Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2017
    simon cappin

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    This trip is an absolute must for any animal lover.The diversity of fauna that we saw in 2 weeks was absolutely incredible.The gorillas were absolutely adorable and it was fascinating seeing them so relaxed in a really beautiful setting.The rafting on the White Nile was absolutely increible and I would recommend this to anyone who is not scared of the water and is a confident swimmer as the likelihood of coming out is very high.I came out twice !!The Masai Mara was absolutely stunning and within a few hours had seen leopard,lions and cheetahs.The setting itself is also very dramatic.Our guide was absolutely brilliant.He had a great sense of humour and constantly had us in hysterics during the trip with his banter.The food was excellent and I am sure I have put on weight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing gorillas so relaxed in the wild

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Overall absolutely brilliant.Enthusiastic,very informative,caring and had a brilliant sense of humour

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have time in Narobi visit the giraffe sanctuary and elephant orphanage
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Roma Fernandopulle

    An unforgettable experience!

    The highlight was the Gorillas, but the whole trip was an experience never to be forgotten. We saw the big 5 in the Masai Mara and other animals in their natural habitat that you only ever see on the television. I can also now identify exotic birds I never knew existed! And we had a hippo join us at the campsite for dinner! The trip was made more memorable through the wonderful Exodus team of Jacob - our guide, Boniface - our amazing driver, Godfrey - our wonderful chef & Esther -his assistant, who was learning the ropes & always smiling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking into the eyes of a Silver-back gorilla. I didn't think that we'd get so close to them, they brush passed you as they walk by. Just watching them interact with each other - grooming, playing and feeding, was amazing. The hour we had in their company flew by and was truly unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was our tour leader and he was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about where we were travelling, always full of good advice and very patient & professional. Seat rotation was suggested for the truck and all worked smoothly. My wristwatch broke in Doha on the way to Nairobi and he was very helpful in ensuring that I could buy a replacement at the earliest opportunity and so stay on time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel with an open mind, be prepared for anything & you'll have an amazing unforgettable experience. Take advantage of hiring a porter for the gorilla trek, as he will be invaluable in helping you. I was a little apprehensive about the camping since I've not done any before but it was fine. The group were all well travelled and we all gelled together, helping out with the washing and air-drying of plates!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're undecided, my advice is to GO! Go with the flow, join in and you'll have a fabulous unforgettable time.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Karen Lim

    Wonderful!

    A wonderful once-in-a-lifetime experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas up close - we were told to stay at least 7 metres from them but sometimes we were much closer. That one hour went by like a flash! I also loved the white water rafting - I hadn't intended to do it but wanted to seize the opportunity of trying out some of the best rafting in the world. I did not feel at all scared and would definitely do it again. The Masai Mara was amazing - seeing animals I had only previously seen in books, and birds I had never seen before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was great! He was always cheerful, informative, knowledgeable, helpful, patient, cracking jokes and teasing members of our group and the rest of the team. The rest of the team were also sound - Boniface (Stonecold) the driver who handled our enormous truck with great skill, Godfrey the cook who turned out delicious meals with very basic cooking facilities and Esther the assistant who was always ready to help with a smile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and the other reviews. Go with a bit of patience and forbearance - do not expect Western standards in anything.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was a bit apprehensive about the camping aspect and the gorilla trek and I was fine. The camping worked out well and the gorilla trek was very manageable (with the help of porters). I can honestly say that I did not have any bad moments on this trip. Our group was varied in age but we all got along very well and there was much laughter and good times.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Patricia Carr

    Best wildlife experience ever

    The whole trip was fantastic with all the wildlife sightings. The big 5 in the Masai Mara plus the birdlife was unforgettable. Every country visited had something special, but of course the highlight were the gorillas. All that being said the trip was made even better by Jacob our guide, nothing was too much trouble, Stone Cold (Boniface), fantastic driver, Godfrey, great cook, Ester the lovely assistant. The 4 of them were so friendly it felt like it was one big family. They are the A-Team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the gorillas was the best thing ever and it still feels like I dreamt it because it is so unbelievable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was the best, always smiling, making sure everybody was ok.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind about the camping side of the trip, just go and enjoy the whole package. You just have to go with the flow, it's an experience of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Huw Thomas

    We had a fantastic expedition

    We took the trip starting in Nairobi. We had a fantastic time seeing cheetahs, leopards, lions, giraffes, elephants, rhinoceros and many more, we saw it all. We finished with the gorillas. The experience was unbelievable. We got closer to them and for longer than we ever expected. Our trip was made even better by the fantastic Exodus team. Jacob was our team leader and he was very ably supported by Stony the driver, Godfrey the chef and Ester the assistant. This team set the atmosphere and we embraced and enjoyed it all. What a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being with the gorillas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was exceptional. He exuded confidence and always had a smile. Nothing was too much nor too difficult. The 16 strong expedition had an enhanced experience because of his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the enthusiasm and good humour of your team. They set the tone, all you have to do is enjoy all the fantastic experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trek to the gorillas is challenging but very manageable. Hire a porter, the $10 plus tip will be the best money you will ever spend. They not only carry your bags but support you over the rough terrain. Don't be put off by reviewers who suggest that you need to be super fit to cope.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Celia Thomas

    An amazing trip

    This memorable trip was made special by the excellent leader Jacob and his team Stonecold, the wonderful driver, Godfrey the chef and assistant Esther. Whilst the journeys were often very long we had plenty of stops. The trip was filled with humour and fun. The group ages were from 42 to 69, we were at the upper end. For us the key was having a go. We were encouraged to try white water rafting and not only did we manage to do it , it was an excellent experience. Upgrades to cabins were available at most campsites. We saw so much on safari , big 5 , countless birds and much more. Our skille driver ensured we got the best photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Of course the gorilla encounter was a thrill, never to be forgotten. Though we were told to keep a distance between us and the gorillas but this was quite relaxed as they came towards us. The white water rafting was exhilarating. Very professionally organised with safety at its core.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob was an excellent team leader. He had a great sense of humour which helped set the tone for the group. He was knowledgeable and patient answering even the most simple questions with a smile. He has a nothing is too much trouble attitude and was very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As for the gorilla trekking, we asked to be in the easy group and ended up walking further than the moderate group. The gorillas are not always where they are supposed to be! Take plenty to read for the long journeys. There is not always amazing scenary. Go with an open mind , don't expect luxury and you will be very pleasantly surprised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are undecided as to whether to go, I would say GO ! We were 16 in our well travelled group and we all agreed it was one of the best trips we've done.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Kathryn Summers

    A Brilliant Experience

    An excellant trip, my first into Africa. Now my compass is set for more. A mixed age range group, 24 thru 72 but we gelled well. Our leader Jacob was full of knowledge. A very happy and fun person to be around. He was backed by a brilliant team. Albert, our cook. Stonecold, (Boniface) our driver and Dolly (Raymond) our assistant. We were fed well, driven very safely, and Dolly, learning the ropes, accompanied us on some excursions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending time with the Mountain Gorillas. Wow, you can get closer if the Silverback is happy with it. I was just a few feet away from adolescents. Then, Seeing a Lioness, just languishing up in a tree. Magic. Then, The Balloon ride over the Mara. Spotting Giraffe, Lion and Elephant to name a few. Then, slip sliding across the mud to witness the migration of Wildebeest across the Mara River.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob is brilliant. Very knowledgable of his country, Kenya, and of the surrounding areas. He ensured we understood the protocol at the borders for a smooth move on. This does also mean some early morning departures, but, Jacob is correct in doing this. We all agreed with him, even offering an earlier start 1 day! Jacob is fun and has stories to tell.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure your kit bag meets the size requirements for the lockers. They are actually quite wide tho. Take a small 'down pack' bag, or use one of your dri sacks for the tenting. Some of the accommodation involves steps. You don't really want to carry your whole kit down there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just Enjoy
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Patricia Orchard

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    Had a fabulous time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gorillas

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Crew were fantastic. Albert, Raymond and Stone Cold (driver).
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Wendy Nichols

    Gorilla, lions, rhinos and more

    This trip is as amazing as it looks. The safari parts were amazing on their own and then you have the gorillas to look forward to. Watching the lions, elephants, rhino, elephants, zebras, cheetah and so many other animals in the wild is additive! This was my 10th safari trip and it didn't disappoint! The gorillas experience in Rwanda was even more amazing then I had imagined and I felt privileged to spend an hour with them, watching them in the wild and being astounded as a baby gorilla stroked my leg. Book this trip now and you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The gorillas without a doubt. A once in a lifetime experience never to be forgotten.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great team for the trip. The tour leader was informative, approachable and ensured the trip ran smoothly throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Card games for the long drives make the traveling days speed by. If you have a small extra bag that's good for the camping days so you can take a small bag into the tent (especially if your sharing or not paying the single supplement).
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ian Braby

    A rewarding experience.

    This was not the trip I had planned to take over Christmas, but it turned out to be truly rewarding, overall, although a little more of a heads-up regarding the gorilla trek would not go amiss. The whole trip may be rated as "2" - leisurely - and, for the most part you are travelling in a truck and this describes it well, but the mountain trek is definitely a "4", minimum (and I've been on a "3" and it was more demanding than that!). After 3-and-a-half hours up and down the mountain, mostly in pouring rain and hail, exhaustion was setting in when we reached our gorilla family - but the encounter really made the effort worthwhile. Looking back, however, most of my photos were shot long before we arrived in Rwanda - the game drives through the Masai Mara were very successful! In all of the drive, the only thing we missed was a leopard, but we did get to see rarities like the serval and jackel, so that was very satisfying. Some of the so-called "comfortable" camps were a bit of a let down, with poor washrooms and very elderly tents, badly in need of replacement, but the Exodus camps were great, as was our superb team lead by Peter Kiptoo, driver Boniface, cook Esther and assistant Amos. They really helped to make the experience all the more memorable by looking after us all so well. This is a trip to be recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to climb the mountain to see the gorillas unaided!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Knowledgeable and prepared to respond to (our only occaisional) demands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore all the ramblings in the trip notes concerning registering online for visas and just follow the spoken advice and purchase an East African visa for all three countries on arrival. Not really sure it is necessary to pack a mosquito net, since the tents are mosquito-proof and most of the other stops feature mosquito nets.
Call us on 020 8772 3936