Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17883 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2020
    Nick Mycroft

    Cycling and curry

    A wonderful holiday with wonderful people! Our exceptional hosts Ruwan and team lead us on an amazing journey, exploring the countryside, the wildlife and introducing us to their culture and way of life. I was very much looking forward to my first trip to Sri Lanka and I loved it. Cycling through the countryside, paddy fields teaming with bird life, being greeted with big smiles and high fives from the locals was a real pleasure. I really enjoyed the hilly days, some are challenging then the lion beer, curry and rice at the end of the day are perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling down hill after cycling uphill

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was very knowledgeable and very proud of Sri Lanka, I felt privileged to have him as my guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Give it plenty in 2020.....go for it
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Rosemary Sampson

    Ethiopia in Depth

    Overall, it was an interesting and very enjoyable experience. Our guide, Yitbarek, was very well organized, knowledgeable, and his love for his country and people shone through. Scenery was spectacular. Hotels, food, and wine ranged in quality, but I went knowing Ethiopia’s infrastructures were poor as were many of the roads. Timket was amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Timket festival.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Well organized, calm, and accommodating when possible. As stated in Summary, his love for his country and people shone through.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Eddie Irlam

    A trip for your bucket list.

    I have done many cycling trips with Exodus and without doubt, this is the best of the lot. If you want a good mix of cycling with plenty of time for afternoons by the poolside, this is the trip for you. The climb to Ooty is exactly as described on the tin and it’s tough. The rest of the tour is all within the average cyclists capabilities. Only one 4 hour bus transfer during the trip, the rest pretty much involved finishing the days ride at your destination hotel. The whole trip ran like clockwork and that’s no accident all thanks to our first class tour guide Joseph, Maneesh and Kam, our excellent bike team. We were a mixed group of 13 like minded people and it worked perfectly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, cycling through the villages in Karnataka where sometimes time seems to simply stand still and the rice barge trip on the backwaters of Kerala.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is simply no better guide than Joseph. Absolutely faultless and a truly nice bloke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you only ever do one cycling tour in Asia, do this one.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Nigel Pitt

    Ethiopian tour

    A very enjoyable tour. An interesting and beautiful country. The Ethiopians were friendly people. Our Tour Leader Yitbarak was a very good Leader all round. The hotels were better than I expected. The Group was congenial. My most enjoyable group tour so far.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The joyful exuberance of the Ethiopians participating in the religious processions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good all round.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stomach upset minor but pack some immodium !
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Lorraine Mullen

    Cycle tour of Vietnam

    As a non cyclist i never though this would be a trip that i would ever consider doing, however i am so glad that i chose to do this. It was a fantastic tour from start to finish with some fantastic staff. The staff where extremely polite, plesant and could not have done enough for anyone on this tour... there a massive bonus to this company. The tour its self was very impressive with cycling threw the countryside and stopping off to eat the local cuisine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspirational moment was been able to cycle 80ks out of 100ks.... seeing as i am not a cyclist and found this challenging, but with the support and back up of the Exodus staff i was so happy to go this far.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Son Nguyen was fantastic at his job...always smiling and very encouraging when it came to cycling on big days. He was very patient and had everything well organised threwout this trip. I would highly recommend him to anyone who is trying to book a cycle tour here in Vietnam.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if you are a non cyclist like me but like a challenge and a different way to see the country, book with this company...excellant staff, tour and service... looking forward in returing and doing another cycle tour with them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accomdation and food provide was top class..could not have been better, it really added to the whole experiance.
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Dorothy Latimer

    Ethiopia in Depth: Timkat Festivsl

    Interesting itinerary but too many long bus trips. Could have been better if bus trips were separated by days or stopped for more breaks. Simien mountains day were wonderful, would have liked longer there. Following day was a long day to Axum and the following day we visited the stelae - would have preferred to have a short walk included into this. Could have shortened the 2 days through Tigrai to Wukro and Mekele. A very long day with wonderful scenery but would have appreciated more and longer stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up the Simeon mountains and the Lake Tana visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good and pleasant but would have preferred much more information during the long bus trips. He did not have or did not use a loud speaker until more than half way through the trip. I would have liked much more information about the country during the long bus journeys.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of very long bus trips!
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Ben Carrick

    Leopardtastic and More!

    This was a simply fantastic trip. Everything about Kicheche Bush Camp was spot on - great accommodation (our tent and the communal areas), the food was heavenly, the staff were all amazing under the leadership of Emma and Darren (be they the ones you see all day or the team working behind the scenes in the kitchen and everywhere else), and the guides and vehicles are outstanding. Its even better when you get all of this with the knowledge that it is delivered with such a passion for environmental sustainability and to supporting the local community. All this and you are in wildlife nirvana as well, the conservancy was excellent and offered us wonderful viewing even with some challenging climatic conditions - without doubt the best leopard viewings we have ever had to say nothing of all the other magnificent wildlife we saw. OUTSTANDING!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time spent with Tito and her cub was simply mesmerising - the kind of leopard viewing you just feel lucky have had the chance to take part in. That said, to be honest the whole trip was inspirational!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul did what Paul does best and what we have seen him do on multiple continents on multiple trips - he worked himself hard, the team hard (and boy did they respond to the challenge mightily) and the guests hard. Its why we keep travelling with him because once again, as previously, he got the absolute best out of the time we had - and not surprisingly I returned having been challenged in my photography and with some new images to be very happy with. Oh, and with a bunch of great new memories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some sleep before you go because you will be out early to get the best chance of the best images - and that's a wonderful thing! Be ready to go with the flow, this is the wild and the trip has to be delivered around what nature offers - so things may need to be adapted day-by-day to meet the weather, the viewing available etc. etc. Just rest assured Paul and the team will be doing all they can to maximise everything and get on with lapping it all up. Be ready to be challenged on and to challenge your own photography - its a great learning opportunity and chance to stretch yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A simply outstanding trip - a camp and conservancy we will definitely return to!
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Audrey Morgan

    Gorillas and Masai Mara

    Saw the most incredible wildlife, expert and professional team in Gilbert, Albert, Stoney and James and a wonderful road trip across E. Africa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention but the Gorillas next to us was special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert was professional, fun, accommodating and a joy to travel with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. The best trip yet!
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Haruyo Oliver

    WYUR191229

    We had a wonderful group, and were very luck at safari. The local guys were wonderful, Gilbert, the guid, Albert, the chef and excellent driver,and ever helpful dog body, James, all made our trip so enjoyable. I was not going to enjoy, even going to cancel the last minute, due to sleeping in a tent, but it turned out one of the most memorable trips I have done, II travel 3-4 times a year. It was the fellow travellers who made the trip so enjoyable, have to be lucky to have them. the trip note can say, non tent option available.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the fellow travellers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert is excellent, very knowledgeable on bird, animales, even plants

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    trip note about getting visa is so confusing and not informative you can get East Africa visa at Kigali $100 dollars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    you can get 3 combined East Africa visa at Kigali $100 dollars, I wasted so many time and money trying to get on website in UK. Be aware of independent visa company when you are on line.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Haruyo Oliver

    WYUR191229

    We had a wonderful group, and were very luck at safari. The local guys were wonderful, Gilbert, the guid, Albert, the chef and excellent driver,and ever helpful dog body, James, all made our trip so enjoyable. I was not going to enjoy, even going to cancel the last minute, due to sleeping in a tent, but it turned out one of the most memorable trips I have done, II travel 3-4 times a year. It was the fellow travellers who made the trip so enjoyable, have to be lucky to have them. the trip note can say, non tent option available.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the fellow travellers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gilbert is excellent, very knowledgeable on bird, animales, even plants

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    trip note about getting visa is so confusing and not informative you can get East Africa visa at Kigali $100 dollars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    you can get 3 combined East Africa visa at Kigali $100 dollars, I wasted so many time and money trying to get on website in UK. Be aware of independent visa company when you are on line.