Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sally Sanders

    Beautiful Croatia!

    We found this trip to be a great way to experience this stunning coastline and enjoy our first visit to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the first day’s 10km climb and enjoying a lovely cold beer. Lunch at the konoba Mate on the island of Korcula was a delicious experience and I don’t think we would ever have found this lovely rural restaurant on our own. Really enjoyed the wild flowers and butterflies. Being a part of and sharing so many great experiences with our group ‘The Bruised Peaches’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was ace - he looked after and encouraged us, and with his cycling expertise, local knowledge and sense of humour helped to make this trip well organised, interesting and great fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some hours in the saddle and do some training before you go - your bottom will thank you! Don’t expect great hotels but we found them to be adequate for this trip as not much time was spent in them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely visit Croatia again and will I am sure be booking another cycling trip with Exodos in the future.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Challis

    Beautiful Croatia

    Lovely mixture of cycling; some long hills but beautiful views from the top, fabulous coastal roads through pine trees and little villages. Travelling in June we cycled through wonderful flower meadows with the heady smell of rosemary in the air. Hotels are basic but adequate. Food and drink are about the same as UK prices. Our guide pick some great restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip to Mljet - very relaxing and peaceful once you get there (getting on the ferry with the bike is a bit of a mad scramble). The optional dinner in Korcula at the agrotourism was fabulous - amazing setting and great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader - knowledgeable, safe, friendly and great fun. He made sure everyone was included. Our driver was a nice guy but pretty useless - he did very little apart from drive the minibus so Marin ended up doing everything else. He worked exceptional hard the whole week. Unfortunately one of our group had an accident on day 5 but Marin handled the whole situation extremely well and very professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I'd been able to have a extra day or two to explore Split. We had a 1 hour whistlestop tour and then had to get straight on the ferry. Buy or take food for the ferry as there isn't time to sit and eat a meal in Split.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With a group of 16 people there should been a second leader, or at the very least a driver who had some knowledge of the trip and provided the leader with competent backup. Our driver had no idea where to go; often we would get the meeting point to find he was parked somewhere entirely different. This really put a lot of unnecessary pressure on our leader and wasted time. The driver wouldn't help rope up the bikes, he had no idea how to detach the trailer and was difficult to contact (his phone was often switched off).
  • Reviewed June 2019

    A must see trip

    I have just returned from the most amazing cycling holiday. This was my first holiday of this kind and was rather nervous being a single traveler! The rest of the group made me so welcome and I instantly felt relaxed and with friends. The first couple of days were rather tough cycling and I did get behind but with Alan's encouragement I caught up and had a giggle with the rest of the group. The countryside is amazing, the food was outstanding, loved it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to complete the cycling, although slowly at first I did manage to speed up with each day and felt rather fitter by the end of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic is an amazing guy, he encouraged us all every day and he is so knowledgeable and helpful. Even his jokes were quite funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont be nervous - perhaps train a little beforehand to get used to the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were not great but they did the job and the breakfast was okay.
  • Reviewed June 2019

    Great way to explore Croatian Islands

    This was a great holiday with some challenging hills but no time pressure to get up them! The weather was awful for much of the week which was unexpected and made for some difficult cycling. However, we were well supported by our leader, Dino, and driver, Jadran, and never felt that we had to cycle in the rain if it was too dangerous. Some of the rides were a little short for a Grade 3 holiday but overall there was plenty of good cycling and time for sightseeing and swimming at the end of each day. There were lots of short ferry rides to add variety to each day and not too much time was spent on the bus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling part of the holiday started with a long climb on the island of Hwar, it was a steady hill and the whole group made it to the top for a nice lunch of traditional Croatian food. This was the first of many hills and gave a flavour of what was to come. The scenery was spectacular throughout the trip when we could see it through the driving rain!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Dino, was excellent. He was sociable and quickly got to know all members of the group. He organised the group in a laid back way so that not much time was spent on briefings but everyone had all the information they needed about the cycling each day. On the optional day he lead a small group of us on an additional ride which included some tough climbing. This was much appreciated as the suggested optional itinerary had been cancelled due to the weather. Our driver, Jadran, cold not have been more helpful and was a very careful driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of wet weather gear even if you are expecting sunshine. None of the hills are too steep, easily manageable for most cyclists. The handlebar bags are spacious but not waterproof, take a dry bag to line them with.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked a few more miles cycling especially on the last ride which was only 20km long through spectacular scenery.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Cowham

    Great introduction to the dalmatian coast

    Positives: Great young guide who was from the local area. Excellent routes taking in three islands with some good climbs but not big distances Well organised with some good hotels Negatives: Meal times were quite late so the group was often hungry Weather was mixed in May, half the days it rained heavily and the other half were hot and sunny

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first days riding on hvar stood with a good 10k climb at a kind gradient as well as some lovely villages along the coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was quite young (late 20's) but very responsible and well humoured. Always checking to ensure the group was happy without being too much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unlike some tours the lunch and dinner aren't included in the price so this adds to the cost.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Rachel Lalonde

    cycling the Dalmatian Coast

    I really enjoyed the itinerary. The scenery was excellent, the hotels choices were good as well. The hotel in Split (hotel Bellevue) on Day 1 was a bit rough around the edges but it was in a fantastic location. All the other hotels were great choices and great locations too. I did find the last day of cycling too easy and too short. This was only 20k and it should have been at least 40k for a level 3 trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The experience of cycling through the towns and through vineyards and seeing the locals do things all by hand and the natural beauty really made it special for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    our Leader Boyjan was very good. He was very knowledgeable and fun to ride with. He encouraged the ones that needed extra help doing those hills and was always available to ask questions etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    the one thing that i might say is make sure you know how to "ride" a bike. Everyone knows how to ride but does not really know how to maneuver the gears and how to take a hill up or down. A quick lesson at a bike shop might be a good idea before you leave you you understand how a bike works. not everyone knew how to "ride" a bike in my group and it caused a bit of stress for some until they understood their bike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    it was a great Itinerary and would definitely do it again. I would like to see more cycling however for a level 3 ititerary
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Wayne Moore

    Great trip

    A very good option for a week in Europe. The islands between Split and Dubrovnik are beautiful and in May there was very little traffic.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in Mljet was one of the highlights of the trip, stunning ride around the lake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader, knowledgeable, friendly and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do choose the Mljet option, it was a great day out. Arrive a day early and stay in Split for a night, it is a beautiful city. May is a great time to go, less traffic and not too hot. Hotels are typical 3 star, but they all had hot water, comfortable beds and a bar!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Anthony Curran

    Good description of the holiday

    The cycling holiday was excellent. The mix of exercise, downtime and cultural visits was just about perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Korcula Old Town and climbing the 10K hill on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Mario, was friendly, professional and knowledgeable and was very patient with a group of widely varying capabilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would agree with the description of the week’s holiday as moderate activity level overall but there are a couple of days that are quite challenging for novice or irregular cyclists.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a fantastic holiday and experience. The shared challenge helped the group bond well together creating a very positive group dynamic led by an extremely good guide.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Laurene Tubb

    Another exciting adventure with Exodus

    Another exciting adventure with Exodus. Our trip was at the end of April/beginning of May and it was very hot !!!! I'm told June/July is even hotter. Phew !!!! Despite this I loved every minute of it. It was a very busy trip but extremely well organised. I very much liked the additional drink stops as it was so very hot. Home made chilled lime was just the thing. I also very much liked Lam pre-booking the meals and us all going together. He found some wonderful places and we had delicious fresh food. There just isn't time to find somewhere yourself. This really worked well. We were lucky to be with a super group of people. Everyone happy and smiling and enjoying every moment..................well................except a few of the group who did get a bit sore. Please do get yourself some chamois butter and padded pants. It works a treat. It worked well having all the cycling in the beginning. The train was much better than I had expected and I slept like a log !!! Whale Island and Halong Bay were real treats and I would have loved more time there. But, overall, the trip was perfect for timing as it kept us within the 15 day Visa limit and we saw and did so much. Despite being informed in writing by Exodus that our big holdalls/suitcase stays with us all the time......this was not the case. You do need to have a rucksack or flat pack bag big enough for the one and two night stays (Whale Island and Halong Bay). In fact......it works very well to just take small luggage. Much easier to do once you get your head around it. I found the cycling easy compared with other trips I've done but I do feel it is right to be called a Level 3. Everyone cycles slightly differently and there is always a bit of a mix of abilities........which makes for a good group cycle I think.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved feeling at one with the rural landscape and the villages............although it was exciting to see the hustle and bustle of the cities too.........especially with all their motor scooters. I love their driving system and felt very comfortable when cycling amidst it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam. Well......what can I say.......such a lovely young man and always happy and smiling. He is the most organised leader I have come across but at no time did you feel you were being organised. He and his crew looked after us extremely well. He anticipated everything and made us feel special. Not always easy to do when you have one group after another after another. I do hope he wins Leader of the Year. He deserves it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go. It's such fun..............and what an experience !!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louis Wiggs

    Discovering Croatia

    What an adventure, biking in a country that I hardly knew existed. Croatia is beautiful, almost untouched by the human hands that have sullied much of the urban areas here. Biking there was very challenging by this senior, but also very rewarding. Allen Skulic, the group leaded was an excellent guide. Allen is very knowledgeable about the area and it's history. But most important he was very encouraging and supportive. I don't think I could've completed this cycling adventure without his words of encouragement. I will forever remember the scenic views cycling through the many small cities, farm lands and biking up and down the many mountain roads. Also, memorable was the many ferries that we took to the many islands that we biked. The lunches and dinners were exceptional; the wines superb.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The feeling of accomplishment on the first full day riding 10 kilometers up a mountain road. I have never done anything that compares to that experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Allen Skulic was absolutely wonderful. He was so knowledgeable, passionate, encouraging and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare yourself for the ride of a lifetime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I usually ride a road bike. However on this ride, I rode for the first time a traditional mountain bike with disc breaks, which is necessary when riding down those mountain roads and gravel roads. The bikes supplied were perfect for this adventure.
Call us on 074 340 4587