Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Julie Kersey

    Julie Kersey

    This was not only our first trip with Exodus but our first safari and we were not disappointed. We were well looked after and our leader and drivers were extremely knowledgable which made for a very enjoyable and interesting trip. It was a busy schedule visiting four different areas, Lake Manyara, the Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater and finally Tarangire Safari Park, each one slightly different. Our group were in two Land Cruisers on Game Drives every day, we could sit and enjoy the scenery and stop to watch an amazing amount of wildlife. It was a privilege to see the wildebeest migrating it was amazing to see them across the plains on the Serengeti as far as the eye could see; a photograph just couldn't capture the image, you had to just spend time looking at the view. I would certainly go on a safari again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the large animals elephants, giraffes and the big cats in such close proximity for the first time was amazing. If I had to say which of those was the most amazing I think it would be looking at a leopard in a tree, he was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jackson our group leader was very helpful and friendly, he did his job wll.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When travelling on a safari or any other holiday where you are packing and unpacking frequently it's quite useful to buy some packing cubes for some of your clothes. To my husband and I they were a godsend, they kept things well organised.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Neil Presland

    Tanzania tented safari

    My overall experience of this trip was 'satisfactory' only because I saw lots of animals. Our Landrover though was ancient, slow and needed stones behind the wheel to hold it when parked. We were in a group of 3 vehicles and the petrol tank fell of off one and meant that 7 people had to be accommodated in the other 2 for 4 hours on very rough roads. The breaks on another were so questionable it had to be replace (with another old vehicle) None of the drivers were in charge and because of this departure times etc were chaotic because different drivers have different instructions and would only travel together. The Exodus rep on arrival was poor, reading out the trip notes and giving no additional information. She was more concerned in us appointing a leader who would collect all tips straight away for the whole trip (thousands of dollars) - we refused. We were in tents five nights not four. One of the tents (2 nights) had seen better days. Packed lunches were left for hours in the sun. We spent hours travelling on roads - exacerbated because of the age of the vehicles which could not travel at speed - we were overtaken constantly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no inspection allowed moment though I did see lots of animalsDAiRA

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was a poor representative of Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are happy to be in old vehicles, don't mind long and bumpy but slow journeys and are happy for there to be no leadership from the trip organisers then book this trip - you will see lots of animals which is the whole purpose of safari

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This experience of an Exodus holiday is so different to 3 years ago when I couldn't have praised them enough. I doubt I will travel with them again following this holiday.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Neil for his review, although we were concerned to learn of the issues this group experienced with their vehicle; following this unfortunate and one-off vehicle breakdown, Exodus undertook an audit of all the safari vehicles used  on this trip.  The vehicle in question has not been used on an Exodus trip since this date in 2016.  As well as the drivers/safari guides who accompany this trip, we have now appointed an Exodus tour leader who handles the general logistics of the trip and is better equipped to deal with any queries from the group.  We are confident these improvements have made this trip an even better experience.

     

    Emma Garrick - Product Manager for Tanzania

  • Reviewed June 2016
    Karen White

    Classic Tanzania Safari

    Best holiday I have ever had! Wildlife in abundance and closer than I could have hoped for and landscape was breath-taking. Great organisation; brilliant guide and fantastic travelling companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from ALL of it (!), getting close to two cheetah brothers under a tree; being surrounded by elephants on more than one occasions and being surrounded by a herd of zebra was surreal - to be honest, there are too many inspirational moments to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Godsun was amazing. Friendly, great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble for him. He went out of his way to give us a great holiday and his knowledge of the wildlife and culture of Tanzania was brilliant. I couldn't have wished for a better guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have large memory chips in your camera - I took over 3000 photos - so much to see! Be prepared to be overwhelmed and take each day as it comes because I found every day threw something at me that was even more amazing than the day before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I never thought a holiday would top the last 3 I have been on with Exodus but this did (and the previous 3 have been excellent)! The abundance of wildlife at close quarters, the varied and breathtaking scenery all blew me away. I have never said "WOW" so many times in a day! Would I go back again? Definitely! Thank you Exodus!
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Simon Millward

    Terrific Tanzania!

    This trip offered an amazing wildlife spectacle! It definitely boosted my photography porfolio which was my objective. Listening to lions roar at night was amazing! Seeing Cheetah, Lions and Leapords all before breakfast was something I will never forget.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me this has solidified my ambition to work with animals and has prompted me to go back to studying. Hard to pick just one moment. However, when about 40 elephants walked within a hands reach from my safari truck, each one of them looking at you was simply fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    My guide was Julius he was brilliant at spotting the animals for us and had a good knowledge! Juma out camp chef cooked up a storm with only torches to go by and sang Swahili songs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your guides, live every second and build a fantastic memory!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Sarah Turner

    We saw the big five!

    We had a fantastic guide/driver, (Julius), who was a great animal spotter. We saw the big five! However, seven people in one vehicle meant we had to take turns to take photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing both the animals in the parks and also the Maasai people around the parks, hearing their cattle. We saw young boys with painted faces, ready for their circumcision ceremony.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fabulous.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your kit in a bag with squash able sides as the vehicle has a limited amount of room for luggage. Try to give any leftover lunch to the locals to avoid waste. Never feed the animals. Take mosquito repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A maximum of six clients comfortably fits into one 9 seater vehicle, with the driver, as its inns proprietor to sit in the front seat for game viewing, and it's not easy to see much at all from the middle seat in the back.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Chris Adams

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI (Lodge Departure)

    A brilliant trip from start to finish. I was amazed at how much we saw on the drives. There was nothing that we didn't see. Everything from Lions eating, to a Leopard relaxing up a tree, to Elephants rolling around in mud. Not to mention scores of Zebra, Wildebeest, and Giraffe and even a well hidden Cheetah.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming so close to Lions, they were literally feet away from us, but so engrossed into tucking into their dinner that they barely noticed we were there. Also waking up early morning and seeing a couple of Zebra grazing just feet away.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders on our trip were excellent. They were very knowledgeable about everything we saw, and knew all the best areas where we would see things. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and they always had a smile on their faces.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make saure you take plenty of camera memory and spare battery. Even if you're not an avid photographer you'll be surprised at how many pictures you will take! Power is not always available for charging things, so its a good idea to have back up batteries.Pack for all weather as well. It can get very hot in the day, but also quite chilly at night and early morning.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The majority of camps where you stay are located in the parks themselves, and so a lot of the time you're surrounded by wildlife. This adds an extra sense of adventure and you never know what you might see! If you're looking for a trip where you're virtually guaranteed sightings of animals big and small, from Lions to small colourful birds, then this is the trip for you.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Bonnie Burdett

    What an adventure

    We had a great time and saw so many animals on our trip. Never a dull moment. Over the week we saw a total of 31 lions! We managed to see the big 5 although the Rhinos were at a great distance.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pulling up close to a pride of lions in the Serengeti who had clearly just eaten, satisfied with fat bellies! One was rolled on his back, belly and legs in the air. Seeing so many elephants in Tarangire spraying themselves with water they had dug up from the dry river bed. One of the babies kept putting his legs in the holes to cool himself down, very cute.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julus was a great guide who had great knowledge of the animals. With over 10 years of experience he was laid back and was always laughing. We felt very safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If going on the camping trip take plenty of spare batteries. Camping on the crater is chilly but I was fine fully clothed in a 1 season sleeping bag.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI

    Quite simply wonderful!!! We did the camping version of the trip are so pleased we did rather than the lodge version. Everything was perfect. We didnt lift a finger. Julius, the guide, and his team were professional, knowledgable, helpful and good company. Juma, the cook excelled in producing 3 great meals a day under difficult conditions. They helped to make this a very memorable experience. Hats off to them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a pack of about 20 hyaenas stampede hundreds of wildebeest on a hunt and saw them take down a warthog. Two young lions taking on an old buffalo 20m from the vehicle.The wild camp within the Serengeti was fantastic...beautiful solitary peaceful. I could have stayed there a week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julius: Excellent. Friendly professional capable. An excellent driver. Knowledge of animal behaviour and birds superb.Sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are able to do this trip it really is a must. October was out of season...the migration had happened but we saw vast herds of wildebeest, buffalo and zebra. We had seen the big 5 by lunch on the first day...even black rhino. In fact there was something to see constantly. We were able to watch lions and hyaena hunts on our own without 20 - 30 vehicles lined up and jostling for position.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI

    Animal viewing was phenomenal.Toilet facilities at public sites not as good as the ones we brought along!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so many young animals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Three season sleeping bag not required at this time of year. Photographers require long lenses as we have to keep to roads. I was using 400mm + 1.4 converter and 7D on bean bag. Plenty of iron on vehicle to allow clamping of gimbal heads.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hot drinks on return to camp would be nice. We got these at the end but had to ask. Some of my photos of the trip can be seen: http://tonybarranco.zenfolio.com/p891108077 
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC TANZANIA SAFARI

    This is a great, if not basic way to experience the African bush and take in the beautiful starry night skies. However, do be prepared for the fact that there are long days spent in the vehicle with very little opportunity to stretch the legs, an activity holiday this is not!  I would also strongly recommend you take binnoculars, not all the game is conveniently located by the side of the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing 3 leopards in one day was a dream come true, whats more to see one up a tree eating it's kill was an incredibly special experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ben was good but not particularly charismatic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first campsite in Tarangire is DREADFUL for Tetse flies, I would therefore recommend you wear full length clothes which have a reasonable thickness given that they can bite through them - no amount of Deet seemed to deter them.Make sure you take plenty of bottled water with you for the first  couple of days when you first leave the hotel.  Bottled water wasn't provided whilst camping (just hot water) so you definitely need to take some supplies with you. The Ngorongoro crater was definitely chiller than i expected so do take some slightly warmer clothes.Personally i would recommend using biodegradeable soap given that you are showing in the wilderness and we want to minimise our impact on the environment.For those that are wondering, whilst the toilet facilities in the campsite is basic e.g. mini porter loo, a lot of the national parks do have half decent toilet stops - just make sure you take loo roll with you, as you might expect it's not always provided.Finally DO make sure you charge everything before you go and that you take spare camera batteries, there really is no opporutnity to charge anything whilst you are camping so fully charged spares are essential!   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall this is a great introduction to Tanzania and it's wildlife.  You do need patience as there are long periods of time when you could see little to no game, however, hopefully when you do it's a fab experience.
Call us on 0208 772 3936