Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sally Sanders

    Beautiful Croatia!

    We found this trip to be a great way to experience this stunning coastline and enjoy our first visit to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the first day’s 10km climb and enjoying a lovely cold beer. Lunch at the konoba Mate on the island of Korcula was a delicious experience and I don’t think we would ever have found this lovely rural restaurant on our own. Really enjoyed the wild flowers and butterflies. Being a part of and sharing so many great experiences with our group ‘The Bruised Peaches’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was ace - he looked after and encouraged us, and with his cycling expertise, local knowledge and sense of humour helped to make this trip well organised, interesting and great fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some hours in the saddle and do some training before you go - your bottom will thank you! Don’t expect great hotels but we found them to be adequate for this trip as not much time was spent in them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely visit Croatia again and will I am sure be booking another cycling trip with Exodos in the future.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Challis

    Beautiful Croatia

    Lovely mixture of cycling; some long hills but beautiful views from the top, fabulous coastal roads through pine trees and little villages. Travelling in June we cycled through wonderful flower meadows with the heady smell of rosemary in the air. Hotels are basic but adequate. Food and drink are about the same as UK prices. Our guide pick some great restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip to Mljet - very relaxing and peaceful once you get there (getting on the ferry with the bike is a bit of a mad scramble). The optional dinner in Korcula at the agrotourism was fabulous - amazing setting and great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader - knowledgeable, safe, friendly and great fun. He made sure everyone was included. Our driver was a nice guy but pretty useless - he did very little apart from drive the minibus so Marin ended up doing everything else. He worked exceptional hard the whole week. Unfortunately one of our group had an accident on day 5 but Marin handled the whole situation extremely well and very professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I'd been able to have a extra day or two to explore Split. We had a 1 hour whistlestop tour and then had to get straight on the ferry. Buy or take food for the ferry as there isn't time to sit and eat a meal in Split.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With a group of 16 people there should been a second leader, or at the very least a driver who had some knowledge of the trip and provided the leader with competent backup. Our driver had no idea where to go; often we would get the meeting point to find he was parked somewhere entirely different. This really put a lot of unnecessary pressure on our leader and wasted time. The driver wouldn't help rope up the bikes, he had no idea how to detach the trailer and was difficult to contact (his phone was often switched off).
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Debbie Franks

    Fabulous Puglia.

    A wonderful trip with a dedicated and passionate guide, Antonio, who was determined to ensure we experienced the best in the safest possible way. It was reassuring when he would direct the traffic at tricky intersections. Pierrot was his conscientious and polite offsider. The itinerary was carefully selected to showcase amazing locations, cultural experiences, landscapes and history. The Sassi, Trulli were only two stand outs in a landscape of fields splashed with red poppies and yellow, pink, and white wild flowers. The accommodation was generally good to very good. The price of food, the coffee, aperitifs and gelato was so cheap compared to the north and our home country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Antonio, was excellent. Courteous, polite, passionate about his country and culture, very concerned with rider safety and the group’s well being and contentment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your rain gear, follow the Exodus advice on what to bring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation should always have lifts or be ground level. Most of us would travel from afar and would be travelling for a few weeks. While our suitcases may star5 off at 16k, we gather memorabilia. Hiking cases up those stairs is no fun either a5 the end of a day or the beginning.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mike Reaveley

    A Wonderful Week with a Great Guide

    A brilliant trip from mountains to sea. The route is along immaculate cycle paths and quiet country roads. The cycling is rewarding and challenging for short periods and the scenery is spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This really is a superb trip. There is plenty of cycling with some challenging climbs. Every day was full with so much to see and do. The scenery during the rides was varied and very beautiful. The towns we visited were all full of history whether it was Trento, Lake Garda, Verona, Vicenza, Padova or Venice. The highlight of the trip was the first two days in the mountains and the ferry ride across Lake Garda. A situation developed halfway across Lake Garda when certain items in the on-board bar reached a critically low level. Fortunately, an Italian Naval re-supply vessel was in the area and came along side and the white wine was soon replenished !! We were lucky the weather - clear blue skies with temperatures in the late twenties.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario is an excellent leader. The group's safety was always his top priority and he spent quite a bit of time moving within the group whilst on the move checking everyone was ok. There was never any doubt about what we had to do and when we had to do it, without being overbearing. He is warm, friendly and has a fantastic sense of humour (well you'd need one, dragging us lot around!) He was a great host in the evenings and took us to some good restaurants. On the last evening he booked a restaurant in the open right next to a canal, a wonderful location. He was knowledgeable about the countryside through which we were travelling. Overall, a great guy - hope I get him on the next trip. Cuido was our support vehicle driver. Obviously we didn't spend as much time with him but similar characteristics to Mario - friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable on cycling. Together, a great team !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The more training you do the less gasping you'll do at the top of the hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like cycling and culture this is the perfect trip for you.
  • Reviewed June 2019

    A must see trip

    I have just returned from the most amazing cycling holiday. This was my first holiday of this kind and was rather nervous being a single traveler! The rest of the group made me so welcome and I instantly felt relaxed and with friends. The first couple of days were rather tough cycling and I did get behind but with Alan's encouragement I caught up and had a giggle with the rest of the group. The countryside is amazing, the food was outstanding, loved it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to complete the cycling, although slowly at first I did manage to speed up with each day and felt rather fitter by the end of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic is an amazing guy, he encouraged us all every day and he is so knowledgeable and helpful. Even his jokes were quite funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont be nervous - perhaps train a little beforehand to get used to the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were not great but they did the job and the breakfast was okay.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Timothy Sullivan

    Cycling in sicily

    The leader was excellent. The support person Giuseppe was also excellent. The bikes were good. The routes were very good and well planned. The accomodation was ok and variable. The starting accomodation had a disco night going till 2.0 pm just below our room! Meals provided ranged from poor to good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling gently along narrow country roads through rural Sicily.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davide Di Mauro Was an excellent leader. Also mention the support, Giuseppe, also excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely use E bikes if you are older or not an experienced cyclist.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great adventure with a very good group of companions
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Karen Ratcliffe

    Great mix of cycling, fabulous views and towns

    This was a lovely trip with lots to see in each of the stunning towns. We only passed through Soave (on the bikes of course) but we had a good extended break there for exploring! Lunch stops and coffee breaks were fabulous. Plenty of time for a decent lunch and a cheeky drink... or two. The cycling is a great mix of hills and cycle track, with a couple of decent climbs followed by some nice downhill switchbacks (views at speed) to reward your efforts!! Obviously it was everyone to their own pace. No pressure to ride fast or slow. There was plenty of opportunity to explore each of the beautiful towns, before and after dinner. Our guide was always happy to offer a much needed post dinner walking tour. The restaurants were all great so there was plenty to walk off! I’d happily go back to any of the towns to spend more time. The ferry crossing from the North shore of Garda to Desenzano is busy and lengthy. There’s no bar or cafe, and no outside deck options so go prepared with drinks, snacks, entertainment... it’s a long one!! You lose the bikes and catch the train from Padua to Venice. This made a nice change.. I’d been to Venice previously but only briefly so I appreciated the extra time to explore, and I super appreciated arriving without my sweaty kit on! :) It was a great way to spend the last full day. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to say, as I enjoyed this trip from start to finish. I especially enjoyed the views cycling down to Garda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fabulous. Enthusiastic, energetic and passionate about his home town and country. Very knowledgable and full of stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only the tip about being prepared for the ferry crossing, as mentioned in my summary notes. Take drinks, snacks and something to read or play ... there’s nothing on there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it!! :)
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Robert John Ogden

    ??

    Good trip sightseeing and cycling

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very enthusiastic. Tried hard to please . Tour meetings long winded

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Easy cycling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Liam Gray

    Great trip

    Lakes beautiful

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through Switzerland

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptionalit
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Keith Woodvine

    Cycling and Chianti

    A well organised cycling holiday with excellent accommodation, encouraged to gel as a group in both cycling and eating experiences and enjoy the wonderful scenery en-route.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably surviving the 25% incline up to the wine tasting experience! Otherwise experiencing the IL CAMPO and walking around the Fort and Garibaldi memorial in Sienna.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An excellent leader with good local knowledge and mixing with the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is rated as "Moderate" cycling ability but some of the "undulations" require a good level of fitness, but for encouragement there is usually a gelato reward at the end.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a "no worries" exploring experiences, where you are well looked after from arriving and departing Pisa airport. I particularly enjoyed the arrangement for having 2 night stays through the holiday and not having to pack and depart after breakfast everyday.
Call us on 074 340 4587