Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Kathryn Summers

    A Brilliant Experience

    An excellant trip, my first into Africa. Now my compass is set for more. A mixed age range group, 24 thru 72 but we gelled well. Our leader Jacob was full of knowledge. A very happy and fun person to be around. He was backed by a brilliant team. Albert, our cook. Stonecold, (Boniface) our driver and Dolly (Raymond) our assistant. We were fed well, driven very safely, and Dolly, learning the ropes, accompanied us on some excursions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending time with the Mountain Gorillas. Wow, you can get closer if the Silverback is happy with it. I was just a few feet away from adolescents. Then, Seeing a Lioness, just languishing up in a tree. Magic. Then, The Balloon ride over the Mara. Spotting Giraffe, Lion and Elephant to name a few. Then, slip sliding across the mud to witness the migration of Wildebeest across the Mara River.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jacob is brilliant. Very knowledgable of his country, Kenya, and of the surrounding areas. He ensured we understood the protocol at the borders for a smooth move on. This does also mean some early morning departures, but, Jacob is correct in doing this. We all agreed with him, even offering an earlier start 1 day! Jacob is fun and has stories to tell.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure your kit bag meets the size requirements for the lockers. They are actually quite wide tho. Take a small 'down pack' bag, or use one of your dri sacks for the tenting. Some of the accommodation involves steps. You don't really want to carry your whole kit down there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just Enjoy
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Patricia Orchard

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    Had a fabulous time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gorillas

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Crew were fantastic. Albert, Raymond and Stone Cold (driver).
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Wendy Nichols

    Gorilla, lions, rhinos and more

    This trip is as amazing as it looks. The safari parts were amazing on their own and then you have the gorillas to look forward to. Watching the lions, elephants, rhino, elephants, zebras, cheetah and so many other animals in the wild is additive! This was my 10th safari trip and it didn't disappoint! The gorillas experience in Rwanda was even more amazing then I had imagined and I felt privileged to spend an hour with them, watching them in the wild and being astounded as a baby gorilla stroked my leg. Book this trip now and you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The gorillas without a doubt. A once in a lifetime experience never to be forgotten.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great team for the trip. The tour leader was informative, approachable and ensured the trip ran smoothly throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Card games for the long drives make the traveling days speed by. If you have a small extra bag that's good for the camping days so you can take a small bag into the tent (especially if your sharing or not paying the single supplement).
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ian Braby

    A rewarding experience.

    This was not the trip I had planned to take over Christmas, but it turned out to be truly rewarding, overall, although a little more of a heads-up regarding the gorilla trek would not go amiss. The whole trip may be rated as "2" - leisurely - and, for the most part you are travelling in a truck and this describes it well, but the mountain trek is definitely a "4", minimum (and I've been on a "3" and it was more demanding than that!). After 3-and-a-half hours up and down the mountain, mostly in pouring rain and hail, exhaustion was setting in when we reached our gorilla family - but the encounter really made the effort worthwhile. Looking back, however, most of my photos were shot long before we arrived in Rwanda - the game drives through the Masai Mara were very successful! In all of the drive, the only thing we missed was a leopard, but we did get to see rarities like the serval and jackel, so that was very satisfying. Some of the so-called "comfortable" camps were a bit of a let down, with poor washrooms and very elderly tents, badly in need of replacement, but the Exodus camps were great, as was our superb team lead by Peter Kiptoo, driver Boniface, cook Esther and assistant Amos. They really helped to make the experience all the more memorable by looking after us all so well. This is a trip to be recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to climb the mountain to see the gorillas unaided!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Knowledgeable and prepared to respond to (our only occaisional) demands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore all the ramblings in the trip notes concerning registering online for visas and just follow the spoken advice and purchase an East African visa for all three countries on arrival. Not really sure it is necessary to pack a mosquito net, since the tents are mosquito-proof and most of the other stops feature mosquito nets.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Adrian Hodges

    Gorillas & the big 5, an amazing adventure

    Excellent trip with the major highlights being the gorilla trekking at the beginning and the wildlife safaris in Lake Nakuru and the Masai Mara at the end (and we got to see all of the Big 5). Uganda was slightly disappointing, as we had to miss the Lake Mburo stop due to weather, although I did enjoy the white water rafting in Jinja. The crew were excellent and the accommodation was good throughout and it was a great group. Overall I had a fantastic time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The gorilla trekking was the definite highlight, to spend that time so close to those magnificent animals was incredible. I was amazed how close we got, which made it very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kip was an excellent leader, knowledgeable, helpful, efficient & friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Along with the rest of the crew (Dan, Ken & Amos) he made the trip run like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring long sleeves, long trousers and long socks for the gorilla trekking. Also a $50 note to exchange money at the Kenyan border, you get a better rate with larger notes (this is not mentioned in the trip notes)
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Geraldine Ennis

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    The trip was everything I had expected it to be and more. The team were excellent. Great food and lots of it. Varied itinerary, many early starts and long days. Great experience for people who love to be out there camping, being driven overland in a truck, in places, over rough terrain (the African massage!!). Good value for the money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I had two inspirational moments (a) the game drives in the Mara, especially seeing where the crocs catch the wildebeest at the river crossings (which I'd seen many time on the TV). But unfortunately there were no wildebeest crossing and (b) the gorillas. I never imagined we would get so close. The group were relaxing digesting their breakfast. I came face to face with a black back whilst walking through a hedge tunnel, wow!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Kipp (Peter) was amazing: knowledgeable, funny, friendly, helpful at all times. Our cook Dan cooked some amazing veggie dishes for us vegetarians in the group. Odoyo, our driver, did a great job driving over some difficult terrain especially the roads to the Mara. And not forgetting Amus our helper. Nothing was ever too much for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you feel the cold, take thermals as I did and on a number of nights I wore them all!! No need to take many cloths as you can do your own washing or having them washed by the locals. I took a 2/3 season down sleeping bag but if you feel the cold take a 4 season bag. We encountered very heavy rain on a few occasions in Uganda so would recommend taking a good waterproof jacket and thick fleece.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The whole trip was a great, well organised adventure. US$ is the currency to take as it is widely accepted in all 3 countries. Don't expect any home comforts, basic amenities, occasionally no hot shower, no electricity. Take earplugs as there were lots of snorers!!
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Lesley Pearson

    Gorillas & Masai Mara

    Amazing trip with so many highlights. I will be returning to Africa based on this experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The precious hour spend with the gorillas, even the rain didn't dampen our spirits, more it added to it. They really were gorillas in the mist! Seeing the big 5 in Lake Nakuru and the Masai Mara. The balloon ride over the Masai Mara. It is well worth a visit to the Little Angels school at Lake Bunyonyi, the children are wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kip was a great leader, full of information and absolutely tireless, as were the rest of the crew! Nothing was too much trouble and even the needs of our "fussier" travellers were met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days on the road including 2.5 hours on dirt track roads when entering the Masai Mara. The pillows in Africa are rock hard so it may be better to bring one from home if you can fit it in. Gaiters are useful for the trek to the gorillas, it is muddy and wet! Don't forget the gardening gloves, there are some vicious stinging nettles, and the last part may involve your guide hacking through the rainforest with a machete. Also for the gorilla trek, do hire a porters, they don't just carry your bags, they help you every step of the way and well worth the US$10. It really is quite cold at night, so don't forget the fleece.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Nairobi needs changing, we finished there and our apartment was so shocking we were moved.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Craig Jenner

    gorillas and massai mara

    Lets get one thing straight; you need to do this trip!! no matter where you've been and what you've seen there will always be a void in your portfolio unless you experience this. So much is included in such a small time period there is no time to get bored, all the I's dotted and the T's crossed for accommodation and service from the crew which were first class all the way, all building up to the gorilla trek which is so amazing words have not been invented which can express what I felt for that ever so short hour in their presence, but enough from me just go and experience it for yourselves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Little Angels orphanage in Uganda. After a good walk we arrived at this wonderful place where I spent an incredible few hours in the presence of over 50 children who have not been dealt the best hand in life, but exhibit an attitude so positive that it really makes you feel humble and guilty about how you live your life and your attitude to the future even when you are holding 4 aces compared with them. The look on their faces when I stated blowing up balloons will never leave me and will always remain tattooed to my sole, a definite game changer with me moving forwards in my life

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All 4 of the groovy gang where fabulous. Amos doing all the work no body sees, Ken driving an aircraft carrier through the tightest gaps and on the worst roads ever. Dan the man who can make a gourmet meal out of half a bag of spuds and a cows backside whilst camped by a lake, and Kip. Kip is the leader of the 4 and is without doubt the main man, the top dawg, the big cheese, in fact the Keizer Sose of the trip leaders fraternity. there was nothing he didn't know, nothing he wouldn't do for you no matter when or where it was, warm and funny and indeed a pleasure to be around, but his pool playing leaves a lot to be desired

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't over pack, the weather can alter but I took 15 pairs of socks and brought 14 back with me unused. go there with a can do attitude and an open outlook to everything and you'll have the time of your life. If it rains embrace it, if its muddy embrace it; its all part of the overall experience. Vital things to take are head torch, pillow, good sports sandals, water bottle, hand sanitizer and sun hat. All the rest is up to the individual

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not really, just go and experience something which may well change the way you think about things
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Heather Allen

    Gorillas and Masia Mara

    This trip was everything that I could have asked for. I was particularly impressed with the Exodux team, they managed a lively disparate group and kept the trip on schedule, provided great food and information. The itinerary was very varied and interesting with something different everyday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time with the Gorillas was beyond my expectations, we were so close to these most beautiful and gentle creatures, it was breath-taking. I had a smile plastered all over my face for days afterwards.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lelei was excellent, he had a couple of individuals in the group who were on a different time schedule to the rest but he managed it very well and kept us all moving. The remainder of the staff were also superb with the chef being amazing on a daily basis.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sit back and enjoy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If anything I would like to get up a bit earlier and get the travel done so that there was a little bit more time to explore at the new camp sites.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Maiju Kettunen

    Gorillas and Masai Mara - Wonderful!

    I can't really tell you what this trip is like until you have yourself been to the Rwandan Genocide Museum, climbed the misty mountains up to the gorilla family, slept in the wild, gotten the mandatory sunburn, stood on the equator, ridden on horse-back across Ugandan sugar cane plantations, flown in a hot air balloon over the Mara, eaten ugali, stared into the eyes of a lion, seen the Great Rift Valley, been greeted by a thousand smiles and made friends with some of the very best people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    East Africa had wonderfully beautiful nature and touching history, but the most memorable things from my trip were all the encounters with people, for a few minutes, hours or two and half weeks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can only use the best words for Jacob, our group leader. He was the person who made all of us feel at home in East Africa, like his own friends and relatives. Jacob made sure throughout the trip that everyone was happy and safe. Albert, our chef, made sure everyone had a smile on their faces, each day. And my big thanks to Boniface and Wycliffe as well - we had an excellent crew!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Double batteries and zoom lenses for cameras - great photo opportunities will not run short on this trip. A season 4 sleeping bag was also not a bad idea at all. Don't be fooled by it being "Africa".

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a hugely impressive trip - thank you, Exodus!
Call us on 0208 772 3936