Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019

    Pura Vida!

    I have been wanting to visit Costa Rica for a number of years and it didn’t disappoint. What an amazing and diverse country, so many different landscapes and microclimates in such a small country. If you are interested in wildlif and birds then this is the trip for you - I tried to make a note of everything we saw and I still only captured about half of it! You stay in every place for 2 nights which is great as you have time to relax and explore each place. All the lodges and hotels are in great locations and of good quality. Some of the best wildlife spotting was in the beautiful grounds of the lodges - you could just sit outside your room and wait for it to come to you! Driving distances are not too great and there are plenty of opportunities to stop and enjoy your surroundings- some of the roads are very uneven so you do get a good massage but our fantastic driver, Carlos did his best to keep this to minimum. I shared the experience with a great group which made the trip even better, you had plenty of time to do things together or take time out and do your own thing if you wanted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s very difficult to pick out one moment - seeing my first sloth in Tortuguero, seeing the sunrise on a deserted Caribbean beach, zip lining through stunning cloud forest in Monteverde, being woken by howler monkeys doing what they do best, swimming in the Pacific Ocean, enjoying the amazing surroundings of Esquinas Lodge, becoming blasé about hummingbirds after seeing so many, listening to coyotes howling in Savegre or enjoying happy hour!! Make the most of every moment as it’s over far too quickly and you’re back to reality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I chose this trip in March as it was being led by Jonny Villalobos, tour leader of the year 2017, as I’d read so much fantastic feedback about him and I can honestly say it’s all true. His knowledge of and passion for his country and it’s wildlife just shines out of him and it’s utterly infectious. He was so attentive to our groups needs, we had a number of vegetarians, vegans, gluten free and dairy intolerant in our group and he made sure there was always something for them to eat. He added extra walks and wildlife spotting opportunities if you wanted them or he gave you time to just unwind in your beautiful surroundings. March is probably the peak time to go but Jonny was brilliant at getting us away from the crowds which were really only evident in Manual Antonio national park, which you don’t want to miss as the beaches are stunning here. Jonny is a brilliant ambassador for Costa Rica and for Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions - ensure you have a good poncho or waterproof as the only thing I can guarantee is you will need it at least once!! Dry bags are also very useful to keep your camera and other essentials dry. Avoid this trip if you don’t like early mornings - I stayed on UK time so was up early most days to enjoy the sights and sounds of Costa Rica which were at the best in the early mornings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it- Costa Rica is a very diverse country with so much to offer - no 2 days are the same. Pura Vida!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Godfrey Bancroft

    Superb in every way.

    The hotel, food, scenery, walks and especially our guide (Vania De Paoli) superb in every way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the highest quality. Company and humour of our group was brilliant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania De Paoli. 'Simply the best.'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A trip not to be missed.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    barry tylee

    Kenya delivers

    This was my third trip to Kenya on safari. For me it just gets better. Of course there is a lot of luck involved, but the professionalism and determination of the guides ensures that you will enjoy a memorable safari adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is always a very difficult question to answer, when you are presented with such a variety of sittings. How can you follow seeing Lions, leopard and Cheetah.Not too mention many other species in between. My personal inspirational moment was taking a photograph of a single female cheetah which had just jumped up a tree in front of us to take a look at what might be on the menu for lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was, Davis. (Peter was the other guide/driver). I have been in groups with both and Davis comes with a track record which is difficult to surpass. Very competent driver, superb knowledge and a great organiser and communicator. I'm sure that we will meet again in the not so distant future when I again travel to the Massi Mara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long drives, comfort stops are plenty. It can be a bit bumpy (so what). depending on the time of the year it can be a bit dusty. Otherwise prepare yourself for a great adventure. Sit back and enjoy it. From your pictures you will relive the moments for years to come.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared. When you arrive in Kenya and are collected you will start your journey and indeed your safari. Your first excursion is a boat ride on the lake. Make sure that you have your hat, sun glasses and sun cream (or long sleeved shirt/.blouse) at hand as the time that you will spend on the lake in an open boat is time enough to get burnt in the African sun.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jackie N

    Amazing trip, highly recommended

    This trip is excellent and I could not recommend it more highly. Breathtaking scenery, excellent accommodation in a beautiful family-run hotel and some of the very best Italian food you will ever eat. Our guide (Vania) was fantastic, enthusiastic, efficient and full of good recommendations. The walks are not too strenuous if you are reasonably fit, but be prepared for some short but steep ascents and longer descents, with a lot of steps/stairs on some routes. Good footwear and walking poles recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Path of the Gods and also the walk up the rim of Vesuvius.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was great: professional in her leadership, very enthusiastic and always full of smiles and energy. Excellent English too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Herculaneum is well worth a visit on the free day, even if you have already seen Pompeii. The two sites are different and complementary in what they teach you about Roman life. Make sure you get a guide (Vania recommended and booked an excellent one for us).
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Green

    Fantastic fun in the snow

    I was looking for a trip that I could go on with my wife who is not happy with camping and wishes to have some degree of comfort. This trip seemed to tick all the boxes with a great balance of activity, plenty downtime and a relative degree of comfort compared to a freezing tent and basic toilet facilities at over 5000 metres up a mountain. The area of Oulanka National Park is one of outstanding beauty, peace and cleanliness with zero pollution. The easy snowshoe walks mainly in pristine forests were enchanting and did not require much in terms of effort or bravery. All instruction and a safety briefing was given and we all felt very secure. Our group of 12 mixed well staying in the comfortable and well heated logging cabin after Exodus changed the accommodation due to an issue at Basecamp Oulanka. Our guides Ismo and Mary Louise were absolutely fantastic. They conveyed their enthusiasm for the beautiful environment and we learnt so much from them in such a short space of time. There was much raucous laughter as our group got to know each other all encouraged by Ismo’s gentle humour. Everything to make us comfortable in the cold in the way of clothing and hot food and drink was provided and the food was tasty, plentiful and varied during the week. The cabin was really warm even when the outdoor temeperature dropped to -26C, hot water for showers was unending, the sauna and an outside roll in the snow was invigorating and the WiFi was good enough to catch up with the news back home and watch content on Netflix when relaxing in the room. Snowshoeing requires no special skills and is a wonderful way to spend a fun week in this enchanting place. We also experienced other optional activities on the 2 free days, including a visit to a reindeer farm, snowmobiling and husky riding, however these are an expensive add on but worth trying. Everything was so well organised that we found our week both relaxing and refreshing. We even ventured out to walk at night on a number of occasions under the light of the moon, hearing the amazing forest sounds and saw the Northern Lights. I can not recommend this trip highly enough.... really great fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in such beautiful surroundings surrounded by nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ismo was funny, helpful and worked tirelessly to ensure that we all had a great time. He was funny and interesting with a great sense of humour and it was such a pleasure to have spent a few days with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes.... just go without any preconceptions, appreciate the amazing environment and enjoy every minute. Oh, and be prepared to spend some more money on the optional activities.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ruth Durbano

    Wonderful trip

    A wonderful experience, very varied with a generally good standard of hotels. Excellent guide, bus driver and helper.Fantastic places visited, which combined historic places,temples,Ashram,caves and nature reserves where we saw lots of birds and animals. Also had a little time free to soak up the feeling of the areas and of course some retail therapy, ending up at a beautiful seaside resort to relax for the final day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beauty and tranquillity of the stay on the fabulous houseboat in the backwaters in Kerala, would have liked another night ! Also the whole experience of Mahabalipuram.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukose was amazing, very knowledgeable, very helpful and always looking out for everyone.He went the extra mile on so many occasions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a full on trip with amazing sights,food and nature full of wildlife.Quite a few hotels don't have fridges,hairdryers or safe boxes in the rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wasn't over impressed with cookery demonstration. I could have done with a little more free time,but overall an absolutely brilliant holiday and experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Wendy Duckett

    Awe inspiring.

    A land of so many sights, warm people and the impressive Andes mountains almost throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Atacama Desert. Its forever changing scenery. The Lagoons, The Wetlands and Flamingo's, Geysers over 80 in one area. Sand dunes and forever rock formations. The long long roads and starry nights. Unlike any other desert I have visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was brilliant. His charm, smile and funny stories, seeing us all through some very long days. He was Informative throughout the trip. His observations and empathy were outstanding. Great fun and ensuring everyone's needs were met. A calm and unstressful gentleman. Would be great to have Nacho on every Exodus trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Chile felt to be a very safe and friendly country from the moment if arrival. This did not change or alter throughout. Happy walking around alone. Don't expect your International adapter plugs to work. I borrowed one and some bought some locally. The 2 circular pins were much smaller. I believe it was the European pinned one that works.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A boat trip to through the Fjords would be a great addition to this trip. As would a few hours at one of the vineyards when driving right through them.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Ramplin

    Exceeded all my expectations

    A wonderful week jam packed with sights, activities and wonderful experiences. It started with a fantastic trip to Jerash, an amazing Roman Town, and just kept getting better and better. The two days spent at Petra were outstanding, and the trip to Wadi Rum exciting and so memorable. The last couple of days spent at the Red Sea and then the Dead Sea were the perfect ending to an unforgettable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the time spent in the desert, learning about the Bedouin way of life, and will never forget the camel ride to watch the sun rise - really worth getting up early for. That first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra as I emerged from the canyon is also one of those moments that will stay with me for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim, our leader was just perfect. He had a huge knowledge and an understandable pride in his country - we all learnt so much from him. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went out of his way to make sure that everything was as perfect as it could be for all of us. He had a fantastic sense of humour and helped to make the trip an unforgettable one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take some warm clothing as it can get cold at night, particularly in the desert. Jordanians are really welcoming and friendly and I felt completely safe travelling throughout the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly wonderful holiday. My only disappointment was seeing all the rubbish/plastic at the sides of the roads - such a shame in such a beautiful country.
Call us on 074 340 4587