Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

178 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Although not possibly as fit as I needed to be for this holiday; I thoroughly enjoyed it and had quite a feeling of achievement at the end of it!  The location was great and our guide, Sara was phenominal - she is a real asset to Exodus and its clients!  Accommodation was comfortable and the food good and wholesome and just what we needed at the end of the day.  What topped it all off was that we had a great group of people too.  I would thoroughly recommend the holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me; completing the walks was inspirational since technically I was not possibly as fit as I needed to be!  The advantage to taking the walks more slowly meant I had time to absorb the scenery and appreciate the smaller details that can get missed so easily when you are walking faster.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara herself is inspirational - she has so much knowledge of the region and yet she is truly absorbed too by the tiny details of nature - she is also a fantastic photographer!  I appreciated the fact that she motivated the slower people in the group to keep going, without ever putting pressure on us.   She is a true professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My only advice would be that although the walk was classed as moderate; there were challenging aspects and a good level of fitness is desirable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was truly impressed with the holiday - lovely accommodation; good food and an excellent guide!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    I knew the landscape would be beautiful. I knew the trip would be well organised. I knew for sure that the food and drink would be divine. What I didn't reckon on was the stunning mountain scenery, our inspirational guide, Sara Bull, the warmth of the Italian people and most of all the frienship and camaraderie of the group itself.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On a scintillating sunshiney spring day climbing up through dappled beech forests and patches of virgin snow to the precipice and a vista of thickly wooded Tuscan hillsides - and on to the sea beyond. Truly heaven.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - inspirational.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come on this trip and enjoy. It will exceed your expectations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    (I would have liked a map before I came !)
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Amazing, wonderful group of people, fantastic group leader, excellent home cooked meals using locally sourced ingrediants.  And, oh yes almost forgot it was a walking holiday.  The walking was exceptional and varied, we literally had the place to ourselves.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on top of Mt Prado, over a mile high, the highest point in Tuscany. The remains of the winter snow about us, views every which way and nothing but silence, no bird song, nothing, just silence.  Save the only birds to get that high are Eagles.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic, professional, faultless.  A truly amazing lady so enthusiatic about all she does and sees.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully and follow them, they are there for very good reasons.  That way your enjoyment won't be spoiled. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yo!! Exodus you're the people!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    This part of Tuscany was a complete surprise and a total delight. Not only did we have the typical walking through rolling pastureland covered with wildflowers, we also had many walks through shady forests decorated with sun streaming through the new green leaves and over a floor of last years copper leaves before we emerged onto high ridges to enjoy stunning views over still snow clad peaks. A total delight. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ridge walk to Monte Prado was excellent. Not only the highest peak in the area, but the residual snow from last winter forced us to a higher route over the ridge summits. A wonderful roller-coaster of fun with unhindered views in all directions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is one of the finest leaders I've had the pleasure of dealing with. She was always willing to go that extra mile for everyone and managed to strike the right balance with the more experienced party members and the those on their first real walking tour.My free day was made far more enjoyable by her description and hand-drawn map of a simple valley walk from Braccicorti to Lago di Pentecosi and up to Villeta before returning.On the easier walks which were completed at a reasonable time of day, Sara volunteered to drive us into Castlenuovo for a celbratory cone of gelati.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have plenty of room in your cameras.In early spring, expect snow snow on the higher tracks, its handy to ensure your boots are waterproof.The Limone gelati in Castlenuovo is a real beauty! As is the Pistachio...and the Hazelnut...Hell, they are all good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The tour of this quiet, crowd free part of Tuscany provides many walks which are a fun mix of easy and the more demanding. The latter only due to the steepness of ascent or descent which may test the less experienced. But don't be deterred, persevere, take your time and you'll enjoy a great reward for your efforts.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    What a wonderful week I had, the group was just brilliant, we had so many funny moments. As for the walking it was set at a good pace although some did not complete all the walks I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes walking. No climbing or scrambling involved

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the top of the peaks looking around at the most amazing views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is just great, she was so knowledgeable and so pleasant to talk to and would do anything to help. I have done many trips and can say she has by far been the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip you will not be disappointed. One thing that I and others missed whilst having lunch on the mountains was a cup of tea or coffee. Take a small flask with you.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Great weather - unexpectantly, but always the best way! Great group of people, stunning scenery and a home from home at Braccicorti.  Excellent guide who left us wanting for nothing. Walking very good, makes me consider coming back for the grade C trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First night laid out on the grass at Braccicorti overlooking the small rows of vines and life across the valley, watching the sun gently slipping behind the mountains bathing the whole valley in an ethereal haze and listening to nothing but the birds and the occassional shout of Italian.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull...fantastic, well organised, friendly, approachable and seemed to fulfill every concievable job role during the trip.  Genuinely knowledgeable and without doubt one of the fittest and most remarkable people I've met.  She won Exodus best tour leader in 2009...not hard at all to see why.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking was really good, well paced through some beautiful environs with plenty of coffee/ice cream stops but if you prefer a little more thigh-burning enducing exercise, then consider the weeks of this trip which are C grade instead. You will spend more time higher up and the effort will reward you with some stunning vistas.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very well balanced trip for a B grade, fitted my needs at the time and I would have no problem recommending it to people who either haven't done much walking or want something a bit more mixed in terms of holiday activity.  The free day options are excellent and you are so well informed about them that you can make a fair decision. I'd never been to Italy other than a late night slink from Monaco to San Remo a few years ago and didn't know whether it would be for me.  But it was, it is not a week wasted. Well worth it.
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    A fabulous trip that I didn't want to end!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The farmhouse accommodation was the perfect setting for the holiday which really made me relax into that holiday mood!  It was peaceful, comfortable and had great views over the valley.  The homecooked food was a great ending to each day, compliments to mamma!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara the group leader was fab!  She really knew the area and was able to tell us all sorts of interesting information along each route.  The walks we did were just the right length for a B grade holiday and the order of the walks allowed us to see across the valley to where we would be going or had already walked.Sara was not only the group leader though.  She was our taxi driver, waitress, first aider (thankfully not often) and tour guide.  Thanks for being so great!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd really recommend this holiday to anyone wanting a moderate wakling holiday.  The scenary was beautiful and the food was delicious.  It was just what I needed to get away from busy life in the UK, and I admit it took a few days to get into the holiday mood, but once relaxed I didn't want to leave.  I'd certainly do this holiday again on a C grade!
  • Reviewed April 2011
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    Scenery more magical than I'd ever seen before, returning to the warmth and hearty food from Mamma!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching higher peaks than I'd thought and meeting Sara - one of Exodus' best. Also meeting Mamma and Lucia and the rest of the family at Braccicorti. A lovely, warm, friendly bunch of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She made for one of the highlights. One of the most dedicated people I have ever met. A truly committed, experienced, and lovely person.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This area of Tuscany is hillier than I'd thought. Take poles!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is very very good value. I never expected all food and wine to be included. The only advice I would have is that Exodus make it more clear that snow shoes will be worn, that the area is actually mountainous rather than 'quite hilly'!!, but that people on a Grade B need not be put off - I am a wimp and was scared at the prospect when told by Sara what some days would involve. But her guidance and encouragement, and the beauty of the area makes even wimps achieve more than they thought possible!