Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Dexy D

    Chocolate Hiking in Chamonix

    Fantastic fun week of hiking based at Chalet Chocolat with amazing hosts Zohi and Ben and top guide Emma. Nothing was too much trouble, including parking my car on demand ;-) Amazing three course meals every evening and interesting and varied salad options for packed lunches. Felt like staying in someone's home rather than a chalet. And the cakes made every day were outrageously delicious. We were made to feel very welcome and Zohi and Ben were very happy to share their knowledge of the local area, which was another bonus. We laughed a great deal this week and that was often due to their relaxed and welcoming manner. The hikes were also varied and challenging and never short of a spectacular view!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Mont Blanc from almost every angle! Having dinner directly watching the sunset over the mountain and meeting a great group of people who I hope to stay in touch with.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was Emma's first tour as an Exodus leader and she did a great job. She shared her vast experience of trekking with us and managed the group very well. She had lots of fun ideas to bond the group and was happy to support everyone as they needed. We enjoyed her company over the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be fooled by the level 3 rating. Even at this level, some of the hikes have significant ascent and descent and require a certain level of fitness. Poles are helpful.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    John Riley

    Fantastic trip

    Hi have recently returned from a wonderful week on the Highlights of the Tour de Mont Blanc trip. Had a wonderful time with a great group. We were so lucky to have Mike Rhodes as our trip leader - Mike's experience and knowledge of the region and routes covered each day was exceptional. Mike was always up for a chat and happy to share his wealth of knowledge - I even learnt a few new techniques to tie up my boots. The accommodation at Chalet Chocolat and the views were fantastic . Zoe and Ben spoilt us rotten - with all their tips and sensational meals . Thanks to all involved in a memorable week. JR

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks each day were quite varied - different views and landscapes - and always a spectacular spot near the top for a lunch break.... and a delicious lunch each day it was...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Being able to walk with Mike was a highlight of my week.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Rusne J.

    Highly recommend this trip

    Best holiday ever!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The companions, the guide, the chalet with the hosts and the itinerary - I liked everything.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Martin Goodman

    Wonderful experience.

    We were lucky to have attended this trip with glorious weather throughout and had an amazing time with a real diverse bunch of interesting people from all over the world. The Exodus leader Fred was always quite laid back which reflected on the walks which were conducted at a nice pace without feeling too hurried. The two girls who operated the chalet were both exceptional and added to the overall pleasure of this trip. The food they provided was a culinary delight for all. Despite a record breaking heatwave we still experience snow walking at 35c which was a real head-bender. We booked late so ended up in the loft area of the chalet but even that was more than comfortable. The walks are breathtaking and you will find yourself forever stopping for photos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We did the parasailing which was incredible. We were in the air for a good 40 minutes so could really take it all in. Please book this using the firm Air Sports which Exodus recommends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fred was a lovely chap who appeared very laid back but also someone who was fully competent at his job and it showed. I have a fear of steep edges and he calmly encouraged me to overcome this is a professional manner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have plenty of room on your camera roll.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you can add the paragliding to your trip because the views are astonishing. Enjoy the walking and take it all in. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    sharon hicken

    the best one so far

    Loved everything about this trip, the chalet, the staff, the food and of course the hiking. Chalet holidays bring out the social side of people and the 13 guests made this trip fabulous and so much fun. Zoe and Ben, your food exceeds expectations!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fantastic scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure you are fit to hill climb.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Paul Armitage

    Fantastic trip

    We had an excellent holiday around mont blanc. Zoe and Ben were great hosts at chalet chocolat. We are both vegetarian and the food was superb. We loved the freshly baked cake on our return from our hikes. Mark was a great leader and very knowledgeable about the area. Overall 10 out of 10 from us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of the walks were great. We particularly enjoyed the amazing panoramic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark had extensive knowledge of the area and catered well for the needs of the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To fully enjoy the walks you need to be able to cope with the ascents - it's worth it when you get there! Our leader, Mark, made sure we had enough rest/water stops and we stayed together as a group.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Kath Coleman

    Mont Blanc-Chamonix

    My first Exodus Holiday and hopefully not the last. I have wanted to see Mont Blanc close up for years and, after visiting Chamonix for the day last year and NOT seeing it because of low cloud, this holiday was a 'must do' for me. I am now 77 so time was running out. Apart from being shocked by my lack of fitness (I joined a gym and did as much walking as practical - my husband has dementia} beforehand, everything exceeded my expectations: the chalet, our hosts (superb}, the lovely food, our leader (brilliant), a really friendly, kind, and helpful group, the fantastic mountains, and perfect weather. Thank you so much Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Mont Blanc and Aiguille du Midi from our chalet for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Egle was brilliant. She was knowledgeable, supportive, kind, and good fun. When I struggled she was really helpful and understanding. She really helped to make the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am sure I would have benefited from more really steep ups and downs in my legs beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our hosts Zoe and Ben were great, and as for the cuisine ...... !
  • Reviewed July 2019
    francis mcconnell

    The Good Life

    Summer Time and the living was made so easy in Chalet Chocolat by our outstanding hosts Zohi and Ben, they presented us with a smorgasbord of delights on a daily basis , starters, mains and desserts to die for. If that was not enough, GBBO standards of cake for afternoon tea . While sitting in a hot tub soothing tired muscles looking towards Mont Blanc we all concluded that location may be everything but our Hosts were the icing on the cake. We also did a bit of walking, words can't really capture that part!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Balcony walk and the stunning views at every turn
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Hi Marina Hill

    Very sad

    Flight was cancelled, accommodation is unacceptable, staff pushed to their limits, everything was in a rush, and all what Exodus can say - we are very sorry and will not consider any form of compensation

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Exchanging emails with you guys

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was under too much pressure

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, avoid it, use Exploor, Intrepid or Tucan instead

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Feel that my money was waisted and will never use this company again
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Choong Wah Chu

    The highlights without all the work!

    A superb selection of hikes on the Tour, an excellent guide, easy transport to less accessible start/finish points. and a lovely chalet and hosts is an unbeatable introduction to the glories of the Alps. The weather, well, you need a bit of luck. We did, for most of the hikes. Thoroughly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly the views of Mont Blanc from all the angles, whatever the weather. But if I had to choose, it would be the summit of Brevent with full views of the massifs in blazing sunshine over a picnic lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was excellent! An experienced guide & climber, instruction, information & encouragement all rolled into one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Previous feedback suggests that this is a Grade 2 or 3. For me, this is definitely a Grade 3 - mostly easy walking, minor huff and puff on sections of some walks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If like me, you mistime your own flights, and is unable to join the transfer, it's easy peasy to take a easyjet bus from Geneva airport to Chamonix Sud. Then the chalets are a short walk from the bus terminal.
Call us on 074 340 4587