Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lawrence Wheeler

    Northern India Food Adventure, a fantastic experience

    A trip which far exceeded my expectations. It was a last-minute, almost rushed decision to travel but was worth every bit of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments. Highlights were of course the Taj Mahal but also the totally unexpected Old Palace in Karauli, which was absolutely beautiful. Other inspirational moments: observing the religious celebration in the Sikh temple in Delhi and also at the OLd Palace (Hindu). Very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Beyond excellent! Atul was the perfect tour leader: the most pleasant person, totally organised, knowledgeable about everything we saw, accommodating if plans had to be changed. I couldn't fault him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!! You won't regret it, I can assure you. Take full part in the cooking classes, they are great fun and hosted by lovely people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just one thing. In the Trip Notes it says that on leaving India you should change your rupees back into sterling before going through security. I discovered that that is not the case because in the Duty Free Shop prices are quoted and billed directly in rupees.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Tanya Mitchell

    Memorable

    Such a memorable trip, from the food, sights and friends we met. Our guide Manni was so brilliant, funny and organised. From the Taj Mahal which was breathtaking to the street food, every step of the trip was just great, we loved every minute! The food demonstrations have had a positive influence since we have returned- what more can I say!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal and the palace at Karouli, breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Manni was brilliant, he had lots of history and background information wherever we went. A lovely guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy every minute, be adventurous and try the streetfood!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Helen Jones

    A wonderful hectic tour

    In February the weather in Northern India is just right for a British tourist! This tour packed in numerous cultural and historical sights along with an (optional) visit to a school for children with disabilities, visits to Hindu temples during services and a stroll through a small town. The Bollywood movie (Rangoon) was so enjoyable that we stayed to the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Tah Mahal was glorious. As February mornings in the region are chilly and misty, we visited in the afternoon. I hadn't expected it to be such an emotional experience. The Karauli City Palace was astonishing too - I won't forget standing on the roof surveying the palace, town and region.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unni was very knowledgeable, keen to share his knowledge (and opinions) and was mindful of our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to go shopping, you need to seize any opportunities. The trip notes mention handicraft shopping in Agra and Jaipur but there was virtually no time at all!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was surprised that no unfamiliar vegetables (like you see piled up outside Indian stores in the UK) were featured in any of the cooking classes or restaurant meals - but it was clear from driving past market stalls that they weren't in season. The ubiquitous red carrots were great!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Joann Spivey

    Trip is too busy.

    The trip has all the highlights of the golden triangle with the addition of seeing tigers in the wild. There is too much packed into 8 days. The tour needs to be 10 days so that there is a little independent time. For a premium tour the accommodation was disappointing. I have travelled with Exodus before and did not find the accommodation any better than a standard tour, hotels were often old and dirty. For a food tour it would be good to include a cooking class to really learn about the spices. We had a disappointing tour leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a tiger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unni was hard to like. It was very obvious he had not done this tour before. He got everything done but he tended to repeat himself and often confused people. He was very anti the British. He also stated that Exodus was the last tour company on his list because he didn't get good tips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a very busy time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cooking classes and extra days need to be added. The Dehli hotel is miles from any of the sights so it means every time you go out it is at least 45 minutes on the bus, more in rush hour. Although this was one of the better hotels the position was disappointing.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    David Helps

    Taj, tigers and terrific food

    This trip combines the iconic sights of the Golden Triangle with the amazing experience of seeing tigers in the wild and the delicious home cooked food typical of the region.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the chefs in their own homes and watching them produce fantastic meals in front of us. Seeing two tigers in their natural setting as they passed within touching distance.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where would we have been without Gaj? Lost, ripped off, wandering around India without much of an idea of what we were doing or what we were seeing. Gaj was our organiser, our guide, our teacher, our protector. He got us onto the train to Agra when it looked odds on we would miss it. He taught us so much about India as a country and the Indians as a people, and introduced us to some accomplished chefs who produced memorable meals. He was the key to making this a most memorable holiday. From the Taj Maharaja to the tigers, from Red Forts to Pink Palaces Gaj was there, teaching us Indian words such as "juldi" and latterly reassuring us when the currency went into meltdown. He was our guru and our friend, a "legend" as we say in Scotland.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You get a better exchange rate at the hotels than the airport so don't change too much initially. It can get cool in the canter looking for tigers, so take a hat and fleece.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was a breakdown in communication regarding the change of hotel in Delhi at the start of the trip. As a result we went to the wrong hotel, not the most relaxing start.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Tammy Woodhouse

    Tigers, Temples and Thalis

    A fantastic introduction to India. From Delhi at Diwali, touring the temples and palaces of Northern India, seeing a tiger at Ranthambore to learning to cook delicious food in peoples homes. A great combination of activities and experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are several to choose from. Seeing a tiger has to be at the top of the list. I loved visiting the quieter less touristy town of Karauli and the deserted Maharajas palace. We tried so many different foods and learning to cook in peoples homes was a real highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader (Bali) was fantastic. He brought India to life for us and gave us a real insight into the culture and way of life. Nothing was too much trouble and he organised extra visits and experiences above and beyond the itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come prepared for a full itinerary and sensory overload. Follow the guides advice as he gave us great tips to keep us safe, Delhi belly free and able to make the most of our time. If you find a cash point that works then make the most of it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were only the second trip on this new itinerary and I am sure there will be some tweaks to it, it would have been great to have the recipes for the food demos that we saw and hopefully that will be added for future trips.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    diane oshin

    Northern India Food Tour

    This was a terrific, fast-paced trip introducing the traveller to several cities and an exceptional visit to the Ranthambore National Park which was a perfect interlude between crowded, busy cities. What made the trip was seeing India through Bali's eyes and heart. He loves his country and shared that with us daily. He told us stories about the country, the people, the customs, his personal experiences and made every effort to acquaint us with local Indians along the way. He is a sensitive and caring person and that made all the difference. What was also so special was experiencing meals in people's homes. It enabled us to have a first-hand look at the way Indians live and also showed us the welcoming ways of the hosts.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj Mahal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not expect to learn the specifics of Indian cooking. The demos were a lot of fun and gave us an overall view of Indian cuisine, but no recipes were distributed and it was more observation than learning. Get ready for fast-paced travel with little or no down time. Also, mostly bus travel and not too much walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My suggestions: 1) this should not be marketed as a food trip unless there are more tools to share with the travelers (recipes and hands-on cooking experience) 2) the day traveling from Ranthambore entailed a 5-hour bus ride followed by sitting in a 3-hour Bollywood movie. TOO much sitting. Also, the movie was SO violent and horrible. It should be a walk-in opportunity to see the movie theater with the option for people to stay (IF they want to) and an option for the others to walk and do something else. 3) I brought a huge suitcase full of school supplies per the Exodus website and the Pack for Purpose program. Noone knew anything about it! Exodus people really didn't know and Bali didn't know. Thankfully he made a point of stopping at a place where a few families live together in the rural area and we distributed some of the things and we stopped at an elementary school where we distributed the rest. The guides and Exodus staff should be better educated and assure people that the things will get to the proper place. 4) The Jaipur Fern airport hotel was terrible 5) Try to find guides who are relatively easy to understand (Anu in Agra was great!). It was difficult for all of us to understand several of the day guides.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Sue Allen

    Eating our way around Northern India

    Not just an amazing introduction to the culture and wildlife of the 'Golden Triangle' but also the opportunity to discover the cuisines of the different regions through visits to restaurants and the homes of some excellent chefs. This is a new tour and is clearly developing into something truly exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There is not enough space to list them all! From celebrating Diwali in Delhi to visiting an abandoned palace in Karauli, from the real life experience of watching a huge male tiger in Ranthambore to the make believe world of a Bollywood movie. I was moved to tears, no, not at the Taj Mahal, but at the astronomical observatory in Jaipur. What an amazing place!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We could not have wished for a better guide. He gave us a fascinating insight into the culture, religion and foods of India. He was constantly aware of our safety and comfort and ensured we had daily opportunities to experience so many different aspects of Indian life. AND he had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to try all the foods on offer. Stick to bottled water. Listen to what your guide advises you. No one in our group of 12 experienced stomach problems.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel privileged to have taken part in this wonderful trip. Thank you Exodus
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Marilyn McMenemy

    Inspiring and fun in Rajasthan

    A really excellent introduction to a compelling country enhanced by a group of like minded people and absolutely fantastic guide which made it all an unforgettable experience for myself and two companions (i.e. 3 people).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very hard to select just the one after a trip packed with inspiring experiences but the Taj Mahal - especially early am as arranged - did not disappoint which is some achievement given its hype. On par with this was the experience our Group Leader organised on the Ganges at sunset with musicians and floating candles. Does not get much better than that!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Badam Singh is a bit special and Exodus should treasure him . He is thoroughly professional , knowledgeable and was very discrete knowing exactly how to balance control and freedom. He was extremely attentive to the needs of both the group and individuals within it. He also had a great sense of humour. At no point did one feel under pressure even though the week was very busy with a demanding schedule. He was the glue that helped our group work so well allowing opportunities for members to work together or individually. He also provided alternative events and guidance when free time emerged. Anyone who has Badam as a guide will receive insights into the history and culture of Rajasthan and Indian society and religions and should feel very lucky indeed to have him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have som 10/20rupee notes ready for the toilets. To be aware that this sort of trip is not for the faint-hearted / fussy. Excellent for single people but also couples and small groups ( we were 3 - a couple and single)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Group Leaders could have a stash of small 10/20 rupee notes for members to buy at start of trip. The only weakness of trip was the extra optional guide of Delhi on final day (particularly when juxtaposed with the very high standard of our Exodus Guide).
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Nicholas Bray

    Highlights of Northern India in Style

    Excellent trip all worked well as room delays extra, felt a little rushed but then there was a lot to get in

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Sites in India

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't take to much stuff you will not need it and you just have to keep packing it
Call us on 020 8772 3936