Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

69 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    This was a stunning week.  Well organised and supported throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing desert scenery.   Sleeping outside under the stars.    Stories around the campfire.   Scrambling up to Burdah rock bridge.   Lovely food and plenty of it.     The ancient city of Petra with its magnificent facades. Excellent group of people to listen to, walk with, laugh with, and be inspired by.   The Bedouin who looked after us with great attentiveness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Zuhair - we were his "tribe" and he was our Tribe Father!   Zuhair was lovely, a real family man who looked after us, kept us right, told us many tales of long ago, and generally made our whole trip a great success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The organisation of the week was excellent, so you just need to make sure you have personal things you need: moist face/body wipes are great, and a flat toilet tissue pack is nifty.  Hair washing not necessary - after 4 days everyone's hair is a bit messy - just wear a hat/scarf.  You might like to take a  small travel pillow, but thick foam sleeping mats are provided and are very comfortable.   The food is plentiful and yummy, but if you think you might run out of steam, take one or two muesli bars.  (I took some but didn't use them)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Walking in Wadi Rum is on the flat, but walking in soft sand is slow and can be tiring.  Scrambling up Jebel Burdah is not technical, and not exposed until the final part, where you can sit and watch others if you must, but that would be a shame.  There are local people guiding to give you a pull or push if you find a step too high.  Ladies - I took a FUD (Shewee/Whiz) but didn't actually use it as there are places you can "wee" in the desert without any onlookers.  If you decide to take one, be sure to practise first!!  There aren't any washing machines in the desert!!If you are unsure about this trip - do go for it.   It is a wonderful experience, and you will be well looked after. 
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Spectacular, mesmerising, sublime! Nothing can really prepare you for the peace and tranquility that walking in this beautiful and varied desert landscape brings. Wadi Rum captures your heart and senses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Unexpectadly the scenery and terrain is so varied and different at every corner that walking alll day is a joy. The choice is yours, hang out with the group or be solitary and walk at your own pace till the next shade and sweet herbal tea break - of which there are many - for everyone to catch up. This stunning and quiet landscape can't help but make you feel at one with nature and yourself. Wild camping is brilliant and a must experience for anyone in the desert. Lying on your back with the sky above a blanket of glittering, shooting stars. In late April the nights were so warm that a sleeping bag was more than cosy. In fact every night we would all individually wander off to find a perfect place to bed down and get some privacy of sorts. Log fires and incredibley delicious and fresh food (hummous, tomatoe salads, bread, lamb stews, halva...yum), tea, and as much water as you could drink kept us all happily satiated. On one night some musicians came to play their local instruments and sing folk songs by the fire. On another day we walked to a caravan of camels and were welcomed into Bedoiun tents with tea.Perhaps the only tough day was climbing up to the arch of Burdah - a rock bridge across a canyon. Pretty precipitous in parts, with everyone helping each other and relying heavily on the strength and guidance of the local Bedoiun leaders. By the time we made it back down 4 people had ripped there trousers, one so badly the leader took his sweatshirt off to cover an indescently exposured derriere!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair was kind, patient, very knowledgeabe and above all really helpful from start to finnish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take loads of baby wipes (biodegradeable) to keep yourself clean and un-smelly for all those nights of not washing! Lots of Sumcream (was in mid 30C in the day) and some SPF lip salve. A head torch (Petzl are good ones) is pretty useful at night when your are trying to locate your toothbrush. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is up there in the top three of my most memoreable holiday experiences. The dessert is beguiling. Loved it and would happily do it all over again.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A fantastic 5 days, with great support from Zohair, our guide, and his friendly team.  The nights spent under the stars in the stunning scenery of Wadi Rum were very special, and the spectacular walk through the hills around Petra gave us the best way in and showed us so much more. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping on a rocky ledge surrounded by amazing rock scenery and with spectacular views - the best bedroom we've ever slept in!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zohair was not just a good guide but a good conversationalist, providing interesting perspectives on Jordan and the Middle East

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like mountains and desert, Wadi Rum is one of the very best - make sure you sleep under the stars
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    I have been on this trip before, as had one other in the group: I think this says more than any number of 'fantastics' and 'wonderfuls'.  The peace and the space and the stars are balm for the soul; the sand, rock formations and skies make you stop and stare; Petra is deservedly a new seventh wonder of the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finally crossing the rock bridge on Mount Burdah.  I have tried to cross it before, but had vertigo: this time I made it across!  This was my high-light.  The rest was just business as usual on the amazing scale.  I forgot to add: a dog attached herself to the group and escorted us for the whole five days in Wadi Rum.  By the end of of the trip she was our pin-up, appeared in most photographs and had a new name (Wadi) even though we suspect she is fickle and joins most trips :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lovely and professional.  Khaled was very knowledgeable about his country, the history, Wadi Rum, etc.  He paid attention to everyone in the group and did little extras that made all the difference e.g. one night around the campfire he produced a bag of marchmallows for toasting. I appreciated the efforts he made to ensure I had vegetarian food (no mean feat).  The best group leader I've had with Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip - it is my favourite.
  • Reviewed November 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Great trip - some hairy moments climbing back down from the Rock bridge but I wouldn't change anything.Zohair our guide looked after us very well and was an essential part of a fantastic experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sleeping under the stars, sun sets, clear skies without light pollution in Wadi Rum, seeing Petra from a great height rather than with the crowds. Meeting the Bedouin people - often smiling.Getting to know a great group of people on the trip and sharing our experiences with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep a close eye on your luggage, some of ours went on the wrong tour bus, it was returned within 20 mins though. Also if you are taking connecting flights luggage seems to easily go astray if there is a short time between connections. Take warm clothes for evenings around the camp fire ( early November ).It's well worth having the Turkish bath in Petra especially after four days in the Dessert without a shower!!I brought a large camping towel but didn't use it, body/wet wipes are all you need really. Take a buff scarf or two, I used mine every day.There is plenty of food and I found that it wasn't necessary to take energy bars etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Remember to budget for tips, this covered the bus drivers, cook, Bedouin staff and group leader.
  • Reviewed October 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Someone had said to me before I went to Jordan that I would fall in love with Jordan and I have to say after my trip there I have. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking and camping in the desert for four nights. The tranquility, scenery, group, food and nights round the campfire will stay with me forever as will Zain with his hubbly bubbly! Mastering the art of putting up a tent!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hasan was a wonderful guide and did everything to make sure all of us in the group enjoyed our trip.Hasan has so much knowledge and passion about his country. His stories round the campfire kept us all amused.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wet wipes! Ankle support walking boots are also a must due to one of our group getting injured due to boots with no ankle support.  If you're a clean freak that can't cope without a shower for four days then this trip isn't for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I miss the desert so much and want to go back, I could easily spend a week there. Loved the camel ride (a must). Food was fantastic thanks to Zain's cooking skills. Miss the cake every morning for breakfast.
  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    The best part was at Petra: first by night and then "round the back from above".. but other highlights included sleeping under the stars, sunrise and sunset in the desert, just missing a sandstorm and ripping my shorts climbing down a steep rocky cliff. It was a taxing walk but really enjoyable and everyone was very pleasant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very interesting and well organised man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wet wipes are important

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Water is always important
  • Reviewed February 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    A great trip, the scenery in Wadi rum is incredible and Petra is a place everyone should see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the spectacular scenery of Wadi rum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was Amer's first trekking group with Exodus, a very friendly and easy-going leader. He also had an encyclopedic knowledge of the area and it's history & traditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't see running water for 4 days and the toilet facilities are, um, primitive. Take wet-wipes, anti-bacterial hand gel and a good sense of humour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trekking, scenery and oppertunity to sleep out under the stars are fantastic but it's not really a "wilderness camping" experience. Camping is in very small two-man tents (We were able to sleep out) and there's a fair amount of 4x4 traffic around. If a more traditional "Bedouin" type experience is what you're after you should look at the "Sahara desert trek" (TMU): kit goes on camels, bread is baked in an open fire every day and you sleep in a traditional Bedouin open tent.
  • Reviewed January 2011
    Anonymous

    PETRA & WADI RUM TREK

    Petra was the magnet that drew me to going on this trip. It was sensational. Much larger than I had expected and so full of atmosphere. An experience I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In the evening, as we lay by the camp fire, looking up at the stars, waiting for a shooting star to fly past, the guide would tell us stories about Moses and his people as they wandered through this actual desert looking for a home. It was a living history lesson. And then of course there were the adventures of Lawrence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An eccentric character that was very easy going. This worried some of the people on the walk

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A relatively easy and throughly enjoyable walk. There is plenty of support and a vehicle is always on hand just in case.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It a very friendly and welcoming country.