Highlights of the Dolomites

Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.7 / 5 from 45 reviews >
Multi-Level
Learn more
Trip code: 
TEI
Way to Travel:
Guided Group
Activity:
Centre-based Trips
Min age:
16
Group size:
6–20

Spectacular walking in the heart of the Western Dolomites

Val di Fassa lies between Marmolada (3,343m), the Dolomites' highest peak, and Catinaccio (2,981m), the famous long ridge that glows red in the rising sun. Based in the lovely village of Campitello, we are ideally situated to access neighbouring valleys and discover their attractive villages. We walk through lush green valleys carpeted with a profusion of alpine flowers, and are constantly rewarded with panoramic views of jagged limestone spires towering above. With excellent chairlift, cablecar and bus links, we are able to access a huge variety of walks, thus allowing us to offer two grades of walking on each departure.

Highlights

  • Exceptional trails
  • Views of the Marmolada
  • Moderate and challenging walks

Key information

  • 7 nights 3-star Hotel Enrosadira, all rooms en suite
  • 5 days centre-based walking; 1 free day
  • Level 3 and 5 walks offered each day
  • Altitude maximum 3024m, average 2300m
  • Group normally 5 to 20 plus 1 UK leader per grade

What's included

  • All breakfasts, 7 dinners
  • All accommodation (see accommodation section)
  • All transport and listed activities
  • Tour leader throughout
  • Flights from London (if booking incl. flights)
  • Arrival & departure transfers

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Single accommodation (available on request)
  • Visas or vaccinations
Call us on
074 340 4587
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

Campitello
to
Campitello
  • Day 1

    Start Campitello

    Start Campitello. In the evening the leaders will hold a welcome meeting to discuss the week ahead and give advice on the local area.

    Meals included: Dinner
  • Days 2-4

    3 daywalks

    Our daywalks mix high-altitude routes that guarantee stunning Dolomite scenery with some lower level trails down to the Val di Fassa. The early season should ensure that we see a wide variety of alpine flowers.

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 5

    Free day; explore the area or try some optional activities.

    Optional activities for the free day include self-guided cycling from Campitello or a day trip to see the remains of Oetzi, famous 'ice-man', in Bolzano. 

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Days 6-7

    2 further guided walks

    Over the course of the week, Level 3 walks aim to include the Passo Costalunga, Vigo di Fassa and Canazei, where we take advantage of the lifts to provide access to higher ground. Another possibility is the Vajolet Hut beneath the famous Vajolet Towers.
    Level 5 venture into the Catinaccio range, walking over high passes along high-level footpaths. From Vigo di Fassa, just north of Moena, a cable car takes us up to the eastern side of the Catinaccio and we enjoy a long gentle descent back to the main valley. A chairlift from Passo Costalunga (1758m) to the west rises to the southern end of the Catinaccio, and allows an exciting circuit of the southern half of the ridge.

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 8

    End Campitello

    The trip ends in Campitello.

    Meals included: Breakfast
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Essential Info

Visas

Italy

No visa required for British passport holders.
Please note in Italy it is compulsory to carry ID with you at all times.

Vaccinations

Italy

There are no specific health risks.

Eating and Drinking

All breakfasts and 7 dinners are included, provided by the hotel.

On some departures, the group flight arrives late in the evening of day 1, in which case a meal will be provided on the free day. The hotel restaurant provides generous breakfasts and traditional evening meals. On certain days you will need to buy food in local shops for packed lunches, or certain walks may offer the opportunity to buy lunch at a mountain hut en route.

Weather

In the Dolomites - as always in the mountains - the weather can be very changeable. On average in summer months you can expect some rain on one day in two, but it is likely to come in heavy and thundery outbursts of relatively short duration rather than prolonged showers. Down in the valleys daytime temperatures range on average from 12º to 22º Celsius although 25º is not unusual. Up in the mountains it will be a few degrees colder. You need therefore to be ready for anything, and to pack shorts as well as warmer clothes, full waterproofs and sun cream.

Is this trip for you?

Activity: Walking level 3 Moderate and 5 Challenging.
With such a large variety of walks in the area, we are able to offer 2 different grades of walking on each departures. The leaders will choose each day's route based on weather conditions and group ability to ensure everyone's safety and enjoyement.


Level 3 - Moderate
Most people who enjoy a weekend in the hills or mountains at home are capable of undertaking a trek at this level: you need to be in good health and reasonably fit, and you will almost certainly be taking regular exercise. A trek could be level 3 either as a fairly easy medium-duration walk, or as a harder, shorter walk. Some walking at higher altitude and the occasional longer or more difficult day may be involved, but generally conditions underfoot will be fair. A walking day usually is between 5 to 7 hours long and no experience is necessary.
Altitude maximum 3024m, average 2300m

Level 5 - Challenging
For walks at this level, fitness is most important and you may have to improve yours before departure. Most level 5 treks are equivalent to extended walking in mountainous terrain at home, but usually at significantly higher altitudes; climate and remoteness can also play a part. Walking days are usually between 6 to 8 hours although there may be some longer days for pass crossing or similar. Previous trekking experience is desirable but not essential if you are confident of your physical condition. Usually, some scrambling is involved.
Altitude maximum 3,152m, average 2,350m.

The times mentioned include lunch break and photo stops.

Call us on
074 340 4587
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Accommodation

Sporthotel Enrosadira

You will spend 7 nights in the comfortable family run 3 star Hotel Enrosadira. Ideally located in the village of Campitello, this family-run hotel offers a warm welcome and simple, comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite. There is a sauna, a bar and a lounge with comfortable armchairs to relax in the evenings. Wi-Fi is available in the communal areas. Single rooms are available for a supplement. 

Call us on
074 340 4587
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Experts

Contact a member of staff who has done this trip

, Antarctica, Arctic, Argentina, Canada, Chile, China, Dolomites, Germany, Greece, Iceland, North America, Norway, Patagonia, Russia, Spitsbergen, USA
Call us on
074 340 4587
Trip Notes

Click on the button below for detailed Trip Notes containing all the particulars about this trip, including kit lists and practical information.

Note: these can vary by departure; you can check out the specific Trip Notes for your chosen adventure on the dates & prices page.

Expert Blog Entries

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Fiona Mcintosh

    highlights of the Dolomites

    This walking holiday was excellent, We were very well situated in the Val de Fassa for the local bus and all the gondolas and chair lifts. Most of the walks started at the top of a lift so the scenery was spectacular all of the time. We were very lucky with the weather but even so it would be difficult not to be impressed with the area. We had a choice of a grade 3 or grade 5 walk each day and we chose to stick to the grade 3 which was strenuous but without any scary bits! Every walk was different in scenery and terrain so always interesting. The shortest walk was 7 miles and the longest 11 miles but it was not rushed. The hotel good and had everything you need and their food was great and plentiful. It was situated in the centre of the small town of Campitello which had a supermarket and quite a lot of outdoor shops (handy if you forget to bring and important bit of kit) and quite a few bars and restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery had the wow factor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders Albert and Ingrid were great. The grade 3 groupwas lead by Ingrid all week and she was really lovely, calm and very easy to get on with. Both Ingrid and Albert knew the area really well and I had total confidence in them both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your camera!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Strange

    Fantastic hiking against stunning backdrop of limestone.

    This was a week of walking to celebrate my return to health after cancer treatment. It was a positive experience on every level. Both the landscape and the company were special. The hikes were challenging (I chose the 5), and all members of our group especially our leader Albert were supportive and encouraging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would have to be lunch outside the RIf Alberto, surreal rock formations and a very memorable chat with John.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was terrific. He has such a relaxed and pleasant nature, perfect for the job. I would love to go on another trip of his.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all types of weather but mostly, prepare yourself to be blown away by the Dolomites as they are a wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking into my next trip with Exodus !
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Irene Neilson

    Stunning scenery, great walking

    Very enjoyable walking in varied scenery with occasional need to use extremely well placed metal ropes and a bit of scrambling. Bus and cable pass enables rapid access to many different areas of Val di Fassa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Torri del Vaiolet walk. Wonderful majestically scenery enhanced by watching some climbers ascend the statuesque towers. It was the hardest level 5 walk but well worth the effort.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good as always with Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for any weather conditions. It had snowed just as we arrived (end Aug) so Day1 was quite cold and involved treking in some snow of varying depth. The north route up Piz Boe retained snow till the end of the week so we ascended that by the south route. When the sun was out it could be very warm on other routes. Layering essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel was excellent. Very friendly staff and fresh abundant food. Rooms are simple but lounge and bar are very comfortable. Stefano the owner hosted a very generous mid-week welcome party with Prosecco and savouries. Vegetarians are catered for. Good location. One of Messner's Mountain Museums is in Bolzano. There is a War Museum with trenches at Marmolada though lift pass does not cover there. Biking or equivalent gloves useful for gripping metal ropes. We did Level 5 walks all of which were good. Lift pass costs approx £70.00 which you pay in Campitelo.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Peter Kay

    The adrenaline certainly flowed!

    An excellent trip with a choice of two good walks lead by excellent leaders each day. Marred only by delayed baggage on my flight out from Manchester which Exodus had routed via Frankfurt with totally inadequate transit time. Level 5 walks were challenging for a 70 yr old with arthritic knees, but enjoyable nonetheless! Excellent accommodation at Hotel Enrosadira managed by Stefano who went out of his way to be helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascent of Piz Boe (>10,000 ft) was my personal best moment, and perversely surviving the thunderstorm on Day2 when high up in the mountains and with inadequate waterproof clothes (due to delayed baggage) created a great camaraderie within the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent as was Emily. Both showed excellent mountain leadership skills and were excellent companions at dinner and in the bar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that transit time on indirect flights is adequate and has sufficient slack to allow for flight delays. Pack a few essentials in your hand baggage (toiletries/underwear/spare shirt etc) in case of delayed baggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to all, especially Albert, Emily, Stefano (Hotel Mgr) and the rest of the group for making it a great holiday.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Graham Keetch

    Spectacular !

    A stunning location. A good hotel close to the centre with great food and service: the leaders Albert and Ingrid were excellent and had well researched all of the walks. A great week was had by all. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning location with spectacular mountain walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent and very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A beautiful part of the world
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Butcher

    Incredible views, great food and superb leaders

    An excellent trip that takes in all of the sites and hikes you would want to do in the Val de Fassa. The trip has two types of walking each day - level 3 and 5, the 5s are a good pace and you need to have a fair level of fitness to participate, they also become more technical which makes them very interesting compared to other holidays. You visit the Sasso Lungo group, summit Piz Boe, undertake a ridge walk, hike around the Roda de Vael and the views and scenery is just beautiful from start to finish. The trip has new base at the Hotel Enrosadira in Campitello - the food is absolutely fantastic, as I gather previous travellers had not found the food so good at the last hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect and Campitello has everything you could need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the free day I undertook an optional, additional via ferrata trip over the Roda de Vael which was an excellent addition to the trip and incredible fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert and Ingrid were very competent, very friendly and very knowledgeable. On our departure, Albert led the level 5 group walks - which is what we did everyday. His hikes got progressively better, took in all the sites you would want to see and gradually built your confidence, going over increasingly more technical ground. He made the whole experience excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must buy public transport ticket, which is 68 Euros, so be prepared for this.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Cath Mclaren

    Fabulous holiday

    We have just spent a lovely week in the Dolomites, the scenery was amazing, the hotel very comfortable with plenty of delicious food, the guides were great and we walked with a fantastic group of folk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not really a moment, just the overall fantastic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders, Ingrid and Albert. Both well organised, friendly and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproofs, we didn't need them but if you do, then you properly do!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Thomas Ross

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    a superb walking area (exceeded my expectations) Good value for money with the standard of the hotel. The trip was well organised with top quality guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the walk on the final day which had a variety of different terrains to negotiate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent guide, friendly, sociable with a strong knowledge of the area

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to make sure you bring enough clothes to allow for a range of weathers
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Moira Kent

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    Stunning walks set in awesome scenery. The hotel was more than adequate, as was the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the cliffs as we got closer. The panoramic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two leaders (Albert and Emily) which gave a choice of walks. Both leaders were friendly and efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are tough - be warned! Wear walking boots, not shoes. My shoes fell to bits and I had to buy some boots. The weather can make or break this holiday and it as poor for two of the five walking days. Think carefully about the free day. Bolzano is lovely but it is 90 minutes away. Relying on public transport was a pain. Buses were always late and you frequently had to stand up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday has huge advantages given that there are two leaders.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gregor Paterson

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    We have been on several Exodus trips and always choose the challenging grade but sometimes we have been disappointed, as the walks have not been as demanding as we thought they might be. However, this was not the case on this trip - the level 5 walks were very challenging. This is the first multi-level trip we have been on and it worked well. We had an informative briefing from both leaders in the evening and people could decide which walk they wanted to do the next day - this was very helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery on all the walks was stunning. The village of Moena was very Alpine in style and lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the level 5 walks all week with Albert. He was very knowledgeable and knew the area very well. We had to change routes several times due to weather conditions but he still provided great walks. Eric led the level 3 walks and was also very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip if you are unsure of your ability as you can choose level 3 or level 5 each day. Level 5 walks were mainly 16 - 20 km long and 800 - 1000 metres ascent. Lunches are normally bought and eaten in the Rifugios. One day we took our own lunch (bought from local bakery) and ate outside to sit and admire the scenery and this was a not a problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a superb holiday in a beautiful area and we would highly recommend it.

Dates & Prices

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]

Call us on 074 340 4587