Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Sally Williams

    Magical Tatras

    This was a truly magical week in the High Tatras. So different to the alps, more of a fairytale setting. Apparently this was the best winter they have had in 7 years and we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Loads of snow, blue sky, and although extremely cold you don’t stand still long enough to feel it. If like me, you can’t face a whole week of skiing, then this is a great opportunity to try some different winter activities and really appreciate the scenery and culture in a place that is not spoiled by mass tourism.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dog sledging was fantastic. It was a fun, yet relaxed experience. The dogs were so friendly, and obviously enjoyed their work, it was a pleasure to meet them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was an inspiration. He obviously enjoys his work and his mountains. It was a real pleasure to meet him, to hear his stories and marvel at his many talents.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Vegetarian options are limited but it is possible to make up a meal of starters and sides. We did find a restaurant with a lovely veggie pasta dish but it did get a bit repetitive! Possibly take a little more Polish currency and about €100 less than recommended. There is very little opportunity for gift shopping. The best places are the souvenir shops where you do the cross country or downhill skiing. There is no kettle in the hotel room so if you’d like a hot drink before breakfast (or any other time actually) suggest you pack a travel kettle. And take some tea bags! Don’t expect bars and restaurants like in the alps. The place is very quiet which we enjoyed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The thermal baths were a bit of a disappointment, more like a very busy leisure centre. But it was nice to soak in the warm water following two days of activity, once you’d battled through the crowds. Don’t recommend dinner in the hotel even after the long day out. Better to brave the elements again for a good meal.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Diana Maynard

    Fun way to try out a variety of winter activities

    This trip provided a great introduction to a number of different winter activities at a relaxed pace (the days were very easy - only a few hours' activity a day - with plenty of free time).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Discovering that being nearly 50 doesn't prevent you from learning to downhill ski for the first time! Also that dog sledding is so much more fun that you might think!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana was both extremely patient and efficient, coming up with alternative solutions when traffic and weather conditions prevented us from even reaching Zakopane for dog sledding. She also dealt with the one injury on our trip effectively. She was also very informative about each day's activities, making sure we knew what to bring and wear, and was very sociable. Nothing was too much trouble for her to arrange or advise on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a selection of warm clothing with a number of layers - some activities you'll get hot very quickly and might only need a base layer and thin jacket, while others needed as many layers as you could get on! The evenings are long and can be boring, as can some of the bus rides, so bring plenty of books etc. Don't be scared to try new activities even if you're an old codger - we all managed everything, with varying degrees of success but an awful lot of fun! Contrary to the advice I received from the Exodus "expert", do bring proper ski trousers as otherwise you may not get your normal waterproof trousers over your ski boots (I could not!). However, a normal waterproof jacket will be OK if you have enough layers, so you don't necessarily need a proper ski jacket, though it's useful if you do have one. Also, do consider spending a couple of days in Krakow before/after the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Due to not making it to Zakopane, we went dogsledding in Slovakia instead on our rest day, and in my opinion this is a much better idea. Also, don't go over New Year, as everything is extremely busy, including the roads, and it's a pain.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Jane Byrne

    Tatra Winter Activity Week

    A great mix of activities - complete beginners can acquire enough skill to join in while the more experienced have the opportunity to use the facilities to continue to improve. Once in the resort local travel is quick and easy. The food is incredibly hearty based on meat, cheese and dumplings but with lovely broths and soups for lighter appetites. The scenery is wonderful, despite the tourist infrastructure there are miles and miles of unspoilt forest and mountains

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 The 2.5k toboggan ride down the mountain 2 Actually overtaking a small child on my crosscountry skis 3 Downhill skiing for the first time (even if it was just on the first ramp of the nursery slopes!) 4 Driving the dogsled 5 Swimming in the outdoor thermal pool with my mouth open catching snowflakes Every day was inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter is a great guide. The organisational skills to accommodate very different skill levels on some of the activities and the endless kindness and patience he showed made the holiday a complete pleasure. He has wide knowledge of the local area - its history , geography, animals, food and drink and much else. Peter makes his own musical instruments in the local tradition and played for us which was really special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For the toboggan activity I would recommend gaiters or some other means of stopping snow going up your trouser legs. If, like me, you have not worn ski boots before I would suggest long socks as the boots are quite tight fitting on the calf. Even if you cannot swim take a swimsuit for the thermal baths, it is great fun

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the trip to introduce yourself to winter activities. Because the activities change each day muscles have a chance to recover and the facilities and instructors really can cope with absolute beginners - no-one will be good at everything so do not be afraid - give it a go and you will have a wonderful week
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Marie-Anne Phillips

    Slovakia - a hidden gem

    A fantastic and affordable 8 days to experience a huge range of winter activities - great for the complete beginner right up to experienced skiers who want variety and new skills. Stunning scenery and brilliant local guide made it extra special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing a snow laden landscape and all it has to offer.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant - helpful, dedicated and keen to share real Slovak culture

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The key bits of kit you need are some warm / water resistant trousers, sun screen and ski goggles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hot chocolate is amazing. Make sure you experience Tatra tea
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Vicki Nunn

    A good mix of things to do in the snow!

    A good introduction to winter sports (a reasonable level of fitness is useful!) mixed in with some 'nice' activities giving variety and interest to the week. The food was good and hearty. The dark beer particularly delicious. Sadly our tobogganing was cancelled as there had been 2 broken legs the previous day so sledge hire was not available. We built snowmen and had snowball fights (all things we hadn't done since having young children). As usual we enjoyed the company of a great group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the 5km route at the cross country skiing centre, enjoying the most amazing views in the warm sunshine, on our free day. I do not downhill ski at all which made the achievement even greater!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was very knowledgeable and always ready with a tale or two.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you drink tea in the morning, take bags with you! Take light clothes for the evening as it seems the Slovakian way is to super-heat indoor spaces whilst outside it is SO cold (on the train I was stripped off to a vest top and thermal leggings only!!!) Yak Trax would have been useful (the pavements were sheet ice in places). Use the restaurants in the village, so much better than the food in the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip is graded moderate but as a couple of fit travellers it felt quite a leisurely week.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Gillian Goodyear

    Tremendous Tatra

    An amazing, activity packed and fun holiday. We have had many Exodus holidays and this was one of the best. As always it was extremely well organised with an amazing guide. Peter was so skilled in all the activities and couldn't do enough to help ensure we had a brilliant time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As this trip was great for complete beginners, there was a variety of skill levels. I was a total novice but was so encouraged by the support we gave each other. I got a great sense of personal achievement in tackling snowshoeing, dog sledding, sledging and skiing (with degrees of success) and I loved the feeling that we were all in this together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was amazing. He was so skilled and knowledgable and he was determined we would have a good holiday. He took care of everything but remained unobtrusive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!! I guarantee you will love it. I recently celebrated my 60th birthday and was worried I wouldn't cope. I had never had a winter break with these kinds of activities but Alex at Exodus reassured me I would be fine and he was absolutely right.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My only regret is that the free day came before I had tried the tobogganing. I ended up having another ski lesson and skiing isn't really my thing. Now tobogganing!! That's another story and would have had another day doing that had I known. Perhaps a free day once all the activities have been tried so you could choose a favourite.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Celia Cornell

    Tatra Winter Activity Week

    The whole week was packed with activities which could be enjoyed by everyone, including complete beginners. To mention just a few, dog-sledding, cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, tobogganing, We also enjoyed cultural visits to local museums and a mountain top ice chapel. The activities were moderately strenuous but no prior technical ability was needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the dog-sledding. It was a beautiful setting in the mountains, with bright sunshine and blue skies. The dogs seem to enjoy running and we all felt the thrill of the ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was real gentleman. He did everything possible to give us a great time. Our days and evenings were full of fun. He gave us plenty of information for our day off and gave up his own time to take us out to the Belianska caves. I would rate Peter as an excellent leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We enjoyed very good food in a variety of restaurants. However, Slovakia does not really understand the concept of vegetarianism and there were limited options for non-meat eaters. You need to be quite fit for the activities. Regular hill walking or gym work is needed before tackling this amount of sport.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an ideal holiday for anyone wanting to try out a range of activities. It gives you a chance to discover new skills and aptitudes. I may try out a summer activity week now.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Janet Stevens

    Tatra winter activity

    Loved trying al the different sports and ways of getting around in the snow. Definitely the holiday for adults who want to get in touch with the child in them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many more than one! Here's my top two... The Husky sledging on the top of the mountain with sparkling snow, clear blue skies, sunshine and dogs having fun, Truly memorable for feeling of enjoyment and amazing confidence and calmness. Skiing a black run in clear skies then going through the fog on blue artificial snow runs to get back to base. Feeling that I could do anything and handle with ease any situation I came across.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous, flexible, beyond expectations and fascinating. Great stories, his depth of knowledge on so many different subjects is incredible. I learnt the benefits of waxing skiing and what to consider when applying the wax if I am ever involved in running an Olympic team! I loved learning from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproof boots for the snowshoeing. Waterproof outer jacket and trousers plus lots of thermal layers. Exercise before going, even if it is only spring cleaning the house as per BBC exercise routine!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to Peter and our driver for taking us to Krakow earlier, it was a much better use of our time and great to see some culture. Peter's commentary and knowing where to show us was awesome. Avery talented man.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Rachel Bowden

    A great week of snow fun!

    A full itinerary of adventures. Great to have a go at everything and get a taster of each activity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed snowboarding on the free day and sledge races down the ski slope.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was really relaxed and went out of his way to look after everyone in the group and cater for everyone's needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a variety of clothes including full ski wear and warm waterproof gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food was excellent and fantastic value for money.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    Deborah Woolley

    Winter Activities

    A great week for all. Lovely surroundings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The snow Skiing, sledging and thermal pools. Plenty of different activities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was very good.
Call us on 074 340 4587