Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

68 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Jordan's desert is more beautiful than I could ever imagined. A highlight was visiting Petra on Good Friday and being escorted on our own away from the crowds around this amzing site for almost 3 hours!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing 800 steps, rounding the corner and glimpsing The Monastery in Petra for the first time in the late afternoon sun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, passionate, proud and perfect. Zuhair was outstanding.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Drink enough water. Take a decent hat. The scrambling is great fun but both of knees need to work properly. You can still do virtually all the climbing and opt out of the stone bridge traverse (NOT recommended if you do  not have a head for heights). If you are over 6 foot, you wont fit into a tent. The 3/4 season sleeping bag they said I could borrow on site was more like a one-season. Take thermals and a hat to sleep out of the tent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful trip. I am so glad I went and feel blessed with the group we had and the leader we were fortunate to get. Many thanks
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A sensational, well balanced and well thought-out trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the starry skies in the desert. I know that will sound odd on a trip that took it the magnificent sights of Petra but, most of all, I enjoyed the quiet peacefulness of the desert.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Zuhair and he was very good. He kept everything running smoothly and possesses a wealth of knowledge about his country and the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    (1) Because a lot of other reviewers had pointed out that sand gets in your boots I took and wore gaiters every day and that was very effective in preventing that particular problem. (2) Even if you're somewhat afraid of heights (as I am), make the effort to steel yourself to walk across the the natural rock bridge at Jebel Burdah ("the arch of Burdah"). (3) Learn some short stories! If you are fortunate enough to have Zuhair as your group leader he will regale you with stories and folk tales over the camp fire. It would have been nice if we could have returned the favour but we couldn't come up with anything remotely as in-depth or entertaining.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly enjoyed this trip and there were no siginificant negatives at all (well, apart from the chaotic arrival at Amman airport which is beyond Exodus's control). I would recommend this trip to anyone with reasonably good levels of health and fitness (you don't need to be an athlete or endurance hiker). The Jordanian people are lovely - very friendly and welcoming. I was especially fortunate to be with a very nice, good-natured group of fellow travellers and that made an already great holiday even better.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip to anyone with a sense of adventure. Jordan is an ideal introduction to the Middle East, it feels perfectly safe and the people are extremely helpful. The Wadi Rum itself has much more variety than I had imagined. This trip covers around 60km on foot, but feels relaxed and easy paced, which is ideal for people of all abilities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up to the Jebel Burdah rock bridgeSleeping outside under the starsThe evening camp firesThe feeling of open spaceEverything about Petra (except the donkeys!)The hospitality of ordinary Jordanians

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saalah was an excellent leader, who was constantly helpful and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take several pairs of trousers, as you'll ruin a pair on the descent from Jebel BurdahDon't worry about the lack of facilities when camping in the Wadi Rum, it all makes the Turkish Bath in Petra more enjoyableTake plenty of  warm clothing as it gets cold in the Wadi Rum at night, and don't forgot a head torchTake an astronomy guide, as the night sky is amazing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go to Jordan for a holiday you won't forget.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip. Great desert and rock scenery on the Wadi Rum trek. Ruins of Petra were a lot bigger and more spectacular than I was expecting. Jordan felt a lot safer than I had been expecting, given the troubles in surrounding countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the desert in bloom. (the recently ended rainy season meant that there were carpets of flowers across the desert sands).Climbing to the rock arch on Jebel Burdah. Best views of the trip and a bit of an adrenalin kick if like me you haven't got the best head for heights!The first candle lit views  of the Treasury at Petra on the (optional) night visit.Seeing President Obama, though I expect Exodus won't be able to repeat this experience on future trips! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader (Salah) and support staff were all very friendly and efficient at their jobs, and ensured the trip ran like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wear a new pair of trousers on the climb up Jebel Burdah - over a third of our group ended up with rips in their trousers from the rock.The scramble up Jebel Burdah is  probably at the upper end of the challenging grade, but is only a few hours duration, and is well worth the effort.The wild camping described in the trip notes isn't as wild as we thought - a Portaloo followed us around for the week, and there were always comfy cushions to sit on for breakfast and dinner. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A good trip that I would definitely recommend.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A very good trip to a fine (and safe) country. Give Jordan a try. The surrounding countries may be volatile but it is very different. Great walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up early on the last morning in Wadi Rum. Sitting on a huge boulder just outside the camp. Watching the rising sun ligfht up the rocky hills on the other side of the valley. A hot air balloon rising into the cloudless sky farther down the valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Salah did a very professional job. Always helpful with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The descent from the Burdah rock arch involved interesting scrambling which was extremely destructive of several pairs of trousers!!A good hat is also vital to ward off the ever present sun. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Wadi Rum is a huge area, with a great sense of space. Wide sandy valleys interspersed by hundreds of impressive rocky peaks (jebels). When scrambling on the rock the friction is superb.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Hot but workable days, spectacular landscape, great group of folk to trek with. Good fun setting up camp, gathering wood, eating great food and chatting till weariness dragged us to our tents and sleeping bags.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra has to be the most a inspiring end to any trek but the nights under the stars were unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader had a difficult job with an over excited group of widely different ages but managed brilliantly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good light pair of boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an easy trek so don't be put off. As a build up to the visit to Petra this is a must. Hot days but wonderful nights around the camp fire. Camping is basic but you are well looked after. If it all gets too much or blisters break out then a day in the 4x4 will restore spirits.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This was my first trekking holiday and it was a fantastically fulfilling experience. It was very well organised and I will definitely be looking to travel with Exodus again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tackling the climb up Burdah was a quite a challenge but the detailed guidance and encouragement given by our leader ensured that we all got up safely. The thrill of crossing the Arch of Burdah, (albeit on my hands and knees!) made the effort well worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Saleh, our leader was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, considerate, immensely encouraging and always had a massive smile and great sense of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The scramble up and down Burdah required a fair bit of pulling on rock and a pair of gloves would help protect hands.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Exodus strapline of 'feel more alive' is certainly true - I'm still buzzing!
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A very enjoyable holiday with a good cross section of people. The biggest surprise was the weather which was a lot hotter than anticipated for November.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoyed the ascent of the Bridge at Burdah and my first experience of a Turkish Bath.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Had every confidence in the leader who was always helpful with a good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for hot weather in November and remember the sunscreen. It was still warm at night. Wet wipes are probably the most useful things for camping in the desert! There is no need to carry much water as the back-up system from the jeeps was excellent and ensured that we always had plenty of water. Don't underestimate the difficulty of walking in soft sand and expect to have to empty your boots of sand on a regular basis!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found the "Petra at Night" a big disappointment. Most of the time was taken up walking in and out to the site but the "show" if you can call it that was the biggest let down I have ever experienced.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A really top-notch trip with adventure, fun, camraderie and a good laugh.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Camping out under the stars in the desert and being woken by the gentle breeze, only to gaze up and see the milky way right above us int he night sky.2. Seeing Petra  lit only with candlelight and a lone Jordanian musician  the only thing breaking the silence. 3. The overwhelming kindness of the Jordanian people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was called Salah, and he really made our trip. He tirelessly gave us opportunities for new experiences, and showed us kindness and thoughtfullness throughout our trip. Even towards the end he went out of his way to ensure we had a great time. We really couldnt have asked for anything more from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Take a sunhat2. Have a couple of days in Amman at the end 3. Definitely have a turkish bath

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really recommend this trip to my friends. And I would also recommend Exodus, for their professionalism and excellent customer service. Even when we had a 3am transfer booked to go to the airport on the way home, we were confident it was going to turn up (as has often not happened with other companies). I know of at least one person who has booked this trip for september after hearing we were doing it, and im glad that spreading the word has helped another person share int he experience.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    If you are thinking about getting away from the tourist trail and really experiencing the desert, the dramatic views and are willing to walk - this is the trek for you.  The scenery was amazing, the night skies beautiful, the rock bridge exhilarating and Petra inspirational. Jordan is a lovely country, very welcoming, friendly people, fantastic food, lots to offer and definately worth visiting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to narrow down to just one moment - the walk down the Siq to Petra was amazing; I had no idea of the sheer size of the site. The desert views were probably my most inspirational memories - every view was dramatic and beautiful, the way the same view could change with varying light was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fantastic. He was welcoming, friendly - made such efforts to ensure everyone was comfortable and was great at organising any help for our individual onward journeys if required. He had a sense of humor and was fun to be around. He had excellent knowledge of the history and facts about everywhere we visited, and was very enthusiastic to show us around.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip with Exodus was so well organised, our trip went like clockwork - we had everything we could need (within reason!!) during the desert trek and we felt safe and well looked after the whole entire time we were there. A really memorable and fantastic trip.