with interesting city tours, a variation of walks and the additional rafting day was brilliant. I will definitely be going back to see more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Maglic walk has to be one of the best walks I've ever done.  It was an excellent mix of beautiful scenery, a few challenging moments, a swim in a lake (optional!) and finished with a view of the sun setting over the mountains. One of the most beautiful things I've ever seen!Sarajevo was  also a wonderful place to spend 3 days.  It was nothing like I expected it to be, but it was a lovely city with great food, beautiful buildings and friendly people. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent. Very knowledgeable about the mountains and the history of the country which made the walks and city tours very interesting. He worked well with the group and managed the different range of abilities very well. He was also funny and sociable! I would highly recommend him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read up on some of the history before you go. It gives you an additional perspective if you've got some understanding of the past.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I could not recommend this trip highly enough. If you like walking in beautiful mountains, seeing interesting cities, meeting lovely people and drinking amazing coffee then you should go. I will definitely be going back to see more.
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    I don't often write reviews but this time I felt the need to!! This was the best Exodus holiday I've been on in a while, I loved every minute of it and I could have stayed longer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many great moments including the hike up Maglic which was made extra special by the fantastic weather which made the views spectacular, and our visits to both Sarajevo and Mostar which were made particulary special  by the insights and experiences of our guides. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both of our guides were very professional and showed awareness of the needs of our group members.  They helped to make the trip special, especially as they were prepared to answer all of our questions and share there personal experiences of Bosnia's recent history.  They were knowledgeable and informative about all of our walks and the culture of the area.   I rate them among the best guides I have come across in the 14 years that I have been going on Exodus holidays.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to enjoy yourself whatever the weather!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Of course your fellow travellers can make the difference between an OK experience and great holiday, for me this was a fantastic trip!
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    The perfect combination: i) moderately demanding trekking amid great scenery and ii) the incredible emotion and depth of Bosnia Hezegovina's historical and cultural heritage - not to mention that both Dubrovnik and Mostar are stunningly pretty.   

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo. I'm already thinking of a good reason to go back and I don't even like city breaks.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The team Samer+Alen had the perfect combination of knowledge, skills and temperaments. I enjoyed every second of the time I spent with them and they made the whole trip not only easy, fascinating and (very) safe, but really great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go. This trip has everything (except point to point walks, but the bus rides are never over 1 hour and I ended up enjoying even those - I guess it's all about the company).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thank you to Paula, for being the Perfect Roomate Mate, an inspired singer and really really good company. 
  • Reviewed August 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    I have done a few Exodus holidays in Europe and would actually say that in terms of the scenery and the history of the country it was among the best.  Bosnia is not normally thought of as a holiday destination, but has lots to offer! Also not that many tourists either

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the wildflower meadows was absolutely beautiful and there were lots of butterflies as well if you like nature.There is also lots to see in Sarajevo.  As this was a walking holiday then obviously we had walks organised everyday but it would be nice to go back to visit some of the museums there as unfortunately there was so much to see we did not have enough time.It is amazing to see the resilience of the people of Sarajevo following their recent troubles.  It is difficult to imagine what it must have been like, but the reminders are still there in terms of the damaged ski station etc and the library which is still under repair. Amazing to think as well of the work which has been done rebuilding Mostar including the bridge there which was completely destroyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Samer and Alen were excellent - considerate, informative about their country and enthusiastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In Sutjeska National park there are not always well marked paths as it is not like the Lake District by way of example.  However, it is not a problem if you are used to walking. The scenery is well worth it anyway!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it now!!!!