Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Carole Barlow

    Exceeded our expectations.

    A brilliant trip, combining quieter , less well known areas with the big cities of Amritsar, Delhi and Agra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal at dawn has to be the highlight of the trip but we have so many wonderful memories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this holiday to anyone but try to get a couple of nights in Agra as there is so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus had obviously acted promptly in response to some negative reviews from a previous trip and had changed a couple of the hotels. They also responded magnificently when Jet Airways cancelled our return flight with less than 24 hours notice. They booked us new flights within the hour and we arrived home just a couple of hours later than scheduled.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jules McKittrick

    Awesome trip

    This trip packed in a lot in the confines of a two-week itinerary! I really liked the variety of the trip - the first half takes you to less touristy places, such as Garli, Mandi. Even at the Golden Temple I felt like we were the only non-Indian visitors, and that made it very special. A stop in the home town of the Dalai Lama was made even more special by actually seeing him at his home - this was due to a well timed visit to the temple. Agra and Delhi are crazy busy places and not for the faint-hearted! But again a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the incredible logistical exercise of feeding the masses at the Golden Temple - even joined in with a bit of chapati making!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There was a great joint-effort between our guide, Sonham, and our two drivers. Anil, one of the drivers, went completely out of his way to look after us. His driving skills were quite something - especially the navigation around Delhi and some of the mountain roads. I have no idea how he did it but kept us safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip if you want to get a bit away from the big attractions of northern India (but a nice bonus at the end of the trip with the Taj Majal).
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Lesley Wilkinson

    Misrepresented

    An extremely disappointing trip. Several places we should have visited were closed on the days we were there because of change to itinerary (why was this not checked out?) Distances travelled on some days were much longer than stated in trip notes. Not sure whether it was due to drivers getting lost or road, we weren't told. Drove for hours without being given any information on areas we were travelling through. Did not see anything of Mandi as we did not arrive there until after 6 pm. Hotel there was filthy. Some of the other hotels were not much better; SIlverine in Shimla was unheated and extremely cold, even public areas and restaurant. Sat in jackets etc for breakfast and dinner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Evening visit to the Golden Temple. Visit to Dalai Lama's temple.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was pleasant enough but lacked both enthusiasm and knowledge of places visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book a different tour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have been on previous trips with both Exodus and other companies, which were excellent. Some of these have been to remote areas of developing countries, so we were not expecting 5 star treatment. Considering the cost of the trip this has to be the worst experience with any company we have travelled with.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lesley, Sue, Tony and Rob for their reviews, although we are very sorry that they were so disappointed with the trip on which they travelled together.  We regret that this departure did not live up to our normal high standards and we have taken their feedback on board with immediate effect; their leader will no longer guide for us and the availability of activities has been reviewed.  The standard of accommodation on this tour is not to the same level as is found in other areas of India given that the trip travels to less touristic locations where there are fewer accommodation options available, but the hotels have also been reviewed to ensure that we are using the best properties available to us.

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sue Dean

    Exodus needs to do better

    Overall this was such a disappointing trip. Highlights - Golden temple in Amritsar; Wagah border ceremony; optional excursion to Taj Mahal; Viceroy toy train from Shimla to Kalka. Hotels - four out of the seven we stayed in were below an acceptable standard and were barely acceptable. In particular the Hotel Raj Mahal in Shimla was filthy and cockroach infested. Others were very cold, damp and smelled of drains. The other three hotels and the homestay were satisfactory. I felt that as a single traveller sharing a room I was often given the worst rooms in hotels and asked for room changes on three occasions. Itinerary - uninteresting for the most part although it sounded very interesting on paper. We were unable to visit several places as they were always closed on those particular days. Travel time between hotels was grossly inaccurate and we spent many more hours travelling than was scheduled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden temple at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was polite and helpful however his diction was sometimes difficult to understand and he did not demonstrate a real passion for the role and his culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book this trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did not come to this holiday as a naive Westerner who was expecting Western standards. I have previously travelled in India so knew what to expect. The tour did not offer value for money and is grossly overpriced. The standard of hotels was overall completely unacceptable for the price of the holiday and were more akin to backpacking hostels.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lesley, Sue, Tony and Rob for their reviews, although we are very sorry that they were so disappointed with the trip on which they travelled together.  We regret that this departure did not live up to our normal high standards and we have taken their feedback on board with immediate effect; their leader will no longer guide for us and the availability of activities has been reviewed.  The standard of accommodation on this tour is not to the same level as is found in other areas of India given that the trip travels to less touristic locations where there are fewer accommodation options available, but the hotels have also been reviewed to ensure that we are using the best properties available to us.

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony White

    Disappointing

    This tour has all the makings of something special, but fails to deliver. Amritsar and Golden Temple fantastic, Partition Museum shut and if you want to visit the Wagah Border ceremony, then it will need arranging and cost extra ( why is it not included?). Rushed visit to Mcleodganj, staying in Citrus Hotel which needs a thorough deep clean ( dirty, unchanged sheets and filthy pillows). Andretta homestay pleasant although very wet and cold, pottery shut. So what is there to do there? Long day travel to Mandi; didn't see anything of the town and it's "80 temples". Group ate in Raj Mahal Palace; 50% I'll following day. Rooms dirty and bathrooms filthy. Drop this hotel from the itinerary! Shimla is highlight of the mountains and was as good as expected, although the weather was very cold and wet. Unfortunately Silverine Hotel is not heated, so wet clothes need drying out in front of 2 bar electric fire supplied on request. Shimla Toy Train a great experience. Overall, the poor hotels and some long uncomfortable days on the road dragged down the overall ambience of the tour. Finally, the constant noise, dirt, poverty and litter take over one's senses. India will sink under its own litter problem, which is piled everywhere. I have done extensive tours around the world, most of them a wonderful cultural experience. This, alas, is not one of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden Temple, Dalai Lama Temple, Himalayan views, Shimla.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not the inspirational leader that other tours have had. Arranged transport and meals ok, but limited information and descriptions in many locations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This tour is overpriced for the standard of hotels offered and content. Entry fees to the 50% of museums that weren't shut are cheap in India. This is mid-priced tour that provides some very sub-standard accomodation. Advice; try another tour.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lesley, Sue, Tony and Rob for their reviews, although we are very sorry that they were so disappointed with the trip on which they travelled together. We regret that this departure did not live up to our normal high standards and we have taken their feedback on board with immediate effect; their leader will no longer guide for us and the availability of activities has been reviewed. The standard of accommodation on this tour is not to the same level as is found in other areas of India given that the trip travels to less touristic locations where there are fewer accommodation options available, but the hotels have also been reviewed to ensure that we are using the best properties available to us.

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Rob Gilbert

    Mountains temples and hill stations

    The highlight of this trip was the golden temple Amritsar and Taj Mahal, of which i had to pay 140 euro extra to do this...hotels in most places were below standards with filthy bed linen, mould, no heat, hanging wall sockets galore..as i was single supplement, it seems i got the raw deal in most places we stayed....mandi hotel, maharaja palace, should be dropped from this tour....worst place ever!! Asif was pleasant tour guide who did his best to keep things going but with programme changes and making alternatives, proved difficult. All in all, a very disappointing trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting golden temple and Taj Mahal, which i had already seen before

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was a good guy who tried his best to please a lot of grumpy tourists who felt they were not getting what they signed up for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yea like the previous lady said on her review early 2019....dont do this trip

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lesley, Sue, Tony and Rob for their reviews, although we are very sorry that they were so disappointed with the trip on which they travelled together.  We regret that this departure did not live up to our normal high standards and we have taken their feedback on board with immediate effect; their leader will no longer guide for us and the availability of activities has been reviewed.  The standard of accommodation on this tour is not to the same level as is found in other areas of India given that the trip travels to less touristic locations where there are fewer accommodation options available, but the hotels have also been reviewed to ensure that we are using the best properties available to us.

     

    Kashka Lantis - Product Manager for India

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Sue Butcher

    Disappointing

    Sadly I can not recommend this trip. The guides we had were not up to Exodus standard and often no local knowledge. I came home with little new knowledge of Indian history, culture or customs. The transport was dangerous and uncomfortable The hotels were of a poor standard and at times filthy dirty The trip notes do not give a realistic impression of the amount of travelling undertaken, often for little reward. Eg “drive through a tea plantation” which we did with no explanation, stopping or photo opportunity! And frequently arriving at our destination late There was often no choice over where we could eat our evening meals due to the isolation of the hotels a fixed dinner was often only available at a fixed price

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the rural mountain women The of beauty of the golden temple ar Amritsar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not enough knowledge or experience. Anxious

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t go on this trip
  • Reviewed November 2018
    sue hodgson

    Northern India

    A wonderful trip exploring Northern India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the orphanage in McCleod Ganj. Golden Temple, Amritsar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonam was a very organised group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local guides, supporting Sonam, were not of the usual Exodus standard.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Dave Butterworth

    A pleasurable assault on one's senses....

    A crazy, exciting and fascinating trip to Northern India. The trip was amazing, full of surprises, and took us into lesser known areas and small villages.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights and so many experiences, ranging from Kulfa ice-cream brought to our hotel one day, to advice on the best place to purchase a singing prayer bowl, to a visit to see His Holiness the Dalailama.....and loads more too! Much of the trip was off the beaten track and I felt we were honoured to be able to meet some truly lovely people at various places en-route, including at a Tibetan children's orphanage and a village with it's own health centre, recycling project, and support for women.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Phillippa, has, along with her family, lived in India for many years and consequently has acquired a wealth of knowledge and contacts, which assured us of a very full experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is described as leisurely...it is however "full-on", with some very early starts on occasions. Overall, a fantastic, rewarding experience not to be missed! Dave

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go there! You won't regret it!
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Roslyn Hayles

    Mountains,Temples and Mystics

    A fantastic trip which covered so many religions, landscapes and local rituals. An off the beaten yrack tour with a lot to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Definitely The Golden Temple in Amritsar closely followed by the Delai Lamas temple in McCleod Ganj.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Phillippa was fantastic. Her knowledge of the area was outstanding. She was always helpful and organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip. You won't regret it.6
Call us on 020 8772 3936