Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Vickie Lush

    Everything and more

    If Antarctica has been on your ‘ to do list’ GO!,, Amazing time had by all, my only negative would be that I did not book to go onto South Georgia and The Falklands due to the time factor. I now have to select photos for my album going to be a long process.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very hard to pinpoint one part of the expedition but I particularly enjoyed the kayaking you have a chance to get up close and personal with the whales, seals and penguins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Solan was inspirational as were most of his associates on the ship each having their own personality and knowledge to share.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To prepare well, plenty of layers there is absolutely no need to be cold if you take layers. Crossing The Drake requires medication in my opinion but if yours fails the Doctor is on hand and is extremely supportive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was amazing with plenty of variety and if there was nothing you liked you could order almost anything the kitchen and excellent service too.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Neil Erridge

    South Georgia in depth

    A trip you will spend wondering how on earth you're going to describe or put into words what you've just seen. Nothing will do it justice - you have to be there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking away from a basking leopard seal on hearing an almighty boom to see a hanging glacier "calve" thousands of tons of ice down the cliff face opposite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All the One Ocean staff manage to strike the right balance of professionalism and care without being intrusive or overbearing - no mean feat given the very wide range of ages and abilities being catered for. The Russian crew on board were equally superb - virtually invisible but ensuring every need was met or problem solved . These people know their stuff.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you ever see a criticism of this trip it will be from a) a competitor b) a habitual malcontent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth it.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Susan Jackson

    Antarctica, Falklands and South Georgia

    18 day trip with Quark Expeditions on the Ocean Diamond from Uschuaia to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula with landings by Zodiac in remote bays where we experienced close encounters with the wildlife, especially penguins and seals and whales swimming alongside the boats. The scenery was stunning especially sailing close to the icebergs. We were superbly looked after on the ship and the cabins and public areas were warm and welcoming and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent and plentiful and they catered well for my gluten free requirements as I am Coeliac. The expedition staff were knowledgeable as we had experts on penguins, ornithology, geology, whales, history, microbiology and photography. Praise goes to the captain as a mega storm was forecast as we were in the Falklands and we had to alter the itinerary to avoid it and though we hit some rough seas we missed the hurricane in the Falklands where the next 3 ships after us were stuck in the harbour there for 3 days. Ecology was a big concern and we had to have our clothing, rucksacks examined before each trip ashore to check there were no seeds and have them vacuumed, and boots and trousers were hosed down after each trip ashore then we walked through disinfectant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many, landing on a beach to be welcomed by King Penguins and 55 thousand more up the hillside as far as you could see and then they approach you without fear, Minke whales coming under and beside the Zodiacs, Humbacks spouting and fluking and the glorious colours and shapes of the icebergs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very knowledgeable and concerned for our health safety at all times, though it was mostly a combined effort of the expedition team working together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take some sea sickness pills, though the doctor on board always came to the public areas and gave them out if anyone wanted them and I was not aware of anyone suffering with sea sickness as a result. The cabins were rather creaky and noisy at times, so light sleepers might consider ear plugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic trip, expensive, but worth every penny and everyone we spoke to was full of praise for all aspects of the trip.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Christopher & Alison Bruce

    Absolutely incredible

    Such an amazing expedition. Paul Goldstein moves heaven and earth to ensure that the most is gained from the trip and no time is wasted. We cannot recommend this experience highly enough, and would do it all again in a flash.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer majesty of the place and the overwhelming abundance of the wildlife. Being able to get so close to penguins and seals who have no fear of humans is a real privilege.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Inspirational and a human Duracell Bunny!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book well in advance and as soon as possible. You won't be disappointed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Antarctica with Paul and Chris

    This is a once in a lifetime experience that you will want to repeat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday you launched into zodiacs and approached the shore inspirations moments started.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Be prepared for a hard time keeping up with his energy and enthusiasm. With Chris Packham they make a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a nice cosy cruise this is not for you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Needs a warming notice. Ice and cold can get under your skin. You will want to return.
  • Antarctica with Paul and Chris

    This is a once in a lifetime experience that you will want to repeat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday you launched into zodiacs and approached the shore inspirations moments started.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Be prepared for a hard time keeping up with his energy and enthusiasm. With Chris Packham they make a great team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a nice cosy cruise this is not for you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Needs a warming notice. Ice and cold can get under your skin. You will want to return.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Robert Atkinson

    The most stunning trip of my life

    Its been a long held dream of mine to go to the Antarctic and the trip I booked via Exodus far exceeded my expectations. Amazing scenery, captivating and exciting wildlife, a plethora of facts, figures and general education from the on board experts and I can claim a world first to boot from my holiday to the Antarctic and below the polar circle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The landscapes and wildlife. The scenery is breathtaking, from the continent itself to the many islands and icebergs floating away from the land mass and glaciers. I have never seen anywhere quite so remote and in many ways barren, yet at the same time rich in life and activity. And you will never get over the amazing shapes of the ice along with the vivid blues you see in the glaciers and icebergs. Quite sensational. The penguins are of course the stars, but the frequency of whale sightings and fluking along with seals and many type of birds including the mighty albatross just make the experience even more rewarding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader is in effect an Expedition Leader fronting a large team of professional from a range of countries. Ours was wonderful. An enormous personality and with the best sense of humour coupled with safety and huge amounts of professional integrity. The people in the expedition team were sensational. They come from a mix of backgrounds, however all have skills in subjects ranging from glaciology to water sports instructor, polar researcher to the armed forces, historian to nature and much more. Not only do you get the chance to attend lectures and learn from them on a really diverse range of topics, but they also accompany the trips off the ship and interact with you during meals and drinks as well as on time when you are cruising. They have both professionally and also personally empowering stories to tell and they really enhanced my trip in a way I did not think possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to do any of the activities then book them up as soon as you make your reservation. Spaces are limited and I was unable to camp on the ice or take part in kayaking. Don't worry about being cold. Its not actually as cold as you imagine and the ship is fantastically warm and homely. The jacket and boots they supply you with are excellent. Concentrate on buying good quality thermals in layers along wit6h waterproof trousers and gloves and a warm fleece or wool hat. Edit your photos as you go along and always be ready to shoot stuff. The onboard team will help you with this as they have photographers ready to help with your trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was in the first group of paddleboarders believed to have ever paddleboarded south of the Antractic Circle. Not only had I never done it before, but we got to claim a world first. Finally don't delay going any longer. It may not be a cheap trip, however it is so amazing and experience that you will not regret the time and expense in going.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Jane Taylor

    Antarctica via Buenos Aires

    An amazing and unique experience would highly recommend it's worth every penny

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many highlights but getting to see penguins, seals and whales at close quarters was unforgettable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The expedition leader and all the staff in the team were really helpful, knowledgeable and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend time in Argentina before or after your trip. I wish I had tagged a few extra days on to do hhis
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Line Bisgaard

    Above all expectations!

    from start till end this trip was amazing! Everything went smoothly, from the pre-tour info, to information at the hotel and the logistics of the domestic flights and checking in on the boat. It felt very safe, especially for a woman travelling alone. The crew on board was excellent! I loved the way every guide had his own ‘field of expertise’ which covered everything you wanted to know (and things you didn’t know you wanted to know ;-)). The Staff was extremely helpful, happy, smiling and overall serviceminded. It was a pleasure! Overall the program on board made sure that you almost didn’t have an idle moment, which for me was amazing! And the logistics of getting nearly 200 passengers into zodiacs 10 at the time, went so incredible easy, they crew are really professional and know how to make your experience the best possible. I can highly recommend this trip to anyone who wants to explore the magic of Antarctica.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Antarctica itself surprised in more ways than one – I was expecting rough weather through the Drake passage, but instead we had calm seas and smooth sailing, so we reached Antarctica half a day early, and had our first zodiac trip before sceduled! The amazing weather stayed with us for the rest of the trip, so amazing blue skies and sun every day was really a treat! The wildlife was every were! Once we reached the continent, every time we looked out, we had penguins on almost every iceberg floating by the ship or a whale showing off in the water close by. And the landings on Antarctica itself, with seals lying around and thousands of penguins all around you, just doing what penguins do was so serene and magical. We even had an afternoon where around 50 Orcas were gathering and swimming around the boat for almost 3 hours, so we could just observe. In the zodiacs we got to experience icebergs calving, get close up with leopard seals floating by on an iceflake, and even had some curious humpback whales, so close to the zodiac that we could almost touch them. Not to mention the beautifull icebergs and surroundings that would take your breath away for sure!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Kathleen Ramsey

    Antarctic Circle Quest

    An awe-inspiring experience which exceeded all our expectations. The scenery is truly stunning, as were the encounters with wildlife. Life aboard the Academik Ioffe was very comfortable, the food was good and experts were on hand to help us with all aspects of the trip. After the first spectacular day of expeditions, we wondered how the rest of the trip could even begin to match the early promise, but each day brought new experiences and excitements.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to pick out a single experience. Cruising in zodiacs amongst icebergs and below glacial cliffs, watching penguins porpoising in the sea or making their way up and down snow slopes or across rocky terrain to the rookeries, observing penguin behaviour in those rookeries, experiencing humpback whales surfacing next to our zodiacs, whale/bird/seal/penguin/dolphin-spotting from the deck of the ship, descending directly onto fast ice from the ship after an impressive parallel parking manoeuvre, watching the sun setting (just) across the ice-filled bays......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David McGonigal was an excellent leader. He was very experienced, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and affable, and amended the programme to make sure that we got the very best experience each day depending on the ice and weather conditions. In addition there were several other experts on board, all of whom shared their knowledge of the environment, fauna and history generously and enthusiastically.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had good weather most of the time, with temperatures around freezing, but it can get very cold on the outer decks of the ship, especially if you can't drag yourself away from viewing the wildlife and spectacular scenery, and when sitting still on the zodiac excursions for two or three hours at a time. We took heat pads for hands and feet, but didn't need to use them. Sunglasses/goggles and sunscreen are essential. We were provided with good quality binoculars and outer weatherproof garments and boots. Closed toe shoes must be worn in all public areas of the boat; a pair of clogs or similar would have been useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was an expensive trip, but was a fantastic experience,
Call us on 074 340 4587