Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

68 Reviews

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A well organised holiday in a wonderful country This trip combines a great mix from free camping, desert walking and rock climbing to time on Moses Mountain and the splendor of Petra by day and night

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My over riding memory was when we striked camp on the last morning in Wadi Rum Our two man support team had once again balanced all the mattresses, luggage, food, water, mint tea kettle (vital) on the trusty vehicle in a matter of minutes and we walked out with a camel train and a feral dog for company. Friendships had been forged quickly coupled with exercise, good food and the freedom to be a grub! It was the complete contrast to life back home and a heady liberating feeling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Salah was superb. He kept a close eye on everyone and the days unfolded with a relaxed unrushed feel. Salah offered daily options regarding start times and optional activities and arranged the most delicious group meals in Petra and Amman. He shared such pride in both his family, culture and country which has left me wanting to understand more about The Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You can never have too many baby wipes! High factor sun screen and well worn in pair of walking boots. The evening camp fire chats always included comparisons of blisters and with 6 Drs in our group there were many opinions regarding treatment!! The trip includes excellent food and access to free bottled water whilst in the desert. There are always plenty of opportunities to fill up water carriers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great trip and a good introduction to the desert environment There's always a support vehicle nearby if you develop wobbly legs and need a ride into camp There's no pressure in taking the additional extras but I would recommend Petra by night and the Turkish bath, you come out squeaky clean!!! Thank you Exodus for another wonderful adventure
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A fantastic trip that managed to strike a good balance between wilderness experience and creature comforts. A range of activities that provided a good introduction to travelling in Jordan and the Middle East and left us hungry for more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra by night is an experience not to be missed. No matter how many guidebooks you read nothing really prepares you for the splendour of this ancient city.Evenings spent by the fire out in the desert provided a real escape from modern life and provided excellent oportunities to reflect and recharge after a days trekking through spectacular scenery. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Salah was fantastic! Friendly and professional with a real passion for his country which he managed to share with us all. He was an excellent ambassador for Exodus and for Jordan. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are even slightly tempted by this holiday - book it!! If you can spare the time then a couple of extra days at the end of the trip to explore Amman and visit the Dead Sea are highly recommended. Exodus were able to arrange accommodation and flights that allowed us to do this and it was well worth it.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Fantastic trip. Trekking through the Wadi Rum, sleeping under the stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scrambling up to the arch of Burdah in the Wadi Rum, challenging but had fantastic views. Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great. Random camel stories..

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Appropriate footwear, a good book, possibly a star chart when staring at the night sky. Be prepared for slight chaos when departing from Amman airport - will take longer than you think.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One day in Petra is just not enough.
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Trekking the Wadi Rum was amazingPetra is a must see 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trek was the highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good knowledge of the history of Jordan and the bedouin culture.Very enthusiastic and always a nice story to tell 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I just can recommend this trip.Maybe stay an extra day at Petra  
  • Reviewed May 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This is the trip for anyone wanting to get away from it all for a few days - no mobile phone signal, no Internet, no pollution in the desert and back to basics!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars in the desert, after a satisfying dinner sitting round the campfire, and well-deserved after a few hours of walking and scrambling! Spending the days eating, walking and napping when it was too hot to walk around lunchtime. Standing on any three of the Rock Bridges we climbed up to. Walking up to the Monastery in Petra. A Bedouin turning up at the camp with a gigantic keyboard and staging a little party for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danny was a walking history book (in a good way!) and knew everything anyone would ever want to know about Jordan. My favourite were his amazing (and according to him, 100% true) camel stories he told us around the campfire at night.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have a dust allergy, take lots of tissues and some anti-histamines! Take a few days before or after the trip to go to the Dead Sea - it's really close to Amman and pretty much on the way back from Petra.
  • Reviewed April 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    I was nervous going into the trip -- it was my first trekking experience. I was nervous about bugs, no showers, sleeping outside, difficulty of trek, everything!Within hours of the start of the trekk, my nervous dissappeared and I couldn't help but have an amazing wonderful time. I didn't want the trip to end. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was a day of "scambling", so minor rock climbing up the mountain. Everyone had different levels of experience and it was great seeing everyone work together and cheer each other on to make it up and down the mountain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a really decent guy. He was authentic and told it to you straight. He had great insights into the Bedouin people and their history and wasn't afraid to share stories, opinions, and songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring wetwipes! You won't even notice the lack of showers ;)
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    An unforgettable experience - great food, easy to traverse terrain and breathtaking scenery.  Snow in Amman and then frost on the desert sand and hailstone at Petra were unexpected pleasures.A must do!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The breathtaking scenery.  The vastness of Wadi Rum, followed by the intricate detail of the carvings at Petra.Both provided a sense of freedom with the comfort of being supported by the team who moved around the kitchen, tents, bags and bedding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Approachable, outgoing and fun loving who, at the same time, ensured the needs of the group were met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it but do take note of the recommended kit list.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip and, I had taken a gamble by booking 3 in advance.  Now I can't wait for the next one.  Of course, it's also your fellow travellers who make a holiday what it is.  The group leader and the environment certainly contributed in bringing us all together but I was fortunate to have been joined by some lovely people and we were all lucky to be supported by a great team at and between each camp.
  • Reviewed March 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    It was a great holiday in a fantastic country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking down to Petra early in the morning before the tourists and walking around the Wadi Rum as the sun comes up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was enthusiastic and enjoyed bringing everyone into the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember that at this time of year it can be not only cold but wet as well. We even had snow and frost. You will also need to bring more cash to pay the tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please review your advice how much cash to take because it was considerably more than you suggested especially to the Bedouin.
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A stunning trip with a great crowd

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many maybe seeing  the deserts and the jebels bathed in moonlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair a credit to Exodus his  family and his country .The marshmallows he produced one evening whilst regaling us with tales of bad camels and their masters was almost straight out 1001 Arabian Nights

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sleep under the stars and dream on
  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This was a stunning week.  Well organised and supported throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing desert scenery.   Sleeping outside under the stars.    Stories around the campfire.   Scrambling up to Burdah rock bridge.   Lovely food and plenty of it.     The ancient city of Petra with its magnificent facades. Excellent group of people to listen to, walk with, laugh with, and be inspired by.   The Bedouin who looked after us with great attentiveness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Zuhair - we were his "tribe" and he was our Tribe Father!   Zuhair was lovely, a real family man who looked after us, kept us right, told us many tales of long ago, and generally made our whole trip a great success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The organisation of the week was excellent, so you just need to make sure you have personal things you need: moist face/body wipes are great, and a flat toilet tissue pack is nifty.  Hair washing not necessary - after 4 days everyone's hair is a bit messy - just wear a hat/scarf.  You might like to take a  small travel pillow, but thick foam sleeping mats are provided and are very comfortable.   The food is plentiful and yummy, but if you think you might run out of steam, take one or two muesli bars.  (I took some but didn't use them)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Walking in Wadi Rum is on the flat, but walking in soft sand is slow and can be tiring.  Scrambling up Jebel Burdah is not technical, and not exposed until the final part, where you can sit and watch others if you must, but that would be a shame.  There are local people guiding to give you a pull or push if you find a step too high.  Ladies - I took a FUD (Shewee/Whiz) but didn't actually use it as there are places you can "wee" in the desert without any onlookers.  If you decide to take one, be sure to practise first!!  There aren't any washing machines in the desert!!If you are unsure about this trip - do go for it.   It is a wonderful experience, and you will be well looked after.